MS 291 - $439.95 DSRP


MS 291 ChainsawMS 291 Chainsaw

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A high-performance, fuel-efficient chainsaw. Great for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup.

Equipped to handle demanding tasks, the MS 291 increases running time by 20% over previous model. Packing plenty of power, this chainsaw is ideal for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup. Several user-friendly features include an advanced anti-vibration system that reduces operator fatigue and side chain access for easy saw chain adjustment. The MS 291 is a dependable choice for a mid-range...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 291 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 55.5 cc (3.39 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.8 kW (3.76 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 5.6 kg (12.3 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 500 cc (16.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 240 cc (8.12 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN .325 RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 67) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3003 000 6813 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.
  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Performance Hi-Vis Apron Chap Zoom
    Performance Hi-Vis Apron Chap

    Designed for roadside jobsites, the Performance Hi-Vis Apron Chaps are the right fit for emergency service professionals and tree service workers. The chaps feature Hi-Visibility Nylon Fabric that is visible by motorists traveling up to 50 mph, meeting Class E reflective requirements and earning a Class 3 reflective rating when worn with the Class 2 reflective vest. And for extra visibility, the chaps feature reflective tapes made from Reflexite Brilliance Series GP-340. Six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material will help reduce the risk or severity of injury in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw. Stop by our showroom and see these Hi-Vis chaps for yourself – they’re pretty hard to miss.

  • Performance Forestry Boot Zoom
    Performance Forestry Boot

    Combine cut-resistant protection with comfort when you buy our STIHL performance forestry boot. Whether tackling tree removal or a tough landscaping job, this forestry boot will meet the demands of most any task. You’ll benefit from additional features like its well-padded steel toe cap, puncture resistant throughsole, and waterproof exterior. The insole and arch support systems were anatomically formed to provide maximum comfort, and the low-weight sole offers wear-resistant, nonslip traction. Stop by our STIHL showroom to check out what could be your next go-to work shoe.

  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Forestry Helmet System
    Adjustable hearing protection. Epoxy-coated full face screen. Tough ABS hard hat meets ANSI Z89.1-2003 Type 1 Class G. All parts are replaceable.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 291 is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 255.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Built to last I've had my saw for a year now and I Stihl love it. It's easy to start dependable, and has the power to do much more than I will do. I have cut down a 30" oak tree with no problem which included cutting up the large trunk of the tree. The standard chain seems to stay sharp forever. The chain oiler is a little light on oil but I have yet to burn up the bar or chain. There is a little blue color due to heat on the bar but it still holding up fine. I'm use to being able to see oil sling from the chain but not on this saw. It seems to use bar oil at the same rate as my old saw.Starting is a snap just don't skip a step cause it does flood easy if you do. This requires waiting or if in a hurry drying off the spark plug. That being said it still starts easier than any of my past saws.I am buying a second 291 for my son in law.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw runs great I had debated between another brand 455 and the Stihl 271/291. Purchased the 455 at the blue store due to convenience at the time, good saw but the warm start routine was too cumbersome and I returned the saw. Visited the local Stihl dealer who had the 291 with accessories on a deal. Half a dozen cans of premix fuel, few of extra chains and oil, upgraded case, etc. and I was on my way to cut a few trees down at a newly purchased property. My first new Stihl product. I also learned our local utility company maintenance crews were using Stihl products when they came out to drop the power line so I could cut the problem trees.The first few tanks of fuel, I ran it pretty easy. The busy day was 15 pine trees down ranging from 12 to 24" diameter and cut in 4 foot lengths. Keeping the chain sharp, it cuts like butter.Living near NFS land, we can cut home use firewood with permits. Used the saw to cut 8 cords with no problems. Dead standing trees in the firewood cutting area don't stand a chance against this saw...... Love that sound when the tree hits the ground. Doing my part to minimize wildfire in the National Forest.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 291 Great saw. Lightweight, easy to start and handle, durable. Cleared over 300 trees on my property due to wildfire in Colorado a few years ago. Not a single problem. My first saw (MS 039) still runs great after 20+ years. Definitely worth it.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I bought this saw to replace an 028 AV. It has performed great: always starts and easy on fuel.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work horse I have used this saw extensively for the past 6 months. I literally rand the main housing of the saw over with a full sized truck (oops). All it did was barely crack the plastic, and it fired right up. The only real issue i have had with this saw is using the aggressive chain. It doesnt want to stay tight for some reason. Standard chain cuts like a dream though. I am running a 18 in bar, because i feel that it is balanced better this way.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw for farm work and very dependable. Excellent chainsaw for fsrm work. I never had any trouble with Stihll Products.
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chainsaw I've ever used I'm not currently a pro logger, although I have done freelance hardwood logging (red oak, cherry, black walnut) in the past. This is the fifth chainsaw I've owned. It is vastly superior to any other I have used. Saw no. 3 died a few years ago and I got a yellow "Pro" new one from an orange big box store. That "Pro" saw could barely cut a 6" pine, much less an 18" oak. Very poor throttle response. After having 40 acres of pine logged last year, that saw proved incapable of the work needed to clean up behind the loggers. The MS 291 cost about 3 times as much, but is able to get the work done, probably 5 times faster than the "competitive" saw. My city-living son-in-law gets the yellow saw...
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great little saw I am a pro logger I usually run 440 and 460 magnum. I was impressed with this saws power after about ten tanks of gas.it is still gaining power I'm on tank 15.just know if you buy one they are hard on gas during break in but the more you use it the better it gets on gas and power
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw, have used it very hard, runs like a champ! Have read the reviews where they say it "lacks power". I disagree, I'm running a 20" bar and cut mostly oak, hickory, ash and locus. The only time I get it to "stall" is on the harder woods with a chisel chain and I get to aggressive. Never had the problem with the green coded low kick / anti kick chains. I've used it enough to wear out the wearable parts and needed to replace them. Keep in mind this is a medium duty, intermediate saw, not a heavy duty professional one.My only wish is that it had an adjustable oiler, like it's predecessor, the MS-290. It runs a little lighter on the oil then I'd prefer, but it hasn't been an issue. I also have one of the earlier production saws, so they may have tweeked that a bit.Overall, I'd buy another, but considering how long Stihl products last, I'm sure this model won't be in production when I need to replace it.The compression when starting hasn't been an issue.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommend Stihl I have a number of Stihl products...ie: Blower, Brush Cutter, MS 261 and my newest, MS 291. I had an MS 290 that I used without problem for many years and loved it. The MS 291 is superior to other chainsaws I have had. The power is excellent and it maintains it throughout the cut. It has already made some hard and physically taxing job much easier and overall less strenuous.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw is a beast! Very fuel-efficient the quality is made in the USA this saw will cut through anything that you need to
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Expensive, lacking real power This unit is expensive and lacks real power. Even when well tuned.
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still new only on second tank of fuel Can not rate higher at this time previous saws have had a 20yr life span. One of the things I consider most important is service life. Way to early to know.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start It is very easy to start even after running the fuel dry. Controls are very simple and intuitive. Vibration isolation is very good especially for full-day cutting.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for cleaning up storm damage! Ive used this around the house cutting up fallen tree limbs to make them easier to manage as well as to cut up felled trees on the farm from storm damage. Had no issues cutting up mature Ash, Oak and Walnut from crown to trunk.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful, excellent quality, and extremely low vibration. Since purchase, I have used the saw for approximately 10 hours of cutting time. The has performed well but I did have one very minor issue that I was able to quickly rectify and it was actually an issue with the chain and not the powerhead. When adjusting the chain tension, I noticed that one area of the chain (six links) seemed to bind in the bar. I determined the six link tangs were slightly thicker than the other tangs and lightly filed the tangs. I re-installed the chain on the saw/guide bar and everything worked as it should.The saw has plenty of power and exhibits very low vibration regardless of the speed it is running at. I debated between purchasing the MS 271, MS 291, and the MS 311. In the end I selected the MS 291 over the MS 271 because of slightly more power and over the MS 311 because the MS 311 is a bit heavier. I have not been disappointed with my selection and have found the saw to handle oak and ash with ease and my hands are not numb even after extensive use.The saw starts easily but a good pull on the starter rope is necessary as there is quite a bit of engine compression. The manual shows to start the engine with the saw on the ground and your foot inside the handle. If a person is wearing any type of protective footwear, it isn't possible to place your foot inside the handle. It isn't that big of an issue for me but because of the extra compression you may need to find a way to hold the saw down when starting. (For that reason alone the MS 311 with compression relief for starting might be a better option.)The fit and finish of the saw is excellent. The fuel and bar oil caps work exceptionally well and are well designed. The chain is easy to tension and the chain brake works flawlessly.One final big plus for this saw is that even though it is a two cycle engine, it seems to burn fuel cleanly and there is no noticeable odor from the exhaust. Stihl has definitely put this saw in the low emissions "green" category.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw, lots of power, light weight stepped up from 029 stihl saw that lasted for almost 20 years to the MS 291. lots of power, light weight, reasonably priced.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Got 5 minutes out of it! I picked up the saw new at my local dealer a few days ago. I got it to my land 2 hrs away and it was dripping oil consistently after 5 minutes of use. So much for dependability! The saw is light, stable, and powerful which are pros for the saw; however, leave some extra room in your budget for a rental when you need work done.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to start and cuts like butter Stihl tools are known for their reliability and dependability. after owning lesser brands of saws and now after owning and using my stihl I know that I have a professional grade tool.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great all around saw I live on a small horse ranch in the rim country of AZ and heat my 2400 square foot home with wood. I own 2 MS 291's. They are up to the job and very dependable. I would highly recommend this saw for the average homeowner tasks.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How much could a woodchuck Well if you want to move some wood and take some trees down, this is a nice light weight saw with plenty of power. Easy to use and to very user friendly when it comes to starting, running, gas and oil access. So if your looking to chuck some wood this will be a great saw for you with plenty of value.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chansaw Had a 290 farm boss for 17 years. I loved it and now have the 291. Lighter and more powerful.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw ever owned Have owned this saw for 3 years and no problems, I heat with wood, cut like 10 cords a season. On the farm always clean up and clearing to do.love this saw
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This product is unreliable This chainsaw has never performed up to expectations. The dealer tells me they have no issues with this saw, so I guess mine is the only one ever in the shop. Difficult to start and I've been told it's the fuel I use, which is ALWAYS the Stihl premixed, NEVER anything else. I don't think the self priming mechanism works well. I had the bar advancement flat head screw driver fitting break recently and it was an enormous pain replacing this. It looks like a very bad design, flared, so the screwdriver never fits tightly. I've had many chainsaws in my life and although not expected to last forever, they should last for years. I'm ready to give up on this piece of junk.
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from See review Easy to start,not too heavy, 18" bar is nice but a little short for what I need. Engine size is appropriate for bar length. Over all i am very satisfied with this chain saw. I would definitely recommend it to someone looking to buy a strong reliable chain saw. Buy the more aggressive chain if you will be cutting through some thick material, it will save you considerable time.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power Great power and balance that doesn't break the bank. Easy reliable starting and flawless running.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked Worked great for about 4 years and then died on me while working. Shop said it would be more expensive to repair it than to buy a new one, so bought another hoping for better longevity.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice saw Starts easily. Cuts great. 20" bar is perfect for this saw.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the power the ms 291 has I had heard about the ms 291 but had never operated one so I went out and rented one to do some clean up work and I was just tickled pink awesome I got to go back and buy one
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 291 is the old Farm Boss I was about to make the call and buy the MS 271 "Farm Boss" when someone told me that if I was buying a Farm Boss because someone recommended it to me, that I should consider that the MS 271 "Farm Boss" was not the same as the "Farm Boss" your friend has. The original Farm Boss actually has a lot of power and that I should step up to the MS 291 to get the equivalent power of the old Farm Boss. So, I decided to buy the MS 291 for the extra power. I don't use a chainsaw like most people. I attach a 'lumber mill' guide to mine and cut lumber out of limbs. The extra power was a big help. Cutting long ways in a limb (even with the proper ripping chain) is hard work for any chainsaw but the MS 291 is "the boss" when it comes to this kind of work.
Date published: 2017-02-21
  • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_255
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms291, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl