MS 391 - $549.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

Our top-of-the-line chainsaw for farm and ranch.

With an advanced low-emission engine technology, the STIHL MS 391 mid-range chainsaw improves fuel efficiency by up to 20% compared to previous models. The new air filtration system requires fewer filter changes, allowing for longer run times. Improved fuel efficiency and fewer filter changes save you time and money.

Print Spec Sheets
MS 391 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 64.1 cc (3.9 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 3.3 kW (4.4 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 6.2 kg (13.67 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 600 cc (20.3 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 350 cc (11.8 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3 72) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 20" 3003 008 8921 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.
  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Performance Zip Chap Zoom
    Performance Zip Chap

    The Performance Series Zip Chaps provide full wrap-around protection for a user’s lower leg area and are made to stand up to daily wear and tear. The outer material is crafted from durable orange Cordura® nylon fabric, an all-weather material used in a range of premium outerwear brands. Inside, the chaps feature six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material, designed to reduce the risk or severity of injury in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw. For extra convenience, the chaps feature rows of zippers that run along the entire inseam of the chap, helping to ensure a comfortable fit that is easy to put on and/or remove. Visit our Dealership to see these chaps in person.

  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Two-Tone Work Glasses Zoom
    Two-Tone Work Glasses
    The lightweight STIHL Two-Tone Work Glasses feature a hollowed-out framework that is lightweight and comfortable to wear. Protect your eyes with ANSI standard Z87.1+ lenses, offering 99% UV protection – so you don’t have to slow down when the sun is beating down. Featuring flexible rubber temple tips and nose pads, the STIHL Two-Tone Work Glasses deliver a soft, comfortable fit for all those tough outdoor tasks that demand your full attention. Stop by our showroom to see them for yourself!
  • Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Forestry Helmet System
    Adjustable hearing protection. Epoxy-coated full face screen. Tough ABS hard hat meets ANSI Z89.1-2003 Type 1 Class G. All parts are replaceable.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 391 is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 249.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well thought out design. This saw has many little features that make it very user friendly and easy to maintain. From the single control lever for starting and running, to the laser etched reference guides on the chain, and the air bypass for preheated air for cold operating temperatures. I have blocked 20+ cords of pine with this saw so far and I have had no issues to date.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw in every way. Starts right-a-way every time, cuts fast and clean, well balanced, easy access for maintenance and cleaning. I mainly cut 16 to 24 inch pine logs and the saw cuts through quickly without bogging.I highly recommend the MS391.Mike
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from INSANE POWER so I'm 12 years old and I ran this chainsaw for the first time more powerful than any Husqvarna I ran this thing is overpowered and excellent for what I need it for this is an insane saw it cuts fast I love it not even broken in yet and its still a champ.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This makes retiring my old saw easy very pleased with my purchase Typical of all Stijl products they just run and so reliableMakes the work fun and quickOver all if you want a saw that you can pick up for a day of cutting or a hour or minutes get this saw as I find excuses to use it!
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw is a beast Put it to work for about 3 hours the first day. Cut through large trees like butter. Wish I would have bought a Stihl years ago.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unreliable Used this saw about 40 hours over two years before it quit starting. Starting it progressively got harder. Took to Stihl service center only to find out the ignition module is faulty. Bought one from Ebay and it still starts no easier. At least I have spark at the plug now but with arthritis I cannot pull it hard enough to start. I would think Stihl should last more than 40 hours before having to replace pricey parts.
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality built Product I am comparing this product to a 35 year old Pro Mac 700, so this may or may not be a fair comparison. A little disappointed in the power for a larger saw, had the 25" bar and chain installed at the dealer before purchase. Once its running, its a smooth cutting saw. Have run several tanks of gas thru it now, and am a little surprised at how finicky is is to start, especially after a warm refuel. Like the one quarter turn caps on the fuel tank and the oil tank, and the foot hole on the rear handle.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Second day into owning this saw and it won't start Worked ok for about 3 hours yesterday, started every 4th or 5th pull but fought for an hour with it this morning thinking something must be wrong return to the dealer and they say it's gonna take 2 days to replace the carb on a saw that's 24 hours old absolutely pathetic , won't let me return it won't lend me a new one in reality I expected a complete replacement
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Brand new MS391, won't start. Bought a brand new MS391 to compliment my smaller Stihl saw, Got it home, read manual thoroughly & it would not start. Acted flooded, gave it a few hours, still wouldn't start, Checked plug, was dry. Convinced I had to be doing something wrong, I returned to my dealer the following day to get their opinion. Their resident technician was very cool, as we eliminated any mistakes I may have made. Fresh fuel? Check, Stihl premix. Choked properly? Check. He took cover off, determined it was flooded, although I hadn't attempted to start it that day. He tried to start it and had the same results I did, and determined it was a faulty carb. Very frustrating for a new saw, returned it, got my $$ back, Planned on using it this weekend to do a ton of tree work. Very dissimilar experience from other Stihl products I've bought.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great operational saw I had a couple of new saws that I did not really care for, so I decided to trade them for another saw- a stihl ms-391. It would be a good bit heavier than the two saws I was trading in but it had a decompression button that would make it a lot easier to start. As is my usual procedure, I started the 391 out with a cap full of extra Ultra two cycle oil for the first two tanks and a little bit of Seafoam to clean out the fuel system. I let it mostly idle for the first tank with an occasional run-up to clean off the sparkplug. I could not believe how log it took to get it through the first tank of gas. It took considerably longer than my ms 271 by half again as much. It took six 15 minute sessions to get it through the first tank. On the second tank, as is my usual procedure, I let it do a little cutting. Nothing big or difficult - just small stuff. After it did a little cutting, I cleaned it up and put it on a shelf in the shop. No sooner had I put it up than the power companies tree cutting folks came back to my house and wanted to cut down a 12 Inch white oak on the rear of my property. I said fine but I want the wood.So, out comes the 391 and we spent the next two plus hours limping, bucking and stacking the tree they cut down. It got a good workout on that white oak. Actually, it only used 3/4of a tank of gas and ran the whole time. Just about anyone of my seven stihl saws could have cleaned up that tree but it gave me a good example of its dependability and abilities. Ever since then it has sat just inside my rear door, right next to my ms 261 cm, which is my other operational saw. To be an operational saw at my house means the saw is capable of being cranked on the back deck or front porch. Even on the kitchen floor if need be. Both of these saws have that capability in spades.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The saw that does it all very easy to start and use, light weight, and reliable.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Quality equipment and service. The MS391 has excellent power and ability, when using the recommended 20" bar, for any job so far.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong engine, handles great I've cut through 6 cords of wood so far with the 391 and love the power! I have a 25" bar and have cut through pine logs thicker in diameter and it never bogged down. Plus the weight of the saw isn't overbearing. My back slightly aches after cutting through a cord, but I've found that the weight of the saw helps with cutting through the logs. The 25" bar is a great length for being able to de-limb without having to bend down.
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent power and easy to use Saw isome more than what an average person will ever need. Power to weight ratio is unmatched by the competition.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful saw, great weight to horsepower ratio and bullett proof design. I bought this saw to be my mid sized saw as I have a 291 with an 18" bar for small jobs and a Magnum 441 with a 28" bar for larger jobs. Being that I burn wood year round for our house and cabin I needed a mid sized saw for medium sized jobs/trees. This saw is amazing when equipped with an 18" bar and a rapid cut chain, it never bigs down, has a high chain speed, and pulls through any type of hard wood with ease, Oak, Hickory, Maple, Walunt, Ash, Cherry and rips through soft wood like butter. I have used this saw for 8 hours a day 4-5 days a week and it continues to amaze me with its amazing power to weight. You will not regret this saw as it is a great vallue and is the ideal all around "go to saw".
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cut like a dream I have just about every budget saw known to man. This is a much better product by far. Fell 5 trees with it so far and one giant oak that fell on its own. Started every time and flies threw everything I have thrown at.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great powerful saw Ok, I've had the saw for 3-4 years now and used it each year.Saw really woke up after the first couple hours of use.With a sharp chain it chews through pretty quick...even hard maple.Starting after few months of storage isn't an issue...may take 3 -4 pulls and stall out if cold weather. Then starts and runs fine. Typically starts 1 pull after been run and warmed up.Most people problems with small engine equipment is ETHANOL fuel and /or improper gas/oil mix.Before owning any small engine equipment, find a gas station that sell ethanol-free. Get a can just for ethanol free. Trust me folks, pay the extra couple bucks. Your lawn/small engine gear will last much longer, run stronger, and you wont have expensive carb problems after sitting all winter.This saw with a 20" bar will tire you out if you're not use to wielding this lightsaber all day.
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great saw... as long as the ignition module works. Bought this saw for my father as he cuts alot of wood on his farm for heating the house. Lots of hickory, oak, ash, etc. So I wanted to get a good strong chainsaw that would cut quickly through these woods and then he could use the lighter saws for small stuff. I chose Stihl because of the reputation for service and quality. Not long after we got the saw we put it to work. Break-in went well and the saw performed as expected and better. It was actually a pleasure after using some... lesser saws... to cut large logs to use one that was meant to do the job. Saw started easily, ran well, and we were pleased. Until a few months later, that is.For some reason the saw wouldn't start. I have to say that we always follow manufacturers' recommendations for oil types, service intervals, operating procedures, etc., especially with brands and equipment we aren't familiar with. After a few go around with local service folks about starting it incorrectly, improper fueling, etc., we took it in for service. Since it was under warranty they weren't exactly happy to see us, but eventually they took a look at it and figured out the ignition module was bad. After replacing it the saw worked just fine again.All would have been well if that had been the only time it happened, BUT this has happened at least 4 other times. I purchased the saw in 2013 as a gift for my dad. After the 3rd time Stihl replaced the entire power head at no charge. It has happened twice again since then. This last time the tech replaced only the spark plug and returned a non-functioning chainsaw to my father. My father, no slouch in home small-engine repair, got fed up with the service and bought a non-OEM ignition module and put it in himself. Hopefully this will end the problems.So in all, we are thoroughly disappointed at the reliability of the saw in general. Performance is good, but what use if a good performing machine if you can't even use it? I don't know if it's just the MS391 that has these issues, or if a bad batch if ignition modules came through, or what is going on. I know my father stores the chainsaw in it's case in the barn, so saying it is improperly stored is ridiculous, especially after watching plenty of other people with Stihls do almost no maintenance, keep them in the back of their pickup with no case, and use them day in and out with no problems. Might be a bad model, might be a bad module design, either way be very careful with what you spend your money on.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a well engineered saw This is a well engineered saw. When broken in and start very well. A little on the heavy side for an old man cutting wood all day .
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome power and dependability I run a 25" bar on my 391 and it has no trouble chewing through 24" hickory. I run VP 50:1 premix and it really perks up the saw and no smoke at all.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The saw is worth every Penny. I heat my home on wood and cut many cords each year. I have been using cheap saws in the past and finally decided to purchase a Stihl. I did a lot of research and found that the ms391 is exactly what I needed. It comes with the 20" bar but you are able to put up to a 28" bar on it. This is a selling selling point for me as I have some rather large trees on my property. The comparison to the pro series was also an easy sell. The biggest difference for me was the weight ratio. The pro series is only slightly lighter. So far in the 3 weeks I've had the saw, I've already cut down over 20 trees and have not had one issue.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great. Sure wish I would have got a case for the saw for the price.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw - eight years strong. I purchased my 391 early in 2009. This saw has not missed a beat since I purchased it. I once tried ethanol-free gas and the saw wouldn't run on it. I literally dumped the tank of gas out, dumped the rest of the remaining gallon out of my gas can, and refilled it with regular high octane gas mixed 50-1 and it hasn't missed a beat since. When starting this saw, lock it on full choke and pull it once or twice until you hear it fire. Take the choke off and pull it again and it will fire every time. I have never struggled to start this saw in the time I've had it. Within the last two weeks I've cut about four cords of wood with it. One winter a few years ago, I cut two log truck loads of trees with it which ranged up to over 20" in diameter. This saw has performed flawlessly for eight years. I may never own another chainsaw.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts better than expected. I haven't had good luck with Stihl saws starting very easy, but this saw starts good and with the 25" bar cuts oak pretty easy. So far I am pleased with the performance of the saw.
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great saw for the money Every thing I have looked for in a saw I personally have had just about every brand saw that's out there but this is definitely the saw for me.I should have went with stihl a long time ago. no it's not as powerful as a 460 or 660 but it gets the job done with a 20" bar and a full skip chain she cuts pretty quick can't hardly bogg it out
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw A good, powerful saw for some pretty heavy-duty felling, trimming, and bucking. Starts right up after a couple of pulls. Highly recommend this saw as with other Stihl saws.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Stihl I have nicknamed this saw the "Big Cat", it has power to spare. Don't expect to use it to limb and cut rounds, keep you a small limb saw or you will wear out.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wish I had not bought it Hard to start, takes several pulls to start even if already warm. Very poor power. It came with a 25 inch bar from dealer. Not enough power to cut oak with a 25 inch bar. Needs no more than a 20 inch. I have owned saw for 3 days and will be taking it back in hopes they will honor the 7 day return policy.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight,lots of power This is a great saw ,reasonable price would recomend
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It can run with the big dogs foreshore I wanted a chainsaw that would do big jobs when my other steelside don't have to work so hard this gives them a brake while cutting big logs but don't let the other stihl saws full ya they can get big jobs done to one is a ms 290 farm boss I bought 5 or 6 years ago and then my little one ms 250 with a attitude
Date published: 2017-01-25
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_249
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms391, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl