BG 86 C-E - $279.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
BG 86 C-E

DSRP: $279.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

Our most powerful handheld blower, made even better with Easy2Start™ technology.

Packed with power and run by a fuel efficient low emissions engine, the new top-of-the-line BG 86 C-E handheld debris and leaf blower has comfort features professionals will appreciate. Not only is this blower easy to start-thanks to the STIHL Easy2Start™ system it's also fitted with our four-spring anti-vibration system and soft grip handles to help reduce operator fatigue.
Print Spec Sheets
BG 86 C-E Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.8 kW (1.07 bhp)
WEIGHT 4.5 kg (9.9 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 440 cc (14.9 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE* 15 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** Flat: 74 m/sec. (166 mph)
Round: 63 m/sec. (141 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY** Flat: 85 m/sec. (190 mph)
Round: 69 m/sec. (154 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** Flat: 620 m3/h (365 cfm)
Round: 755 m3/h (444 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** 70 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL® outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL® products fast and easy. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    Throttle Trigger Lock with Built-In Momentary Stop Switch
    The built-in stop switch allows the user to turn off the engine with a simple press of the button or lever. When the engine is off, the throttle lock automatically returns to the “start” setting. Your power tool will be ready to be started when you’re ready to get back to work.
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    The purge pump primer feature enables the user to prime the carburetor with fuel, enabling easier starting. The purge pump primer is designed in a way that the operator cannot flood the machine by priming the carburetor too many times. Flooding the engine is still possible if the choke is not removed after the engine fires.
  • Zoom
    Soft Grip Handle
    This handle design provides a secure and comfortable grip.
  • Zoom
    HD2 Air Filter
    The new HD2 air filter on this unit is washable, providing extremely long filter life and lowering maintenance costs. The large surface area allows for longer run times between cleanings and high performance even while operating in dusty and dry conditions. Overall, the HD2 air filter provides better protection of the engine compared to standard air filters.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Handheld Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL handheld blowers.

Important Information
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Gutter Kit Zoom
    Gutter Kit
    Clogged gutters may become a thing of the past with this quick and manageable gutter attachment. A series of plastic tubes attach to your STIHL handheld blower and can extend to more than ten feet, providing the additional extension needed to reach most residential gutters. Great for removing dry leaves and debris. For use with BG 55, BG 56 C-E, BG 66 L, BG 86 and BG 86 C-E. Contact us for details.
  • Vacuum Kit Zoom
    Vacuum Kit
    Enables blowers to quickly convert to a vacuum. Easy-to-remove bag has zipper bottom, making it easy to empty.
  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • Camo Glasses Zoom
    Camo Glasses
    Style and protection come together with STIHL Camo Frame Glasses. These eye protection goggles are wrapped in camouflage print and provide 99% UV protection. Soft rubber temple tips and nosepiece help maintain fit and while reducing slippage.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

BG 86 C-E is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 132.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great blower but had trouble starting I am a very loyal Stihl customer and have had blowers, weed trimmers, and edgers in the past. Love your products and I am loyal. I went to Rural King and looked at options. I went with the highest priced hand held. I bought it because it had the Easy Start option, which was important for my Wife using it. Got it home and had some challenges right off the bat and my Wife could not start. They said short pulls would start it , like my weed trimmer, but I pulled multiple times with finally started on the 6-7th pull. If I had to do again, I would have bought the cheaper model. I do not want to stop using your products. Maybe if I could exchange for another same one?? I also bought the gutter attachment to blow leaves. Thx Jeff from Greenwood, IN
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower This is a great handheld blower. My wife usually hates trying to start anything with a pull start engine. She has no problem with this model due to the easy starting technology. She can fire it right up and she loves using it. The quality is top notch and i really feel this blower will last many years. Very powerful air volume comes out of this model. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Waiting to see how long it lasts, not starting out very well. Purchased on Tuesday, broke on Wednesday, in the shop on Thursday, out of the shop 11 days later. Not a very good start.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best! Really easy to start, I haven't had a single issue with it. Much quieter and more powerful than I expected.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the dual function of blow and vac Ive owned three stihl blowers, two have been the blower vac. Work great to clean off drive and vac leaves. Very dependable. Easy start, I also have a Stihl weed waker and chain saw. All dependable products. LIke the orange color as well.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blower I've ever used This blower starts easy, burns clean with minimal odor, had plenty of power and handles well. I can't find any faults. I am very satisfied and would buy again.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a awesome product. I have owned Stihl products for over twenty five years now. This new Stihl blower lives up to it's name. Very easy to run, my wife uses it blow the leafs off the pool cover. Awesome product.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start, light weight. Great product. Ultra easy start-2 pulls each time. Light weight but, powerful enough for all yard work. Much easier on back than backpack type blowers.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed I did lots of research before this purchase. I was tempted to spend less but glad I didn't. Quality, performance, ease of use and warranty met my expectations and reinforced that I made the right decision.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blower I have owned. I am big on having all my outdoor tools the same name brand, so when I switched to Stihl I found really quick that all the previous years I was missing out on the best of products.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blower Love this blower starts great and works flawless.Easy start is a plus.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for a quick clean up Perfect for a quick clean up, lightweight, has enough air force to move leaves and debri from yard
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent very impressed with the power and easy start love the trigger speed control it takes a min to warm up but its worth it .
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great options Love the leaf blower, has tons of power sometimes too much power. I love it for blowing out leaves in flower beds. My husband loves it for any use he can find to use it. We will be buying the gutter cleaning attachment and the vac bag and mulcher soon. Looking forwarded the additions.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for I own the Stihl BG 86 C-E blower and use it extensively for my lawn and landscape business. Once you pick up and use this blower you soon realize how much more comfortable the rubber grips are as well as how much easier the unit is to operate as a whole. In addition, the power of this machine is more than enough to blow anything from lawn clippings to leaf piles around to wherever you want. A nice feature of this machine is the easy pull start as well as the anti-vibration system built into this machine. Both of these features put this machine that much more above the competition and for that reason I highly recommend this blower.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great basic blower Light weight, easy to start. Very good for basic home use. I use it to move pine cones, leaves general debris off my terraces and out of my sculpture garden.
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is strong and dependable. I bought this blower to replace an electric one I had and couldn't be happier. The Stihl has so much more power and starts up easy every time.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable and easy to start I think it is a good blower but I bought it because I thought it was the most powerful hand held blower they make. I have an old BG 65 C and it is more powerful??
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts easy runs great You get what you pay for I have learned the hard way don't buy at the big box stores spend a little more now not a lot later cant say enough about this blower its my favorite yard tool in my arsenal
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blower is a beast. I finally took the plunge and purchased a quality blower. No regrets. It is powerful, lightweight and vibration free. I have used it in situations that would have left my old blower gasping for breath. It has met my expectations and then some. The only hit I would give it is it takes a little bit to warm up and get to full power. Once it does....look out.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product light and affordable for the power I own 5 other Stihl products now and have owned many others over the years, I have never been disappointed in any of them they are virtually maintenance free and last forever. So far the new blower is no exception easy starting and operation
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent vac & blower I primarily use the vacuum-mulching function, and I am very satisfied with this unit. The vacuum is powerful, and the mulching works better than the old Craftsman unit that I replaced. This Stihl unit complements my chainsaw & weed trimmer...all work exceptionally well. BTW, always use 100% gas for the best results and worry free storage.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blower is worth every penny you spend! I have gone through a lot of blowers as a homeowner and finally decided to buy a Stihl. I was initially turned away by the price but now realize it's worth its weight in gold. The blower is incredibly easy to start even on cold days. There's no more "put the switch here, put the switch there" until it cranks. You pump the bulb a few times, have the switch in choke, pull to crank, squeeze the trigger and away you go! It's very user friendly. To me, it's lightweight as well. I wish it had a little more power, but again, it's really all I need as a homeowner. I'd recommend this blower to anyone.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shredder/vac great for picking up Doug fir tree cones I live in the Northwest where there are lots of evergreen trees, specifically Doug Fir. The trees are highly valued by me, but their downside is the amount of cones they drop every year (Fall/Winter). These cones are long, cylindrical and somewhat soft compared to true pine cones, which are more bulbous, larger and tough. Consequently, the fir cones tend to get embedded in the grass where a lawnmower doesn't pick up most of them, and raking is also difficult. Bottom line: The shredder/vac feature works GREAT for picking up Doug fir cones. However, (and speaking from experience) DO NOT use the shredder/vac for picking up tough PINE cones, as they are way too tough and will jam the machine and break off the plastic fan blades (fortunately, a replacement fan is inexpensive and a DIY-job).
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stihl products are generally very high quality I am a stihl fan. However, I purchased the BG C+E with Easy Pull Technology in the fall of 2016. I have had the unit back to the dealer 3 times due to issues with the pull not recoiling. Needless to say, pretty disappointed with this purchase. I may ditch the thing and get a BG 86 without the easy Pull.. Also, I ve had a BG 85 for over 10 years and it has been a workhorse.
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from OK BLOWER BUT NOT FOR THE COST! BLOWER WAS ALWAYS HARD TO WARM UP AS IS A STIHL CHARACTERISTIC, and once it warms up, dont kill it or it will not restart..once warmed up, is where is shines-plenty of power!aftera little lesss than a year- pull cord would not recoil, repaired several times, then gasoline was pouring from exhaust, then would not start at all after that repair- has been at dealer for 8 months now, Be willing to just move on once any problem starts- sad for a VERY HIGH PRICED blower but it is what it is...I GUESS
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Bought It! My Ryobi back back bit the dust after 1 season. I had spent a couple of hundred dollars on it from a box store and it worked great for a time, but just stopped.I have purchased a Stihl weed eater and chainsaw and they have been awesome, so of course I started researching the blowers when I needed to replace the Ryobi and this one hit all the marks.I bought it at my local Ace Hardware in Nahunta GA (amazing staff there!) They tested it before it left the store and I brought it straight home and put it to work. I have no regrets... it moved heavy piles of leaves and pine straw with ease! Started and stopped it several times, and just like my other Stihl products, it starts easy and runs like a dream. Get this blower. I am glad that I did!
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great step-up blower The BG86C costs a little more than some similar appearing Stihl models, but well worth it for stronger blowing power and easy starting...but definitely follow all the manufacturer's instructions to assure best performance. I suggest Stihl engineers should redesign the method of how the blower tube sections twist together. They're darn difficult to un-twist if you want to shorten the blower discharge for tight spaces. All-in-all, fine machine.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great all around value After several lesser brands gave up, I went for the best out there and this is it! Great power and starts reliably with little fuss / effort. I process several acres of leaf litter of many different species, so the blower / vac made sense to me. This unit has plenty of power and is comfortable for all day use. The last "homeowner" bargain brand blew the motor the second day of use, this puppy only stopped for gas over the next two days.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power and does a nice job on the leaves Nice machine with plenty of power but it takes forever to warm up so that you can achieve full power. Acts like it wants to stall when pulling the throttle trigger, almost like its flooding out. Took it back to the dealer and they told me it has to get broken in more. I've been through 1 gallon of gas in it and am wondering how much longer it is going to take to "break in"? I've never had any equipment act like this just because it's new. I'm having a hard time believing what I was told. Other than that it seems to be a good machine.
Date published: 2017-01-25
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_132
  • loc_en_US, sid_bg86ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl