MS 311 - $479.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

Advanced engine technology improves fuel economy by up to 20% over previous model chainsaws for longer run times.

Ideal for felling, firewood cutting and storm cleanup, this mid-range chainsaw features a low-emission engine that reduces fuel consumption by up to 10% compared to previous models. The new air filtration system requires fewer filter changes and allows for longer run times.

Print Spec Sheets
MS 311 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 59.0 cc (3.6 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 3.1 kW (4.2 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 6.2 kg (13.67 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 600 cc (20.3 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 350 cc (11.8 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3 60) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3003 008 8913 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Performance Zip Chap Zoom
    Performance Zip Chap

    The Performance Series Zip Chaps provide full wrap-around protection for a user’s lower leg area and are made to stand up to daily wear and tear. The outer material is crafted from durable orange Cordura® nylon fabric, an all-weather material used in a range of premium outerwear brands. Inside, the chaps feature six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material, designed to reduce the risk or severity of injury in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw. For extra convenience, the chaps feature rows of zippers that run along the entire inseam of the chap, helping to ensure a comfortable fit that is easy to put on and/or remove. Visit our Dealership to see these chaps in person.

  • Black Wrap Glasses Zoom
    Black Wrap Glasses
    The Black Wrap Protective Glasses from STIHL help keep you cool and help you look even cooler. They feature a ventilated nosepiece designed for better heat dissipation and less lens fogging. The polycarbonate lenses block out 99% of the sun’s harmful UV rays and are available in multiple color options. The black-wrap half frame includes rubber pads to prevent slippage while delivering sleek style that looks great with both protective and normal work apparel. Glasses meet ANSI Z87.1 standard.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Forestry Helmet System
    Adjustable hearing protection. Epoxy-coated full face screen. Tough ABS hard hat meets ANSI Z89.1-2003 Type 1 Class G. All parts are replaceable.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 311 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 196.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good power to weight ratio I have had no problem cutting trees up to 30 in. diameter with the 18"bar. it cuts evenly & fast. I've never had any issues even when cutting stumps off close to the ground.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go to Chainsaw for getting my work one with no hassels Purchased for Farm use and Post Hurricane usage in Savannah , GA. Works like a champion. I have no complaints. This is my second Stihl Chainsaw and my first one is still running great and dependable as my new Farm grade Saw. My new say has a longer bar and is performing perfect. Would reccomend to anyone searcing for a Chainsaw. Buy the best you wont be dissapointed.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw for the weekend Warrior So far I love this saw. I have a 25" bar on it and love it. Plenty of power for what I need. (cutting firewood, limbing, clean up) The compression release is awesome and it starts ever time. No issues, just wish I had more work to do with it. I have been cutting wood next to guys that have the farm boss, and I'm glad I spent the extra $100 to get this one.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stihl quality made in the USA Great saw for the money plus with the special I got a free saw case! Definitely a good saw for fire wood and I know it will last for years!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw tons of power Great Saw.....price is high but you get what you pay for and should last for years. great for home/ranch use.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still solid after 4 decades Bought my first Stihl chainsaw 40 years ago and sadly managed to crack the rings. I had my old saw rebuilt but needed another for the farm. Being old school, I was skeptical about modern versions. The MS 311 with the 20" bar was the main tool of clearing one of the fields and over 100 trees later, it has earned my respect and place in the toolshed.Heavy but the vibration isolation makes it less taxing on a long day of use.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bogs down when giving it gas, No power Purchased in August, 2016. Starts fine, but as soon as it's given gas it bogs down and the chain isn't that right. This thing doesn't have enough no power to get through an 18" hickory stump with an 18" blade. Not happy
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power and Comfort in a great package! I used my new saw for two hours. It had the power I required to cut whatever I needed it to. The anti-vibration feature allowed me to continue cutting without fatigue. The extra capacity full tank permitted me to cut without frequent refills.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for the money! I grew up using my Dads 032 with a 20 inch bar. That saw always started and ran good; even after my brother fell a tree on it! This 311 has a lot more power and my dealer gave it to me with a 28 inch bar. always starts and runs even if it sits a while between uses. Never wonder if it'll start. I use it commercially in a cemetery maintenance district. I have 46 acres to maintain and am the only employee. Needless to say, I cant wonder if something is going to start and run; i need it to work when I do and this saw does. It's a bit tip heavy with the 28 inch bar but I don't notice a lack of power and the extra length is worth it to me. I don't have to bend much to cut something at ground level.
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent all around saw Got rid of my other brand orange saw years ago, ran into an excuse to buy a new saw. Buddy offered to trade me a new saw of my choice in exchange for doing some mechanics work for him. He recommended a stihl, so I decided to try it. Got this saw and lover it. Great power,features, always starts!
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable, powerful, durable I bought my MS 311 about a year ago and it has performed beyond all expectations. It's lightweight for the amount of power it has, always fires right up, is tough as nails and makes short work of any task I've used it for. I cut several cords of firewood a year to heat our home and it has never let me down. Really, really great product.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw is great and easy to handle. Used this saw for the first time cutting logs in the mountains for my cabin. Exellent performance and easy to handle. More than enough paower.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mid sized saw I bought this saw to tackle larger wood cutting jobs. This saw has been wonderful and many people complain about the power to weight and difficulty starting. I have to disagree with them, stone cold it has never taken more than 4 pulls to start usually 3, and as far as weight it is not bad truly. It has plenty of power to pull the 20" bar buried into a 40" oak without a hiccup. I have run the snot out of this saw for a month now and occasionally it wears a 25" bar with a skip chain. I can honestly say it pulls that just fine. I would recommend this saw to anyone wanting something in this price and size point. The extra half hp over the husky is a nice too.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good addition It takes so much less effort to cut and having the 20inch bar helps with big trees. I have been using a MS 250 for everything which wears me out. Having a bigger saw and a smaller has made life so much better. Heavy weight helps with cutting too and less vibration..
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome workhorse Have used it heavily last 2 weeks and it has performed extremely well.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality, don't buy I purchased my stihl MS311 two years ago to cut firewood. Initially I was very happy with the performance of the saw and ease of use. The saw had plenty of power. All of my cutting is sizing trees after a storm or tree service fell a tree. Since purchasing the saw I have put 6 gallons of fuel through the saw and only my second chain. No major use. Gradually the saw has become difficult to keep running after starting and often I have not been able to restart it after refueling. Recently I am having trouble starting it. I took it the the retailer to be serviced and received the news that the cylinder and shaft are extremely worn and/or damaged and need to be replaced along with the bearings. This service will cost more that the cost of a new saw. Fortunately they did not repair it but recommended I purchase a new saw. I will not purchase this or any other stihl saw. I had alway heard that stihl saws where the best and last a lifetime. Please don't make the same mistake I did.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw WANTS to run!! I've read many complaints about saws not wanting to start after X amount of time. I have not experienced that at all. I followed the owners manual on break-in and use guidelines. I now have a saw that starts quickly and loves to run. Read the manual, follow the break-in period and always use fresh high octane fuel and either run the saw dry or dump out the unused fuel from the saw to keep it from gumming up the carburetor. I've had mine for over a year and I am not a daily user, with absolutely no issues.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One powerfull saw Enough power to handle any of my cutting needs. I do have to be careful not to flood the engine. 1 pull on choke should do it. No more than 2.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw for taking care of my trees I own about five acres of trees and find myself trimming and cutting and felling trees frequently. You'd think I would have ran out of trees by now. No such luck. I bought this saw to take over the felling chores and it does this well. I also use it for cutting railroad timbers. It starts easily enough as long as you follow the instructions in your manual; you did read it, right? I seem to be using it weekly and that may contribute to the easy starting. If you're just limbing this saw is probably not ideal, it is heavy and powerful, but if you have to cut them down, aren't a professional, and don't want to spend a fortune, then this is your saw.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ms311 I bought the 311 little hard to start but when it starts it runs good!
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy, but happy. I use this saw for many different applications. Thus, the reason why I got a 311. I wanted the power if I needed it. But, the weight is heavy with the 25" bar. Other than that, great saw.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw is great! It is everything I was told it would be and more. Cuts really nice and is easy to use.
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power This saw has been good to me over the past year. Even when I'm not using it still starts under 5 pulls and has great power handling a 20" bar cutting large oak.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product!!! We purchased the MS-311 after talking to our local dealer. Given the sze of our property he recommended the larger MS-311. We previously borrowed another brand from a friend and it had difficulty starting at our house which is at 7300'. I told the dealer where we located and they adjusted the engine to the higher altitude, 1800' above the dealership. They even offered to come up to the house if there were problems. We have about 30 hours on it now and it is wonderful. It starts everytime with 3-4 pulls when cold and 1-2 when warm. We have since purchased a Stihl weedeater/brushcutter and blower. All great products and well worth the money.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the power I will ever need I bought this saw after getting fed up with cheap under powered big box store saws. I heat primarily with wood here in north east Ohio. I use about 4-5 cord a year. I recently had the pleasure of dropping a huge 40+ inch oak, now I know sthil recommens a 20 inch bar on this saw but they also recommend the same bar on one of their saws with .7 less hp. With that being said I purchased a 24 inch bar with full comp full square chisel chain and it has no problems. I also purchased full skip chain and this thing really flys. The saw is a little heavy but it is not a problem for me. I will soon be purchasing a smaller saw for cutting branches and in tree work. Thanks sthil, you make the task of keeping my family warm easier and actually fun.
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power for 60c.c.'s Just purchased the 311 2 weeks ago. Up to then I had owned Poulan's, homelite's, craftsman's, and one husquvarna. I would get less than a weeks worth of firewood cut before the would break down and need repairing. There were years that I would go thru 3-4 used saws just to get my winter wood needs.This year the Mrs. convinced me to go new and better quality. After some research and talking with the Still dealer I chose the 311.Been cutting beech thats over 24+" across for the past two weeks and God do I love this saw! Goes thru the wood like a hot knife thru warm butter! It cuts faster than i expected. Starts right up when following cold start instructions. Once it's warmed up it doesn't even need a full pull to start, mine starts up with about 10"-12" of pull.The only downside i see with this tool is bar length. (And that was my choice.). Carrying it thru downed treetops can be cumbersome, but again that was my choice. Worth every penny the Mrs. and I spent on it!
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a STIHL! My friend and I went out to cut firewood. Both of us with brand new saws. His was a Husky, mine the 311. I had 1/2 a cord cut before he could even get his started!My second Stihl, the first being a 032 I used for over 20 years, which I loved but someone wanted more than me.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for cutting firewood. I needed a bigger saw to cut threw about 5 cords a year with. My previous saw was small and was more of a homeowners saw. I only have bought stihl chainsaws and my favorite part about them is their reliability. It runs very smooth has plenty of power for my needs. I got mine with a 20 inch bar witch is perfect for firewood, I also bought the 6 pack of oil to give me a 2 year warranty.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a great saw I cut trees down for a living for a few years and then some I needed a new saw i have a 044 and a 391 there also awesome peaces of equipment it's a shame there is no 044 on the market these days best saw ever the 311 I just bought ran the heck outta it for the last couple weeks all day everyday and had no problems what so ever all the bad reviews that I am reading are from people that have no clue what they are doing with a saw from what I am reading or do not know how to keep up with what needs done to a saw I will 100% back this saw its not a professional saw but the speed and toughness of this saw for a home owner of fire wood type of guy it's perfect another amazing product from these guys
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw and all you need I have had a Stihl MS170 for about 8 years and had used one my dad had before that. I was always happy with the quality and reliability. It was perfectly sized for when we lived in the suburbs, but we have since moved to another house (heated with wood) on a wooded 5 acre lot. I decided to buy a bigger saw and I did TONS of research. I was debating between the MS311, MS391, and MS362. I was leaning toward the MS362 being a "pro" saw, although it was obviously more expensive. I talked to the salesman at our local dealer and told him my needs and the models I was considering. To my surprise, he actually recommended the MS311 or MS391 based on my described use. After staring at the 3 saws for a long time, I chose the MS311 because it was a good deal being on sale at the time. I had a moment where I realized that while I was going to be using the saw a lot, I was not going to be using it all day and every day. I take care of all of my tools and I am sure this one will last me. So, got the saw, a woodcutter kit of PPE, felling wedges, chain file, and a high end axe (I was on a roll) and the total coincidentally came within a few cents of what the MS362 would be by itself. Seeing that confirmed to me that I had made the right choice. I took the saw home and started it right up. As others have said, follow the starting instructions and use the full choke sparingly if at all. Man is this saw powerful and sounds great. Feels like getting out of an economy car and into a muscle car. What am I missing hiving the MS311 and not the MS391 or MS362? I have no idea because I bought this one and I am very happy with it. I'll keep the little one for liming as this does weigh quite a bit more. My advice: buy it.
Date published: 2016-06-01
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_196
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms311, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl