MS 271 FARM BOSS® - $389.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A high-performance, high-tech, fuel-efficient chainsaw.

Bringing reduced-emission technology to mid-range chainsaws, the STIHL MS 271 FARM BOSS® is ideal for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup tasks. An improved low-emission, fuel-efficient engine cuts emissions by 50% when compared to previous models and delivers 20% longer run times than traditional 2-stroke engines. Designed with user comfort in mind, its compact, ergonomic design and advan...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 271 FARM BOSS® Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 50.2 cc (3.06 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.6 kW (3.49 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 5.6 kg (12.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 500 cc (16.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 240 cc (8.12 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 26 RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 67) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3003 812 6813 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Sleek Line Glasses Zoom
    Sleek Line Glasses
    A lightweight frame made of nylon offers the ideal combination of durability and comfort. Rubber temple tips and nosepiece offer a pressure-free fit behind the ears and protection from slippage on the nose bridge area. Protective lenses filter 99% of harmful UV rays.
  • Performance Winter Protective Pants Zoom
    Performance Winter Protective Pants

    These pants have a minimum of 6 layers of cut-retardant Engtex® material to help protect the chainsaw operator.

    Front and back outer shell is made with water and snow resistant nylon. Front has Avertic® Pro by Engtex® cut-retardant material. Warm winter lining is made with Thinsulate®. Color: Black. Sizes available: S, M, L, XL.

    Thinsulate® is a registered trademark of 3M Corp.

    STIHL Pro Mark items are "Wash and Wear." They do not require dry cleaning as other brands do.

  • Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Forestry Helmet System
    Adjustable hearing protection. Epoxy-coated full face screen. Tough ABS hard hat meets ANSI Z89.1-2003 Type 1 Class G. All parts are replaceable.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 271 FARM BOSS® is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 565.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuts like a hott knife through butter! Excellent piece of equipment. Quality built and should last a life time. Saw starts easy and performs flawless. Has sufficient power to perform above its class. I really like the new twist off fuel and bar oil caps. Do not hesitate on spending the money on Stihl products. If maintained properly you will be money ahead in the long run with Stihl lasting a lifetime.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the chainsaw that you'll need The Farm Boss did a great job after Hurricane Matthew in cutting large downed trees. Worked long hours and performed without any problems. Runs a long time on a tank of fuel. I couldn't be happier with any other saw. Hope Mills Saw and Mower was fantastic from the moment I walked into the shop and beyond after leaving with my new saw. They asked me what I planned to cut with a chainsaw, the amount of time I planned to be using the saw. They showed me several options based upon my needs and recommended the MS 271 Farm Boss. They reviewed everything concerning the operations and maintenance for the saw, as well as, accessories I may need from fuel, bar oil and other needs, instead of letting me leave without all the tools I would need why operating this saw.I was so impressed by their service that I've since gone back and purchased a small chainsaw for trimming/cutting limbs.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around saw. A great saw that does everything I need. It's a work horse and yet light weight. The sales associate spent 30 minutes with me assisting me on my selection and product overview of operation once I made my selection/purchase.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chainsaw i've ever owned I have lived in Northern Michigan for 26 years. Moved finally to all wood heat. Needed a saw that was easy to start, handled easy, had power to cut through 2 foot thick oak and maple, didnt kill me on gas, was dependable and cost effective. Went to my local Stihl dealer McLeans ACE Hardware..and the MS 271 farm boss was recommended to me. Now i have owned Craftsman, Poulon, Mchulha, Homelite, and Echo saws over the years. None lasted all were a disappointment. The Stihl 271 though...wow! Best saw i ever owned! Power, dependable, efficient, easy, cut 50 cord like butter! Thank you Stihl and thank you McLeans for convincing me to buy my first Stihl product.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dependable, quick starter! My Farm Boss is always ready to get the job done. I cut about 30 cords in the past year on my homestead and I've never had a problem with starts or breakdowns. Keep the chain sharp and the saw keeps cutting. Sometimes on harder woods or when the chain starts to dull the saw will bog down but for the majority of my cuts the saw performs smoothly and runs right through. If the job calls for larger trees or several hours of daily use I would recommend a professional model. For an hour or 2 a few times a week on typical firewood or to fell medium sized trees this saw will get the job done reliably. I would highly recommend this model or pretty much any Stihl chainsaw. Don't forget your safety gear!
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 271 Farm Boss gets the job done! My Stihl MS 271 Farm Boss is exactly what I needed for the work that I am doing. Very happy with its performance and dependability. The machine has a good balance of weight and is easy for me to use when I need to. I would recommend this to anyone who has to cut wood every year. Either way Stihl is a great company that makes great products.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for the serious firewood cutter! I bought this saw because I was given a large amount hard seasoned locust in long lengths. It absolutely killed my last saw. This saw eats right through with very little effort. I definitely recommend this saw if you are looking to cut a substantial amount of firewood each year.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very powerful saw Very powerful and dependable saw. I liked t he fact that there are several models to choose from.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Repair bills This chainsaw 1 year 2 months old already extremely costly repairs. Even the computer was bad. It could t register the false starts cause it doesnt start! Never been so unhappy with a major purchase! Never purchasing a sthl again.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power/dollar investment. I've been using this saw for about 10 months now and it has been flawless. I also use a MS-211C for smaller logs, and this one cuts that stuff like butter! Keep the chain sharp and just cut through. Used on 24 to 36 inch oak without issues. Nice balance and power to boot. I'm definitely a Stihl saw junky! You can't go wrong for the size. If this was the only saw you purchase, it'd be great for ALL your needs.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around worker This is my second stihl chainsaw I have bought and I will buy another one when the time comes however I believe that the farm boss will be with me for a very long time!
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice and light It's easy to handle, starts on the 3rd pull every time.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the money, tons of power for the pprice Tackled a very large decayed cotton wood, the saws performance was outstanding, the main trunk was 2 feet in diameter and the saw cut thru with ease. The saw was used non stop for several hours only stopping for gas. Outstanding product!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw This is a great saw it’s easy to start and handle recommend it to anyone
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw. Great value!! Purchased last fall. I have an older Craftsman also. It works but not like the Stihl. The MS 271 is like a hot knife thru butter. By far the best saw I've ever owned. Pay now or pay later. Thank you Lake Erie Lawn and Garden. Love your Stihl products and service.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better then expected Bought this saw for clearing trees around my new house and roadway. Other competing brands that I have owned seemed to lack power but not this Stihl. Far beyond expectations
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a great tool! Everyone told me to buy a Stihl chainsaw. I’m glad I listened. The Farm Boss is exactly that, the Boss! I’ve only had it a few weeks but I am very impressed with it. When I’m cutting, it doesn’t seem like work.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I always buy stihl. That's all I'll ever own. I've never met another professional landscaper that didn't run stihl tools. Saw works perfectly.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good So far so good. I've only had it for a day as of right now but it is getting the job done well. I've mostly using it to remove bushes at the base and cutting smaller trees, but I'll be stretching it's legs soon enough. Very happy so far
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Chainsaw I've ever owned I have had several chainsaws in the past, but all seemed to wear out too quickly or became hard to start after the first few uses. I purchased a MS 271 Farm Boss from Feldman's (a local company that only sells Stihl, and I am so glad I did. The young lady that waited on me really knew her stuff, and walked me through the purchase by asking every possible question. After I settled on the Farm Boss, she took the saw and me back to the back of the building and showed me everything she could on the owning of my first Stihl! We gassed it up, put in bar oil, adjusted the chain, and started that baby up. After running a few minutes and getting the feel of the machine, she showed me all the steps in warm starting, and checking the chain for tightness. I would guess I was in the store for almost 2 hours, and it was the greatest time of my life! I felt like I was their only customer. I continue to buy all my oil and gas mix from them, and probably always will. Using her instructions and the manual, this saw has always started on or before the 6th pull.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw I have had 2 saws in past, a stihl and another top brand. Both were great, but the stihl outcut the other. This stihl takes a few more pulls for the first start than the first one (farm boss, in late 70s) but I am using it at 8 to 10 thousand feet elevation. People who have trouble starting .....try ethanol free gas. It makes a big difference. 2 strokes don't like ethanol. Easy to maintain, a bit heavy... but I am 150 lb and 70 years old. Still lays the wood down faster than the grandkids can carry it away.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performs Like Expected I bought the Farm Boss based on the recommendation of a friend. I have NOT been disappointed! This saw performs like champ. Starts easy, runs smooth, accurate cut.... just what I was looking for. Great buy, great saw.
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bought 2 never again Always very difficult to start and continuously stalls for at least first 10 mins. but ultimate reason both chainsaws caught on fire. Complete safety hazard. Repair told me never heard of fires and couldn't repair however you see on-line different model recall for fires. Poor quality for expensive saw. Never again.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good all around saw Very impressed, with my dealer and performance of this machine.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is remarkable After watching this chainsaw on you tube I decided to give it a shot. Once I started cutting I couldn't stop. It is very easy to handle and the power is outstanding. I highly recommend this saw to anyone that wants to get the job done quick and fast.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Saw Easy starting and good power. Nice weight and can cut through most anything. Great all around saw for the ranch.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw has great power I am very impressed with this saw. It has great power and preformed flawlessly. Auto oiler worked great. Bar oil lasts as long as a tank of fuel so you should never run the chain dry, just fill both. I selected the 18" bar and it went through pine and spruce easily!
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw, powerful yet easy to handle, but that is because I am 250#, my 150 pound brother-in-law found it to be a handful. I purchased this saw for our ranch and it has been flawless in both starting and operation. I have only used it a few times, but it is easy to start and operate. I would recommend watching the videos, and reading the safety and operating instructions, as I found them to be helpful, and made it so much easier to start and cut the branches around our new pump house. I would say this is a great all around saw.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit dissapointed Got this saw home and while it ran it was great! After abut 3-4 hrs it just would not start. So, retailer exchanged the unit no problem. Replacement saw, same thing ran great until it just stopped and would not start again, this after about 6 hrs of operation. I was running the saw pretty hard but still feel that it failed to perform at the expected level. Returned to retailer again and this time it is being sent out for repairs apparently. Meanwhile I have no saw and still have work to get done. The retailer did say that the first one had an internal failure of some kind(no details) and this can happen. I was expecting more from a stihl product as the others I have are great and have never given me a moments trouble. At this time I would not recommend this model.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of many !! I tried three other saws on a 48 inch dia silver maple. I ended up finishing the job with my new STIHL. Couldn't be more pleased. Excellent power and fast performance. STIHL saws "Git er done".
Date published: 2017-09-13
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_565
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms271, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl