MS 391 - $549.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

Our top-of-the-line chainsaw for farm and ranch.

With an advanced low-emission engine technology, the STIHL MS 391 mid-range chainsaw improves fuel efficiency by up to 20% compared to previous models. The new air filtration system requires fewer filter changes, allowing for longer run times. Improved fuel efficiency and fewer filter changes save you time and money.

Print Spec Sheets
MS 391 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 64.1 cc (3.9 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 3.3 kW (4.4 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 6.2 kg (13.67 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 600 cc (20.3 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 350 cc (11.8 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 50 cm (16" to 20")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3 72) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 20" 3003 008 8921 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.
  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Performance Zip Chap Zoom
    Performance Zip Chap

    The Performance Series Zip Chaps provide full wrap-around protection for a user’s lower leg area and are made to stand up to daily wear and tear. The outer material is crafted from durable orange Cordura® nylon fabric, an all-weather material used in a range of premium outerwear brands. Inside, the chaps feature six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material, designed to reduce the risk or severity of injury in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw. For extra convenience, the chaps feature rows of zippers that run along the entire inseam of the chap, helping to ensure a comfortable fit that is easy to put on and/or remove. Visit our Dealership to see these chaps in person.

  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Two-Tone Work Glasses Zoom
    Two-Tone Work Glasses
    The lightweight STIHL Two-Tone Work Glasses feature a hollowed-out framework that is lightweight and comfortable to wear. Protect your eyes with ANSI standard Z87.1+ lenses, offering 99% UV protection – so you don’t have to slow down when the sun is beating down. Featuring flexible rubber temple tips and nose pads, the STIHL Two-Tone Work Glasses deliver a soft, comfortable fit for all those tough outdoor tasks that demand your full attention. Stop by our showroom to see them for yourself!
  • Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Forestry Helmet System
    Adjustable hearing protection. Epoxy-coated full face screen. Tough ABS hard hat meets ANSI Z89.1-2003 Type 1 Class G. All parts are replaceable.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 391 is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 249.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an outstanding saw at a very reasonable price. Excellent value! This is the second Stihl saw I have purchased and they are without a doubt the best saws on the market. I have owned several other brands previously and the quality and performance of the Stihl brand is far superior to any other. I use my saw for tree felling and clean up and it is dependable, powerful and easy to use. I am very satisfied with my saw.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw Have 2 other smaller saws and in the course of my business a larger one was always a thought and now I have one it takes the load off the smaller ones and gets the job done quicker and more efficently.Never have to worry about Stihl performance.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was a good saw until it wasn't It was a good saw but I hadn't only ran 3 tanks of gas threw it and it kicked hard and broke the slider bar and bent the thing the slider goes on. When I took it back to the dealer they said this just happens. So far I have put $15 into it but it seems alright. The mounts are a bit weak in it tho cuz I think they may be going out from me using the dogs to cut wood.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent Chainsaw Great Chainsaw for cutting firewood I have 2 of them and have miniumable trouble with them they are easy to start. I use them five days a week.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awsome saw I have 2 other saws and they are stihl 026, 171 . i needed a saw with a 20" bar for some big tree's. I was wanting to get the 311 but everyone was out of them. so the salesman , said the 391 was the next best choice. boy was he right ,this thing goes through some wood!!!! my nickname for the saw is "wood hog"
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This saw is GREAT, until it ain't I bought this saw to get out of the endless loop of disposable saws. Having worked in the equipment rental industry for some time years back, I came to realize the difference in quality equipment vs cheap equipment. When I purchased this saw, I maintained it meticulously, keeping up with adjustments, keeping a sharp chain, and emptying the tank when I knew it would sit up for any time. I buy only straight 90 octane gas and mix with Stihl synthetic oil, but alas, to no good end. With less than 100hrs runtime on the saw, it had to have a new carb. I took it out for two days of cutting firewood and it ran like the champ it is. Not one hickup or hard start. Day 3-won't hit a lick. I figured trash in the fuel or pickup or dirty filter, but nope; took it to the dealer I've been doing business with and was told, "Oh, this just happens. You gotta have a new carb. Sorry." I STILL love this saw, but a carb that costs this much after so little runtime really turns me off. At this rate, the disposable saws aren't such a bad deal after all, but I won't go back to them.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wood eating machine I have had the MS 391 for a month now. I live on 15 acres of woods and needed a machine that could cut through anything. I have cut down oak, hickory, and poplar. This machine had no problem with any of them. My previous STIHL was the 028. My father had bought it brand new almost 30 years ago and passed it down to me, I believe this saw will last just as long.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 391 Fantastic chainsaw The MS 391 (25” bar) is a wood eating work horse. I have absolutely NO complaints regarding this chainsaw. I have read reviews that indicate it is difficult to start. That is a falsehood promoted by individuals that are not knowledgeable regarding STIHL products or 2 cycle equipment. FOLLOW the instructions & you will have a chainsaw that is amazing & reliable. The MS 391 isn’t cheap, but you pay for quality. Highly recommend STIHL & MS 391.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Farm BOSS Bought a ms391 to replace another brand chainsaw that was wore out and under powered for amount of work I have been doing. The first day out I wish I had bought the stihl to start with, so much less work and effort to drop trees and then cut them up, just lay it on the wood and press the gas. After you get over the sticker shock of buying a stihl you will happy you spent the extra money. I always thought stihl was overrated and that all the name brands were close, that doesn't apply to chainsaws I've found out
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw I've owned The MS391 has impressed me immensely! Stihl had done a great job packing this much power in the saw. Wow. I've paired it up to Husqvarnas of equal stats on paper and the 391 blows them away. Stihl is the only way to go, and this MS391 is the best for my ranch. Now to find somewhere close to me that sells full-skip chains!
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from POWERHEAD SIEZED 9 DAYS AFTER WARRANTY MS391 along with the case of premixed fuel. never had a problem starting. Today I dropped a an 18 inch walnut and noticed the power head was smoking. I reached to pull the start lever and it seized up. I let the machine cool for awhile which I assume did not take long since it's 35 degrees here. Still no luck. So I spent a lot of money for something that performed well for awhile. I used duratac chain oil and the manufacturers gas. I still have 2 cans left! Now the warranty is up and I'm sure as not going to spend this much money on something that lasts under one year. The issue for me is this happened 5 days after the 1 year warranty ended. This is not my grandfathers engine company.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No lie, my brand new Stihl left me high and dry out in the field on the first day on the first tank However I will continue to outfit my company with Sthl equipment, my problem with Stihl and every other manufacturer is that cheaper metal and plastics have taken the place of reliable, heavy duty metal parts. Two weeks ago I purchased my newest Stihl chainsaw to replace my 310 that needed some more shop time. Out in the field on my first tank of gas on my first chain re-tightening, while attempting to tighten the brand new chain on it's maiden voyage one of the tabs broke off the chain tightening mechanism and with no way to tighten the chain I was done for the day.When I returned the saw for repair I was informed that my (less than 24 hours old) new Stihl would not be covered under warranty and in fact I would not only pay for the parts and the labor but shipping as well.If this true story doesn't compel your company to strive for better customer service for its long standing customer base, I don't know what will.Long time customer,Scott Carpenter
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tuff saw I run an Excavating business sometimes I get Into brush jobs where i need a bigger saw.I had a farm boss I thought it was tuff until I bought this thing. With a 20 inch bar it's hard To pull this saw down. Cuts twice as good as farm boss does. Eats hard wood up like candy.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good dependable saw Start's up fast and easy every time. runs great. good powerful fast cutting saw for fire wood i also have a 460. And a 660. For every day jobs but when i bought a cabin and started cutting fire wood i want something with a little less weight and a shorter bar so its a excellent saw for the job love it and all my sthil products
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from has good power for its size I used to fall trees for a living I have 2 stihl 391. I worked them 10 hours a day 5 days a week never had any problems with them starting one of them worked after having a big tree fall on it
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around saw I bought this saw for home firewood cutting and property maintenance . Saw has great power with a 20" bar on it and runs even better cutting bigger stuff with a half skip chain. Installed some real dogs because the little ones that come on it are worthless. (My only complaint) --helps with bucking logs. "Stihl the best" is a worthy saying.
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of power and light enough for east handling, great product support , can be a little sensitive to flooding The 391 seems very well made. It handles beautifully with lots of power for large diameter and hard wood. Its light enough for sustained day-long cutting. Mine is fairly sensitive to flooding during starts - just takes getting used to each others little idiosyncrasies. I definitely recommend this saw for fairly heavy usage.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unstoppable large saw I purchased this saw a year ago after my 30yr old saw was lost in a fire. So far i've been in love with this thing. I purchases a new property and have taken down 20 plus trees with it and I just now bought a new chain while the original is getting sharpened. My ONLY complaint is after 4 + hours of use my back is just shot and it takes me a week to recover from it. My solution was to recently buy a much lighter and smaller MS170 to do a majority of the clean up work. I think the two saws are the perfect combo. I must mention that the MS391 runs a long time between oil and fuel fill ups. I do kind of like the fact that most of my friends are intimidated by such a big saw LOL. I have had zero issues with the saw with over 30hrs of use.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best saw for the money This is the best saw for the money, i nended a long bar and enough power to rip with an alaskan mill, im old so the breaks I need are good for the saw also. If I was to run it harder I would have had to spend a lot more money but the power of this saw is perfect for me.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw for average person I use this saw in conjunction with my MS170. This saw handles larger stuff quite well. I changed out to a full skip chain, and it made a huge difference. Plenty of power for typical light felling, and bucking work. I would highly recommend this saw. It starts easy, and I have yet to need to use the decompression valve. I rated it 4 stars across the board, because nothing is perfect. This saw has been pretty close though.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to start muffler has been held on by wire but saw stihl works
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good saw Kind of heavy, good power, needs to start easier. Fix your survey!!!
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Saw dead after 6 months of heavy use. Returned saw 2 times during the 6 month period. Last visit was told engine was scored, a rebuild would cost me the same amount of a new saw. I had owned a 290 before and that lasted years. Debating on going up on the model or switching to another manufacturer.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lots of Power .......until it dies 1 month after warranty expires Was really impressed with this saw when it was working! I went to start it the other day and it would not stay running so took it into the local dealer. They said it had grey "gunk" in the cylinder and that there was scoring on only the exhaust side of the piston. I only use the Stihl HP fuel mix and never messed with the tuning after I bought it. They think the bearings went out and said it would be cheaper to buy a new saw then to fix since warranty expired month ago. Ridiculous, I don't have unlimited $ to drop on a new saw every year. Won't buy Stihl again since this is second saw to die, first saw was a MS181 that had a lean seizure after 2 years yet I was running only the Stihl premix fuel in that saw.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw plenty of power I bought this saw September 2015 to cut firewood, I cut approximately 2 tandem dump truck load of logs each year. never let me down, easy on fuel, plenty of power. the only problem is it is heavy. I opted for the 18" bar, so it cuts quick
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good My MS 391 is a very good chain saw. I think you could make it a little easier to start. It seems to be very easy to flood with the choke on full, then you have to wait for the fuel to evaporate or take the spark plug out, dump the access out. It has plenty of power for what I wanted it to do. All in all, it is the best chain saw I've ever used.Ed
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My product is awesome I like all the features I like my product a lot it has a lot of power and when I bought it the dealer was extremely helpful!
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Husqajunk Four. It took for Husqajunk chainsaws to fell two trees in my backyard. Four because only the fourth one stayed running long enough to do the job. My new Husquavarna 562xp has 2 hours and 27 minutes on it, the microprocessor says so. I pull and pull and pull, it just doesn't like to start. Anyway, I went out and bought an ms391 out of pure frustration. Wow what a difference, pull it once with the choke on, and again at half-choke. Starts EVERY TIME. Then I bought a Stihl pole saw, it starts and runs like a dream. I'm a Stihl convert. I should mention I run only 100octane airplane fuel, highly recommend this. It doesn't degrade over time and it makes saws really rip
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everthing i expected This saw with the 24" bar is everything I expected in a larger chainsaw.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MS391 25" bar Hard to start, several repairs, engine blew up after 18 months. Currently looking to replace. When it did work it was wonderful.
Date published: 2016-07-27
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_249
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms391, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl