BG 56 C-E - $179.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
BG 56 C-E

DSRP: $179.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

An easy-to-use handheld blower with a simplified starting system.

Don't let yard work be hard work. Ideal for cleaning up leaves and debris on walkways or driveways around the home, the new powerful, low emissions BG 56 C-E handheld gas leaf blower features the STIHL Easy2Start™ system, making starting virtually effortless. Designed with a specialized stop switch and semi-automatic choke lever, the blower automatically resets itself to the run position while hel...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
BG 56 C-E Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.7 kW (0.9 bhp)
WEIGHT 4.2 kg (9.3 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 540 cc (18.3 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE* 13 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** 60 m/sec (134 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY** 71 m/sec (159 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** 700 m3/h (412 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** 70 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL® outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL® products fast and easy. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    The purge pump primer feature enables the user to prime the carburetor with fuel, enabling easier starting. The purge pump primer is designed in a way that the operator cannot flood the machine by priming the carburetor too many times. Flooding the engine is still possible if the choke is not removed after the engine fires.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Handheld Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL handheld blowers.

Important Information
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Gutter Kit Zoom
    Gutter Kit
    Clogged gutters may become a thing of the past with this quick and manageable gutter attachment. A series of plastic tubes attach to your STIHL handheld blower and can extend to more than ten feet, providing the additional extension needed to reach most residential gutters. Great for removing dry leaves and debris. For use with BG 55, BG 56 C-E, BG 66 L, BG 86 and BG 86 C-E. Contact us for details.
  • Vacuum Kit Zoom
    Vacuum Kit
    Enables blowers to quickly convert to a vacuum. Easy-to-remove bag has zipper bottom, making it easy to empty.
For Your Safety
  • Ultra Flex Glasses Zoom
    Ultra Flex Glasses
    Form fitting and lightweight, the STIHL Ultra Flex Protective Glasses provide comfortable eye protection. A hypoallergenic, vented rubber nosepiece is crafted to provide reduced slippage. Provides 99% UV protection.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

BG 56 C-E is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 508.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for older folks Excellent product that i enjoyed from its first use. Very easy for a 71 year old person to use. Started right up with no problems every time i have used it. It’s power was very surprising and efficient easily out performing my competitors product in power and easy of use.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blower Starts easy,great blowing force, a little sluggish on the throttle when cold but does a great job! Would recommend this blower,nice and light too!
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL blower makes cleanup easy Only after using neighbors STIHL KOMBI system hedge trimmer I realized what the difference good engineering makes lawn care power equipment. Purchased this blower to replace another brand with similar looks and performance. Impressed with additional warranty period when using STIHL oil. Blower is quieter and engine seems to be balanced therefore reduced vibration.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power, Great weight This blower has a lot of bang for the buck. Great power and light weight.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for commercial use? Hi, I don’t often write reviews but I felt compelled to write here so that someone in STIHL gets off their d.u.f.f. as I am not allowed to type b.u.t?! The issue is that I bought the blower for my house. I’m 74 years old and work around my house for clearing leaves almost daily off my small driveway. Unfortunately..... the blower after 1 year the blower became harder to start ... even bought the motor oil from STIHL to ensure I had the best performance. Keep in mind that I have had a few blowers over the last 30+ years and never had problems until my ECHO gave up after nearly 10 years. Anyways I wanted to give STIHL a chance since I use their trimmer for my yard. After I took the STIHL blower to be looked at by a service technician... I was told that the unit is not under warranty because it was used “commercially use”. This is strange as I’m a senior citizen and veteran as well that simply blows leaves off my one car driveway. I went to get another opinion and was told “you can’t mix with ethanol in the gas”. This explanation is puzzling as all gas sold at the pumps (at least where I live in Virginia). I am having this “repaired” at a STIHL service center and it has now been two weeks... I understand that it is Christmas and today is New Years Eve... so it would cause some delay. I like to have a blower that works..
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awesome Blower when it runs. The first year of use encountered no issues. At my one year anniversary of owing the blower it was time to put it to work again cleaning up the leaves. Worked good for half the yard took a break and went back out to finish up and the blower was hard to start and keep running. Bought a new spark plug and air filter, it helped initially then right back to the hard starting after stopping to refuel. Took the blower to the local Stihl service center where I bought it. After a week of not hearing anything I stopped by the store and they said I needed a new carburetor. Another week or so passed and finally received a call and was told more parts needed to be ordered and that it was not covered by the warranty. I asked if he knew or had an idea as to what caused the damage. The repairman said that it was most likely caused by improper mixing of the oil and fuel. Did I mention I purchased the Stihl oil and by doing so that it extended the warranty out to two years. I followed the mixing instructions and I only mix a gallon at a time so it does not sit for an extended period. I even shake up the jug again prior to refilling the tanks. So I asked how much to repair the blower, the price was more than it was to buy a new one. So here is my question to Stihl? Why do I bother to purchase the Stihl oil and extend the warranty if a service tech can simple say it was operator error and the repair is not covered under warranty? So I now wonder how long it will be before my Stihl chainsaw, weed eater, or backpack blower will go through the same ordeal. Yes I also purchased the Stihl oil to extend the warranty on all the previous mention products. Anyone need the gutter attachment to the blower I reviewed, only used once.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great piece of equipment! This is the best blower I've ever owned. Its light and easy to use. Its easy to start and runs great! The two stroke engine is well designed and runs fairly quiet. It runs for a long time on a tank full of fuel.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for around the house This blower is great for sidewalks, driveway, decks, and about anything with flat smooth surfaces. I'm sure it would be good for blowing bigger leaves too such as maple or oak tree. I have a tree with small leaves in my yard and it has a heck of a time trying to blow them where I want them. If your tree has small leaves that tend to stick between blades of grass you may want to go with a BG86 or higher.
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spring and pull cord Mind you I have had this blower for at least two years. The first time that the spring and cord mess up it was on me for jerking the cord. After the first time I got instruction from the technician on how to start the blower. I did as the technician show me and it still mess up. I have gotten the spring changed a total of four times. I don't want to take it back to the technician that is why I an on your web sight looking for parts.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power to move wet oak leaves & light enough for me,(78 yr), to hold. My first gas blower; 56 c was a lucky guess. It's light enough for me to hold and use and powerful enough to blow wet oak leaves, starts easy.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for the price Light weight, easy to start, and plenty of power, economically priced
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't have made a better choice for a blower. Excellent product at an affordable price. Purchased this product after the failure of a NiCad model of a competitor brand. Very pleased with the purchase of this brand and model.
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blower review Full throttle rpm needs to be higher. Fuel tank should be a bit larger
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest starting blower This blower starts easy, moves a large volume of air, and is very light weight. Had mine for most summer and all fall and cleans up clippings and leaves great. Can't wait to see how it works on powder snow.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Had an old Stihl blower for over 10 years. Replaced it with another well known brand...what was I thinking? The other brand only lasted 3 years. Now I've gone back to a Stihl. Instantly notice the quality difference. Lighter; quieter; consumes less fuel; less fumes.Luv this product and bought it from a great dealer..G&J in Bluffton SC.Happy customer!
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as Expected, Stihl is my go to brand Uses same Stihl fuel mix as weed wacker and chain saw. Easy start, prime, pull starts up first time, everytime. This has plenty of power to blow huge piles of wet leaves, small sticks. My buddy has had a similar Stihl blower for 10 years and it's still running strong so I know it has good "genes". I also got the gutter attachment kit. Awesome buy. Neighbors all asked to borrow it to clean their gutters!
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fully fills product expectations. Easy starting, lightweight, extremely dependable, the best of the best. I have had a few to compare with. If Stihl makes it, you can bet I have it!
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does a great job I've owned several electric leaf blowers in the past. Decided this fall to invest in a gas powered one. Disappointed with another brand purchased from (and returned to) a big box store, I turned to our nearby Stihl dealer (I've owned a string trimmer by them for years.) The BG 56CE is perfect for my needs. Does a good job clearing our property of assorted lawn debris. Starts very easily, handles well and runs pretty quietly. Operates a fair amount of time on one fill up. A throttle "cruise control" would be a nice addition.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great blower but takes time to warm up for full power Does a great job blowing leaves and works reasonably well with wet leaves. Takes several minutes for the engine to warm and provide full blowing power once started. Takes 5-7 pulls to start but still fairly easy. So far so good! My favorite yard tool.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I'm so far happy with this blower, I've only had it a month and everything is working as it should so far starts pretty easy . We have a a pretty decent sized yard with a few very large trees that have a ton of leaves which is the only reason I have a 4 star rating on power cause I could use a little more power to push the large amounts but for the price we couldn't go wrong with this. We went with this model because the 50 series didn't have very good reviews, I was told by a Stihl guy that those are the mass produced ones to compete with cheaper ones which is why there'll were having issues with them and the 65 series and higher were the better ones.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lawrence When my electric blower stopped performing, I looked for something more portable and more powerful. This blower made easy work or moving leaves from three huge maple trees off my driveway. I do not plan of getting my rake out this year.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent easy start light and quiet Im 91 years old and I was looking for an easy start leaf blower and when I went to the dealer ship I told the salesman I wanted a easy start leaf blower and he recommended the BG56C-E, was I surprised how easy it starts and how quiet it is.Stihl engineers did a good job making this one. I had several makes before but nothing compares to this one. Excellent leaf blower.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blower Ever! Best Blower Ever! I blow a .65 acre lot that is filled with trees. This product is very durable and efficient.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pull the cord, it starts. My first blower and my first Stihl product. Why did I wait 20+ years of home ownership for this? Used it all this fall for blowing leaves from beds, gutters, etc. It does seem to use more fuel than I would expect, but it gets the job done. Great for a quick blow out the garage floor too.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greattach blower Blower has plenty of power and does a great job blowing large piles of leaves. The engine starts up easily. Worth the money.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl #1 in my book I have had an old bg55 blower for over 10 years, its been dropped from 2 story homes, thrown into my truck, neglected, without tune ups, ran without an air filter for about 5 years, Conclusion - though i treat my tools bad, Stihl is the best, longest lasting and dependable tool i have ever purchased.Nov. 2017 purchased BG 56 c-e from my local ace with coupon, starts easy, gutter cleaning kit is awesome accessory.Plan on treating this one a little bit better. Trust me this review comes from a home repairman that takes his tools to the ultimate test.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I call my blower "Mom" My BG56 blower starts easily, and that is a huge plus. After some years of operating an electric Brand X blower, I was hoping for a major upgrade in terms of the air velocity; I got an upgrade, but I can't call it major. What I CAN call it is "Mom," because, just like my mother, this blower is trying to make me right-handed. I'm ambidextrous and I change from left to right and back again frequently as my 75-year-old arms get tired. When I have the blower in my left hand, the air intake sucks my jeans, blocking part of the air flow, reducing the air being discharged. It's a right-handed world, and I understand it - but I don't like being constantly reminded of it.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl are the best! Two years ago I purchased a Farm Boss 290 Chain Saw, then last fall a BG 56 C-E Blower and a month ago a BR450 Backpack Blower. In the spring I am planning to purchase a Stihl Line Trimmer. They are all the best products made.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A year old Very powerful blower but has two features I don't like. Doesn't have a throttle lock so you have to keep the trigger depressed all the time to run full speed. Inconvenient when switching hands. Maybe some nanny government regulation???When using in left hand, suction velocity is so high that this pulls your pants leg into the suction screen thereby restricting air flow. The suction screen needs to be redesigned to reduce this tendency. My last blower, a major brand, only lasted three years before it became practically impossible to start indicating that the cylinder was worn out. So, I am trying a Stihl to see if it will give me acceptable life.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent equipment I love this blower, easy start, lightweight, and it does a great job.
Date published: 2017-11-14
  • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_508
  • loc_en_US, sid_bg56ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl