2 in 1 Filing Guide - $42.99 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A unique, easy-to-use filing system that sharpens your cutter and lowers your depth gauge with a few simple strokes.

The STIHL 2 in 1 Filing Guide gets more done in a few strokes. Sharpen your saw chain cutters and lower your depth gauges at the same time with this simple and unique accessory. Designed for ease and accuracy, this filing system includes two round files, one flat file, and a unique file holder and guide. With the STIHL 2 in 1 Filing Guide, spend less time sharpening your saw chain and more time pu...Read More
Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

2 in 1 Filing Guide is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 54.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the best engineered product on the market I've been using this sharpener for six weeks now what a great product! A bit pricey but well worth the Money So easy to use once you get the hang of it. I sharpen at the end of each day two or three strokes and she's ready to go back to work!! Love the sharp chain!!!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OMG.... No more dull saws for me I can't believe how easy this sharpener is to use. The pictograph on the sharpener shows you how to do it. 3 or 4 stokes on each tooth and you've sharpened that AND cut the rakes to the correct height. It's that simple. With my 20" bar on my 291 it's like a 5 minute job to touch it up before every job. Now I always have a sharp saw. As time goes on, the files are replaceable too!
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Legit These 2-in-1 filing guides are the real deal. I can clean up a chain in 1/2 the time it takes with standard hand files & depth gauge. My favorite part is that it's one unit vs. 3 separate pieces easily lost in the woods (round file w/ guide, flat file, depth gauge). Also impressive: the files inside the unit are easily replaceable.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puts the Dremel to shame. This is a great system. I used a Dremel for the last five years with good results but wanted something for the field. The results are superior to the dremel. I remove the raker file every other sharpening and it seems to be the right recipe. Could not be happier with this purchase. So fast and easy.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I bought one sooner Works great I recommend watching the video on YouTube first. It worked great on a chain that had come in contact with the ground. Big chips are flying again you won't regret buying one
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i quit using my electric chain grinder i bought one for my 3/8 chain and tried using the 2n1 and i took my chain grinder off the bench and will get rid of it soon . the 2n1 sharpens a chain in less than 5 minutes without the heat the grinder puts on the cutters . i have since then bought one for my 325 chain . i also have the timberline sharpener and the granberg file n guide and prefer the 2n1 over all the others
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As good as advertised The 2 in 1 Filing Guide is by far the best "home" chain sharpening tool I've used in over 40 years of chainsaw use. I seldom use the commercial sharpening people any more. I have two guides, one each for the 3/8"and the 0.325" chains. Yes, they are a bit pricey, but when you pretty much remove the commercial sharpening, the tools pay off in short order. There is also a convenience factor here-5 to ten minutes and you are back in business. A bit of a down side is that I agree with reviewer Winston that you need a bench vise or for use in the woods, the Stump Vise. This allows use of both hands to move the guide across the chain. I tried to use one hand to hold the bar and the other to move the guide and did not get the quality sharpening that the tool is capable of. I mounted a small bench vise on a 2X8 board to clamp the saw bar. Also, I try to keep the chains pretty sharp and only make two or three strokes with the file. This relatively small amount of filing will not remove too much of the depth gauges as some reviewers have noted. I try to sharpen the chains after one or two tanks of fuel depending on the cutting conditions. Great tool.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 in one sharpener There is a small learning curve to this device, but is is simple to master. Proper setup is very important. A bench vise or a stump vise is required. Then follow the directions printed on the sheet. Watch and maintain your angles and you'll have it. I reckon I'll have to go through about two chains, plus time saved, to recover my cost. In terms of efficiency and time saved it definitely passes the Cheap Pete(that's me)value for the money test.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chain sharpening made simple I've been sharpening saw chains for nearly fifty years--have sharpened by hand and by using a variety of tools. The Stihl 2 in 1 is the best product I've come across so far. The guide directs the filer regarding the perfect angle for the tooth and the drags are automatically lowered the perfect depth. I have one for every size chain I use.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so good I bought one of these files as I heard so much about them so every time you sharpen your chain you sharpen the depth gauge so now after sharpening the chain 4 or 5 times the depth gauge is well below the chain so I'm not so sure about it you know it when your cutting timber the depth gauge is supposed to protect the chain not be below it.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, simple This tool was easy to use and simple to figure out. The end product was better then I had hoped for. Made fast easy work of sharpening a chain in rough shape. I would say it is definitely worth the money.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from for newbies I am beyond impressed with this tool. I've had a chainsaw for many years and may use one every other year or so. Every time I try to sharpen it I screw it up and end up taking it in to have the dealer sharpen it. This fixes that issue. The rake depth is perfect, blades are sharp and uniform, all in one. I'll have no more issues of a bad cutting saw at the hunting lease, 10 min and it will be like new. Thanks stihl.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sharpening tool invented! Been running saws and hand sharpening my chains for over 14 years. I hate dull chains cause they cause you so much more work. I am very good at getting my chains super sharp with the standard file, but this tool makes it soo much easier to get your chain sharp fast without ever needing to separately file your depth guides not to mention its easier on your hands. :)
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I think it is the only sharpening tool you need for a chainsaw. Wish I had one earlier.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great item I was very impressed with the very first cutting chisel I sharpened on my ms201t I would recommend this to anybody
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product. This sharpener is amazingly easy to use and sharpens your blade like new in minutes.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best! I have been sharpening my own chains for years and I have to say that this is simply the best system ever devised to properly sharpen and maintain my chains. Finally someone has taken all the guesswork out of a tedious and often nerve-wracking chore - simple and easy to use - way to go Stihl!
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Incredible Stihl Product I recently purchsed two of these file guides. One for my .325 pitch chains (used on MS 260) and the second for my 3/8" pitch chains (used on my MS 660). After having used both guides I was completely impressed. Not only were the file guides easy to use, but they were incredibly effective. They took a blade that was dulled by some dirty wood and made it factory sharp again, with little effort or TIME. I was back to cutting in less than ten minutes. These tools will pay for themselves in no time and I was really impressed with the ability to replace the files when they are no longer good, without having to purchase a whole new setup. Thanks again STIHL for another incredible product.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it buy it Now I have just started cutting wood for the fun off it to help family. I was using the HF grinder and was not happy.Bought this thing and man it best thing ever. Buy one take it from me it looks like Iam making match sticks with my MS 290 20in.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the investment Bought toady and totally impressed. It was easy to use right out of the package.
Date published: 2015-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best and simplest sawchain sharpener I have found . This sharpener works ! It's fast and easy to use. You sharpen your chain on the bar and when you're done the rakers(drags) are filed as well. And it CUTS ! Better than new !
Date published: 2015-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome get it Greatest thing since sliced bread you won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2015-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool I am the owner of a tree service and an instructor for chainsaw safety and tree felling for different government agencies. This is the only filing system we use and I push this on friends in the trade. I sharpened a 24" full comp chain, both sides, 3 swipes per tooth in 3min 58sec and the saw ripped. Now I only have to carry one extra chain per saw because I can file to like new faster than changing the chain. Plus I don't have to take a dull chain back to the shop. AND even the absolute greenest worker can get a great edge.
Date published: 2015-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, fantastic results I love this sharpening tool. It's ergonomic design makes it easy to sharpen blades extremely well.This is an easy to use tool, that anyone can quickly master. The fact that you have comfortable handles guiding on both ends makes for consistent and repeatable angles.I've used many types and kinds of sharpeners, grinders, and file holders over the years. This thing is the fastest and most effective, I don't know how it could be improved upon. You'll be creating big chips and ribbons instead of sawdust the next time your cutting. A fantastic product!
Date published: 2015-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wahoo! Finally a sharpener that does it all! I think I've bought my last sharpener! This 2 in 1 sharpener works great. Cut 3 cords of pine last Saturday and flew through it in record time. My only request would be a little larger handle on the ends for those with bigger hands.
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SIMPLE TWO STEP SHARPENING What an awesome sharpening guide, easy to use and fast.
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sharpener Field sharpened a chain for my 20" bar in about 5 minutes. Can't imagine how you could make a mistake. Chippers and rakers are all set correctly with just a few strokes. Just wish I would have found this years earlier!
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performs, but pricey Like other reviewers, I found this product works extremely well. This is the first tool I've encountered that returns a chain to like-new performance!I noticed it at my local mom-and-pop dealer and inquired if it really worked. They highly recommended it, but warned it's a little tricky using it on a new chain, and then it becomes easier. The two guide bars and angled handles keep the files level and at the correct angle for easy sharpening.The price is a little salty--but by the time you pay to have your chains sharpened a few times, you've covered the cost of the tool (and you have the benefit of always having a sharp chain).
Date published: 2015-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should Have Purchased Sooner I’m a professional knife maker so using files freehand is nothing new for me, but even I don’t ‘like’ sharpening my chains freehand if I can avoid it. I used this tool for the 1st time yesterday and I’m pretty impressed. The tool works as advertised and is about as fool-proof as a hand sharpening system can be. It’s pretty easy to figure out how to use it and once I got the hang of it things went very well. A tool this simple and this effective will certainly help people keep their chains sharp since using it isn’t a pain and only takes a few minutes at the end of the day. Using it for the 1st time on a new chain is a little trying as there’s scarcely room for the file to fit into the tooth, but this isn’t an issue after using it one time on a chain. Admittedly, the tool may look somewhat gimmicky, , , but it is in fact a very solid and extremely practical tool that I would consider a good value for the money.
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product is fast and easy Just used the 2 in 1 file for first time.sweet tool to use and very easy ,once you figure out just how it worked.sharpened 2 chains on saw mounted on bench vise,can't wait to try out in the field.
Date published: 2015-03-21
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_2in1file, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl