BGA 85 - $229.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
BGA 85 w/o battery & charger

DSRP: $229.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

The battery-powered handheld blower that combines high performance with low weight. Batteries & chargers can be purchased separately or as a combined set with tool.

Innovative STIHL Lithium-Ion technology is now available in handheld blowers with the STIHL BGA 85. Eliminating both fuel costs and engine emissions, the BGA 85 delivers environmentally responsible blower applications without the need of a power cord. The BGA 85 is lightweight and easy to use and delivers excellent blowing performance at 102 mph at the nozzle. Batteries & chargers can be purc...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
BGA 85 Specifications
WEIGHT w/o Battery 3.2 kg (7.0 lbs.)
w/ AP 100 3.9 kg (8.8 lbs.)
w/ AP 300 4.9 kg (10.8 lbs.)
BLOWING FORCE* 10 Newtons
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** 665 m3/h (391 cfm)
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** 47 m/sec. (104 mph)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** 64 dB(A)
RUN TIME (w/ AR 900) Up to 90 minutes
RUN TIME (w/ AP 300) Up to 24 minutes
POWER SOURCE Battery
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **As per ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016. Battery and charger must be purchased separately.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Hanging Slot
    The built-in hanging slot allows for easy storage when not in use.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Retaining Latch
    All STIHL Battery powered products feature a retaining latch that prevents the unit from unintentional starts when the battery is inserted.
  • Zoom
    Multi-Function Handle
    With the multi-function handle, all of the blower’s controls can be adjusted with one hand, allowing simple and reliable operation for both right and left-handed users. In addition, the handle’s control lever allows the user to easily adjust the engine speed.
  • Zoom
    STIHL Electric Motor
    Lightweight and compact, STIHL electric motors require minimal maintenance and feature low noise levels and reduced vibration.
  • Zoom
    Two-Stage Axial Fan
    The two-stage axial blower operates like a fan to maximize the volume of high-speed air, delivering excellent blowing performance.
  • Zoom
    Control Lever
    With the control lever, the engine speed can be continuously adjusted to regulate airflow. When the lever is released, the engine stops.

Important Information
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • AP 300 Lithium-Ion Battery Zoom
    AP 300 Lithium-Ion Battery
    The AP 300 Lithium-Ion battery is the most powerful handheld battery in the STIHL line – 28% more power than the AP 180, while remaining the same weight (3.8 lbs.). And all STIHL batteries are based on 36-volt Lithium-Ion technology, hitting the “sweet spot” of power and run time. They are also engineered to last, keeping 80% of their battery capacity after 500 charges. The AP 300 even features specialized voltage monitors and temperature sensors to help ensure optimal operation and a long service life. Have questions? Contact us today and we’ll help you find the right battery equipment for your needs.

    View Our Usage Chart
  • AL 300 Rapid Battery Charger Zoom
    AL 300 Rapid Battery Charger
    Your advanced STIHL battery-powered equipment deserves an equally advanced charger. The STIHL AL 300 rapid battery charger fits that bill perfectly. Designed to charge your STIHL Lithium-Ion batteries in approximately 25 minutes*, the AL 300 is exactly what you need to power through your lawn care tasks. It features an onboard cooling fan and bright LED display to indicate current charge level. This smart charger even switches off automatically once your battery is fully charged.

    View Our Usage Chart
For Your Safety
  • Reusable Ear Plugs Zoom
    Reusable Ear Plugs
    Top-quality hearing protection you can keep in your pocket. NRR 27 Reusable Ear Plugs from STIHL feature multiple layers of air cushioning for superior noise reduction and long-lasting comfort. Their tapered design provides a secure seal that keeps you protected almost anywhere – from the shooting range to the job site. And thanks to the included nylon cord and carrying case, you can keep your ear plugs handy for the long haul.
  • Camo Glasses Zoom
    Camo Glasses
    Style and protection come together with STIHL Camo Frame Glasses. These eye protection goggles are wrapped in camouflage print and provide 99% UV protection. Soft rubber temple tips and nosepiece help maintain fit and while reducing slippage.
  • STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves
    Exclusive deerhide leather provides fantastic wear properties and excellent sense of touch and feel. Naturally soft leather provides all-day working comfort. Sizes available S, M, L, XL.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

BGA 85 is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacing gas equipment with battery I just replaced my gas backpack blower with a Stihl electric battery operated blower. I had previously replaced my gas string trimmer and hedge trimmer with Stihl electric units. Next to go will be a chain saw for a Stihl battery saw. I have a quick charger and two batteries that I can use to run any of the Stihl battery equipment.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blower Very powerful and does everything i want it to. It is very quite compared to my gas powered blower and no mixing fuel just pull the trigger and go.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tool I found this a good product to use every day. Big jobs might require an extra battery.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For quick driveway and mow strip clean out this product is perfect. Does the job for quick and easy clean-up. For heavier jobs the battery life is not long enough, so I bought the STHL power blower for fall and spring.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Battery blower good, does light small cleanup jobs well.Dealer, Eddie's power equipment is excellent to deal with. Very helpful and knowledgeable personnel.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disapointed in the power Low power doesn't move small leaves off the deck very well.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful and quiet with Excellent Quality WOW I'm Very Impressed with this unit....#HappyIboughtStilh
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good This Blower is very easy to use and the battery last a long time.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet, light, well balanced, powerfull This blower is great! Even my wife uses it. It is quiet, light, and powerful. We live in a dense neighborhood, it is so nice to have tools that don't wake up the neighbors. I never have to think twice before using it. Wish the battery would last longer.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my stihl No longer needed my Stihl backpack blower so I purchased the BGA 85 blower. love everything about it! Have since purchased an FSA 90 R trimmer and recently added an MSA 200 C chain saw. Love the no-gas part and the ease of operation.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid with great power This is a great cordless blower. A battery lasts about 25 minutes going full power. Blows leaves, twigs and crud with ease, like a good gas blower. Tool is very well balanced, so easy to handle when in use. Also nice lighter weight and decent noise level, well below that of a gas blower. I was not wild about the cost, but once I started using the tool the price became much less of an issue given the performance of the blower. It is worth the expense. Plus no more having to deal with gas and oil. The fast charger works great too. Will be buying more of the tools in the future.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great easy to use blower On the expensive side but a nice quality b;lower. Can be hung up which is nice.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of use The wife and I both love this blower, light weight. big plus is never have to worry about fuel. this is where the wife is over joyed, no smell no pull rope . this is just the best for our needs.Thanks Stihl
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BGA 85 Lithium-Ion Leaf Blower No electric cords to hassle with and roughly 45 minutes of high power air for moving dirt, leaves and grass clippings. I have about an acre of green space to care for and the appearance of our yard is important. This equipment makes me look like I have a high priced garden helper doing my lawn and yard maintenance. Thank you Stihl for making it easy for me and quiet for my neighbors.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the ease of use and dependability. Quality product. First purchase of my own Stihl battery powered tool, but I have used several of the products in the line and I love them. They are so easy to use and easy to maintain. The battery life is good and the blower is lightweight yet sturdy. Might not be the cheapest blower out there but I think it is the best value.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work is done in a fraction of time Purchased this blower after watching my neighbor clean his yard. We have had cordless blowers, but it took forever to clean up and pine cones and other heavy debris had to be hand collected. The Stihl blower is beyond belief. Trust me. You will love it. Only downside is that it is a bit heavy for a small person like me. The trade off is definitely worth it. Thank you STIHL.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am now 100% battery dependent...I'll never go back! Talk about addicting...I started with the FSA 85 string trimmer and BGA 85 blower. I was so impressed that I next purchased the MSA 160 chain saw and finally the HSA 66 hedge trimmer. I was really craving a cordless pole trimmer, so I sent Stihl an e-mail requesting that they add it to their cordless line...and I guess they listened!I will be making another trip to my local dealer to add the HTA 85 to my Stihl cordless arsenal!Stihl tools are made for people that know that quality and longevity does not come cheap. I've always been well served by purchasing the best tools that I could afford.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tool in my garage Wouldn't want to live without it expensive but worth it!
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I have the blower, weed trimmer, and chain saw. They are all awesome products, and handy, easy to use. For battery powered products, they are extremely impressive! I have all gas powered Stihl stuff ( 5 chainsaws, pole saw, blower, 2 hedge trimmers ) and was skeptical about battery operated products. Stihl definitely delivered with this line.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient and easy to use I love this blower. It is great for cleaning driveways, patios, sidewalks, etc. It is variable speed with the trigger which is very helpful to me when blowing leaves in the corners of my patio.It works fine for blowing leaves off the grass, but you may want to get an extra battery for more continuous use. At max speed it runs for about 20 minutes.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great electric blower We had bought this as blower to use where I work and I can not be more happy. The quality is there for a long days work and there is no fuel smell or mixing oil and gas or the loud engine, and that is key for a happy customer. The price is a little steep for it though, I almost matched the price of the blower with the battery and charger. And if used with care (not full or nothing) I was able to around 45min out of the AP 180 and still get the job done well. Last but not least, the blower can not be flicked around in your hand as well as the gas ones can, maybe due to the twin axial fans.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If at first you don't succeed~ Finally broke down and picked up a cordless blower. Brought it home, charged the batt. Used it for two minutes and the thing ceased up. Called the dealer-he said bring it in the tech will be there Tuesday. Had my new new blower on Weds. Wanted something I could use in the garage to make a mess when the vaccum was too small of an option. What I didn't expect was the variable speed trigger- allows very low speed blowing- nice feature when cutting in around landscaping and planters on patios. Can't do that with the backpack BR600 on idle. That said- the specs are true- the Battery charges in less than half an hour- and I get plenty of runtime out of it to clean up around the house after mowing- or just a wind storm. About half the snot of the big blower- but so much easier to get out and run for a few minutes. No gas to fill, no cord to pull. just press the trigger and you're in business. Still a little pricey, but we'll see how long it lasts, then review the lifetime costs- no mix to buy, no fuel, and b/c no ethanol involved- no carb replacements!! Save $85 right there! Easier to climb up on the roof with and works great for blowing off the mower and log splitter after a session. Great product overall~
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Has been a great asset to my new home. Great for cleaning indoors too, by removing any dirt or dust behind appliances and etc. This machine does not put off any fumes making it safe for indoors.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good power from a battery operated blower. Very pleased with this battery operated blower. Lightweight and ergonomically designed. Plenty of power to blow debris off of my drive-way and patio with little noise compared to gas powered blowers.
Date published: 2015-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grab & Go Type of Tool It is such a pleasure to use this blower - no pull start gas engine to irritate my arthriticshoulders. Alittle heavy with the AP 180 battery but no problem. Unit has plenty of power.My only wish is that STIHL comes out with a fan shaped nozzel for this blower.
Date published: 2015-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from powerful, yet easy to literally give just a "puff" of air with the trigger. Very quiet Maybe could use a strap for longer work(for older home owner).Glad I've got it !!!
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expensive Novelty Yes, it's made well, but performance is lacking. Specifically, battery life for the AP180 is only 60% of that touted in specifications. Under what conditions can I expect the battery to last "up to 23 minutes"? Do I need to operate the machine at low power to achieve this performance? The best I got was 13:45 with a fully charged, new AP180 at maximum speed. Stihl's reputation is great which makes the BGA85 all the more a disappointing piece of kit purchased at a premium price. Stihl's reputation takes a hit on this one.
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short Battery life I love using the blower. It works well and is easy to use. Plenty powerful for what I need. My only complaint is I only get 15 minutes of run time and then have to recharge it. An extra battery is very expensive so for now I'm living with it. Hopefully they'll have an improved battery some day with a longer run time.
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutelyl love it It is nice to be able to grab quickly and use it to clean off the back porch and driveway. Best part is you don't smell like gas or exhaust after using it. I have had a BG 55 and It seems pretty similar power. Battery life could be longer but it has always done what I needed it to do.
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Battery life is very short If you have even a medium size lawn do not try to blow the leaves using this product. The battery life is less than half an hour. So far I have gone out twice and only gotten about a 10'x20' area cleared. At this rate it will be spring before I get done.Also, it would be nice to have a piece that can be added to the front to direct the wind instead of just the wide mouth that is now the only option.
Date published: 2014-11-14
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_bga85, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl