MS 291 - $439.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A high-performance, fuel-efficient chainsaw. Great for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup.

Equipped to handle demanding tasks, the MS 291 increases running time by 20% over previous model. Packing plenty of power, this chainsaw is ideal for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup. Several user-friendly features include an advanced anti-vibration system that reduces operator fatigue and side chain access for easy saw chain adjustment. The MS 291 is a dependable choice for a mid-range...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 291 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 55.5 cc (3.39 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.8 kW (3.76 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 5.6 kg (12.3 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 500 cc (16.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 240 cc (8.12 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN .325 RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 67) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3003 000 6813 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.
  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • Performance Hi-Vis Apron Chap Zoom
    Performance Hi-Vis Apron Chap

    Designed for roadside jobsites, the Performance Hi-Vis Apron Chaps are the right fit for emergency service professionals and tree service workers. The chaps feature Hi-Visibility Nylon Fabric that is visible by motorists traveling up to 50 mph, meeting Class E reflective requirements and earning a Class 3 reflective rating when worn with the Class 2 reflective vest. And for extra visibility, the chaps feature reflective tapes made from Reflexite Brilliance Series GP-340. Six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material will help reduce the risk or severity of injury in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw. Stop by our showroom and see these Hi-Vis chaps for yourself – they’re pretty hard to miss.

  • Performance Forestry Boot Zoom
    Performance Forestry Boot

    Combine cut-resistant protection with comfort when you buy our STIHL performance forestry boot. Whether tackling tree removal or a tough landscaping job, this forestry boot will meet the demands of most any task. You’ll benefit from additional features like its well-padded steel toe cap, puncture resistant throughsole, and waterproof exterior. The insole and arch support systems were anatomically formed to provide maximum comfort, and the low-weight sole offers wear-resistant, nonslip traction. Stop by our STIHL showroom to check out what could be your next go-to work shoe.

  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Forestry Helmet System
    Adjustable hearing protection. Epoxy-coated full face screen. Tough ABS hard hat meets ANSI Z89.1-2003 Type 1 Class G. All parts are replaceable.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 291 is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 236.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great all around saw I live on a small horse ranch in the rim country of AZ and heat my 2400 square foot home with wood. I own 2 MS 291's. They are up to the job and very dependable. I would highly recommend this saw for the average homeowner tasks.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How much could a woodchuck Well if you want to move some wood and take some trees down, this is a nice light weight saw with plenty of power. Easy to use and to very user friendly when it comes to starting, running, gas and oil access. So if your looking to chuck some wood this will be a great saw for you with plenty of value.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chansaw Had a 290 farm boss for 17 years. I loved it and now have the 291. Lighter and more powerful.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw ever owned Have owned this saw for 3 years and no problems, I heat with wood, cut like 10 cords a season. On the farm always clean up and clearing to do.love this saw
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This product is unreliable This chainsaw has never performed up to expectations. The dealer tells me they have no issues with this saw, so I guess mine is the only one ever in the shop. Difficult to start and I've been told it's the fuel I use, which is ALWAYS the Stihl premixed, NEVER anything else. I don't think the self priming mechanism works well. I had the bar advancement flat head screw driver fitting break recently and it was an enormous pain replacing this. It looks like a very bad design, flared, so the screwdriver never fits tightly. I've had many chainsaws in my life and although not expected to last forever, they should last for years. I'm ready to give up on this piece of junk.
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from See review Easy to start,not too heavy, 18" bar is nice but a little short for what I need. Engine size is appropriate for bar length. Over all i am very satisfied with this chain saw. I would definitely recommend it to someone looking to buy a strong reliable chain saw. Buy the more aggressive chain if you will be cutting through some thick material, it will save you considerable time.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power Great power and balance that doesn't break the bank. Easy reliable starting and flawless running.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked Worked great for about 4 years and then died on me while working. Shop said it would be more expensive to repair it than to buy a new one, so bought another hoping for better longevity.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice saw Starts easily. Cuts great. 20" bar is perfect for this saw.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the power the ms 291 has I had heard about the ms 291 but had never operated one so I went out and rented one to do some clean up work and I was just tickled pink awesome I got to go back and buy one
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 291 is the old Farm Boss I was about to make the call and buy the MS 271 "Farm Boss" when someone told me that if I was buying a Farm Boss because someone recommended it to me, that I should consider that the MS 271 "Farm Boss" was not the same as the "Farm Boss" your friend has. The original Farm Boss actually has a lot of power and that I should step up to the MS 291 to get the equivalent power of the old Farm Boss. So, I decided to buy the MS 291 for the extra power. I don't use a chainsaw like most people. I attach a 'lumber mill' guide to mine and cut lumber out of limbs. The extra power was a big help. Cutting long ways in a limb (even with the proper ripping chain) is hard work for any chainsaw but the MS 291 is "the boss" when it comes to this kind of work.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money Have been burning wood for 35yrs. Started w x-brand chain 16"bar, then sthil 041 with 20" bar, 028 with 18" bar, ms 250 with 18" bar now ms291 with 20" bar. Ms 291 has power to do the job, easy to start & light enough to use all day. Do not have access to wood lot so get wood from local tree service. Last year they delivered trunks 20-30" in diameter 20ft long. Ms 291 handled them easily. Great saw.
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl MS291 Always grown up around my father and grandfather using stihl power equipment so when it came time for me to buy a chainsaw for my own home I went with the best I knew. I've used my ms291 for one season of firewood cutting. Dropped 3 oaks, and a hickory with it so far. I have zero complaints with the 291. It's a very powerful saw yet still light enough that I can stand to use it for long periods of time. It's well balanced and the anti vibration system is second to none. Overall it's a great product and I look forward to using it for many seasons to come.
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best of the best There are certain things in life you should never skimp on, chainsaws are one of them. When you need it, you need it to perform well every time. Stihl is the bar that all other saws are measured by, don't settle for second best. This saw is exactly what I was looking for and I am happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is another of excellence from STIHL Purchased this chainsaw to replace a 18 year old STIHL 026 (which still runs like a champ). I was not disappointed. Eats thru all trees including Black Elm and sweet-gum. I own 4 lots and 2 of which are densely covered with trees and brush which is why i need a reliable moderate duty chainsaw. This product will last a lifetime.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product bad chain I very much like the power and weight combo and starting. But the chain is junk stretches when first out of box to max with in half a chord. Should do another swap kit like the 290 for a 3/8 chain.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only saw you'll ever need! I purchased the MS291 about 4 months ago. I took down about 10 hardwoods for a friend the morning a bought it. Wow, did I have a smile on my face! Could not get over how fast the cut rate was the the yellow chain. On Jan. 22, tornadoes devastated parts of our city. The following Sat. I went out with a clean up crew and ran 7 tanks of gas through it! I was worn out but the MS291 never got tired. I've cut a lot of trees over the last 15 plus years with a Different brand saw, but after using my first Stihl saw I will never use anything else!
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is our go to saw This is our second MS-291.The original is 5 years old and has been our go to saw.We needed another saw and the choice was obvious. One stays at the farm and another in the garage. Living in the woods having a dependable saw is not a luxury it is a necessity. We trust our Stihl whether it`s saving us from a blown down tree ,a rotten log or to cut a monster oak off of our mother in laws roof. Firewood cutting is just another task this saw excels at.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not cheap but excellent saw Saw runs well with excellent power. I had to look around to find dealer to correctly sharpen chains but super chipper chain ( yellow spot ) sharpened correctly cuts terrific. I had to learn how to start the saw left handed to compensate for a shoulder problem. The saw starts ok but compression is high and requires a strong arm and good shoulder. Stay away from ethanol gas if you can, gas lines are a problem if you don't.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Some of the trees I have cut was 30 inches in diameter and this saw cut thru the tree like it was a toothpick. No loss of power when cutting. The best chainsaw I have ever used.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficult to Start Purchased new. On first use, started okay, after about 6 pulls. Second use, started after about 25 pulls. On the third occasion, would not start at all, or rather would start but would not idle. I clean the saw after every use. After this third occasion, I not only cleaned everything but I went after every crevice with compressed air. Finally got it to start okay in the shop. Put it away and took it out to the field the next morning. Finally started after about 100-plus pulls. Actually, I don't know precisely how many pulls it took except I know it had to be more than 100 as I was so tired by that time I didn't want to face the task of actually cutting wood. I did, however, and when it runs it cuts wood fine, but no better I expect than any other similarly priced chainsaw. Frankly, I now wish I had chosen another brand.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from needed better set up at store I had to adjust the carburetor and set it for winter use. Purchased it from Rural King in winter and will go to dealer next time. They did nothing to make sure it was set properly, so instead of cutting wood I had to work on it. Once I set it the saw ran right. I guess that is what happens when you think a saw is a saw and tried to save a buck. Cost me more in time and effort to make the saw work right. Now it runs great. Plenty of power. With 20" bar I have cut my time in half on how long I'm in the woods compared to the 14" bar I had on my old saw. Used it alot at one time. Been a couple of weeks since I used it so can't give it a positive rating at this point. See how it starts and run the next time to really win me over.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for my needs. This is my third one. One lost in a fire and one stolen. I have had other brands but this is the best saw that I have had. Hopefully I will own this one for years.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like this saw Also own a MS290. The 291 is lighter and great to handle. Plan on setting the new 291 up to cut boards with a recently purchased lumber attachment. Have not used the new 291 very much yet but what I have used it has performed very well.Have owned a Stihl for the past 15 years and can only say good things about these saws.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lives up to the name. This is the first sthil I have owned. It is better then any other chainsaw that I have owned. It has plenty of power. Design of the saw is great. Easy to hold, balance of the saw is dead on. I hope this saw last me a long time, but I will buy another one when I need it.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds up to the name I grew up using Stihl. When I needed to buy a saw of my own and stop using my father's tools, I knew there was one choice. I walked into the dealers showroom, and was hesitant. The multitude of variety had me cautious. I grew up on the farm boss, a rugged dependable machine. The styling of the new models had me weirdos that Stihl had like so many other producers, compromised power for economic production and sales. After being told by the salesman that wasn't the case and seeing the demonstration of the easy pull machines, I decided to go ahead and give the 291 a shot. First use, let her warm up, went to cutting cedar and oak out of the fenceline. Yep. That's what I expected. The lightweight saw was easy to maneuver and cut without losing significant rpm. I was able to clear more than five hundred feet of thick growth fenceline in two hours. I'm happy with this new saw and Stihl keeps my brand loyalty as far as I'm concerned.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No complaints The original unit purchased with 20 inch bar unfortunately turned out to be a dud and after 6 months completely replaced by Stihl with a new unit to the original specs. No complaints about the Stihl service. I just got the legendary lemon. The second unit was what I expected on the initial purchase. Ultra reliability, solid performance and very tough. I bought the MS 291 to supplement an MS 170 when I started carving up bigger trees and it has completely lived up to expectations and I am glad I stuck with Stihl. Chainsaws are not something I want to buy from a box store.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful and Easy to Use Fires up quickly. Surprised how much cutting you could do with one tank of fuel. Do not wait to run out of fuel to check your chain oil. Great machine.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful reliable workhorse I have owned several chainsaws of multiple brands in the past and none have stood the test of time like my Stihl 291. A couple years ago I bought 10 rural acres that is partially wooded with mostly hardwood. My then current chainsaw was giving me problems, so I decided to finally invest in a Stihl from the local "mom and pop" hardware store. They filled it with fuel and oil for me, started and tuned it for me at no additional charge which meant I could immediately put it to work. And it does work. Every time. No complicated priming or maintenance needs, I just keep the bar oil full, gas fresh and chain sharp and it makes life easier. This saw was built to cut large trees with ease. On the ground the weight is perfect, but working elevated a different saw would be better as it can get a bit heavy. I am seriously considering getting a smaller saw for the tree trimming and keep this saw for felling and cutting up the big stuff.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it... I was struggling with my decision concerning chainsaws, finally decided on M291. Is the chainsaw more than I need? Yes, but I doubt I'll ever need another one. Love the power, anti-vibration and its other features. Cut through some Sweet Gum like nothing. I did have one problem. I was letting the saw idle while I got branches and such ready to cut. After a while, it started idling slower, of course it was running out of gas. So I quickly turned it off and refilled the gas and chain oil. After that it was having trouble starting and if it did start it would die after idling a few seconds. Yes I used the choke but guess I flooded it. I'm assuming. I left it alone for about 10-15min and it started on the second pull. Not sure what I did wrong but I'll figure it out eventually I guess. haha
Date published: 2016-11-29
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_236
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms291, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl