BR 450 C-EF - $549.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
BR 450 C-EF

DSRP: $549.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

The world's only professional backpack blower with electric start.

Start and stop with the push of a button. The BR 450 C-EF is the only professional backpack blower on the market with Electric Start that lets you stop and start the blower while the unit is still on your back – great for pros on the go. It also features exceptional blowing force – exceeding that of BR 550. Add to that a large fuel tank, semi-automatic choke system, and easily adjustable tube leng...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
BR 450 C-EF Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 63.3 cc (3.86 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.9 kW (3.9 bhp)
WEIGHT 11.5 kg (25.4 lbs)
FUEL CAPACITY 1700 cc (57.5 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE* 28 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** 83 m/sec. (186 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY** 99 m/sec. (221 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** 1090 m3/h (642 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** 77 dB(A)
POWER SOURCE Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Electric Start
    Electric start system engages with the press of a button on the throttle so those maintaining large properties can begin leaf cleanup quickly. Allows users to stop and start unit while wearing the unit on their back, saving time on starting procedure.
  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL® outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL® products fast and easy. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle makes it easy to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.
  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Adjustable Support Harness
    STIHL backpack blowers and sprayers are equipped with an adjustable support harness that distributes weight evenly across the shoulders and back, reducing user fatigue.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Backpack Blowers
    View the features common to many STIHL backpack blowers.

Important Information
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • Ultra Light Glasses w/ Retainer Strap Zoom
    Ultra Light Glasses w/ Retainer Strap
    STIHL Ultra Light Glasses feature soft temple ends for a slip-resistant fit and soft nose pads that provide extended comfort. Each pair of these sleek, lightweight glasses includes a special lanyard cord. Polycarbonate impact-resistant lens provide 99% UV protection.
  • High Performance PRO Gloves Zoom
    High Performance PRO Gloves
    Elastic slip-on cuffs. Padded palm and knuckle guards. Reinforced PVC grip overlays. Sizes: M, L, XL
  • Reflective Safety Vest Zoom
    Reflective Safety Vest
    Class II reflective vest that is required for working along highways meets ANSI/ISEA 107-2004 standard. Longer tail in the back provides maximum reflective exposure for users running backpack blowers. Two front pockets and one chest pocket provide utility for carrying necessary items. Available sizes: Medium, Large, X Large, XX Large
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

BR 450 C-EF is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Self starter, best invention since sliced bread. Starts like a dream, super powerful, best blower available today.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought the BR450C-EF for the electric start feature- Great Innovation by STIHL I bought the 450 for the electric start because it always seems like someone is coming up to "talk" with you! I have three other Stihl Backpack Blowers that serve me well, BUT....I always seem to gravitate towards the 450 for the electric start convenience. The power is equal to my 600 and 700 and the starting procedure is simple! Starts every time with the electric start even after sitting for a few months. I can't begin to say enough good things about the 450....so go and get one,you won't be disappointed. You get what you pay for with STIHL!
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall a good buy Although hesitant at first to spend $600 After tax on a single blower, this has easily paid for itself and I don't think I'd buy a blower without electric start in the future. I've had this blower for 3 seasons now. 28 properties weekly from April through mid November and then multiple leaf cleanups. I run ethanol free fuel in all of my equipment and have found a night and day difference with reliability and performance, but I still clean my spark arrestors twice a season with a blow torch which couldn't be easier with stihl design. I love the ease of maintenance and being my first backpack blower this thing has some pretty good power. I love the fact I can take payment or chat with a customer and then press a button and start it right back up. It seems most of the complaints are from the electric start not working from a cold start, but mine always starts on the first or second pull so I haven't found that to be an issue. Being a mechanic as well, I highly recommend ethanol free fuel beacuse sitting in the gas cans & tanks the ethanol in regular pump fuel attracts moisture and gunks up carburetors, and spark arrestors faster than you might think.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Electric start doesn't work Bought the br450 cef loved it at first now the electric start doesn't work push the button and there is nothing there I haven't even gone through the gas the dealer put in it other than that the performance after it's been manually started is spot on
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with the product Went with the stihl name, and I'm glad I did. The machine is comfortable. It starts right up. Blows with a lot of pressure. What else could you ask for?
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Electric start, power and nozzle extension makes this machine awesome Love this machine!! Makes minutes of 400+ feet of curb blowing after edging. Cleans the tractor of all post cutting debris, and makes minutes of blowing out the garage. Have left it sit for 5 days and the electric start fires right up. Can't wait to see what it does this fall!! Have had it for over a month and have yet to pull start it yet outside of the demo at Algonac, MI Lumber Jack
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Machine The 450-C-EF was purchased in 2016 and performed like a champ. The only problem experienced with it was the clogged spark arrestor......cleaned it and it was good to go. Several weeks ago, the machine was stolen, along with a Trimmer and Power Washer. These two items were Troybilts, which I have used for years. I decided to replace the trimmer with a Stihl and haven't regretted the decision. I may purchase a Stihl power washer as a replacement, but I'm debating the significantly higher price.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product!!!! I have had this blower for a year. Owning a lawn care company I use this blower nearly everyday. It has held up so far. The electric start really makes blowing easy especially if someone walks up while you using it. You can turn it and not have to take it off to restart.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from RETURNED TO DEALER This "professional" blower did not keep up with all the leaf blowing that needed to be done. Not sure of the proper "mechanics" of what kept occurring, but after a few hours of blowing, it would lose substantial power and had to be cleaned out.Loved the fact that it had a battery start but very disappointed in its performance.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Electric start not reliable on first start. I like the concept of the electric start, but it hasn't proved reliable. The battery does not hold a charge. Each time you use the unit you must manually pull start the blower for its initial start even when using the next day. After running for a while if you pause and stop the blower it will start again at the push of a button which is convenient. I took the blower back to the dealer and they replied that there was nothing wrong with it so I presume it is normal that the battery doesn't hold a charge.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1 year so far with the 450 C-EF My blower starts after 1 or 2 pulls regardless of outdoor temp and I couldn't be more pleased. Seems to be more than enough power to satisfy almost any homeowner. I use it at least once a week. The electric start is a godsend to pick up/move things around, talk to neighbors, kids, etc. I would never have a blower without electric start again.Just FYI, complaints about not being able to start the BR450C-EF with the electronic start are misplaced. You do not start the blower with the button. You must do the initial start via recoil. Once it's been running and you stop it, you RESTART it with the electronic start.I cannot recommend this blower highly enough as the near perfect compromise for a homeowner.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i like the features on this unit very easy to use has great blowing power starts very easy
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this Power This my first ever BackPack Blower and I was not sure if this was to much of a upgrade or not. But trust me it's not this thing has so much power and I don't even feel it. I was using this to clean up at a construction site with my dad and I saw a brick on the side walk so I did not want to pick it up so I thought it would be cool to blow it but I thought this would never do that. BUT surely enough it did I was Amazed at this. I am 13 years old and I have a medium sized lawn service and do about 6 yards a week with HUGE driveways and this handles it no problem and during fall clean ups this is a breeze it is really easy I would always recommend STIHL my next product I'm getting is the New STIHL FS 91R Trimmer for my lawn service because my 56 just does not have that 100% power anymore it has about 75% power so I can't Wait to pick that up. Anyway this is a great product and I hope to buy more STIHL Products in the Future.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Awkward Thought I'd enjoy this item but after 3 uses I prefer having the handheld Stihl blower. Just my personal preference.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has a great feature The electric start makes this equipment conducive for my elderly father to use without having to exert effort to attempt manual starting of this equipment. Only problem is I would like to purchase a hip belt to attach to this unit. But Stihl doesn't show to offer one for purchase.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower For Professional Landscape Company I have used this blower in the summer, and winter. For a cold start the best way to go about it is:If Warm TempsPrime 7 times, Full Choke, Put on, Hit Start Button, Starts Right Up, Pull Throttle, Choke Goes offIf Cold Out Prime 7 times, Full Choke, Pull Start Till It Cranks Over, Put on, Hit Start Button, Starts Right Up, Pull Throttle, Choke Goes offThe reason that we love this blower is the ability to be working, have a customer, new client, learning crew member come talk to you. You simply shut off the machine, and leave it on. When your done talking hit the button, and your back to work. This is especially handy when teaching new employees.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from E start wont work The e start is a nice feature but the problem i am having is if you start your machine in doors and then go out side when it is below 0 degrees your e start is inhabited and then becomes useless and you still have to take the machine off your back to start it. Dont waste your money on the e start and just go for a regular old pull start because that is what you will have to do any ways.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Meaningless electric start If you're looking for a good blower, you might be tempted to look elsewhere. Although the power behind the machine is unquestionable when you get it running, the question is: can you get it to run?Be prepared to be trying to manually start the machine and electronically starting it for a half hour or longer. Playing around with the cold and warm start to get it running can be frustrating.The machine doesn't feel solidly built, feels more like it is going to fall apart on me than not. Cheap plastics and an unwieldiness to the device doesn't make me feel confident my purchase will last.
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good Decided on the 450c than the br 600 because of the electric start.On a cold start you have to press the electric start three times to start. I have moved three acres of leaves chest deep .All the features are great.So far so good .Another great product from Stihl.The shoulder straps could use some improvement.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be an awesome machine So far after running 3 bottles of moto mix through the machine it has failed to start numerous times now . First the spark arrestor was clogged . The screen is way too tight . Next it was the air filter it was clean as a whistle but machine would not run with the filter in . It ran fine without it . I take very good car of my equipment . I still use an Echo weed eater bought in 1978. I think there's design flaws in this product
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product as usual This product is definitely worth the money ! If your on the job and have to take a call no worries, no more having to take blower on and off. All around great product
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable Equipment Our Blower is the newest Stihl. Bought it for wet leaves, blowing off roofs, barn aisle and it even blew out the horses paddocks when I was in a hurry. Did a great job easy to use, easy to start and the backpack is so much easier to maneuver compared to the wand/pole version. Especially up on a roof.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time saver This blower has tripled my productivity. After using this blower commercially I am amazed at the amount of time it has saved me. Features I like:Electric startMoveable throttle to your arm lengthThe self contained blower tube is fantastic.Power is very sufficient.Cons: shoulder straps are bad for such a high dollar blower. It seems like they were an after thought. It gets uncomfortable during long periods of usage.The blower is thirsty, has a big tank for fuel but it can go through it rather quickly.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Electric start?? Over all this is a great blower when it's running. The electric start does NOT start the blower from a cold crank. It takes a few minutes to get it started with the pull cord. Once running you can stop the blower and re-start it with the electric trigger.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Two weeks old Loved the blower the first two weeks...been and dealer service department for over a week. Electric start quit working after light use. Dealer is attempting to figure out what the issue is. Fingers crossed
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Home owner Lots of power love the electric start would recommend .
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product gets straight to business it blows like a Hurricane. I Have the Br 500 but this is Awesome I can turn it off to talk to my customer's then hit the switch and then I'm right back to business , I like the torque in the 450 c.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Buy this one! You get the Electric Start, perfect when walking or talking to someone then it starts right up while on your back with a flick of the switch.Adjustable tube for any length you want and great when collapsed for storage.The 450 is powerfull enough to turn you in circles, no need for the 500 or 600.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome power with the convenience of electric start! I love this blower! I'm totally sold on the electric start and I believe all blower manufacturers will be going to this as it is an upgrade long overdue in the industry. I am a home owner and I have a descent size property. I find myself using my blower for more than just blowing off the sidewalk. I use it to clean my gutters, hot tub, latticework, front and back porches, deck, garage and driveway. I would say that my blower is the power tool I reach for the most, so why not get the best I can get? This thing rocks and the electric start feature saves me time and work with the seemingly constant interruptions that come up when I am blowing. Usually the kids, wife, phone or just the need to rearrange deck furniture etc. pops up and I used to have to turn everything off and then take the blower off, set it on the ground and start it and then throw it on my back and keep going, or just keep it running while I did whatever I had to do. Not any more! Electric push button start to the rescue! Love it, get one . . .be happy and save fuel and time and your back while you're at it.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blower Great Blower.. all is good. Although the straps are uncomfortable and it should come with hip support given the price. overall the blower lives up to Stihl quality.
Date published: 2016-04-13
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_br450cef, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl