BR 430 - $429.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
BR 430

DSRP: $429.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A professional-grade backpack blower with excellent fuel economy and enhanced comfort.

The powerful engine of the BR 430 Backpack Blower features advanced engine technology which provides cleaner emissions and better fuel economy than standard 2-stroke engines. Also, an advanced anti-vibration system reduces vibration levels for extended professional use. A large fuel tank provides longer run times between refueling, plus back padding, broad shoulder straps and a rubberized grip pro...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
BR 430 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 63.3 cc (3.86 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.9 kW (3.9 bhp)
WEIGHT 10.1 kg (22.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 1700 cc (57.5 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE* 26 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** 82 m/sec. (183 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY** 98 m/sec. (219 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** 850 m3/h (500 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** 76 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle makes it easy to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.
  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Adjustable Support Harness
    STIHL backpack blowers and sprayers are equipped with an adjustable support harness that distributes weight evenly across the shoulders and back, reducing user fatigue.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    STIHL ElastoStart™
    The ElastoStart™ starter handle is an exclusive feature of STIHL. It is a starting grip with a built-in shock absorber that helps reduce the effort when pulling on the starter cord. The ElastoStart™ starter grip noticeably reduces the sudden peak forces (compression) normally felt during cranking. The forces which occur at the grip after the first compression stroke are smoothed out.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Backpack Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL backpack blowers.

Important Information
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

  • Reflective Safety Vest Zoom
    Reflective Safety Vest
    Class II reflective vest that is required for working along highways meets ANSI/ISEA 107-2004 standard. Longer tail in the back provides maximum reflective exposure for users running backpack blowers. Two front pockets and one chest pocket provide utility for carrying necessary items. Available sizes: Medium, Large, X Large, XX Large
For Your Safety
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey
  • Black Widow Glasses Zoom
    Black Widow Glasses
    Protect your eyes with style. Choose a Silver Mirror or Indoor/Outdoor lens - both providing 99% UV protection. STIHL Black Widow Protective Glasses have a lightweight, single lens wrap-around design and soft-touch temples that provide additional comfort.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

BR 430 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 98.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything it should be I've never had a really good leaf blower before, because I haven't really needed a big one. The power and efficiency of a backpack blower compared to a handheld is amazing. I've only had this one a few weeks, but I really like it. It is a little clumsy, when you're in a tight space, but that is a small price to pay for capability.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Unit Purchased the BR430 as a new tool for my home. Found that this was more than I had anticipated with reference to CFM output & overall performance. Just like the 10 other STIHL products I own, each start without any problems and performance is outstanding as well as the quality of each piece of STIHL Equipment that I own. From my smallest Chainsaw the MS192 TC, MS 171 Chainsaw, MS 250 Chainsaw, BR 86 Shred/Vac, HS 45 Hedge Trimmer, HT 56 Pole Chainsaw, BR 200 Back Pack Blower, BG55 Hand Held Blower, FS 55 String Trimmer, FC 95 Edger and now my new BR 430 Back Pack Blower each tool provides me with the means to get each & every task done whether it's a big task out on the 6 acres of property or just a small task that is dealing w/ the 2 acres that make up the front & back yards. Each of the weekly and monthly task are completed now quickly & without any problems using one or more of the total of 11 STHIL products I presently own. I Wouldn't be enjoying all of the outside work year round if it wasn't for all of my STIHL Power Equipment, I can assure you of this much. Yes, you may pay a little more for a STIHL product, but it's a small added cost to buy a STIHL product once vs buying a cheaper brand and having to replace it within a year or two. So for me it's Go STIHL or just don't Go period! Thank's STIHL!
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tremendously Superb! Purchased: February 06, 2017Stihl Backpack Blower BR 430 / For Home UseA professional-grade backpack blower with excellent fuel economy and enhanced comfort. “WOW” What a machine! Park Ranger Mike!From:Baughman's Saw Shop 10060 Us Hwy 12 / Po Box 1136 / Naches, WA 98937(509) 653-2656 / BaughmanSawShop.comOwner: Roger My Stihl Dealership History:I came to my Yakima Park assignment in 1994 and started to look for a maintenance repair shop and dealer for replacing worn out gas power equipment and parts. My search consisted of meeting and talking to the various Stihl dealers in the Yakima area when I found Baughman's Saw Shop and owner Roger in Naches, WA. Roger is tremendous, always a warm greeting, listened, shared his knowledge, would take the time to explain equipment use, as I would bring my show and tell worn out parts in so I would get the proper replacement parts for my park equipment; Roger always talked to you, not down at you as others had done, and made one feel exceptional, thus Roger became my go to Dealer for Park Repairs, Home Repairs and for my Park & Home purchases. Roger is a true friend who still assists me today; :) Tremendously, Superb Sales, Repair and most of “All” Customer Service and Fantastic Prices!Snow Removal Stihl Backpack Blower BR 430I just had to have one for snow removal (wife purchased for my-our 27th anniversary, my gift) as Yakima Washington has had record snow falls all season! The Stihl Backpack Blower Works Tremendously Superbly in our powder, and medium weight snows, for wet heavy snows one still needs to use a snow shovel! It is so much easier to use as it mounts to ones back instead of pushing, guiding, moving and storing a large snow blower or snow shovel!Did I also say this is a Multi Seasonal Tool Also?Here’s Why… I Retired May 2015 from Washington State Parks as Area Park Manager & Law Enforcement Ranger; a Fabulous Career of 26 years and a total of 30 years State Service.My Stihl Backpack Blower History:I purchased a commercial Stihl Mid-Size Backpack Blower in the Mid 90’s (model I do not remember) to replace a worn-out different brand. Wow, this Stihl was still in park operations when I departed! My Area Parks consisted of hundreds of acers of undeveloped area and Yakima Sportsman 42 acers & Fort Simcoe 30 acres of formal developed areas of grass, tremendous amount of 50 to 70-year-old deciduous trees (Mature Maples, Oaks, Sycamores, Elms, Cottonwoods), campground, picnic sites, roads, trails, etc. Leaf and debris clean up during the Fall Season went well into mid-December with constant use.I purchased two additional Super-Sized Stihl Backpack Blowers, the largest & most powerful on the market; staff marveled at how well equipment worked, power, lack of maintenance due to down time for repairs, all a bonus to the Park and tax payers! Reduced Operation Costs! They really move leaves and debris! I had a Park Ranger who was 5’6” 140lbs that we had to put weights on to keep him from blowing away while using the blower as these Stihl blowers are like a Jet Pac…Snow Removal What a Bonus I discovered that Our Backpack Blowers worked Tremendously to Remove Snow from Walkways and along our paths and paved Intrp. Trail what a Time Saver; worked as well as a snow blower except in very wet and heavy snows and easier to operate and move from one area to another. Did I Mention I retired all but one snow shovel in the Park also! Stihl Performance:For Years Parks utilized Other Brands of gas powered Chainsaws, Backpack Blowers, Weed Eaters-Edger’s for Park Field Operations. These other brands we had in inventory were ok but required more servicing and maintenance to maintain, numerous hours of down time due to equipment malfunctions! As these brands passed on many of us started purchasing Stihl Chainsaws, Backpack Blowers, Edger’s, & Tree Trimers for Park maintenance operations! My personal home equipment also consists of Stihl Chain saws! Staff put all the mentioned equipment through very tough conditions, use, and abuse, our Stihl equipment always outworked, outperformed, out serviced, these other brands! Though I know there are operators who truly like these other brands also.Review By:Michael Thomas, Yakima WARetired Park Ranger
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very dependable piece of yard care equipment. We have owned this product for a few months and have used it 6 times. This leaf blower provides excellent starting performance - most of the time on the first pull. The power is very adequate for our home use - even did part of the neighbors'. The main problem that I have with it, is keeping it on my shoulders. I have tried lengthening and shortening the shoulder straps and nothing works. My only solution is to put my left arm across my chest, and hold the front of the right strap. Not a good solution.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower This is a great blower for residential use if you have large areas to blow. Even wet leafs or pine needle are no problem. Easy to start and run for long periods without needing to refueled. I would suggest getting the optional chest strap to ensure the straps don't slide to your shoulders.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BR430 Back Pack Blower, very happy. Just purchased the 430 blower last week, used all weekend around my property. I own 5 arce horse property with hard wood trees sour outdoing property. The 430 starts quickly and is fairly easy to lift and position on my back. The 430 has very good padding and shoulder straps and is confortable to wear for a couple of hours if needed. Throttle control is positioned vert nicely so you won't become fatigue. Not sure what the fuel capacity is but it will empty full tank is about 45 minutes at full throttle. This is my 4th Stihl product I own and as I expected this blower works as advertised. Powerful, lightweight, easy to use. As with any gas powered equipment, empty all gas out of the fuel tank and run engine until it runs completely out of gas at the end of year and this unit will last for many maintenance free years.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blower I upgraded from a hand held blower. I have had most brands of them. We use them in chicken houses to blow dust off heaters and fans. Needed a new blower and thought I would try a med size back pack and wow what big difference. This this is super strong for size. It starts great.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right tool for the Job Finally up sized my backpack this year and sooooo glad I did. This handled 2+ acres and 4+ hours of non stop work without a hiccup and re fueled far less than my older smaller backpack. Wet leaves? No problem. Piles of leaves you could hide a Volkswagen behind? It will move those too. Right tool for the job. Very happy with it.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Blower, but exhaust pluged after 2 weeks Love the blower, but had to return it to dealer after about 12 hours of running t have exhaust screen cleaned. This is an easy repair and if this happens again I will take care of it. Was using the Stihl premium oil so there should not of been a proplem
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BR 430 Excellent back pack blower. It always starts and has plenty of power to blow the heavy wet big leaf maple leaves I have on my place. I did have a problem with the carburetor right off the bat (it did would not go above idle speed without choking it) but Ramsey-Waite co. fixed it the problem and it runs perfectly. One suggestion for improvement would be to extend the flex hose three inches longer because the blow tub hits on my hip and limits my swing to the left. I had an Echo blower before and the tub is twice as long and I never noticed the inconvenience. I have a great .025 Stihl chain saw that has been outstanding for many years and I believe my Stihl back pack blower will do the same.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use Light and powerful. Definitely would recommend this product. Only complaint is if you want to purchase the pre mixed fuel its expensive.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does make job easier I like the features on the blower. Using it makes the job of cleaning up the yard much easier.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leaf Blower on Steroids The leaf blower makes cleanup of leaves so much easier than with a typical blower. The air velocity and power allow it to move more leaves faster than any normal blower I've used. The backpack padding helps keep the vibration to a minimum and the fatigue on your arms is minimal since you're only holding up a tube. It starts usually on the first or second pull and is the only blower I use anymore. I wasn't willing to put down the extra cash for a backpack blower for the last 10 years and now think how much time and effort I've wasted not having one. These are the only way to go.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mr jarlo Was wondering would I buy a blower/vav or a good blower on it's own, searched the internet for reviews big-time, I scarify my lawn every year so I started thinking that a good blower can blow the moss and thatch in a heap to take away, very little raking if none at all, hired out both type of machines and decided to buy the 430 blower , suits my needs perfect, good luck with your choice
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's still new but so far it's impressive It's been on my back 4 times so far and it's a joy to use although blowing leaves is never that pleasant
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My still BR430 backpack blower was a great investment. It has lots of power to clear my large lawn of leaves quickly. Starts every time on the 2nd pull of the starter cord
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT MACHINE WITH ONE FLAW As said by others this is a great blower made for work but it really needs a chest strap. the shoulder straps keep falling off. right now I have a bungee across the two straps.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TYPICAL STIHL PRODUCT I have just finished clearing land around our house, After installing a sprinkler system, I applied starter fertilizer and then grass seed. I put down a healthy layer of straw to help keep seed moist. After four weeks of watering twice daily, and countless leafs that had fallen since sewing yard I needed to remove straw and leafs. I thought to rake leafs and straw but was worried I would rip up new grass shoots. I thought to using new mower and mulching leafs/straw but was worried I would dull new blades from small limbs and branches that had fallen from winds. I purchased the STIHL BR 430 leaf blower from my local Stihl dealer. On the way home I stopped and purchased 91 octane premium gasoline ( NO ETHANOL) from the local Citgo and then added Stihl fuel oil mix. The leafs and straw were saturated with moister, but the BR 430 moved the leafs/straw with the greatest of ease. I finished in record time, the blower cleared all leafs/straw and even the dead small twigs that had falling from the trees. The blower started each time with little effort and like all my stihl products ( 3 chain saws and 1 line trimmer) work every day all day providing you MAINTAIN and don't use ethanol fuel. I am a firm believer in you get what you pay for. If you are looking for lawn equipment the name STIHL pronounced (STEEL) are far ahead of the competition and made in AMERICA to boot.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great piece of equipment Light weight, adequate power, starts easy. Love it
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply awesome Simply awesome, This backpack blower is by far the best thing that I could've ever bought for my home year around maintenance for my yard I recommend it for everybody, easy start easy to carry, comfortable on the back.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blower If something happens to the blower I would bay another one the same model
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power, very easy to use. The combination of power, light weight and easy to start makes this one of the finest blowers I have used.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than I expected Rated it highest, but I've owned it for only about a month. I've used it several times with no problems. The power is is more than I expected. I though 25 pds, with fuel, on my back would be heavy, but it's not. Very comfortable harness and throttle handle. I'm daring the leafs to fall in my yard this year. Great product
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first backpack blower Awesome! I was concerned about the power based on the outlet diameter and comparing it to what I see the professionals using. I was pleasantly surprised that this blower has more than enough power for what I need around the house and the vegetable garden. Rest assured that this blower can handle anything you need.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now we're blowin Bought 2 of these to replace a couple ancient BR 380 blowers I had and my guys couldn't be happier. They start on the first pull have comfortable straps and the are much more powerful.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower I just purchased this blower yesterday, 11 April 2016 and have already used it to "sweep" my 1/4 mile driveway and around the house. It is a fantastic blower with plenty of power for what I intend to use it for in and around my 10 acres. It replaced a not so old hand held from another manufacturer that was very unreliable.The back padding is comfortable and the shoulder straps are wide and fit me nicely. I am 6'2" and 240 lbs for comparison. The blower feels light and easy to wear/use for extended periods of time. I am very pleased with my purchase and would recommend this machine to anyone looking to upgrade to a backpack style blower.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from clearly designed for pro use -- but I like it around my house anyway! Dealer demo'd the blower on a cold late winter day. We lifted ice off his pavement and I was sold. It is now early spring in Wt Mountains of NH and we have no snow, so I decided to clean up the yard. This machine is amazing. I accomplished more in an hour than my last blower could do in half a day. It literally raked my lawn, if you will, via digging out embedded stones, and much ground-in debris, from my grass. It lifted wet leaves and dried out soaked grass remaining beneath. I was impressed with the comfort of the pack and the control. It has aways started (used 3 times in two weeks) on nearly first pull. I trust my dealer very much (P&S Equipment Littleton NH) and they have taken care of me via great advice and service.
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower Just picked up the BR 430 blower. And I just have two words to describe this blower , ( Totally Awesome). My Yard has several tall trees of different varieties. There's nothing this blower can't blow. Small branches, twigs, acorns, leaves. I didn't realize just how much force this blower had when I first purchased it. I was able to blow all of the leaves , twigs, that were in the front of my yard to the back of the yard an then into the woods. And I have a pretty big yard that's close to 1 acre. Now I sit at home waiting for more leaves to fall so I can take the blower back out of my garage.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love it but wish the gas tank cover went back on easier. I love it but I can never get the gas tank cover back on. It's a terrible design.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One nice rig Easy to start, if you follow the directions in manual. It's powerful, moving large amounts of yard materials with ease, and it's easy to maneuver. If you have backpack experience, it's not hard at all to put on and adjust. Otherwise, I'm sure there's a slight learning curve for first timers. The fuel tank is a good size too. All and all a good rig.(of course it would be nice if they were a little less expensive, but it's a small price to pay for a MADE IN AMERICA product)
Date published: 2015-10-15
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_98
  • loc_en_US, sid_br430, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl