2 in 1 Filing Guide - $42.99 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A unique, easy-to-use filing system that sharpens your cutter and lowers your depth gauge with a few simple strokes.

The STIHL 2 in 1 Filing Guide gets more done in a few strokes. Sharpen your saw chain cutters and lower your depth gauges at the same time with this simple and unique accessory. Designed for ease and accuracy, this filing system includes two round files, one flat file, and a unique file holder and guide. With the STIHL 2 in 1 Filing Guide, spend less time sharpening your saw chain and more time pu...Read More
Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

2 in 1 Filing Guide is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 65.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sharpening tool!!! Does a fantastic job with minimal effort. I was able to figure out the correct method in minutes. It is 1000 percent easier than other filing methods and does a better job. Buy it and you will quickly become a good sharpener too.
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so easy to use say goodbye to ALL your other hand filing tools.STIHL has proven with this tool they are always striving to be the best you can get.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tool ever! Probably the best thing on God’s green earth when it comes to sharpening chains. Easy and fast to use, it gets chains back to factory sharp. I’m throwing my other files away because there’s no point of having them after owning this tool.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have been manually sharpening chains for over 20 years with good success however I have to be honest a lot of times I would skip filing the depth gauges. With this product it is all in one and is much easier.
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This sharpener did a great job This sharpener is easy to use and did a great job. First time sharpening my chain. I got big wood chips after sharpening, versus the sawdust I was getting. This is the best money I've spent in a long time.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best chain sharpener I own I have both the 1/4 and the .325 they are quick and easy use it takes about 10 minutes to sharpen a 20 inch chain.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick field dressing your chain I have been looking for years on a more efficient field dressing solution. This design is phenomenal! Worked on a fresh white oak this past week and every other tank I field dressed the chain. Suggest having the bar hold clamp. Works absolutely wonderful and quickly.Highly recommend this sharpening device for all your field sharpening needs.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best tool to use in field and home. I was looking at a way to sharpen that would be quick while in the field cutting. The local dealer told me the best way was just the files. He give me the ones I needed and I used them a few months and was still wondering about this high priced tool. I went back to the dealer and paid the high price for it. After the first time using it, it got easy to use, the other files I carried to the field got put on the shelf and never used again, I bought the extra replacement files, now not sure if I needed these, the ones on it cut great and will last a long time before the others will be needed. That high price...well it now is not so high, it does two jobs at one time and is very fast at it. I love this tool and is my go to tool every time now, easy to use, and worth every penny. Even beats my electric one.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quick easy way to keep your chain sharp. i bought this 2 in 1 from my local stihl dealer, my chain was in rough shape. It took me about an hour to get my chain back to like new. My angles were off and depth gauge was way off due to a cheap sharpener kit. Now it takes less then 5 mins to quickly maintain the chain. This product saves a lot of time and will keep your chain like new. I am very happy i spent the money on it. I think if you own a chain saw.....this is for you.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent for a beginner was a little concerned about cost, wasn't ready to toss it in the toolbox if it didn't work . was i surprised, i used it on a old chain, figured i couldn't ruin it, & it brought it back to life. only takes a few mins. to be back throwing chips. was a little intimidated at first due to lack of experience but it has become invaluable. no more paying for a lousy grinder job!
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beginner here... I've never sharpened a chainsaw before, I had no idea what I was doing, it took me about 10 minutes to get my chain sharpened and cutting like new again. I'm shocked at how easy it is to use and get it right. I can't compare to other methods, but I have no interest in exploring those given the ease of this product. Do get a stump (or some sort of other) vise to go with it, you need something to hold the saw still. Do watch youtube videos made by other people, the Stihl video is not helpful, and the instructions with the tool are pretty useless to a rank novice. But once you figure out the method, it's easy as can be.
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the best engineered product on the market I've been using this sharpener for six weeks now what a great product! A bit pricey but well worth the Money So easy to use once you get the hang of it. I sharpen at the end of each day two or three strokes and she's ready to go back to work!! Love the sharp chain!!!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OMG.... No more dull saws for me I can't believe how easy this sharpener is to use. The pictograph on the sharpener shows you how to do it. 3 or 4 stokes on each tooth and you've sharpened that AND cut the rakes to the correct height. It's that simple. With my 20" bar on my 291 it's like a 5 minute job to touch it up before every job. Now I always have a sharp saw. As time goes on, the files are replaceable too!
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Legit These 2-in-1 filing guides are the real deal. I can clean up a chain in 1/2 the time it takes with standard hand files & depth gauge. My favorite part is that it's one unit vs. 3 separate pieces easily lost in the woods (round file w/ guide, flat file, depth gauge). Also impressive: the files inside the unit are easily replaceable.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puts the Dremel to shame. This is a great system. I used a Dremel for the last five years with good results but wanted something for the field. The results are superior to the dremel. I remove the raker file every other sharpening and it seems to be the right recipe. Could not be happier with this purchase. So fast and easy.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I bought one sooner Works great I recommend watching the video on YouTube first. It worked great on a chain that had come in contact with the ground. Big chips are flying again you won't regret buying one
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i quit using my electric chain grinder i bought one for my 3/8 chain and tried using the 2n1 and i took my chain grinder off the bench and will get rid of it soon . the 2n1 sharpens a chain in less than 5 minutes without the heat the grinder puts on the cutters . i have since then bought one for my 325 chain . i also have the timberline sharpener and the granberg file n guide and prefer the 2n1 over all the others
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As good as advertised The 2 in 1 Filing Guide is by far the best "home" chain sharpening tool I've used in over 40 years of chainsaw use. I seldom use the commercial sharpening people any more. I have two guides, one each for the 3/8"and the 0.325" chains. Yes, they are a bit pricey, but when you pretty much remove the commercial sharpening, the tools pay off in short order. There is also a convenience factor here-5 to ten minutes and you are back in business. A bit of a down side is that I agree with reviewer Winston that you need a bench vise or for use in the woods, the Stump Vise. This allows use of both hands to move the guide across the chain. I tried to use one hand to hold the bar and the other to move the guide and did not get the quality sharpening that the tool is capable of. I mounted a small bench vise on a 2X8 board to clamp the saw bar. Also, I try to keep the chains pretty sharp and only make two or three strokes with the file. This relatively small amount of filing will not remove too much of the depth gauges as some reviewers have noted. I try to sharpen the chains after one or two tanks of fuel depending on the cutting conditions. Great tool.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 in one sharpener There is a small learning curve to this device, but is is simple to master. Proper setup is very important. A bench vise or a stump vise is required. Then follow the directions printed on the sheet. Watch and maintain your angles and you'll have it. I reckon I'll have to go through about two chains, plus time saved, to recover my cost. In terms of efficiency and time saved it definitely passes the Cheap Pete(that's me)value for the money test.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chain sharpening made simple I've been sharpening saw chains for nearly fifty years--have sharpened by hand and by using a variety of tools. The Stihl 2 in 1 is the best product I've come across so far. The guide directs the filer regarding the perfect angle for the tooth and the drags are automatically lowered the perfect depth. I have one for every size chain I use.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so good I bought one of these files as I heard so much about them so every time you sharpen your chain you sharpen the depth gauge so now after sharpening the chain 4 or 5 times the depth gauge is well below the chain so I'm not so sure about it you know it when your cutting timber the depth gauge is supposed to protect the chain not be below it.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, simple This tool was easy to use and simple to figure out. The end product was better then I had hoped for. Made fast easy work of sharpening a chain in rough shape. I would say it is definitely worth the money.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from for newbies I am beyond impressed with this tool. I've had a chainsaw for many years and may use one every other year or so. Every time I try to sharpen it I screw it up and end up taking it in to have the dealer sharpen it. This fixes that issue. The rake depth is perfect, blades are sharp and uniform, all in one. I'll have no more issues of a bad cutting saw at the hunting lease, 10 min and it will be like new. Thanks stihl.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sharpening tool invented! Been running saws and hand sharpening my chains for over 14 years. I hate dull chains cause they cause you so much more work. I am very good at getting my chains super sharp with the standard file, but this tool makes it soo much easier to get your chain sharp fast without ever needing to separately file your depth guides not to mention its easier on your hands. :)
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I think it is the only sharpening tool you need for a chainsaw. Wish I had one earlier.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great item I was very impressed with the very first cutting chisel I sharpened on my ms201t I would recommend this to anybody
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product. This sharpener is amazingly easy to use and sharpens your blade like new in minutes.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best! I have been sharpening my own chains for years and I have to say that this is simply the best system ever devised to properly sharpen and maintain my chains. Finally someone has taken all the guesswork out of a tedious and often nerve-wracking chore - simple and easy to use - way to go Stihl!
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Incredible Stihl Product I recently purchsed two of these file guides. One for my .325 pitch chains (used on MS 260) and the second for my 3/8" pitch chains (used on my MS 660). After having used both guides I was completely impressed. Not only were the file guides easy to use, but they were incredibly effective. They took a blade that was dulled by some dirty wood and made it factory sharp again, with little effort or TIME. I was back to cutting in less than ten minutes. These tools will pay for themselves in no time and I was really impressed with the ability to replace the files when they are no longer good, without having to purchase a whole new setup. Thanks again STIHL for another incredible product.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it buy it Now I have just started cutting wood for the fun off it to help family. I was using the HF grinder and was not happy.Bought this thing and man it best thing ever. Buy one take it from me it looks like Iam making match sticks with my MS 290 20in.
Date published: 2015-11-11
  • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_2in1file, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl