BGE 71 - $119.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
BGE 71

DSRP: $119.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A versatile, two-speed electric handheld blower for high or low speed and noise control.

Like the BGE 61, this powerful blower has a quiet electric motor ideal for neighborhood use with clearing and vacuuming debris. Using a high and low switch to tailor the air speed to the task at hand, the new BGE 71 electric blower is versatile-allowing you to easily convert to a vacuum or gutter cleaner with optional kits offered by your local STIHL dealer.
Print Spec Sheets
BGE 71 Specifications
WEIGHT 3.1 kg (6.8 lbs.)
BLOWING FORCE* Low speed: 6 Newtons
High speed: 9 Newtons
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** Low speed: 394 m3/h (232 cfm)
High speed: 485 m3/h (285 cfm)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY** Low speed: 53 m/sec. (119 mph)
High speed: 66 m/sec. (148 mph)
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** Low speed: 47 m/sec. (105 mph)
High speed: 58 m/sec. (130 mph)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** Low speed: 58 dB(A)
High speed: 64 dB(A)
MOTOR OUTPUT 1.1 kW (9.2 amps)
VOLTAGE 120 V, (60 hz)
POWER SOURCE Electric
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **As per ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built-in Cable Strain Relief
    The built-in cable strain relief helps prevent the power cord from becoming accidentally disconnected.
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Multi-Function Handle
    With the multi-function handle, all of the blower’s controls can be adjusted with one hand, allowing simple and reliable operation for both right and left-handed users. In addition, the handle’s control lever allows the user to easily adjust the engine speed.

Important Information
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • Gutter Kit Zoom
    Gutter Kit
    Clogged gutters may become a thing of the past with this quick and manageable gutter attachment. A series of plastic tubes attach to your STIHL handheld blower and can extend to more than ten feet, providing the additional extension needed to reach most residential gutters. Great for removing dry leaves and debris. For use with BG 55, BG 56 C-E, BG 66 L, BG 86 and BG 86 C-E. Contact us for details.
  • Vacuum Kit Zoom
    Vacuum Kit
    Enables blowers to quickly convert to a vacuum. Easy-to-remove bag has zipper bottom, making it easy to empty.
For Your Safety
  • Black Work Glasses Zoom
    Black Work Glasses

    The STIHL Black Work Glasses feature scratch-resistant polycarbonate lenses and flexible, ventilated, straight-back temples. They block out 99.9% of the sun’s harmful UV rays and offer a sleek style that looks great in any work environment. They’re also comfortable and feature rubber-tipped temples to help keep them in place while the head is in motion. Check out these and other stylish protective eyewear at our Dealership. Shown with Black Frame / Grey Lens. Available lens colors: Blue Mirror, Grey, Silver Mirror.

  • Basic Hearing Protector Zoom
    Basic Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 23. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Available color: Black/Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

BGE 71 is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is perfect for us We needed a new blower after our 16 year-old, two-cycle gas blower bit the dust. I was intrigued by converting to electric so we wouldn't have to deal with mixing gas and oil as well as the noise and exhaust from a gas engine. On paper, the BGE 71 seemed to fit the bill. After seeing and using one at a local dealer, I was sold. I couldn't believe its power! Plus, it's lighter, quieter, and easier to handle than the gas-powered type. (Our lot is 90 by 130 feet, with about three or four large trees in the backyard.) The cord isn't an issue for us plus we benefit from not having to deal with another set of batteries and a charger! I see the BGE 71 meeting our needs exactly for some time to come.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Brand New - Died I bought the BGE 71 in April 2016 and have only used it about 45 minutes this summer and and today it just stopped working. Up until then I was very pleased with its performance and quality but what good is that when it quits with so very little use?How sad...
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a good electric blower. Don't consider the vacuum attachment if offered. It's worthless. At one point in time Stiehl sold this unit as a combination blower/vacuum. The vacuum feature was worthless. The blower unit is excellent.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality Purchased this on the recommendation of my son in law, it has proved to be everything he said it would be PLUS more. It gets the job done quickly and its light weight and powerful. Professional quality at a homeowners price
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tuns at low rpm but blows very hard nice blower awesome really has a lot of power i like the light weight and it moves leaves really good
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful,well made, and lite. I bought this blower mainly to clean up pine needles on my driveway and walkways. It does a great job. I have extended it,s use to blowing out the garage, and blowing out spider webs on the outside of the house. Always thinking now on what I can use it for next. Great tool!
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded my expectations This was my first Stihl leaf blower and it's more powerful and quieter that my previous blower. Also like the two speed capability - even on low speed, it's stronger than my previous unit. The gutter attachment is also well designed and easy to work with.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long life LIKE ALL STIHL PRODUCTS THEY SEEM TO LAST FOREVER. THE STIHL ELECTRIC BLOWER I HAVE IS TWELVE YEARS OLD AND I USE IT ALL THE TIME. IT PERFORMS JUST LIKE THE DAY I PURCHASED IT NEW. WHEN AND IF IT EVER GOES BAD I WILL PURCHASE ANOTHER STIHL BLOWER
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from didn't pick up I purchased this product and returned it the following day. My main reason is that it just didn;t do the job. I couldn't get the leaves out of my flower bed or base of my bushes. In my opinion the suction tube is too wide and can't penetrate .
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fourth Stihl blower. I like this one best. I know the big gas powered blowers are awesome, and I have purchased two of those for my business. But for quick home use, this electric one tops all. It feels lightweight to me and does not cause fatigue even after I've run it for a half hour. For anything longer, I'd go with the backpack blower. However, for the price, this was a great deal at half the price of the similar sized gas handheld blower from Stihl (which I also own, but no longer find as much use for.) There is no mixing fuel and oil; I just quickly plug it in and use it. It puts out a lot, and I mean a LOT of air force, so blowing a wet driveway with pine needles in Oregon still works with this blower as it would with the big ones. It's quieter and is great for home use where I try to preserve the pricey gas I have for lawnmowers and pressure washers. Maintenance is non-existent at this point, though after a year, I will likely have it checked out at my local Stihl dealer. The dealer did tell me that these were relatively maintenance free, so another plus there.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product worked perfectly. This product was so easy to charge and to start using. I was able to move all the leaves collecting in the low area near the basement entrance. It had plenty of power to blow the leaves away from the concrete floor out into the yard and down to the pasture.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Product works great! This Product works great for the Value and it's intended uses, I bought it to blow the pine needles off our Patio and walk way once a week and was looking at something that was easy to get out and use with out gassing it up all the time,was worried about the electric one not having much blowing force but to my surprise it did a great job!
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Takes quiet a while to get replacement parts Good vacuum, blower, gutter clean-out combination tool, it is powerful enoughRigged as a vacuum to pick up rocks or chunks of pine bark mulch, that canDamage the fan blade, which shuts down all functions.This item should be stocked regionally for quicker replacement, since it is madeOf plastic.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl product are awesome! I recently bought a stihl blower and love it. It works excellent on yard waste and fluffy snow. I bought a stihl because I bought stihl chainsaw and weed trimmer earlier this year because of availability and service. I will buy stihl in the furture.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight, Easy to handle, Two speeds I bought the electric blower because I didn' t want to mess with the gasoline/oil mixture. This blower is light weight, easy to handle, and the two speeds are really nice. I use the low speed to get leaves out of my garden without blowing away the decorative rock and for blowing out the garage. This blower makes my yard clean up less time consuming and it even blows pine needles without blinking an eye. I get about 25 huge bags of leaves every year and this blower helped me get the leaves under control. Now if it could put the leaves in the bags, that would be awesome!. It is also quieter than other blowers I have used. I will definately buy another Stihl product again. It was so fun to use that I wanted to keep blowing and clean out my neighbors yard!
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice little blower Works great! Sticking with Stihl in the future; tired of buying garbage and throwing it away within a year or two
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super functioning product with great quality. I purchased the Stihl BGE71 blower in June 2013. I've used it quite a few times and it meets all of my high expectations. I went w/ this model due to the two speed switch, the lower speed does come in handy when in tight spaces, in my garage, etc. This item is lightweight and of high quality.I have no problems with the cord. I would have went with the battery powered unit except it was a very high price and fairly low runtime.The electric product is great. No gas/oil/carb to mess with. Plug it in and its ready to go. My 50' cord does fine with most of my jobs. I add a second 50' cord when I need to get out just a bit further.
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely easy assembly; two pieces make the nozzle & it's done! I bought this for my mother. She LOVES it!! It is very easy to carry, very quiet, but most importantly, very, very powerful! It truly gets the job done. I tried it also & found it easy to manipulate around the yard. It doesn't get hot around the handle. I have several other Stihl products & am glad I purchased this blower for her.
Date published: 2013-06-03
  • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_bge71, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl