Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case - $49.99 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case

DSRP: $49.99

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

Woodsman carrying case.

Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fits a saw but ... This case is acceptable for a mid size saw MS362 or similar but does not give much room for extra chains sharpening gear, etc. if you have larger felling spikes it's a tight fit. For smaller saws it's overally bulky and will not fit a top handle saw like a MS150 or MS201 particularly well, sloppy and inertia brake hits lidI agree with others comments regarding the plastic hinge not being reliable over time. The improved latches are very high quality and work well.Sthil used to make a square black case that worked great for both types of saws and also accommodated larger models well. I have one and wish I'd bought more at the time ,early 2000's.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not great. Not a good example of German engineering. The hinge is flexible plastic and is an early failure point especially if the case has extended exposure to the direct sun. A true pinned hinge would be much better. Just enough room inside for my Farm Boss, a couple of spare chains and a six ounce bottle of fuel mix oil. Larger saws, less room! Stihl should make a smaller case for arborist saws and saws like the MS170. Easier to store, less bulky, easier to carry to job site.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works, but This case does the job of protecting the saw, and it does have a place on the bar cover to carry the chain wrench. This has a slot to accommodate the handle of the wrench which is too short for the handle, so the end of it protrudes in a way that would allow it to snag on brush, etc. - a minor design flaw. The bar cover also has a bead along the top that looks like it would hold a slide on accessory bag or something, but I can't find anything designed to go on it. Does anyone know what it's for? I agree with the general complaint that there is precious little extra storage space in this case for anything else. I can tuck my file case in it. But that's about it.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl saw cases. These cases are made of plastic, not steel.It's design is to protect your saw. It serves the job very well. If u abuse any plastic, u know what will happen. The bar cover that comes with it is foe any saw to 20" bar. If your bar is longer, they make longer bar covers.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor handle The plastic handle is not designed for the case. It breaks very easy. There is no replacement part either. Save your money don't buy.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great case but not enough room.... This a good case but a few problems are. I have a 391 with a 25 inch bar, keep ur cover cause the cover that comes with the case does not fit my 25 inch bar. I kept my cover put it on my saw and put the saw in the case. My cover worked it was nice and snug but now I have no place to put my tool to switch chains, cause the bar cover that comes with the case has a spot molded on the cover to snap ur tool on. The other problems are storage in the case. Theres no room to put my file/tools let alone try to put another chain in the case. You have to remember if ur in the woods u don't want to carry a lot of bags or stuff for ur chainsaw, I or you want to be able to keep that stuff all together in one case.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gotta have one but it kinda sucks On my rhird case. You gotta have one to protect your saws but hinges go, the handles break and they don't make one that fits the small saw a or the large ones so your left trying to find a case to fit your arborist saw a or your very large saws somewhere else.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what I expect it to do. I bought these cases for one thing only...and the job is simple...protect my saws! I don't expect them to contain tools and accessories...that's why I have another tool box and a milk crate...All I need is for them to do is keep the sun and elements off the saw, and that they do pretty good.I agree that the hinge looks flimsy, but I've had mine for over fourteen years, no problems, and if it ever goes bad, I'll figure something else. But as much as the orange has faded over the years on the case, the saws themselves look pretty new, although they have been used quite a bit!Good product, simple job, job well done!
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the case but need to upgrade Hopes are the case can be enlarged in capacity, extra chain, gloves, ear tea and eye gear to fit. Also need one for my 661-R.Overall protects from elements very well.
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from my old case is marginal I bought a case in 1980 with my 032 that I still use with difficulty. The hinges were the first thing that went on it. As mentioned, it did get brittle with age. Stuff has fallen on it, and it is pretty broken up. That said, I would think that Stihl should have been able to come up with a better design. I've been looking at the current version, and have not been impressed. It seems to suffer from some of the same problems - cheap hinges, same plastic that will get brittle. I may get it because I don't find an alternative, but I'm not hopeful of it's reliabliity.
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Full protection I consider the Woodsman Carrying Case to be just as an important piece as safety equipment. It not only protects the saw from everyday elements but also the user and everyone else nearby. I cant count how many times I have warned people who stand near the uncovered chain. Plus I like the extra storage area in the case for spark plugs, wrench and even a couple of replacement chains.
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Case, But: I keep all my saws in a case to protect them while not in use. This case is as good as anything else on the market; but, like most cases on the American market, it isn’t setting the world on fire. To be clear, the case does fit my saw well , and does protect it while being stored and transported. However, it would seem as though Stihl had this case designed and the tooling to manufacture it made long ago, and then hasn’t reexamined the case for potential improvements ever since. Perhaps this is due to marketing data that might suggest there isn’t a big need or demand for a more useful case, ,I’ve no idea. For me, the biggest improvement I would suggest is a main compartment that affords more storage capacity for accessories. A leading competitor’s case, while lacking in overall quality, does have more room in it so you can carry: bar oil, a hatchet, a couple wedges, files, a spare chain, and a can of MotoMix (very handy for quick jobs around the farm). All this without the external dimensions being much more than the Stihl case. The case does its job and I’ve no real complaints about it since it is functioning as designed. But, given Stihl’s overarching commitment to quality throughout their entire product line, I would be very willing to invest in a more substantial and utilitarian Stihl chainsaw case should one ever become available.
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product is built well and is light weight and durable This case is well made, very sturdy and well worth the money. I am hoping to purchase more in the near future
Date published: 2015-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good to protect saws I keep all my saws in cases when not in use except the 660. First saw was 028 Super that bought with case and still looks and runs great! Error on Stihl website, the tabs "We Also Suggest" recommends the Woodsman cases even even for the 660 and 880 although they don't fit. I use a cases with longer bars. Just use regular scabbard. Agree with reviews about poor hinge quality. I've fixed with metal hinges. Maybe after market will improve the hinge defect.
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough unit overall Its a tough case and keeps your investment safe and sound. Only complaint is the slightly flimsy section that goes over the bar. Doesnt seem to secure properly to the case and wobbles around a bit. Overall however, the rest of the case is tough and regularly gets strapped to the roof of my 4WD for days being bounced and bashed over harsh terrain.
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The case does not fit my saw I bought a MS 250 C-BE and the saw does not fit in the standard case. Has anyone had this problem? Stihl reports that they know about the problem and will have a new case next year (2015) ! I guess I'll buy a case from someone else.
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor hinge design The "hinge" is not a proper hinge - it's only a thin piece of bendable plastic that eventually fatigues and breaks. I've had three or four of these Stihl chainsaw cases over the years and have had to replace each one due the the hinge failing. The service life of this case is completely dependent on how often you use the saw (open and close the case). If you use your saw frequently don't expect much service life. If I could ignore this glaring defect I'd say the case works fine - as it is they are basically disposable. Not dependable and not up to Stihl's usually high standards.
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must to protect your saw I've had one for every saw I've bought. Keeps dirt off your saw and protects it when not in use.
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product has good features Not the storage of my old Stihl saw case. Would of rather had one that opened to expose the whole saw. Not the budget scabbard that this has. Had hard time getting it over the bar. Overall I guess it will keep the saw from damage during transporting.
Date published: 2013-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Case This case is very well built. I like it for transportation of my saws. I don't have to worry if something falls on it while it is in my truck. I own a few.
Date published: 2013-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 14years old carrying case I love this product for 14 years abuse and i have a 390 with twenty inch bar with a few chains to carry with tools for a full day of work with this case. Arizona climate ate alittle of the dark orange color but i was glad for the price of thirty dollars long time ago. I can carrying five chains and tools and sharpen tool also with this heavy duty case.
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good case Very nice case. I like the storage for the scrench, T-27, and file on the bar cover. There's enough storage space inside (with my MS 271) for a bottle of oil, extra spark plug, filing kit, felling wedge, extra chain, screw driver, etc. My only complaint is that the hinges don't look very sturdy. So far, it's holding up well, but over time, I am not sure. It serves its purpose and protects the saw very well.
Date published: 2012-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chain saw case is very durable. Stihl's chain saw case is very durable. After 5 years, still no problems. Only criticism, no chain or tool storage areas inside the case.
Date published: 2012-10-27
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_cscarry, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl