BG 50 - $139.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
BG 50

DSRP: $139.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

The lightest gasoline-powered handheld blower in the STIHL lineup.

The reasonably priced BG 50 blower is perfect for homeowners seeking a compact tool for yard waste and leaf cleanup. It boasts a lightweight and ergonomic design, a fuel-efficient engine, toolless air filter access and an upright fuel tank for easier filling. With the highest power-to-weight ratio in the STIHL gas-powered line, the BG 50 handheld blower combines dependability and quality with affo...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
BG 50 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.7 kW (0.9 bhp)
WEIGHT 3.6 kg (7.9 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 430 cc (14.5 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE* 13 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** 60 m/sec (134 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY** 71 m/sec (159 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** 700 m3/h (412 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** 70 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    The purge pump primer feature enables the user to prime the carburetor with fuel, enabling easier starting. The purge pump primer is designed in a way that the operator cannot flood the machine by priming the carburetor too many times. Flooding the engine is still possible if the choke is not removed after the engine fires.
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Handheld Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL handheld blowers.

Important Information
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • Ultra Flex Glasses Zoom
    Ultra Flex Glasses
    Form fitting and lightweight, the STIHL Ultra Flex Protective Glasses provide comfortable eye protection. A hypoallergenic, vented rubber nosepiece is crafted to provide reduced slippage. Provides 99% UV protection.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

BG 50 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 321.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I always wanted a Stihl and finally purchased the BG50 gas blower.I've had it now for 2 weeks and it has outperformed other gas blowers I've had in the past.Starts right up and has plenty of power for any household use.The BG50 is lightweight and easy to use.Make sure to always use the Stihl gas mix and it will also double your warranty.Great product!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Starting & Runs Great This machine starts more easily than any 2 cycle engine I've ever owned. It is lighter than others I've used and is more powerful. I don't see any downside. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for what I need I use the leaf blower in grain bins, sheds and garage and continue to use for residential leaves. Small size makes it easy for all the family to use. Easy to start and maintain. The value and quality are second to none and local dealer is great to work with.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for smaller jobs Awesome, reliable, lightweight, easy to use, great for around the house use
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product was worth the buy This bg50 blower is one of the best outdoor power tools I've ever bought I was skeptical at first but once I brought it home and used it I knew it was exactly what I was looking for! Highly recommend it!
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wears you out trying to start and keep running Ace Hardware Stihl representative told me the gas cannot be over 30 days old. For a home use product this should be disclosed before purchase. I used 93 octane gasoline for all 4 of my Stihl products, but now I'm paying a small fortune for the tiny Stihl fuel that might give three refills. Stupid blower still starts hard, and only continues running with choke on. If I start it without the trigger pulled it can run 10 minutes or more but don't think of trying to pull the trigger or it dies. If I start it with trigger fully depressed the same thing; don't let off that trigger or it dies. Restarting after one of these episodes is futile. I own an edger, hedge trimmer, and grass trimmer and I would say they all start hard and keeping them running is often difficult.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start; moderate noise; great results This uses the same fuel mix as my chain saw. Light and easy to use. Reliable start. Look forward to years of service based on other Stihl products I use.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS PRODUCT HAS GREAT VALUE HAS A LOT OF POWER AN IS EASY TO HANDLE. A SUPERIOR PRODUCT AND A GOOD VALUE
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blazin! 1 pull wonder ! 3 puffs on the primer never had a problem awesome power blazin through the leaves super light ,, Stihl a name that speaks for its self for quality in my shed !
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good power Was not very satisfied with the customer service where I bought this blower. Had problems with the blower so I took it back told them they said they fixed the problem but didn't. So I took it to another company that sales the same blower and fixed my blower I will buy from this company. Pro Star Rental is the company that fixed the with no problem. I will never buy from Vernon Ag Supply again. Thanks this is David Perez
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable at reasonable price. Very reliable. Good power. No problems whatsoever. Great value.
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Weight is nice I find it very difficult to start. I follow directions and most of the time I can't get it started. Once it starts it is a great product.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If your not buying a Stihl your wasting your money I've had several other blowers that I bought from big box stores. Finally went and got the real deal. Starts up first time everytime. No tired arms or cussing. I have a Stihl chainsaw that is 12 yrs. old and a hedge trimmer that is 5 yrs, old both are as dependable as the day I bought them.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great features Very easy to start does seem like it bogs down when you pull the accelerator trigger overall good product will be taking it in to see if something is wrong with the accelerator trigger
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not reliable Brand new it was difficult to crank and didn't run well when it did. Brought it back and he swapped it out with another. Better, but still finicky when starting. Overall not very impressed
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl Quality I have a few Stihl products. All of them have performed great. Easy to start after storing for weeks or even a few months. Stihl brand has become a favorite of mine. I would recommend the tools for home owner use.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight Looked at several stores that sell leaf blowers after looking what they offer I was set on my new stihl blower. This is the first stihl I purchased after using this I will stay with stihl I was very happy.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another steihl quality product This is an excellent blower for the home owner.I use it for blowing debris on driveways and clay tennis court.It starts every time if u follow the instructions.Can not believe the reviews who had start problems. It comes down to whether u can follow the start instructions.If u cant read or follow the instructions ,buy a broom! Was tempted to buy another brand with better warrenty but after learning of the limited ,almost non existent repair locations,went with the local Ace dealer here in Tennessee. U cant beat a Steihl product; I have used them for decades.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hurricane Irma blows, just not as hard Hurricane Irma just blew through and left a mess up and down my street. The neighbors all pitched in to clean off the debris and I used my Stihl blower to get the sticks and leaves off the roadway and every driveway on our block. It's a small thing but it was much appreciated by everyone and my blower remains a champ! Next up I'll be investing in the Stihl chainsaw!
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dependable This is a dependable product. Runs well and I am happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the product features are less than previous BG50 's I purchased my second BG50 the first needed to be replaced after 8 years of use. I was surprised how the units have changed. The handle has no padding, there is no handle to lock in full open position. So you have to keep the trigger squeezed at all times. No additional tubing is supplied. Seems the features are less but it isn't reflected in the pricing.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Genesee Mecanical Services sold me a lemon Genesee Mecanical Services sold me a blower from their old stock that had a know carb recall on it. From day one the blower would only run when fully chocked, when I took it in for warranty they told me it wasn't covered. Until I found out about last years recall on the carb on this unit. So he sold me last years model this year. Definitely won't buy another Stihl unless they make it right! And definitely won't buy from Genesee Mecanical Services.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this prodcut has worked well for me i cant give 5 stars because it is brand new and hardly used yet,,but for the price its a great deal,,its lightweight enough to carry and use for a awhile,has always started within 5 pulls or less for me,has plenty of power and i have not had any issues with it so far and i am looking forward to really testing it out this fall.So far i am very pleased with this product and would recommend it when compared to different other blowers of the same type.After all its a stihl and i havent had a bad experience with their products yet.Still a good company and products but thats just been my experience with them over ones lifetime.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good machine for the money! Starts alot better after 4 tanks of fuel . Two or three pulls as opposed to eight or ten when new . Very light . Wish it had a throttle lock . Use it almost daily . Great machine for two months so far so good !
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Extremely hard to start Pull cord broke second time I used it. Most Stihl products are hard to start. This is no exception. Good products but they still haven't figured that out. Not for novice or weekend users.
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight easy to handle Great Blower! Easy to use and dependable.Go with Stihl!
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best overall value I own several Stihl products and my BG50 is the newest I've purchased. I like that it is made by Stihl. The power is really strong! Starts easily and is very lightweight. It's got to be the best in overall value. Can't beat the price!
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 15 years old. fell out of pickup truck skidding across hwy. still works like new only ever added gas. 15 years later still starts on 2nd pull. zero maintenance. looking at replacing bc it fell put of truck on hwy and broke frame. darn this still runs great amazing. have trimmer that also runs perfect
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable brand Great blower, easy to start, lightweight but sturdy. Powerful, Plan to try it on the lightweight snow this winter.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very under powered The only thing that I like about this is it is light weight but Very under powered and will hardly blow off leaves and grass it really doesn't if it's a little damp and for as much money as it cost and I wouldn't buy it again !
Date published: 2017-08-24
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_321
  • loc_en_US, sid_bg50, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl