MS 171 - $199.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
16 in. Bar

DSRP: $199.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A lightweight, fuel-efficient chainsaw with reduced-emission engine technology.

As part of the lightweight generation of STIHL chainsaws, the MS 171 features reduced-emission engine technology — an advantage for the user because it reduces fuel consumption while reducing exhaust emissions. This innovative chainsaw is just right for homeowners who need to cut firewood, fell small trees or do clean up.
Print Spec Sheets
MS 171 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 31.8 cc (1.94 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.3 kW (1.7 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.3 kg (9.5 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 280 cc (9.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 180 cc (6.1 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PMM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 000 3913 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Translucent Fuel Tank
    Allows operator to easily check fuel level before starting work.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Zip Chap Zoom
    Woodcutter Zip Chap
    Using rows of heavy-duty zippers, the Woodcutter Series Zip Chaps provide full wrap-around protection for a user’s lower leg area. In addition to enhanced protection, these chaps also provide enhanced convenience. Rows of zippers run along the entire inseam of the chaps, helping to ensure an effective fit that is easy to put on and/or remove. The outer material is crafted from heavy-duty Black 500 denier nylon fabric. Inside, the chap features six layers of Avertec® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material, designed to reduce the risk or severity of injury to body parts in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Blue Mirror Glasses Zoom
    Blue Mirror Glasses
    The Blue Mirror Glasses from STIHL offer 99% UV protection and meet ANSI standard Z87.1+. And it does it in striking blue style. The soft nose pads deliver all-day comfort, while its polycarbonate, impact-resistant lenses are designed for tough jobsite work. They’re lightweight, but pack serious styling. Come see these and all our protective eyewear today at our Dealership showroom.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 171 is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 124.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Extra light duty!!! For the novice only!!! Let me start by saying I have used chainsaws for over 40 years, I am no novice. This saw is as expected from Sthil, a very well put together power head, starts easy (hot or cold) has great ergonomics, very lightweight and easy to handle. Everything I looked for. I have a large model for felling and cutting to length,but the older I get it has become too heavy for limbing. I bought the MS171 for that purpose. It has not preformed as expected. The chain will not stay adjusted nor will it stay sharp. I have taken it back to the authorized dealer to be checked out to no avail. Next step is to modify an aftermarket bar and chain to make it preform as it should. For that reason I have to give the saw low marks.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good Used twice, both times a lot of cutting of small trees and saw performed well. Suggest to buy chain sharpening kit, as chain became dull after all of the cutting. Easy to re-sharpen chain, took less than ten minutes and chain was sharp again. Have all Stihl lawn support equipment and I am very satisfied with their performance as well.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight with plenty of power I am a first time stihl chainsaw buy and i love it easy starting with plenty of power. The price was great and i will recommend this saw to anyone.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love my ms171 the saw is good and light to use amd great to use to cutting firewood
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great saw at a big box store price Bought this saw 2 years and about 6 gallons of fuel ago as a limber saw to relieve the ms291 from light duty work. Well, the ms171 as been used a lot where the bigger saw should of been used(didn't feel like cleaning two saws). I can go on for awhile about how great this saw is. The biggest reason for this review is for the folks looking at a big box store saw, this saw is worth the very few extra dollars over the big box store chainsaw. I have had them saws and you will not regret buying one of these. Great power, very light, easy on fuel and my wife doesn't mind using this saw. Happy wife, happy life!p.s. we heat our home with wood, so poor performing saws are no longer tolerated.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the ms171 is a great chainsaw for the price we bought our home 11 years ago, there are 3 old massive mulberry trees on the property that need to be pruned every September, the job is JY normus due to the size and age of the trees, I have bought 4 saws (counting the stihl I got a week ago) since I've lived here, I always thought stihl was one of the better brands, but for whatever reason assumed they were to expensive since I only needed it once a year, but last week decided to get the ms171 because the other 3 saws I have used were all worthless chainsaws that lasted about a year (if that!!) I was surprised when I saw the price at the stihl dealer, it's actually not the most expensive on the list of the 4!!!!!! and the performance is amazing, easy to start, powerful, and so on... stihl makes a great saw, I just wish I had got one years ago. thanks stihl
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works very well once it gets started. From cold start it is difficult to start As per the instructions when starting from a cold start I find that the choke should be on for at most one or two pulls before switching ti off. If you continue with choke, it floods very rapidly. Nothing about this in the directions in the owner's manuel. Once started up, it does a fine job.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great on fuel, amazing limbing and brush saw I run a small excavation/tree service, and the first day this saw got used, it was ran 9hrs, getting shut off only for fuel and lunch. Ran all day on less than a third gallon of fuel. I allways run Stihl Platinum 2-stroke oil, and Stihl Woodcutter bar oil. I own 7 Stihl chainsaws, and the all get used heavily. These saws are a BARGAIN for what you pay, compared to how much they do, and how long they last. I will be buying a second one very shortly, because my guys love that saw! Extremely light, and efficient.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It broke the first day. Oiler quit working. Bar warped and has no power. I am completely unsatisfied with this product. I plan on returning it and I'm certain they will make it right.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality for a Stihl Worked well for a while and then lost power.My older Stihl saw is much better quality.Last time I went to Ace hardware where I bought it they said they don't carry Still anymore.Sad that Stihl will probably not be my next chainsaw.I probably toss the little junker in the trash.Not worth the time and effort waste more money on it.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lighter weight, powerful saw I bought this to supplement another 50cc saw that I love, but it gets heavy after hours of use. This saw has really impressive power for it's light er weight and size. The sales guy told me it was a little harder to start, but i had no issues. Starts right up with a couple of pulls. I was concerned about the 'tool less" chain adjustment of the more expensive models, and really like to keep things simple, lees to break or loosen. Love it
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the job Used saw to cut trees into fireplace lengths. Did the job quite well. Only complaint is that at times it starts 'hard' when it is hot. But not all the time. Just have to wonder why now and then. But it did always start.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dependability,Durability, & Easy Handling ! Exactly what I needed... Grrrrreat! Perfect size for around the house. The price was right too.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works really well so far I have had the saw 2 weeks and have used it 8 times. Have not had starting problems when I followed the directions. Using 91 octain regular gas. If I push the choke lever all the way down and pull till it sputters and then lift the lever up a notch it starts very nicely. It is very light and cuts very well. I am a begenning carver and the chain cuts well and tends not to kickback. I will follow up if I have any problems. The dealer service has been excellent.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for price Rips through what's needed. Great saw for the price! Easy to use and very light.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from MS 171 Started out being a great saw. It cut the wood with ease. Then after using it a few months it started to loose power. Turned out the motors pistons somehow got scarred. Luckily I bought the oil that gives it another year worth of warranty. Well worth it.On the second engine and having the same loss of power.Saw is light weight and great out of the box but longevity not worth the hassle.The chains dont last long.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MS171 Chain Saw quality is not good I just bought the save 7/23/2016 and already having problems. I ran it less than 25 minutes and the chain loosen which is kind of sad. There are reviews on here about the quality of the chain not being that good and they are right. I figure no problem I would loosen the nut that holds the blade so I could tighten the chain. The whole stud wanted to come out not just the nut. The blade was even stuck to the stud. I had a hard time trying to get the blade to go back in it place. I got everything back together. Since this was a dude on the start that means it will be a problem saw. I am hoping to get a refund and go buy a competitors saw. This saw was replacing a small saw of the same size that had gave up it fight. That saw came out the box with no problems and the chain did not loosen in less than 25 minutes. I would like to give ms171 a negative number of stars but that is not available. I hate to give a negative review I would rather leave a positive review. I bought a larger Stihl last year. It is a better grade than this one. But even the larger Stihl is not like the old 041 Farm Boss that I inherited.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Works like a champ, handles great, love the features. Good saw for around the yard.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit underpowered for trees over 6" Nice features, easy starting, easy to use safety brake feature, but a bit underpowered for a little larger trees. Would recommend stepping up to a higher powered farm saw.
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 171 good lil saw does what i need it too have had no problems good power
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great chainsaw This is my first Stihl. What a great tool. Dependable and durable. I have used it around the farm clearing fencelines and brush with no problems.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Awesome saw for around the home. I have used this saw to help heat my home this past year. I should have bought the next size up, but have no complaints. It definitely did the job.
Date published: 2016-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight and tons of power - very reliable I have used this saw to cut down several trees in the 4-6inch size without issue. It has fired up every time I needed it, and ran particularly well in cold weather. I find the light weight is awesome for getting the job done. I am extremely pleased with this saw and am glad I chose to go with it. I really cannot emphasize enough how solidly built this saw is, it has handled everything I have thrown at it with ease.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this product is junk Not satisfied, wouldn't purchase this product ever again. I have purchased several stihil chainsaws when you moved to plastic components the saw is now junk. I am working more on maintaining the saw instead of the work at hand. "Unsatisfactory"
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good occassional use saw I purchased this saw to replace a 15 year old Echo that was used for trimming trees and cutting small firewood. I recommend the saw because it works as advertised and as my local dealer told me it would, specifically as a recreational saw. My dealer told me not to run more than a single tank of gas through it per day because he has seen guys burn out this saw in under one month. A full tank of gas is literally 10-15mins of cutting, so don't plan on managing any medium sized project with the saw. I did not upgrade to the yellow chain as recommended by some.A few comments on topics mentioned by others in the reviews:Power: it is as advertised. About the same as my small Echo and it definitely won't blow you away, but Stihl doesn't claim it will.Fuel Efficiency: The saw is very thirsty -- this is the first saw I've owned with the new emissions control hardware, so perhaps that has something to do with it. Single tank of gas lasts maybe 15 mins.Starting: yes, this saw can be a bear to get started. I've learned a few tricks with mine - like number of pulls at each choke level -- when to lock throttle and when to pull when in run mode. This has helped a lot with starting and I suggest taking some notes on the sequence/s you use when attempting to start your saw. Plastic: yes, lots of plastic and it does feel somewhat flimsy compared to even to my old cheap Echo. That said, it doesn't seem to impact performance and the saw is quite light and easy to handle.Overall I recommend the saw, but if you are going to be using only rarely it is probably much cheaper to buy a different brand from a big box store.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tricks or hacks to get ur saw to peak performance quickly and easily There is a break in time with any engine and with my saw it was about 5 hours total use.. If ur saw dies when u try to hit the throttle when u first get it set loosen the chain slightly let it run with the chain break on at half choke an extra 30 seconds or so por a few drops of oil along the chain at this point. Now try to run the saw run it for about 20 or 30 minutes at full throttle preferably through rounds of 12 to 14inches. Shut down let cool adjust chain run again for30 minutes doing this 5 to 10 times should break in the engine. For cutting through thicker harder stuff sharpen the chain at about 20 degree angle it makes for smother cutting easier cuts at the saw stays sharper longer... A 30 degree angle is great for stronger saws but it's just to great an angle for the power of this saw... I've used my saw to cut 36 inch maple rounds had to use a wedge to break the center 4 inches left. Happy cutting
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very tough saw I just bought this saw and have used it to clear land. this saw is very dependable and very tough. I cut down a 2 foot willow tree and it fell on the chainsaw we took a skid steer and moved the tree and the saw was just fine I love this saw it is a little under powered so I recommend putting a 14 inch bar the 16 in is just a little under powered.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome chainsaw! Purchased for cutting up downed limbs for my landscaping company. It has handled cutting down small trees, clearing alley overgrowth, and large downed limbs. All with ease.I will say that the stock chain that comes with the saw dulls very quickly.Overall this saw is a gem!
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from used it for everything I bought this saw three months ago for a small tree cutting service I run. So far I have used this saw to cut a red oak from the top down, I have cut down about a dozen dead trees with it and often used it to limb. the saw AV is great, and the weight and power ratio are good. the saw is easily maintainable by anyone and the 14 inch bar is great for tight spaces. this saw has earned a place next to my larger saws.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cutting ability I was able to cut three fruit trees which were sick within a matter of minutes. The cutting ability of this MS171 was great and I had plenty of power.
Date published: 2015-11-09
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_124
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms171, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl