MS 271 FARM BOSS® - $389.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A high-performance, high-tech, fuel-efficient chainsaw.

Bringing reduced-emission technology to mid-range chainsaws, the STIHL MS 271 FARM BOSS® is ideal for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup tasks. An improved low-emission, fuel-efficient engine cuts emissions by 50% when compared to previous models and delivers 20% longer run times than traditional 2-stroke engines. Designed with user comfort in mind, its compact, ergonomic design and advan...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 271 FARM BOSS® Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 50.2 cc (3.06 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.6 kW (3.49 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 5.6 kg (12.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 500 cc (16.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 240 cc (8.12 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 26 RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 67) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3003 812 6813 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Sleek Line Glasses Zoom
    Sleek Line Glasses
    A lightweight frame made of nylon offers the ideal combination of durability and comfort. Rubber temple tips and nosepiece offer a pressure-free fit behind the ears and protection from slippage on the nose bridge area. Protective lenses filter 99% of harmful UV rays.
  • Performance Winter Protective Pants Zoom
    Performance Winter Protective Pants

    These pants have a minimum of 6 layers of cut-retardant Engtex® material to help protect the chainsaw operator.

    Front and back outer shell is made with water and snow resistant nylon. Front has Avertic® Pro by Engtex® cut-retardant material. Warm winter lining is made with Thinsulate®. Color: Black. Sizes available: S, M, L, XL.

    Thinsulate® is a registered trademark of 3M Corp.

    STIHL Pro Mark items are "Wash and Wear." They do not require dry cleaning as other brands do.

  • Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Forestry Helmet System
    Adjustable hearing protection. Epoxy-coated full face screen. Tough ABS hard hat meets ANSI Z89.1-2003 Type 1 Class G. All parts are replaceable.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 271 FARM BOSS® is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 564.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent saw It starts easily, has plenty of power, cuts dry oak very fast. We heat our house with a wood burning stove so a good saw is a must. The Farm Boss is not heavy and is a pleasure to use. I am looking forward to many years of service from this fine saw.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good saw for the price Cuts fast and clean with little effort or work on my part.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth, powerful and easy to start Mine has the 18" bar. It has more than enough power to make short work of everything ive used it on. My only issue now is finding more work to use it on. Highly recommened.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and easy to continue starting after stopping I bought this Farm Boss in Avalon Ace hardware in Orlando, FL. The instruction to start/operate at Ace was excellent and the product is fantastic, reliable quality. It has power and very easy to start again after putting it down after several minutes. Delighted with this new machine.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would buy again The only issues I have had were on the first tank of gas it took several pulls to start. On about the 8th tank of gas, the saw is well broken in, and starts like a champ easily every time. I have not owned a chain saw in almost 30 years of living in the city, but when I bought my ranch, I did research and settled on the Stihl 271 with a 20 inch bar. I am very happy for the purchase, and I know that this saw is going to last. I mainly cut central Texas yaupon and post oak, and while I may not be pushing the saw too much, I have had to cut a couple larger oaks. I regularly use the saw in very hot and dry conditions and have had no spark issues. The weight is fine for the size of the saw, and really after a while it's a reasonable weight for the size of the saw
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect amount of torque for a light saw that can handle a 20" bar with no issue at all Awesome saw that not only starts on the first pull but can cut threw wood like a hot knife threw butter
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic product Great power and balance, easy to use. Love my Farm Boss.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Problem with bar sprocket after several uses The saw is lightweight, starts and runs well and vibration is minimal. The only complaint is that the bar end sprocket failed within one month of use (maybe cut two cords with it)
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what i expected out of a Stihl product Great chainsaw, runs great, lots of power would recommend to anyone that wants a saw that works!!!
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts easily and has plenty of power Took me two or three try's to master how to start this saw, but now it is a joy. Found this saw to cut much better than my 35 year old stihl.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nearly everything I expected This saw is nearly everything I expected from Stihl. It replaces a 35 year old Stihl 032AV. I am please with it's easy starting, and good power for the 18 in. bar and chain. The "locking" bar oil and gas caps take some getting used toThe only concern that I have encountered is that one of the bar nuts loosened and fell completely off the second time I used the saw - even after I had tightened those nuts before starting to cut.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would recommend this saw I wouldn't trade my new ms -271 for anything I was using a husqvarna 350 ,and a husqvarna 445 to cut with . I've sold the 350 and the 445 is now my back up saw. I cut firewood every day so I really work my saws and my new ms- 271 makes my life a little easier it is quick to refill with gas and oil and makes short work of white oak
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic saw for average use Has been finicky at first but is getting better every time I use it. Quite a difference between cold/hot idle so took a while to get adjusted. I use it mostly for firewood and it seems to do great on soft wood or even hard wood under ~16", but keeping chain sharp and not being aggressive is a must for larger cuts. Overall I'm happy with the purchase, but still think I would like a bigger saw, as I don't believe this saw would handle (power) a bar larger than 20".
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Chainsaw! I bought this chainsaw instead of hiring a contractor to remove a 100 foot fallen red oak after hurricane Irma. I have done all the work myself with just this chainsaw and a splitting axe. The saw has been extremely reliable and I’m sawing through the large logs with no problem. I had zero experience with a chainsaw and was nervous to do this, but it has been very easy! I did buy the protective chaps and watched the STIHL safety videos to be safe and found them very helpful. I have sawed for several hours at a time with it and never feel any fatigue as there is very little vibration. I’m very glad I spent extra to get this vs going with a cheap chainsaw!
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw! Excellent Saw! Used it on a hunting trip and it cut anything I needed for our fires every night. Started right up in the cold (high teens).
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I bought a 271 as a back up saw for my OV-28 wood boss. Great saw ! Been buying Stihl products for 30 plus years. Always a great purchase. Quality products.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great form storm cleanup This saw went through six 15” oaks downed by Irma and went through them like butter. It’s a little heavy but stable and durable.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performed as advertised. Powerfully, easy to start, smooth clean cuts. This is my first Stihl. No comparison to the Homelites and Craftsman saws I had purchased prior. A few extra dollars is well spent.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Newbie Heaven New to chainsaws, but tried out my friend's 290, which he loves. Decided on the 271 for the sweet-spot between the lower-powered of the 251 and the higher power of the 291. 20" bar zips through the large logs on my new property. Used multiple times now without any problems - followed the instructions on starting and it's reliable and powerful every time so far.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power We live in a national forest that's been devastated by the Bark Beetle. We lost six huge pines on our property, so I bought the Farm Boss to buck them up for next year's wood supply. It cut like a knife through warm butter. Started up every time, and handled very easily. Even on deep cuts I never had a problem. Well worth the investment.
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The weight is very well balanced. Overall it is excellent. The only way I could see it being better is a larger gas and oil tank.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome performance extremely dependable I had 2 other saws over the last 20 years but this saw is the boss. I love it and wonder why it took me so long to buy the last saw I will ever need. Power dependability and quality are unquestionably top notch. Since I value my time and don't want to waste it fiddling with a poor saw, the value is also excellent.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I cannot believe how easy the pull to start is. 18inch bar and has plenty of power. Low vibration and well balanced.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Execellent Saw! Best saw you can buy! Cuts thorough anything without issue
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed in Ohio This is the 2nd Stihl chain saw I have purchased. I had to buy this one because the one I purchased last year didn't hold up very well. The chain kept coming loose and within a few times tightening it, the screw completely broke off and had to be replaced and now it won't start. This farm boss I purchased is worse. I used it within 2 days of purchase, the chain was completely dull and needed replaced and again kept coming loose and needed to be tightened after every cut. It also continually shuts off the minute I take my finger off the trigger. I doubt this is a problem with Stihl, especially after being sold a brand new chain saw with a completely dull blade, this I put on Rural King, but I don't exactly know where to lay the blame with the fact that one, 2 days after purchase won't keep running, and the other, after 2 days of use won't start and the chain tightening screw completely sheered off, I think the blame has to go to Stihl on that one. So now I have to find time and waste the gas to take them both back to the store to be fixed. I think they should have to come to my house to fix them since I used both a total of 4 or 5 times, and the newest one only once. Very disappointed. Oh and my mother owns about 5 Stihl chainsaws, yes 5, because she would have to buy another one to use whenever the 1st ones were in the shop being fixed, and not returned for months at a time, oh she didn't take them to or buy them from Rural King. And I don't remember the model #s off hand of either saw I purchased, but they are both farm bosses.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT SAW you want go Wrong if you purchase this Saw . It does the Job and it does it Well.I Brought this Saw after a Storm came Through to help my Dad with a Lot of trees that fell on his Property. We worked it and Worked it Well and it Stood the Test and went above.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome saw Awesome saw don’t waste your money or time purchasing any other brand this saw starts every time with minimal effort even after sitting for weeks in the shed
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW what a work horse!!! I purchased the MS271 Farm Boss about a year ago. It's the best chainsaw I have ever owned. This thing cuts like no other. I mainly bought it for the power to cut through Hedge and Locust trees, which are in abundance here in Missouri. This thing eats though these hard wood trees like a snack. So long as you keep the chain sharpened. But I have since moved to a place where there is only White Oak and cedar trees. I have cut about 8 cords of wood out of the Oak in less then 2 weeks and the chain hasn't dulled yet. The power it has is stihl going strong. I am now looking at purchasing another Stihl. Either the MS R C-M 362 or the MS 441 C-M Magnum for milling some of the logs I have set aside for making planks and what ever else I want to make. I have used the 271 for splitting a few logs down the middle and it worked great. Its just a little tougher on the chain. Tough choice to make on the next buy.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good overall saw I have had this saw for almost 1 year. Initially, I had some problems with the bar oil running out quickly and for some reason it seemed to be the 1st 3 or 4 times I ran it. Now, the oil usage is more reasonable. The bar and chain adjustment is simple/not complicated and better than the auto adjuster on my Dad's Stihl. I do recommend this saw for most homeowners. My only regret is that I did not buy a professional grade saw with a larger bar. I initially thought this saw would be big & powerful enough, but it has struggled bucking a larger river birch. It has been ok on oak and pine. I have another 2 acres of larger trees and will likely buy a larger saw. Note, buy the Stihl 2 in 1 filing guide chain sharpener. It works really well and is worth the money.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuts like a hott knife through butter! Excellent piece of equipment. Quality built and should last a life time. Saw starts easy and performs flawless. Has sufficient power to perform above its class. I really like the new twist off fuel and bar oil caps. Do not hesitate on spending the money on Stihl products. If maintained properly you will be money ahead in the long run with Stihl lasting a lifetime.
Date published: 2017-10-16
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_564
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms271, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl