BG 86 - $249.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
BG 86

DSRP: $249.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

Our most powerful handheld blower, designed for landscaping professionals.

Part of our new line of low emissions handheld STIHL leaf blowers, the BG 86 has all the comfort features you need to work for hours at a time. This professional use gas leaf blower is equipped with a throttle lock and stop switch, along with a semi-automatic choke lever for smoother starts and ease of operation. Designed with our four-spring anti-vibration system, this leaf and debris blower is b...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
BG 86 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.8 kW (1.07 bhp)
WEIGHT 4.4 kg (9.7 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 440 cc (14.9 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE* 15 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** Flat: 74 m/sec. (166 mph)
Round: 63 m/sec. (141 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY** Flat: 85 m/sec. (190 mph)
Round: 69 m/sec. (154 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** Flat: 620 m3/h (365 cfm)
Round: 755 m3/h (444 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** 70 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Throttle Trigger Lock with Built-In Momentary Stop Switch
    The built-in stop switch allows the user to turn off the engine with a simple press of the button or lever. When the engine is off, the throttle lock automatically returns to the “start” setting. Your power tool will be ready to be started when you’re ready to get back to work.
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    The purge pump primer feature enables the user to prime the carburetor with fuel, enabling easier starting. The purge pump primer is designed in a way that the operator cannot flood the machine by priming the carburetor too many times. Flooding the engine is still possible if the choke is not removed after the engine fires.
  • Zoom
    Soft Grip Handle
    This handle design provides a secure and comfortable grip.
  • Zoom
    HD2 Air Filter
    The new HD2 air filter on this unit is washable, providing extremely long filter life and lowering maintenance costs. The large surface area allows for longer run times between cleanings and high performance even while operating in dusty and dry conditions. Overall, the HD2 air filter provides better protection of the engine compared to standard air filters.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Handheld Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL handheld blowers.

Important Information
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Gutter Kit Zoom
    Gutter Kit
    Clogged gutters may become a thing of the past with this quick and manageable gutter attachment. A series of plastic tubes attach to your STIHL handheld blower and can extend to more than ten feet, providing the additional extension needed to reach most residential gutters. Great for removing dry leaves and debris. For use with BG 55, BG 56 C-E, BG 66 L, BG 86 and BG 86 C-E. Contact us for details.
  • Vacuum Kit Zoom
    Vacuum Kit
    Enables blowers to quickly convert to a vacuum. Easy-to-remove bag has zipper bottom, making it easy to empty.
  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • Two-Tone Sport Glasses Zoom
    Two-Tone Sport Glasses
    STIHL Two-Tone Sport Protective Glasses offer wrap-around protection in a sleek orange and white frame. They meet the ANSI Z87.1 standard and are available in two lens color options: Silver Mirror and Smoke. These protective glasses block out 99% of harmful UV rays and feature an adjustable rubber nosepiece that prevents slippage. The frame features straight-back temples and rubber temple tips. The lenses are made from optical-grade polycarbonate and are available in two lens color options.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

BG 86 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 152.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blower Blows nice, slightly awkward when using the vacuum option. Plenty of power starts almost as easy as my 10 yr old Stihl chainsaw. I would buy this again
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with my purchase It performs just like I hoped. It is of the same quality as my Chainsaw and Trimmer and I could not be more pleased. The Guys at Morgan's Ace Hardware were super!
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Longer Tethered For the better part of the 20+ years that I've owned my first and only house I was the owner of a corded leaf blower. I was used to being tethered to the house outlet as I pulled and un-knotted the cord the whole time I was working with it. I got up on the roof of my ranch house and had to connect two (2) 50' cords together. When I was up on the roof blowing out the gutters my dear wife could hear me let out an occasional expletive because either (A) my knotted up cord was caught on a bush or a porch railing down below or (B) the end of the cord slid down the roof in order to escape being connect to the back side of my electric leaf blower. I've thought about it and I think the two pieces had a personality conflict. After another visit to my local Kimp's Ace Hardware, I saw the end-aisle display as I was walking through the store. I thought to myself, THIS GAS POWERED STIHL LEAF BLOWER iIS THE ANSWER. No longer do I have to babysit the two pieces of cord and electric blower. I'm Done! No more stopping 100' up my 125' driveway! I'm no longer tethered! I love my Stihl Leaf Blower! Thanks for the mobility!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful, light, effective, recommended. Follow Stihl's rules for fuel, starting, maintenance and operation and you'll be (ahem) blown-away. Does exactly what is says on the can. Pricey, but you (should) only (have to) buy once.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Low on power Bought the BG86 to replace another brand I bought last year. Been a Stihl guy for years but this blower doesn't start or run anywhere close to my other Stihl products. It just doesn't seem to have the power it's supposed to have. The air flow seems to be less than my cheaper e**o . I tried to adjust carb. Per manual but the the limiter caps keep you from getting a good tune. In the shop it goes, I guess I'll continue to use the other brand and hope this gets adjusted right. P.S. My buddy has one of these and it's great, maybe I just got a Friday model. 5 to 6 pumps on the primer and 5 to 6 pulls to get it started and runs rough after that. These units should be ready for use when you buy them, not after you take them back.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Long Term Review Just like my other less expensive blowers, it ran great for 3 years and now it goes in the trash. Replaced fuel filter, plug, and air filter and still will not run effectively. Dealer says it's not worth fixing. Will buy a cheaper one to throw away in 3 years.
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adding to the chorus of good reviews I've owned several Stihl products over decades and am not disappointed with the BG86 blower.I like the straight blower tube better than the curved one on my previous blower, which allows the air to "dig in" and dislodge leaves and grass much better. Combined with the increased power, the BG86 is on the order of twice as effective.I also like the throttle position lever in particular. It is nice to lock it full on, or in some circumstances at 25% throttle where a subtle breeze works better.I also agree with some reviews I've seen that on initial start up is acts "cold blooded", then revs to a higher level after a minute or so. I've tried playing with the carb settings, but no luck. It just needs to warm up a bit to reach maximum power. Not a big deal at all, just a curiosity.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower!! Bought a BG86 from the guys at James River Equipment in Chester. Fueled it up with the Stihl premix - purchased with the blower to extend the warranty. Followed the instructions, a couple of pulls and it started, as per the instructions! Blows really strong and cleaned my yard up in less than half the time it took my old blower! Pretty quiet for a two stroke motor and fuel efficient. You can notice the quality of the build compared to other cheaper blowers. I now look forward to mowing, grass trimming and cleaning up the mess with my Stihl blower! Happy days! Ps. The guys at James River Equipment are friendly and knowledgeable!
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BG86 Used year round in Florida I purchased the BG86 on my dealers recommendation. It's probably my most used tool for yard work needs and it's a solid performer. Starts every time and has enough power to get the job done (blowing grass clippings, leaves, mulch, etc...). I run all my machines on STIHL HP Ultra mix and 100LL Aviation Fuel. Its ethanol free and the machines seem to run with a bit more authority on it. I don't seem to have the power issues some say in the reviews and mine starts right up every time.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BG 86 Woefully Under Powered I purchased a BG 86 1 week ago to replace my 10 year old BG 85 simply because I did not want to bother replacing the carb again due to impending hernia surgery. I also purchased a gallon of Stihl Motomix to use at least for product break-in. My impression of this advertised " most powerful hand held blower" is extremely disappointing as it does not even come close to the power and torque of my BG 85. Starts fine but when you go to apply full throttle is it sluggish to achieve full power and then once there under delivers the volume of air and force that I am accustomed to. The blower has less than 30 minutes of use and if I could return it I would. I also purchased at the same time a FS 56 trimmer for the same reason stated above and it performs as expected.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use easy to use,lightweight,highly recommend to friends and family.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start, and works great! This thing works great, usually starts on the first pull!
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool After 8 years my old Stihl died, loved it so much I bought another!!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Starts easily and quality parts Power is decent and starts easily. Only a few months old and will leave another review after a year or two.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product is underpowered compared to older models I had a BG56 blower that did a fantastic job, I gave it to my grandsons for their mowing operation. I thought I would buy a bigger more powerful blower since I have a lot of leaves in the fall to clean up. This BG86 is a sick under powered blower that does not even preform as good as the smaller BG56. Personally I am sadly disappointed with this product as far as power is concerned.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blower is great gets the job done I love the power help me get the job done faster easy to use and powerful
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BG 86 As with all Stihl professional grade products, this particular blower is one I would recommend. I have been well pleased with it and have no regrets on the purchase. It is lightweight but very well built. Starts every time and does what it was meant for. I actually had a smile on my face when I used it for the very first time.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best handheld on the market I have a unique job that allows me to use many consumer grade handheld leaf blowers, and when it came time for me to purchase my own, I chose a Stihl. I LOVED my BG55, and was very happy with it for many years until it was stolen from my garage. I decided to replace it with the new BG86, and I don't even miss my 55. Stihl's new antivibration system is amazing, and the new blower design eliminates the slight centrifugal drift the Stihl blowers had just a few years ago. If you're in the market for a new handheld that really blows, look no further than Stihl.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to start. So easy to use When my old gas powered blower gave up the ghost I was sure that I wanted a Stihl. After talking with the guys at the hardware store I selected the BG 86 for it's easy start and ease of use. Have had the blower for about a month now and it is so easy to use my wife does most of the blowing duties. How great is that!
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big power in a small package! Great machine just like the other 7 Stihl products I have. Lot's of power, easy to start, anti vibration makes it a pleasure to use. If you are looking for a great hand held blower.... This is it!
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product has been everything i expected and more. this is my second blower and the improvement since my first blower have been great. The noise level reduction has been dramatically reduced compared to my first blower, which is very critical to me when operating this blower.again highly recommend a STIHL!
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great handheld unit I've had the BG86 for about three years now. Its worked great and has never had to go to the shop for repairs. I've used synthetic Ace hardware brand oil in with no issues, sorry Stihl. It takes four or five good pulls to start her, same as when she was new. And she takes a minute or two to warm up before you can get full throttle, but the same can be said about me. So no demerits there. Other than that she works like a champ and has good power. We now live on a bigger property and will be upgrading to the BR600 backpack blower.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't reliably start I have been using 2- and4-stroke small engines since the early 90s and I've never had as much trouble with starting something as I have with these Stihl blowers. Using Stihl oil and premium fuel. Don't tell me about flooding, choking, priming and everything ecause I have tried everything. Will start sometimes and flood other times - giving it no throttle. Have never had this much trouble with the Japanese brands or with Stihl chainsaws.I bet they don't post this review
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power Finally upgraded to a professional blower. Great weight and power. Even use to clear light flaky snow instead of shoveling or plowing.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not highly recommended This blower is fairly light and powerful.Vibration dampening very good.My issue is twofold, blower takes several minutes to warm up, can be difficult or impossible to restart once warm.Blower tube is adjustable and easily removable for tight spaces.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blower Powerful reliable don't buy anything else buy still mt Jackson sales and service is great
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blower This blower is so powerful. I recommend it 100%.I couldn't be any more pleased from it.Awesome job STIHL!
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great tool for a great price I have about an acre of yard and I need something to help with the cleanup and this blower is the best investment that I could make, it sure has been a work saver. I have found it to be efficient and easy to use and the weight is about right because I don't get to tired using it. I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs help and has a lot of leaves and debris.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight Has trigger lock on so you don't have to hold the button in and has great power.
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ease of starting but difficulty of attachments I truly like the blower but I would think Stihl could come up with a better way of attaching their attachments to the blower. The twist & lock is hard to do especially when trying to disconnect from blower. It is nearly impossible to do during cold weather. How about some kind of just pushing the attachment on with a clip & lock type connecting system. It is very frustrating. Thank you.
Date published: 2017-01-24
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_152
  • loc_en_US, sid_bg86, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl