MS 170 - $179.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
16 in. Bar

DSRP: $179.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A lightweight chainsaw designed for woodcutting tasks around the home.

Looking for a compact, occasional use chainsaw? Homeowners, look no further. Complete with the same design features the professionals depend on, the MS 170 is lightweight with just the right amount of power— perfect for residential cutting and trimming of small trees, firewood or storm clean up.
Print Spec Sheets
MS 170 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 30.1 cc (1.8 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.3 kW (1.7 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 3.9 kg (8.6 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 250 cc (8.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 145 cc (4.9 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PMM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Mini
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 008 3913 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Ematic™ Lubrication System
    The Ematic™ guide bar, when used with STIHL OILOMATIC® saw chain, will provide proper lubrication and less oil consumption than conventional methods. The system works because two ramps, strategically placed in the guide bar rail, help contain the flow of oil and direct all lubrication to the sliding faces of the bar and chain links as well as the rivets and driver holes, which in turn can reduce bar oil consumption up to 50%.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Deputy Glasses Zoom
    Deputy Glasses

    Tough protection that also looks the part. The STIHL Deputy Glasses meet ANSI standard Z87.1+ and feature both protection and style. The lenses are a scratch-resistant polycarbonate that block out 99.9% of the sun’s harmful UV rays. They are also comfortable to wear, featuring a soft rubber nosepiece and dual-mold rubber temples that helps to keep the glasses in place when the head is in motion. Stop by our Dealership to check out these and other great protective eyewear styles. Shown in Brown Frame / Brown Mirror Lens. Available lens colors (Black Frame): Blue Mirror, Smoke (Brown Frame): Brown Mirror


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 170 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 717.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk Bought this saw 2 weeks ago brand new they put gas in it along with bar and chain oil brought it home say it in my shed go to use it and there's a puddle of oil on top of my tool box start it up to cut a piece of wood shut it of now won't start and they won't do nothing about it.
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Decent for the price Have many Stihl products and they have always been durable and reliable. This chain saw so far, has been of equal reliability and durability.
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! Great little saw for beginners. A very light saw great for small logs and clean up.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I bought this because our old one was over 20 years old, it was a stihl as well and has been through bad days and back , I actually upgraded a bit with a bigger saw then before ,, lets see if we get another 20 years from this one as well Thank You Stihl for makeing a quality piece of equipment
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for light use. Bought this saw for light duty around the house work. Good for trim work along with small tree cutting up.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great chainsaw This is a great chainsaw that is lightweight and very durable. I have no problems with it and it starts every time.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw My previous saw was a Stihl 028 that was almost 20 yrs old. I sold it when I moved into town and didn't think I needed it anymore. I purchased a MS 170 because of the value and experience I'd had with my previous saw. It's a great saw and starts easily. It's also very efficient. It's a great saw for the average homeowner.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little saw I bought this saw to keep in the truck tool box 4 years ago . It small & lite and handles most small tasks well. I've fell cedar and cotton wood up to 24"with it but that's about max for it. I've had a few small problems such as the carburetor came loose causing it to suck air, starting hard and hardly run. Tightened the screws and back to work we went. Its not a big saw but does quite a bit of work for the size.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything you need for yardwork to getting firewood for heating Very happy with this chainsaw. I can cut trees up at least 48" in diameter and that's as thick as I feel comfortable cutting. My dad who has used different chainsaws enjoys this chainsaw.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the weight factor and the power I great friend had one and I used it quite a lot. I had to get my own so I was not a bother anymore. He taught me how to handle it safely and I am very pleased. I bought it at Clark Devon Hardware, the guy set it up, installed the chain etc, explained it all and started it up, showed the oil flow. Great job at Clark Devon!!!
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the Old Man My father is 88 years old and has been running saws since 1948. He is long past his logging days, but he still loves to carve his "Tikis" out of logs. The MS 170 is the perfect size for him to carve with. It's light weight and low vibration make it easy for him to control. The engine provides plenty of power to boot.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lightwork saw Bought this saw for work. Great for brush and small trees. Cuts like butter and so light. I'm in love with this saw
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! Got it for around the house stuff and has tackled every challenge thrown at it.....i have been using it in almond orchards now for about 2 weeks and its just like the little engine that could. Im looking to buy another stihl in a couple weeks. Might just buy another MS170.
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good chain saw It is an easy start, it stays running. I find it very easy to manuver and the cut is excellent.
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw Lots of power and easy to start. Lightweight starts easy.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Starts easy, cuts well, light weight, easy to use.Good saw for light work.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ms 170 Hard to start after one tank of gas. Carb had to be readjusted by dealer once already. I bought the 180 C BE with the easy start crank and thumb wheel chain adjust. MS 180 C BE is also hard to start but easier on the arms. The cost of two saws is a bigger saw that is better.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thought I was buying top of the line I thought these were supposed to be the best of the best and I have literally hundreds of trees to cut down. Unfortunately I have had a few problems which bomgaars where I bought it hasn't helped a whole lot. I've had issues with it starting... brand new and last night the chain oil cap popped off three times in about an hour the last time it came off I could t even find it so I went back to where I bought it and had to buy another cap for a brand new chainsaw because they said it may have been a faulty cap??? Then I google it and it seems many people have this issue? It would be nice if the cord at least held the cap to the saw but it manages to fall out so it becomes a scavenger hunt on top of it!! Ugh I just need something I can keep moving and cutting with so I can finish this project!!!
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good small saw The saw starts easy and performs well. It is light weight and easy to maintain.
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 170 Great little saw when used for what it was designed to do. Light weight, plenty of power, and easy to use. I've used Stihl products since 1983, they all have given me outstanding service!
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chain saw, starts easily, cuts really good, best performing chain saw I have ever owned. Great chain saw, starts easily, cuts really good, best performing chain saw I have ever owned.
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Beginner Chain Saw We needed a basic chain saw to cut some railroad ties. We found this model on sale at Hill Country Outdoor Power near Austin Texas. The gentleman who assisted us knew we were new to chain saw and from the city. He was very helpful in explaining in do's and don'ts. Showed us some tips. He made sure it worked. And when we got home, used it, and it cut the logs like butter. We'll use in in the fall to trim our trees. Pretty solid product. My neighbor was jealous though.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush popper ... As described this saw is a great all around brush and small diameter tree saw. It runs well as a new saw should! Not intended for lumberjack work ... thanks. jfcox
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied customer! This is a great little saw, starts easy, runs great.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lasted two days... Bought this to cut up some firewood occasionally. Used it the day i bought it for about an hour. Next day wouldn't start. Took it back to where I bought it the repair guy there had no clue what was wrong with it or how to fix it, had to exchange my saw and send mine out to stihl. Can't believe a chain saw would only last two days and have to be went out to stihl. I am disappointed in this product immensely. Hopefully the one I have now lasts more than this one.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw at great price. This chainsaw is a real pleasure to work with. The weight is just right and it does an outstanding job on all types of wood.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from won't even crank - several things wrong out of the box Has not cranked since I brought it home new from the store. I thought you guys prided yourself on quality? New out of the box this product was in horrible shape. Chain so loose the dealer had difficulty tightening it. Handle appears loose and weak. At the store even the plastic cover on the blade was broken and I had to beg the dealer for a new one. This is the worst buying experience in years.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl Products are the best! I needed a good saw for a medium size tree that fell during a storm. I decided to go with something good to have for future use and mabee some tree work for friends and family. I decided to buy the MS170 and I was not disappointed. All the best saws I have ever used were Stihls. I love Stihl products and have been a Stihl fan for a long time and I have tried a lot of brands as I used to work for a lawn care company for 4 years and Stihl was always the best. I am very happy with this saw and plan on buying everything I can from Stihl.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! Easy to handle. Easy to start and maintain. Well balanced for ease of use. A little on the weak end of the power spectrum, but to be expected for the model and size. Great value and quality for a home use saw.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been educated! I've owned a lot of chainsaws in the past but never a STIHL. After using this, I'll never own another brand again. What a difference.
Date published: 2017-06-15
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_717
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms170, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl