BG 56 C-E - $179.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
BG 56 C-E

DSRP: $179.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

An easy-to-use handheld blower with a simplified starting system.

Don't let yard work be hard work. Ideal for cleaning up leaves and debris on walkways or driveways around the home, the new powerful, low emissions BG 56 C-E handheld gas leaf blower features the STIHL Easy2Start™ system, making starting virtually effortless. Designed with a specialized stop switch and semi-automatic choke lever, the blower automatically resets itself to the run position while hel...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
BG 56 C-E Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.7 kW (0.9 bhp)
WEIGHT 4.2 kg (9.3 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 540 cc (18.3 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE* 13 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** 60 m/sec (134 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY** 71 m/sec (159 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** 700 m3/h (412 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** 70 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL® outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL® products fast and easy. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    The purge pump primer feature enables the user to prime the carburetor with fuel, enabling easier starting. The purge pump primer is designed in a way that the operator cannot flood the machine by priming the carburetor too many times. Flooding the engine is still possible if the choke is not removed after the engine fires.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Handheld Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL handheld blowers.

Important Information
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Gutter Kit Zoom
    Gutter Kit
    Clogged gutters may become a thing of the past with this quick and manageable gutter attachment. A series of plastic tubes attach to your STIHL handheld blower and can extend to more than ten feet, providing the additional extension needed to reach most residential gutters. Great for removing dry leaves and debris. For use with BG 55, BG 56 C-E, BG 66 L, BG 86 and BG 86 C-E. Contact us for details.
  • Vacuum Kit Zoom
    Vacuum Kit
    Enables blowers to quickly convert to a vacuum. Easy-to-remove bag has zipper bottom, making it easy to empty.
  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • Ultra Flex Glasses Zoom
    Ultra Flex Glasses
    Form fitting and lightweight, the STIHL Ultra Flex Protective Glasses provide comfortable eye protection. A hypoallergenic, vented rubber nosepiece is crafted to provide reduced slippage. Provides 99% UV protection.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

BG 56 C-E is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 492.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fully fills product expectations. Easy starting, lightweight, extremely dependable, the best of the best. I have had a few to compare with. If Stihl makes it, you can bet I have it!
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does a great job I've owned several electric leaf blowers in the past. Decided this fall to invest in a gas powered one. Disappointed with another brand purchased from (and returned to) a big box store, I turned to our nearby Stihl dealer (I've owned a string trimmer by them for years.) The BG 56CE is perfect for my needs. Does a good job clearing our property of assorted lawn debris. Starts very easily, handles well and runs pretty quietly. Operates a fair amount of time on one fill up. A throttle "cruise control" would be a nice addition.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great blower but takes time to warm up for full power Does a great job blowing leaves and works reasonably well with wet leaves. Takes several minutes for the engine to warm and provide full blowing power once started. Takes 5-7 pulls to start but still fairly easy. So far so good! My favorite yard tool.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I'm so far happy with this blower, I've only had it a month and everything is working as it should so far starts pretty easy . We have a a pretty decent sized yard with a few very large trees that have a ton of leaves which is the only reason I have a 4 star rating on power cause I could use a little more power to push the large amounts but for the price we couldn't go wrong with this. We went with this model because the 50 series didn't have very good reviews, I was told by a Stihl guy that those are the mass produced ones to compete with cheaper ones which is why there'll were having issues with them and the 65 series and higher were the better ones.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lawrence When my electric blower stopped performing, I looked for something more portable and more powerful. This blower made easy work or moving leaves from three huge maple trees off my driveway. I do not plan of getting my rake out this year.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent easy start light and quiet Im 91 years old and I was looking for an easy start leaf blower and when I went to the dealer ship I told the salesman I wanted a easy start leaf blower and he recommended the BG56C-E, was I surprised how easy it starts and how quiet it is.Stihl engineers did a good job making this one. I had several makes before but nothing compares to this one. Excellent leaf blower.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blower Ever! Best Blower Ever! I blow a .65 acre lot that is filled with trees. This product is very durable and efficient.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pull the cord, it starts. My first blower and my first Stihl product. Why did I wait 20+ years of home ownership for this? Used it all this fall for blowing leaves from beds, gutters, etc. It does seem to use more fuel than I would expect, but it gets the job done. Great for a quick blow out the garage floor too.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greattach blower Blower has plenty of power and does a great job blowing large piles of leaves. The engine starts up easily. Worth the money.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl #1 in my book I have had an old bg55 blower for over 10 years, its been dropped from 2 story homes, thrown into my truck, neglected, without tune ups, ran without an air filter for about 5 years, Conclusion - though i treat my tools bad, Stihl is the best, longest lasting and dependable tool i have ever purchased.Nov. 2017 purchased BG 56 c-e from my local ace with coupon, starts easy, gutter cleaning kit is awesome accessory.Plan on treating this one a little bit better. Trust me this review comes from a home repairman that takes his tools to the ultimate test.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I call my blower "Mom" My BG56 blower starts easily, and that is a huge plus. After some years of operating an electric Brand X blower, I was hoping for a major upgrade in terms of the air velocity; I got an upgrade, but I can't call it major. What I CAN call it is "Mom," because, just like my mother, this blower is trying to make me right-handed. I'm ambidextrous and I change from left to right and back again frequently as my 75-year-old arms get tired. When I have the blower in my left hand, the air intake sucks my jeans, blocking part of the air flow, reducing the air being discharged. It's a right-handed world, and I understand it - but I don't like being constantly reminded of it.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl are the best! Two years ago I purchased a Farm Boss 290 Chain Saw, then last fall a BG 56 C-E Blower and a month ago a BR450 Backpack Blower. In the spring I am planning to purchase a Stihl Line Trimmer. They are all the best products made.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A year old Very powerful blower but has two features I don't like. Doesn't have a throttle lock so you have to keep the trigger depressed all the time to run full speed. Inconvenient when switching hands. Maybe some nanny government regulation???When using in left hand, suction velocity is so high that this pulls your pants leg into the suction screen thereby restricting air flow. The suction screen needs to be redesigned to reduce this tendency. My last blower, a major brand, only lasted three years before it became practically impossible to start indicating that the cylinder was worn out. So, I am trying a Stihl to see if it will give me acceptable life.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent equipment I love this blower, easy start, lightweight, and it does a great job.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very light weight and balanced very good product. took a few times to get to know how to start and stay running, but that comes with all things gas powered.Very quiet on idle.Also was looking for blower that was made in USA and this was the only one I found.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Anemic Looks great and starts easy but power is anemic at best. Just not near what I was expecting from a Stihl.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tool good price! Why rake leaves when I can take a fraction of the time to blow them. I’ve been a Stihl user for over 20 yrs. this is just another tool in the tool box from Stihl that works really well.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very strong for a small blower cant say anything wrong with this blower I would recommend to anyone
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, reliable blower Great blower with the backing of the Stihl name. Best and only blower you need to buy.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower This is my first leaf blower and I am impressed. It starts easily and does a good job. It even moves wet leaves. Sure beats raking.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good residential blower It's a STIHL. And it's almost everything I expect from a STIHL. It just doesn't seem to have the blowing force of some competitor models I've owned. In comparison, on a scale from 1 to 10, I'd give it a 9.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I love his blower. Had a 86C, after many years of daily use it bit the dust. The 56 is much lighter in weight and suits a middle age female perfectly. My shoulders and arms do not get as fatigued. Has plenty of power for blowing leaves. Have not used on snow yet, but am looking forward to it. Would totally recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I was concerned that I was underbuying. You know us guys. Bigger is better in equipment. But I went middle of the road and was "blown away" with how well it performed. I had some year old piled up leaves on the side of a building. Rained on, walked on. Packed. This baby got under it and flipped up sheets of the stuff. It took no time at all to clean it up and blow it all into the woods. I kept going and did the whole yard and more. Fun stuff. I recommend this to any homeowner. It's also pretty light. You don't need a strap at all. The air forces it up a bit. Kind of floats.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blower is very easy to start and does a great job blowing leaves and debris. Looking for an excellent blower that is powerful, reliable, and very easy to start? Then look no further than the Stihl BG56CE. You will not be disappointed. Another great feature is it's light weight. This is by far the best blower that I have ever owned.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Easy to start Easy to start and handle. Great power. Dependable.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Starts easy,somewhat easy and light weight. Starts easy, somewhat easy and lightweight than my other brand .Priced a little high for only 2 attachments included.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best leaf blower I have ever owned Powerful, easy to start, well balancedand the price was right.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work and run good Also I am very happy with the blower I still feel that it should start a little easier at 1st then what it does Although the blower works very good I still feel it should have more wind velocity i will be Happy if it keeps up running as good as it does now Only time will tell But if it is like the steel chain saws it should be a very good machine over all I do like it for my small jobs because it is a lot easier to grab and use over a back blower
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start Have only used it for a short time, but looking forward to using it on fall leaves. It appears to have good power, so time will tell!
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blower generates a high volume of air at a moderate sound level. I had only had this blower for a couple weeks when I had occasion to use it to clean the gutters out on a garage. I wasn't paying close enough attention and it slid off the roof and fell to the grass below. It never stopped running, and was undamaged except that the small wire spring connecting the throttle to the trigger inside the housing became disengaged. I removed the housing cover, reconnected the wire spring, and haven't had a bit of trouble since.
Date published: 2017-10-23
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_492
  • loc_en_US, sid_bg56ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl