MSA 160 C-BQ - $279.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
MSA 160 C-BQ 12" bar w/o battery & charger

DSRP: $279.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

Innovative and surprisingly powerful STIHL Lithium-Ion battery-powered chainsaw. Batteries & chargers can be purchased separately or as a combined set with tool.

The STIHL Lithium-ion battery technology is available for chainsaws with the STIHL MSA 160 C-BQ. Eliminating fuel costs and engine emissions with cordless 36-volt STIHL Lithium-Ion power, the MSA 160 C-BQ provides another environmentally responsible option in STIHL chainsaws. The MSA 160 C-BQ is portable, lightweight and features reduced vibrations and instant start-ups. And the commercial-grade h...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MSA 160 C-BQ Specifications
POWERHEAD WEIGHT w/o Battery 3.1 kg (6.8 lbs.)
w/ AP 100 3.5 kg. (7.7 lbs.)
w/ AP 300 4.9 kg (10.6 lbs.)
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 25 to 35cm (10" to 12")
ROLLOMATIC® E
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 210 cc (7.4 oz.)
RUN TIME (w/ AP 300) Up to 50 Minutes
OILOMATIC® CHAIN ¼” STIHL PICCO™
POWER SOURCE Battery
STIHL recommends #3670 (71 PM3 64) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 12" 3005 008 3405 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on. Chain saw weights include recommended bar and chain combination. Battery and charger sold separately.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) - an additional chain braking feature
    STIHL offers an additional, manually-activated chain brake on some models. This system is designed to engage when the operator’s right hand completely releases the rear handle, stopping the chain within one second. Available on some models.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    STIHL Quickstop®
    STIHL chainsaws are equipped with a chain stopping system designed to reduce the risk of injury in certain kickback situations. It is called a STIHL Quickstop® chain brake. The STIHL Quickstop® chain brake is designed to stop the rotation of the chain if activated by the operator’s hand or by inertia if the saw kicks back with sufficient force. In some working positions, the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake can be activated by inertia, stopping the chain within fractions of a second.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Ematic™ Lubrication System
    The Ematic™ guide bar, when used with STIHL OILOMATIC® saw chain, will provide proper lubrication and less oil consumption than conventional methods. The system works because two ramps, strategically placed in the guide bar rail, help contain the flow of oil and direct all lubrication to the sliding faces of the bar and chain links as well as the rivets and driver holes, which in turn can reduce bar oil consumption up to 50%.
  • Zoom
    STIHL Electric Motor
    Lightweight and compact, STIHL electric motors require minimal maintenance and feature low noise levels and reduced vibration.
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.
  • Zoom
    Coast-down Brake
    A controlled braking device (Q) to stop the rotating chain when the trigger is released.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • AL 500 High-Speed Battery Charger Zoom
    AL 500 High-Speed Battery Charger
    Part of the STIHL Lithium-Ion Battery KombiSystem, the AL 500 delivers the fastest charging time for all STIHL Lithium-Ion batteries. Now, you can spend less time charging and complete your projects faster. The AL 500 will even charge the high-capacity AR 900 backpack battery in less than 2 hours.  Get the most out of your STIHL system – get the AL 500 high-speed charger!

    View Our Usage Chart
  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

  • AP 300 Lithium-Ion Battery Zoom
    AP 300 Lithium-Ion Battery
    The AP 300 Lithium-Ion battery is the most powerful handheld battery in the STIHL line – 28% more power than the AP 180, while remaining the same weight (3.8 lbs.). And all STIHL batteries are based on 36-volt Lithium-Ion technology, hitting the “sweet spot” of power and run time. They are also engineered to last, keeping 80% of their battery capacity after 500 charges. The AP 300 even features specialized voltage monitors and temperature sensors to help ensure optimal operation and a long service life. Have questions? Contact us today and we’ll help you find the right battery equipment for your needs.

    View Our Usage Chart
For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Series Glasses Zoom
    STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Series Glasses
    The name says it all. It’s where only the best can compete. The official protective glasses of the STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Series pair platinum styled frames with a smoked mirror optical grade lens for a look that says one thing – you mean business.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MSA 160 C-BQ is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Workhorse Cordless Compact Chainsaw Excellent cordless compact chainsaw. Has worked great for hours of continuous use for land clearing. Two AP180 batteries provide more than enough continuous use before I am ready for a break. With the new AP300 batteries I suspect by time the second one is ready for a charge one will be exhausted while the MAS 160 can keep on going. The only thing to slow down the chain saw is the need for chain sharpening.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does Amazing Job I purchased this saw as an early birthday present for myself! Picked up on Saturday, charged the battery and took it out to my wood pile on Sunday. Wow! This cuts through wood like a hot knife through butter. I was amazed. Did a whole rack of logs quickly and used less than half the charge. The smaller chain size make a smooth almost "finished" cut like a fine circular saw blade. I'm getting up there in years, so my Stihl Farm Boss which I got about ten years ago is getting a little heavy for the smaller everyday stuff. So when I got it serviced and the lady showed me the MSA 160 I wanted one! Did my research and everything came back to this little beauty. Very impressed. Got the 12" bar and I think this will do it all! Happy to recommend!
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile for smaller jobs and excellent for in the tree trimming It took a 1 1/2 hours to fully charge the lithium ion battery and locked securely in-place when inserted into the tool. I filled the oil reservoir to the top with Stihl premium bar oil but before using the chainsaw, I prelubed the bar and chain to keep them protected before the self oiler would actually apply lubricant to the chain. I'm glad I did this because after doing about 5 minutes of cutting I noticed the chain was getting dry. I removed the bar and surmised that there was no oil coming out of the oil orifice. Leaving the bar and chain off I used very small wire and carburetor cleaner too begin poking and prodding the opening and finally got fluid to flow out of the oil reservoir. Without doing this I would have surely destroyed the bar, chain and sprocket on this Saw. The chain is very narrow and cuts wood like a hot knife through butter but make sure the wood is dirt free and don't even think of nicking a nail.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Maddening We bought this chainsaw because it was something that I should have been able to use easily, and I will mention here that we have three other battery-operated Stihl products that we are pleased with. However, the chain has slipped off twice just going through about 1-2 inch branches. I took it back to the dealer the first time and they put the chain back on. It's Sunday today so I will have to visit them tomorrow. The second time I tried to put the chain back on and was unable to get it to stay. I've only been able to use the saw for a total of 10 minutes and I have hours of work to do, so with the chain coming off it is costing me lots of time. Even if I could get it back on, stopping every 5 minutes to do so would be aggravating. We are not happy with this product.
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS271 Have to admit, works like a charm, no issues, ran very well and as long as I kept oil, fuel and sharp chains, my Stihl Got the job done. It's my gem. Roman
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS200C Electric Chainsaw This is my personal favorite due to its versatility. I can quickly swap out the chain blade, keep the oil level up and move through my task list without lugging a mixed fuel rig all over the property. My neighbors appreciate the quietness of the chain saw operation.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This battery powered saw is a great product. I recently purchased the Stihl MSA 160C battery powered chainsaw from a local dealer. I was interested in finding out if anyone could produce a chainsaw that could operate effectively without having to mix and use gas and/or oil, and without having to drag an electric cord around with you. Well, Stihl definitely has done it. This is a great saw for clearing small to medium size brush and tree limbs. It is very quiet, and starts up at the push of a button. When idle, of course, it makes no sound at all! Your neighbors will love this! Using the AP 180 battery, I was able to cut for over an hour, and still had 50% battery power left. This is an ideal piece of equipment for those who want convenience and easy operation.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from reliable chainsaw for small jobs, excellent product! We purchased this battery-powered chainsaw after having purchased a battery-powered Stihl trimmer. Both my wife and I have found it to be a superior addition to our battery of tools to remove vegetation along our fence rows. It is lightweight and sufficiently powerful for the small trees along the fences. Its operation is quiet and without the annoying fumes that accompany our other chainsaws. We also purchased the AP 300 Lithium-Ion battery that provides approximately 45 minutes of continuous operating time with the chainsaw. We recommend it without any reservations.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chain saw! I knew through relatives and friends in the industry that Stihl makes the best chainsaws, but i was still pleasantly surprised by this saw. For cutting up smaller trees and dead fall (<8") this saw goes like a hot knife through butter. For larger trees and dead wood, it still gets the job done with no issues. In fact I have yet to over power this saw while cleaning up a overly wooded section of my yard. I use the premixed gas because it last for a long time and wont gum up the carb. I have had not issues starting it so far. Bottom line, I love this saw and highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great and my first and only chainsaw purchase for my urban environment. I bought this for myself as a 60th birthday present. Growing up on the farm I watched my Dad and brothers operate all the equipment, but now that I'm a "city-girl" with quite a lot of small trimming to be done in my yard. This saw is perfect and I can operate it without the fear I had for bigger pull start versions. I love the battery concept and it in combination with my battery powered blower make me the envy of the neighborhood. A couple of neighbors when I helped them with some trimming and sawing up a branch that fell in a storm. The batteries can be used on both. One charger and two batteries let me finish any project where I use both tools. The blower is great for clearing the sidewalks and driveway in a light winter snow and very fast.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great for most home owners This is the first chain saw I have owed and it works great. Battery is definitely the way to go for an occasional user. It makes quick work of small trees which I need to take down. Any tree that is to big for this probably requires a professional anyway.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Love my other Stihl battery tools, decided to try the chain saw too. Exceeded my expectations for what it would cut through. Easy to use, don't have to worry about whether or not it will start. Just charge the battery and start cutting. What a great tool!
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small but powerful! I work maintenance for a school and I use this saw a couple times a week. It is a phenomenal little saw! Don't shy away just because it has a battery! It's still packed with power! We keep the blade sharp as recommended and it cuts through large wet hardwood with no problem at all. We love it so much we are purchased one for all our other campuses! Great job Stihl!
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my chainsaw. I am a 55 year old girl (at heart anyway). I love my little chainsaw. I have the small battery to keep the weight down and it lasts plenty long for the amount of work I want to do at one time. Cuts through 6" trees easily making cleanup and trimming a breeze. Thank you Stihl for making a battery operated chainsaw.
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chainsaw Purchased this as I had a couple trees and many large branches to removed from my newly purchased property. I'm not a fan of the smell of gasoline or the idea of breathing the fumes in. The saw it had the power that I needed, no emissions, and is so quiet. The running time is perfect with the Stihl AP-180. Since you're never running the saw continuously, you can get hours wroth of work in. Stick it back on the charger every time you take a break and you're good to go all day.I'm looking forward to using it for future housework as well as making it a necessary addition to my overlanding toolkit.
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Great Chainsaw. I highly recommend it to anyone who needs a lightweight and easy to use chainsaw!
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Chain ajustment is the best. This is the best Chain Saw I have ever used. It is very user friendly.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small but Mighty!!! Awesome Saw! First time chain saw user. I like that it is quiet. No dealing with a gas engine!!! Light weight and powerful. Battery charges fast.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent saw a little high on rpice with battery,charger etc Taylors was most helpful in set up. Excellent saw although a little pricey:)
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot of power I am a first time Stihl owner. My previous chainsaw (Poulan) gave me constant problems with starting and keeping the chain tight. I paid almost twice as much for the Stihl but as this point it has been worth it. It has much more power and less vibration and literally cuts through wood like butter.
Date published: 2014-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent for fire mitigation We have Colorado woods acreage that requires limbing, trimming, thinning, and removing dead trees, mainly aspen, the perfect setting for this little saw. I've owned it over a year and in that time have only had to use the gas saw once for a large Ponderosa that was too big for the guidebar. A battery charge usually lasts longer than I do and has never been an issue.Not being a gas saw offers some substantial benefits. Obviously, no gas to deal with, no carb settings, no pull starting. Less obvious is the fact it never gets hot, so no worries about setting it down and starting a fire. Also, it can still be used during high fire danger when the county prohibits the use of gas chain saws.I was initially skeptical about the power and if it would cut fast enough and a battery charge last long enough to be useful. Not a problem! The small width blade cuts very fast and maintains an edge quite well. Its light weight is a huge benefit for me.As with any cutting device, let the tool do the work. Let the saw come up to speed before starting a cut and don't force it. Our trees are all pine, fir, and aspen, thus, soft wood and the saw has handled everything within the limits of the length of the guidebar.
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A superb instrument for light to medium duty Appreciate having a machine that I can use handily at age 75; and which has moved into the relatively clean and convenient Li-ion design of tools.
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I had bought this saw 10 years ago. Great value and product. Easy to use. More than capable for big jobs or small. Power to spare. Lightweightl
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I agree with Chuckles, it's an outstanding piece of equipment. Good quality saw. Easy to use. Priced fairly with a lot of options on the high quality batteries.
Date published: 2014-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw starting This saw came with an easy start spring system which is one of its best features.
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This chain saw is perfect for homeowners! This chain saw really impressed me. I had a 50 foot Ash Tree infested with the emerald ash borer so I had to take it down in my front yard. I would not use it if I cut trees down for a living but for the homeowner it is 'PERFECT" !! It cut through a 11" trunk in about a minute. Please note an ash tree is very hard wood !You can't rush it, just hold it steady and it will confidently glide through a tree trunk.It's a little pricey, but not having the maintenance and operating costs of a gas and oil chain saw it is money well spent for the convenience and ease of use. If and when I ever wear this one out I am going to go buy another one just like it !
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Love this chain saw for using around the property. Traded in a Stihl gas engine one for this as could not start the other one. This one is so easy to use and lightweight. Yes, it is a bit pricey but hope to get many years of use out of it. I only use it for small branches and small tree limbs so probably not appropriate for heavy duty tree removal.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the chainsaw most homeowners need No fuel to mix, no two cycle engine to maintain. This battery operated chainsaw is in a category by itself…the only battery operated chainsaw that works like a real chainsaw. Do not waste your time with something cheaper. You will be tired before the battery runs low and it charges quickly. The battery also works with other Stihl products.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great chain saw I bought the 180C chain saw and think it is the best product I have bought. It does the job and is so easy to start and handle. Would not think of buying anything else.
Date published: 2014-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and quiet enough! I just love this chainsaw, because I'm a 67 year old woman who still likes to work on my property and I need lightweight now. The only problem and maybe it's me, is that it leaks the oil out of it, after use and I have to put it on absorbent papers. My husband thinks all chain saws leak some oil from under it. Even if it isn't very full of oil. Is that just what accumulated from going out the chain? It is coming from under where I set it down. Am I supposed to empty the oil every time, somehow, or how can I avoid this? I call this my "toy". Dot
Date published: 2014-04-22
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_msa160cbq, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl