BR 450 - $399.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
BR 450

DSRP: $399.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A professional 2-stroke blower with plenty of power to get the job done.

Built with a 2-stroke engine and ergonomic design, the STIHL BR 450 is a low-maintenance, high-powered blower with exceptional strength. It’s perfect for professional applications such as large property management, tough landscaping tasks, and seasonal leaf cleanup. The BR 450’s durable engine boasts reduced emissions and a blowing force approaching that of our BR 600 model. It boasts intuitive ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
BR 450 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 63.3 cc (3.86 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.9 kW (3.9 bhp)
WEIGHT 10.6 kg (23.4 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 1700 cc (57.5 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE* 28 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** 83 m/sec. (186 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY** 98 m/sec. (219 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** 1090 m3/h (642 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** 77 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle makes it easy to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.
  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Adjustable Support Harness
    STIHL backpack blowers and sprayers are equipped with an adjustable support harness that distributes weight evenly across the shoulders and back, reducing user fatigue.

    See it in action!
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Backpack Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL backpack blowers.

Important Information
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • Black Widow Glasses Zoom
    Black Widow Glasses
    Protect your eyes with style. Choose a Silver Mirror or Indoor/Outdoor lens - both providing 99% UV protection. STIHL Black Widow Protective Glasses have a lightweight, single lens wrap-around design and soft-touch temples that provide additional comfort.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey
  • Reflective Safety Vest Zoom
    Reflective Safety Vest
    Class II reflective vest that is required for working along highways meets ANSI/ISEA 107-2004 standard. Longer tail in the back provides maximum reflective exposure for users running backpack blowers. Two front pockets and one chest pocket provide utility for carrying necessary items. Available sizes: Medium, Large, X Large, XX Large

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

BR 450 is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product, so far easy to use, plenty of power, does everything I wanted & expected.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Leaf Blower I use this blower to manage 3 acres of land with large maple trees that cover the entire property in the fall. The blower works great and handles the large volume of leaves with ease. It has great power and runs well, it can actually blow around the 3/4 round rock i have if I'm not careful. I am only on my second tank of fuel so I cant rate the dependability but so far it starts right up and gets the job done well. If you purchase the STIHL synthetic premix oil (you will need it for your fuel anyway) STIHL will double the manufactures warranty. I'm not sure how long this program will last but its a great value and piece of mind.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL BR 450 This is the Cadillac of leaf blowers. It is Beast and runs awesome
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much power Best backpack blower i have ever bought. So much power behind it! runs smooth, pretty quiet, i don't have to wear ear plugs. (But i am use to working with loud machinery and power tools) i even have my 5'3" 125 lbs. wife using it with NO complaints!Stihl really knocked it out of the park with this BR450
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best affordable bp blower there is My work has the magnum 600 series & they work flawlessly, but as your average homeowner I wouldn't need that kind of power & price tag. The 350 seemed too small for my 5 acres of woods so I then narrowed it down to the 450. It's by far the best value for the price. It's lightweight, I can comfortably & safely get on/off my roofs with this blower. comfortable, I feel no backaches after wearing it for any length of time. powerful, I can blow heavy leaves with ease at 10 feet. quiet, my ears don't ring after prolong time at full throttle. & it runs long on a tank of gas. If you have any doubts. You cannot go wrong with the 450.
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive The 450 blower has saved me tons of time. I originally thought the tiny choke knob would be a problem, but so far, so good. Disclaimer- I’ve only burned through a gallon of gas.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Marvelous Machine! I have owned and worn out several electric blowers and big-box store backpack blowers. The Stihl BR450 is the absolute best I have ever had. The idle speed air flow is great for cleaning my gravel driveway without blowing away the gravel and the high speed, when needed, is absolutely awesome! This machine cleans much faster and cleaner than any I have had before. However, it seems a bit heavy. A chest strap.would be most desirable to keep the machine balanced. It tends to slip off one shoulder after a little while.Otherwise, it is GREAT!
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'm on the fence with this When I first started using this backpack blower, it was awesome. Slowly the power drifted away and was getting harder to start. It always started up on the third hit of the starter switch...always. I took it in to the shop when it finally was so bad it just wouldn't rev up and here the spark arrester was clogged...after just a few hours of total use. I always run it full tilt and it doesn't idle long.So after dropping some cash to find out that's the problem, it still doesn't start up as easy as it used to when I first got it. I'm considering taking the spark arrester out completely since it's used in a home environment and there's no chance of fire. What a ridiculous design that we have to keep swapping this thing out. I can see these screws getting stripped after a few de/installs and having to replace those as well. Bad shoulders led me getting the auto start version...time will tell if I made a bad decision but it's not looking good for the long haul.
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BR450C is a Great blower. The BR450C is a Great blower. The straps could be more like the BR700 given the added weight of the battery. Otherwise it runs and functions like a champ.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid product As always, Stihl provides dependable and reliable, equipment that performs at the top if its class.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD POWERFUL BLOWER! VERY satisfy with that blower! AWESOME! no disappointment! But the price is little to much... It should be around $200.00 My opinion...
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good power If you are starting out this blower is the way to go. If you don't what to spend the extra couple dollars on the 600 get the 450 cause it can do grass clean ups to leaf removal.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't Overlook the BR450 I'm in the lawn business, and we do about 15 yards a day. When it comes to tool selection, we test them out first in the field before buying. Power, price, size, weight and reliability are some factors we considered before making the purchase. My local dealer was nice enough to let us test out various Stihl commercial blowers at our jobs and our final decision was between the BR700 and BR450. We ultimately decided to add a couple of the BR450s blowers and returned the BR700 for the following reasons:1. Our backpack blowers are locked on the trailer rack, but we sometimes need to place them in the back of the truck bed which has a hard cover. The BR450 was smaller in size so it fit with the lid closed. The BR700 did not fit with the covers closed.2. The BR450 felt lighter and was better on fuel after hours of use. 3. The BR450 has more than enough power we need for our heavy duty job. It was not much more money for the BR700, but there was no reason to pay for extra power that we don't need. 4. The BR450 is two stroke as oppose to the four mix BR700. We service all our mowers and equipment. In short term, there is no difference on maintance between the two. In the long run, we noticed the two stroke is easier to work on and more reliable.In conclusion, while the BR700 is a beast, with a lot of CFMs, and the most powerful Stihl blower money can buy, the BR450 has way more than enough power to get the job done. Remember, you get paid the same regardless which blower you choose. And don't forget, the BR450 is another top of the line Stihl commercial blower just like the BR700!
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Junk I bought 2 of these blowers and used one for a week and it stopped working. Pure junk. The other one is working fine.
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Blower! I was looking for a new blower just to keep up with the leaves and pine needles in the drive and beds. I have a landscape company doing the yard but there are times the leaves and needles start dropping and could use touch up before they get back the next week. I was going for the BR 200, I liked the light weight but the power was not as strong as I had hoped for. I purchased the BR 450 and WOW ! this is truly the blower to get... they should just sell this one blower. I live on one acre and I cleaned out the flower beds by blowing only where the pine needles and leaves had been dropping and now have a yard full of leaves and needles to pickup that are about 2 feet deep and 20 feet long. Very strong blower, easy to start, well balanced, no vibration, and the adjustable nozzle and throttle are great .... what are you waiting for .. bite the bullet and buy one, you will like it for sure!
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. This blower is awesome. I'm a home owner and has had plenty is elec blowers. The 450 is a lot of money to me but I've always wanted a backpack blower. So after 63 years on the planet I finally said it was time. Man when I got home and used it for the first time it was way cool. My yard never looked so good. Well worth the investment! I've used a lot of equipment in my lifetime but to own something like this was wasn't happening. I'm glad I bought one. It's probably more than I need but it's nice to have the extra power. Two pulls on full choke, two pulls on half choke and it's purring! Good fule mileage.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very dependable I bought this product because of it's quality and dependability. It is the best brand on the market.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from reliable and powerful I use my new BR 450 blower to remove pine cones, leaves, hickory shells, small branches, etc.. Does an excellent job.Having several Stihl products over the years, I currently have and use:. 2 chainsaws, a pole saw, a blower, and a weed eater. Reliability and durability of all products has always been great. Living on and personally maintaining 11 acres that I keep looking like a park keeps me and by Stihl products busy. Wouldn't buy anything else.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome buy ! Bought this in Spring time wish I would have done this a while ago. It cleans up sidewalks and driveway fast. Be interesting to see what it does once Fall time comes around.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power The best backpack blower I have ever owned! Great addition to the other Stihl products I have for the yard.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Without a doubt the most powerful blower I have used I bought this to help out with all the leaves and pinestraw I have to clean up every year. Best tool for the job without a doubt. Blew my entire yard and had a pile two feet high and this blower was still pushing the pile. I was also planning on dethatching my lawn. Well thats not necessary anymore this blower took care of that. If its not attched by the root its gone. Great investment if your tired of raking like I was.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product is very easy to operate Blower 450 makes hard jobs seem easy, starts easily, runs great and is very powerful.Really like the extra large fuel tank and the extra year warranty offered for using Stihl synthetic oil was good idea. I would recommend the 450 to anyone needing a powerful blower
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine! Has saved me a whole lot of time on the job. Dependable.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should have bought years ago! I've never owned Stihl products before, but I'm a believer now. I'm I've had a hand held model for years and it gets heavy and isn't as powerful as this. We have about 1/3 acre and it does great with all the trees and leaves we have. I can use it all day no problem unlike my hand held by a different manufacturer. Starts real easy. I love the "cruise control" feature. Set the level of blowing power and then I just walk around the yard doing my thing. Less fatigue on my hands and fingers compared to my old hand held. My only concern is that I should have bought it years ago!
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Have been using a Stihl handheld blower for years and finally bit the bullet on the backpack. It is so much more powerful, which allows me to accomplish my work so much faster and more efficiently (I have five, yes five, sweet gum trees and those balls are a pain-this new blower makes clearing them so easy). It was also powerful enough to blow out my downspout and underground drains, which have been partially clogged for a long time. It starts easy and works just like a Stihl and did not disappoint.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow. Best purchase I've made in a long time After using a hand held blower for uears to clear fall leaves, I decided to take the plunge and purchase a back pack blower and what a pleasure. I compated similar units from other manufacturers in use by my neighbors. All had their plusses amd minuses such as noise, power, comfort, price, etc. The Stihl met or exceeded in all categories. What a pleasure to operate.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from still backpack I looked.at a similar echo blower and then found.this blower at a store I trust. The guys said I would not be disappointed and I am not. This blower has power for days and I use the retractable.tube more than I ever thought. Love it and saving.up for.another one!!!Thanks and.have a great day.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT One of the easiest tools I have ever used - More power than expected!
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for larger yards own a acre and a half lot in Texas with over 35 large mature oak trees. I previously would rake the leaves in the fall and winter and it seemed like I was spending almost three full weekends to complete. Purchased this blower based on the recommendation of a park department employee that I saw using a similar but larger unit in a city park. Honestly, this blower has cut my work down to about 4 hours. Great machine even though a little bit on the pricey side but then again you get what you pay for.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lot's of power pulls wet leaves right out of the grass...good for medium sized jobs
Date published: 2017-01-24
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_br450, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl