MS 311 - $479.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

Advanced engine technology improves fuel economy by up to 20% over previous model chainsaws for longer run times.

Ideal for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup, this mid-range chainsaw features a low-emission engine that reduces fuel consumption by up to 10% compared to previous models. The new air filtration system requires fewer filter changes and allows for longer run times.

Print Spec Sheets
MS 311 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 59.0 cc (3.6 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 3.1 kW (4.2 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 6.2 kg (13.67 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 600 cc (20.3 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 350 cc (11.8 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3 60) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3003 008 8913 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Performance Zip Chap Zoom
    Performance Zip Chap

    The Performance Series Zip Chaps provide full wrap-around protection for a user’s lower leg area and are made to stand up to daily wear and tear. The outer material is crafted from durable orange Cordura® nylon fabric, an all-weather material used in a range of premium outerwear brands. Inside, the chaps feature six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material, designed to reduce the risk or severity of injury in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw. For extra convenience, the chaps feature rows of zippers that run along the entire inseam of the chap, helping to ensure a comfortable fit that is easy to put on and/or remove. Visit our Dealership to see these chaps in person.

  • Black Wrap Glasses Zoom
    Black Wrap Glasses
    The Black Wrap Protective Glasses from STIHL help keep you cool and help you look even cooler. They feature a ventilated nosepiece designed for better heat dissipation and less lens fogging. The polycarbonate lenses block out 99% of the sun’s harmful UV rays and are available in multiple color options. The black-wrap half frame includes rubber pads to prevent slippage while delivering sleek style that looks great with both protective and normal work apparel. Glasses meet ANSI Z87.1 standard.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Forestry Helmet System
    Adjustable hearing protection. Epoxy-coated full face screen. Tough ABS hard hat meets ANSI Z89.1-2003 Type 1 Class G. All parts are replaceable.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 311 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 196.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Strong Engine For a 59cc My wife calls it The Beaver! I have a 25 inch bar on it and it cuts Oak and Locust like it's Butter. Very pleased with the MS311 all the way around!!!
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! Very dependable and has great power I've had the MS311 for a year now. I love it! This saw always starts when I use it, and it chews up trees quicker than a starving beaver. The power is great. I would definitely buy another one, but as dependable as it is, I won't need one for a long time. I would definitely recommend this saw for anyone who uses this saw for around the house farm.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beast!!!! This saw is a beast!!!!! This thing eats logs, with any chain. I have a 18" bar and it goes through a tree without a problem. I've used a green chain and a yellow,doesn't matter it will cut through it.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw....look no further Magnificent piece of equipment...I have a Stihl trimmer and blower also...won't buy anything else...
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw I bought this saw to do storm damage clean up around Iowa. I've used it in the aftermath of 5 storms and the saw is great.I got the 25" bar and the saw has the power to cut full length.This saw is heavy but not against peer saws. This is one of two I use on such jobs. The other is a Stihl 211 I use for limbing. Much lighter and easier to handle for the small stuff.I would buy this saw again.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product is VERY Over Rated Hard to start from day one, saw doesn't want to run when first cranked unless it runs open throttle for a minute or two. If you idle it down sooner, every time I hit the trigger it bogs out dead. If the engine is cold many time it does not want to idle. Even when the engine is warm it can be difficult to crank. Boggs down on 12' mesquite, saw lacks power badly! No where close to satisfied with the performance or lack thereof, of this saw. I have never been this disappointed in any Stihl saw and I've been running them over 34 years.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start, powerfull, good controls and easy refill. Great saw. Easy starts (use Stihl fuel), adjustments are straightforward and easy to do in the field. Primary use is cut logs down to size, and resaw. All good.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chainsaw I've ever owned! I've always heard how good the Stihl products are. I own 2 other chain saws but they let me down in one way or another. The MS 311 is an absolute beast.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS311 gets the job done The Stihl MS311 chain saw is a real pleasure to use and it has many excellent safety features. I also bought the Stihl safety chaps, and safety helmet with the face shield and hearing protection. All are quality products.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not my first saw Have had a Stihl 034 AVQ for over 40 years, like me it's getting old and parts are getting harder to find.. This new saw, MS 311, is wonderful with lots of power, easy starts and great construction..Hope I last long enough to buy another
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for the price Saw is exactly what I needed to cut all types of firewood. The 24 inch bar was a perfect length even when I was cutting 48 inch diameter madrone. This saw has plenty of power.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EATS WOOD I bought the MS311 debated between that and the MS291. I went for more power because it was only $30 more, I was concerned about the weight, of the MS311 but it was very easy to handle, did not get tired overtime. The extra weight helps cut through big trees faster, just let the saw do the work. This saw probable cuts a 20 inch diameter tree in 15-20 seconds, UNREAL EATS WOOD.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Saw! I have wasted money buying toy saws in the past. Stihl's are tools. They work and work very very well (period). The MS 311 equipped with a 20" bar is flawless. Easy start, runs strong, controllably makes short work of anything you tackle with it.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Farming Tools Consistent performance. Qualitative and dependable equipment. Trimmers and chainsaws are workhorses. Stihl equipment is easy to use and maintain. Well-made tools for everyday use.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome power for any type of job. I love this saw. my second stihl saw now and it's been great. all the power you could need and easy to use. only complaint is have is that I get a lot of oil coming from bottom of muffler and behind it too. I think it may just be bar oil but not that big of a deal
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeds Expectations I was told by multiple people to go with a STIHL after having had another companies chainsaw and had nothing but trouble basically from the beginning. I have USED my new STIHL in some pretty tricky and tight spots with cutting a lot of small to medium trees and a few larger ones. Whatever I set the saw to no matter how thick the wood or pile of wood it cuts through it like a knife through warm butter. It is effortless to use and starts and runs like a dream! One of my favorite things I have ever bought! STIHL lives up to its reputation!!!It does get heavy after awhile but hey I'm building more muscles!!!
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome now the motor is broken in This was a very hard starter for the first month I had it working on the weekends cutting down a forest of locust trees, even when following the choke recs noted on here. Finally broke in and starts like a champ now, even after sitting a couple months unused this winter. Love it now.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs well, powerful. I've only had it a few weeks but am quite happy with it. It is lighter than the 40 year old one it replaces. Starts and idles with lots of power. I have the 25 inch bar so it is pulling a bit more chain than some. Only problem is getting the chain pinched limbing and cutting up a few trees. Good to have an ax and wedges handy.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product and dependabie. I like the way the saw handles good power also i really like the bigger tanks great idea. I have had saw Sthil chainsaws since 1973 and have cut a lot of wood with now problems with the saws great product. I like the light saws but I don't really like all the plastic so kind of a give and take. Sthil chainsaws are good saws to operate all day every day.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Trade Value Traded in an MS310, my first Stihl, and got a great offer on a new MS311. It was hard to part with the 310 until the very first day I used the 311. The 310 was a long lasting great machine. The 311 was easily the best saw I have ever used. About the same weight, start or pull assistant makes starting so easy a child could do it. The quality of a Stihl will make you happy but remember that the day you decide to upgrade your old Stihl will give you trade in credit off a new saw that no other brand can match.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around saw Had to drop some trees to build an addition on my house. This saw has enough power to get the job done all day long. If you're cutting through tough trees like popular, I strongly recommend a carbide tip chain.Overall a great saw!
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I bought an MS311 about 3 years ago, when I had to cut 8 large mature Oaks & Hickorys. I also have two other chain saws, name starts with P. You cannot run one of those Ps for 1/2 hour without stopping to work on it, and that's if you can get one of them running. The MS311 cuts great, and really shines when cutting up trees. The trees I dropped were all 24"+ diameter at the base, and I cut the trees up into stove lengths in 2 sessions of about 3 hours each. Two tanks of gas, and no chain sharpening. I use a chainsaw infrequently, and this saw has started easily after months of inactivity. Just use the Stihl 2 cycle oil, and no gas problems. Starts quickly, no matter if it's 60 degrees or 16 degrees. Some have complained a little about the weight, but I didn't notice it being heavy. I'm a large fellow, perhaps the reason.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only one draw back I had to have 2 120' red oak trees cut down due to them being too close to the house and making an old retaining wall collapse. The 14" chain saw I had finally went beyond the economical repair price, so i decided to get a new saw.After researching several brands and knowing that my wife and I are going to change our lives from city slickers to homesteaders, I decided to buy my last large chain saw. With that in mind I settled on the MS311.After 2 long weekends of cutting up these massive trees, the only problem I had was a bad initial chain (dull). I had purchased 2 additional chains at point of purchase due to I did not want to spend time having to sharpen chains between uses. The initial start up on saw was a piece of cake, 2nd pull. The initial cut was a different story. I started a cut on a 16" dia logs and made it less than 1/2 way through before I thought I saw smoke coming from the cut. I turned off the saw and the blade/chain was warmer than I expected. I did some basic troubleshooting and determined it was a dull chain. I replaced it thinking that if all the blades were this way, I was in trouble and there was going to be some LONG weekends ahead. Come to find out it was the initial blade. That replacement blade started cutting through those logs like a hot knife through butter. Even the larger 30" - 32" dia logs were no issue. I have used that 2nd blade both weekends with no sharpening in-between and it is still working fine. I will sharpen it before I use it again though.The one thing I did notice was about the time I was out of gas, I was also out of bar oil.It is a little heaver than I expected after continuous use. Overall I would buy this one again and I would recommend it to any of my friends as well.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 411 on the 311! Bought the saw in the fall knowing that there would be lots of work this winter and spring. This saw kicks butt. Easy to use ...lots of Power!!! I kept the 20" bar on it and it will chew threw anything you throw at it!!! Turns a 6hr job into a 2 hr job!!! I use the recommended bar oil and the Stihl premix and she runs well like a Stihl(champ)!!! Worth the money!!! And saves lots of time!!!!
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 311 - Plenty of power for the big trees! About 5 years ago, after becoming tired of the lack of reliability of my "green & yellow" outdoor power equipment, I threw them all away and replaced every unit with a Stihl. I have not been disappointed! Our trail horse trail riding club does significant volunteer work keeping many of the state parks trail systems open and clear of fallen trees. While my smaller, Stihl saw runs and works great, I decided I needed "more power" and the bigger bar you can pull with it to clear some of the larger deadfalls we run up against out in the woods! I recently bought the MS 311 and LOVE it! You know you have a powerful saw when it has a compression release for easier starting! Like every Stihl I own, it starts and runs great! This one also makes short work of the huge cottonwood trees that frequently block our way!
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a saw! I do mostly small jobs around the farm with this saw (probably too much saw for the job) but occasionally help a buddy cut up larger stuff. He has a el cheapo (biggest one at Walmart lol) and this saw cuts wood chips with more power than his yellow one! This saw is always reliable and is fun to operate. Definitely work the extra cost! This saw makes me want to put on a plad shirt and be a lumber jack! I think I could be on that ax men show with this thang! YEE YEE!!!
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Saw Bought this Chainsaw about a month ago and have used it alot. Starts up every time and has awesome power. Comes with a 20inch bar but got the 18inch with it instead. It has went through every tree so far with ease. The only draw back is after hours of cutting it gets very heavy but with the power it has it is worth it.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing but the truth 311 has plenty of power for homeowner use, very nice saw. Use it for 5 mins and the saw locked up. Took saw back to store they looked at it and a week later was fix free of charge. I have a ms 260 for last ten year, great saw abused it badly and just keeps running. Im also impolsive so when the 1st 311 stop working I wasn't sure if it was fixable that I bought another 311 lol. So now I have 2 badass saws to use for fire wood. I highly recommend this saw, plenty of power & fuel tank last long enough that you ready to take a break. Only thing I wish would change are caps for fuel & oil but they work.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable Work Horse I purchased this saw 8 months ago and is without a doubt the best saw i've owned. Upgrading from a 034, this saw rips through Beech, Cherry, Oak and Maple like nothing. Outstanding power and performance.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Defective and warranty won't cover After less than a year of light to moderate use, this saw stopped working. My dealer said it stopped working because I used gas with 10% ethanol and the warrenty will not cover. The owners manual says it is OK to use up to 10% ethanol gas. I think it is a faulty design or faulty manufacturing. I use the exact same gas in my 20 year old Stihl trimmer, 20 year old Stihl blower, and my other 20 year old Stihl chainsaw. They all run great. I think Stihl has a major problem with this saw and should honor the warrenty.
Date published: 2017-01-27
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_196
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms311, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl