BG 50 - $139.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
BG 50

DSRP: $139.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

The lightest gasoline-powered handheld blower in the STIHL lineup.

The reasonably priced BG 50 blower is perfect for homeowners seeking a compact tool for yard waste and leaf cleanup. It boasts a lightweight and ergonomic design, a fuel-efficient engine, toolless air filter access and an upright fuel tank for easier filling. With the highest power-to-weight ratio in the STIHL gas-powered line, the BG 50 handheld blower combines dependability and quality with affo...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
BG 50 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.7 kW (0.9 bhp)
WEIGHT 3.6 kg (7.9 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 430 cc (14.5 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE* 13 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** 60 m/sec (134 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY** 71 m/sec (159 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** 700 m3/h (412 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** 70 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    The purge pump primer feature enables the user to prime the carburetor with fuel, enabling easier starting. The purge pump primer is designed in a way that the operator cannot flood the machine by priming the carburetor too many times. Flooding the engine is still possible if the choke is not removed after the engine fires.
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Handheld Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL handheld blowers.

Important Information
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • Ultra Flex Glasses Zoom
    Ultra Flex Glasses
    Form fitting and lightweight, the STIHL Ultra Flex Protective Glasses provide comfortable eye protection. A hypoallergenic, vented rubber nosepiece is crafted to provide reduced slippage. Provides 99% UV protection.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

BG 50 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 322.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You can't go wrong with this blower. This blower has great power, even 2 days worth of wet leaves if does the job well.. I bought this particular blower because I was tired of the cord on my electric blower off my shop vac. And i was pleasantly surprised.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, good product Early review, only used the leaf blower once, but so far so good. It did take several pulls to start, but after that it was fine. This is my 1st Stihl product. It replaced a blower that had a 32 cc engine, so I expected a less powerful wind force from the Stihl. If it existed, I certainly did not notice it. It is also lighter than my former blower was, so the Stihl is easier to use. My other leaf blower lasted 15 years of heavy use with absolutely no maintenance whatsoever, so my new Stihl has a long way to go before I can comment on its relative reliability. Still, its a Stihl so I expect a reliable product. So far, no complaints.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power I think this is a great blower. The bg50 is my first stihl product. I will definitely consider stihl in the future. The only problem I have is that it won't start back up if I shut it off for a few minutes.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unequalled quality If it gets any better than Stihl I would not know how.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from powerfull The BG50 is the best blower i have laid my hands on. It is light weight and has plenty of power to blow leaves, pine needles, ect. You will not be dissapointed!
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Blower Great product!!!! Cleaned out our gutters in no time flat!
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wieldy lightweight that has good power This blower is very good in general;it really shines when used in tight quarters;its low weight really helps with maneuverability.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight powerful blower great light weight tool for blowing a lot of leaves
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Buy this over other store brands I'm a Stihl believer Chainsaws and Trimmers. I've only had this little blower for a month or so but it does have the power for homeowner use, clearing gutters, drives, etc. Very light weight. Quieter than many. And it's nice to have a blowers that uses the same 50:1 fuel mix as my other gear. No attachments to increase velocity but for homeowner use in town it's fine. If you have more land, larger yard, many many trees (like I used to have) get a larger unit. This one does not shred leaves. But in 10 years at my old place I wore out two other brand units. I'm thinking this one will last a long time if it's like my other Stihl gear.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the price For the price you can’t beat it, a little hard to start compared to my other Stihl blower but still a good product.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blowing capacity, Leightweight. It is always a pleasure to start this product. It starts the first time after the few priming pulls with the choke on.The BG50 has more than adequate power to blow leaves, sand, and other debris from 500 feet of driveway and sidewalks. It's lightweight, with minimal vibration, so using it for 30 minutes or so is not tiring!
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought it for the wife. Starts easy and idels well. Enough power to blow the pine needles but not enough to wreck things.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from home blower Just the right size for around the house needs. Starts easily and does the job well.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If you can get it started it runs good but don’t run out of fuel because you will have a hard time to get it started again Hard to start don’t run out of fuel you won’t get it to start again
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but new carburetor after 6 months ownership Bought in Spring 2017 -- New carb and adjustment needed after just six months ownership but covered under warranty. Dealership adjusted carb and said it "runs like an inexpensive blower should." Was bit taken aback by that as it is a STIHL. Should run well for the next few years. Other products owned include chainsaw and weed trimmer both have been great. If considering BG 50 you might consider next model up...
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value It starts and runs very well. does the job I need for a small piece of property.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great performance and great price Starts easily and is powerful. Works great for blowing my drive and patio.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product and value I looked at most gas blowers available. This blower, to me, was the best value. The primary factors in selecting this blower we're Stihl's reputation as quality products; weight of the blower; and price.It was nice to go to a local reseller (Ace) and they handed me an assembled blower, showed my wife and I how to start it and verified it ran well before we left.It is light weight compared to other brands. Sometimes as much as 2 pounds lighter. It has plenty of power for home owner use. The trigger for variable power is great. The blower is easy to start and has a very easy to pull starter rope. I love this blower.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good choice starts up easily and plenty of power to move the leafes around. Great for blowing out the gutters .
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone should have one Plenty of power. Easy to maintain. Gas tank could be a little bigger. Love it.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product has great power Plenty of power for the price, It does everything I need it to do. A great blower would recommend for anyone looking for a blower and don't want to spend a lot. Save a lot of work.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexpensive, Stihl quality Used about 6 times now, a little hard starting since beginning. Even employee at Farm Snd fleet said same, when he had to run it before purchase. Once warmed up, seems ok. My 2 other Stihl tools, no problem at all. Think I need to fine tune outer jet.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife loves it I have been wanting to get one for a long time and finally did last month. I wasn't sure what my wife was going to say but I bought it anyway. Well all is good. After one try she fell in love with it and thinks it's here now
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little hard to start Takes a considerable number of pulls to start.However, it is brand new. Stumbles a little from idle to full throttle.But this does not happen after a few minutes of warm up.Overall, this is a great blower.I expect it will be better after a longer break in period.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts Every Time I love this blower, it is light enough to blow off the deck, the driveway and the rear porch, it is powerful enough to blow off the walnuts from the oak trees and, most importantly, with the easy start, it starts and runs well each and every time, really love this tool!
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dies easily Have to be quick, from idle to full throttle stumbles, have to choke or dies.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy and easy to use I use backpack Stihl model at forestry/campground of Department of Natural Resources job for large areas. I purchased this unit for 1 acre hobby farm lawn cleanup after experience at work. Unit works well, moving heavy, deep, and wet leaves without fatigue due to lightness of unit. Sometimes work lasting 3 to 4 hours without a problem. This is Stihl's lowest price blower and everything you could ask for, get Stihl and don't go for the cheaper brands, the only thing they are good for is dumpster filling after a couple of years of marginal service. I learned this the hard way.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is easy to use. It starts easily and handles with little or no fatigue. Fueling it is a snap. It can be easily put down while in operation. Its best feature - it moves my large piles of leaves in no time!
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blower is light and powerful. Easy to start, has more power than I expected for its size, hope I get many years of service from it.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Starts easy but runs ruff Easy starting but runs ruff at higher speed. I'll try to adjust the idle but wish I did'nt have to since it is brand new.
Date published: 2017-10-24
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_322
  • loc_en_US, sid_bg50, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl