MS 180 - $199.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
16 in. Bar

DSRP: $199.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

This lightweight chainsaw features excellent air filtration, enhanced engine cooling and redesigned engine shroud.

The MS 180 chainsaw features improved air flow and shroud design, giving you more consistent performance in the field. Expect better engine cooling and air filtration while you make quick work of trimming branches, cutting small trees and clearing fallen limbs after a storm. If you’re looking for a reliable, light-duty chainsaw for occasional use, the MS 180 is a solid choice. See it for yourself ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 180 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 31.9 cc (1.9 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.5 kW (2.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.1 kg (9.0 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 250 cc (8.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 145 cc (4.9 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PMM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Narrow Kerf
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 008 3913 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Black Work Glasses Zoom
    Black Work Glasses

    The STIHL Black Work Glasses feature a scratch-resistant polycarbonate lens and flexible, ventilated, straight-back temples. They block out 99.9% of the sun’s harmful UV rays and offer a sleek style that looks great in any work environment. They’re also comfortable and feature rubber-tipped temples to help keep them in place while the head is in motion. Check out these and other stylish protective eyewear at our Dealership. Shown with Black Frame / Grey Lens. Available lens colors: Blue Mirror, Grey, Silver Mirror.


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 180 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 103.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not durable and hard to get serviced When first purchased, it worked fine for yard cleanup and firewood. That said it is the least reliable power tool I have ever owned and service has proven almost impossible. I have maybe two hours total run time on this unit. In September when I tried to start it, something in the starter assembly snapped and the recoil no longer engages. That's bad enough. When I took it to the dealer, it sat for six weeks waiting for parts, with no estimate on when they might arrive. I finally took it back still broken. I'm hoping another dealer might have a part in stock. If not, I'm just going to cut my losses, sell it for parts and move on. A saw that is down for an entire season after a few cuts is useless. I love the splitting maul I got from Stihl but I am so far thoroughly unimpressed with their chainsaws.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw Very reliable. Easy to use. I got the spring start and it works great. Recommended purchase.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! Best chainsaw I've ever had Light, strong, reliable...and everything else!
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not recommended at this time Purchased the MS-180 last week and went to use it this weekend on tree trimming. It was filled with gas mixture, oil, and they said started at my ACE store. I was not present. Note owned a wood boss and have used a Stihl for over 30 years...followed the starting instructions and no light off. Tried to pull the plug to check for fuel and it is torqued in there! Used my 3/4" socket set and could not get it to move. I am taking it back to the dealership for them to trouble shoot and I want them to pull the plug...will go from there.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased After 45+ years of owning Stihl pro saws for logging I bought a 180 for the home.Price was what caught my eye plus the 2 yr. coverage.while I use it for limbs mostly I have fell several 12/14" white pine trees and was very impressed with the power.It feels so light in the hand but really cuts like a bigger saw.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start, lot's of power for a small saw! I bought the MS-180 with easy adjust chain bar over 6 years ago. I love the saw, I gave it a work out cutting way larger trees than maybe I should have. I am on the first bar, and have replaced the chain many times as they do wear out. Just today I have noticed after i put on a new chain, that I did not have the power that I had before, I changed the air filter- which did not help. A friend check the compression, and said it should be a lot higher, so I suppose the motor needs to be rebuilt. Here is where the rubber meets the road, will it cost more to rebuild, or should I just buy another saw? Yes I would buy another, if the repair costs too much.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product packs a bigger punch than its size Really good chainsaw. After first use, I had to return chainsaw to the dealer due to missing sprocket snap ring. Beside that, this has proven to be a good purchase. I have recommended others to purchase a STIHL chainsaw.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from POSitivly Negative I wish I hadn't purchased this product. under Duress After Hurricane Irma.. Had trouble starting from the get go. Took it back to the Ace Hardware were I purchased it but was informed that there was no returns on Hurricane related items. by The "Helpful Hardware Guys". They took it back in their shop and after five minutes or so said ":It "s starting now. They" never showed me W hat T he F unction I failed to misunderstand. . Before going back to the point of purchase I went on the Web to try to figure it out. Submitted a review that was Kicked Back . So now doubly disappointed. Would rather have had someone contact me to try to resolve the starting issue. Don't expect this review to make thru either. Still considering contacting Am Ex for a resolution. Print it or not I'm still unsatisfied
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight but big enoughto do large projects I am very pleased with the features of my MS 180. I would encourage all dealers to tell people about the starting features of the saw because it is important!! I pulled the rope like old chainsaws and broke the rope with less than 5 hours of operation.
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trim saw Perfect trim saw lightweight nimble in the field and everyone in the family can crank it.
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little saw for the money I bought this for small clean up and to cut up tree limbs. Great little saw that is very ergonomic and light weight. Very good usable power!
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. I just got started w/ this saw. It starts easily, runs smoothly and is comfortable to handle. I'm a home user, so I won't perform a lot of, or very heavy cutting. The MS 180 is a perfect choice for my usage. I expect it to last a lifetime w/ proper maintenance!
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 180 for hurricane debris removal Bought my new MS180 from my local ACE when my older saw refused to run. It started the first time, the second time and every time thereafter. It had enough power and dependability to facilitate removal of debris left by hurricane Irma. It seemed to slice through six and eight inch fallen branches better than my brother's saw, which was also brand new. I would recommend that anyone on the fence about whether or not to buy a Stihl, get off the the fence and get one. You won't regret it. I don't.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great saw This is a great saw. I only wish I could have got an 18 or 20 inch bar for the price
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Start This saw has an easy start up. Chain is very sharp. Light weight and easy to handle.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It starts when you pull the rope As with all of my Still products it works extremely well. I have made the mistake of purchasing other brands in the past, but never again it is only Still for me.My Leaf Blower, Trimmer and now Chainsaw is all and only Still. By far the best and the price is more than competitive for what you get.It sure was a benefit buying 10 days before Hurricane Irma hit, it got put to good use!
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great starter saw for some who is just starting out. The saw is light but powerful. It is a great starter saw, as my two boys are helping with cutting and trimming.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs and cuts great I bought my first stihl (029 Farm Boss) about 20 years ago after seeing my dad run his (028 Wood Boss) for so many years problem free. After about 30+ years he has finally started needed a couple of minor things. With the experiences we have had with our saws, it's hard to break away from a brand you have always trusted. I needed something lighter for occasional use and decided on the ms-180. I took it out this past weekend. I am taking out a lot of trees with a diameter no larger than 8 inches. This saw performed very well and took trees down quick. It showed no signs of struggle at all. We will see how well it holds up as time goes on. After running it for a few hours, it was nice to actually not have a sore back and or feeling beat up. If you are looking for a saw that falls within this saws features I would say go for it.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little saw for the money This saw is easy to start and handle. I had to remove a few pine trees about 10-12 wide and the saw cut through without issue. I have had excellent success with other Stihl products which is why I made the purchase. I recommend this saw!
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wouldn't start..supposedly flooded but procedure to resolve didn't work. First time trying to start the product was not successful. I followed the instruction booklet (assuming the saw was flooded) and removed the spark plug, dried it off and pulled the starter cord as instructed. Put it back together and it still wouldn't start. I had to take it back to the store where the service person took it outside and said it was flooded. He told me not to try to start the saw cold more than three pulls of the starter cord before moving the switch to the warm start setting. He then put his foot so that he held down the saw and simultaneously pushed the speed control with the top of his shoe. It finally started. When I took it home, it did start but I am not convinced that it will start properly in the future. Withholding final judgement until I use it a bit more.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little saw. I wish I was able to afford a bigger one. My intent was to buy a larger saw from a competitor but was willing to accept a smaller saw in order to have a brand that will last.
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts easily everytime. Great saw. Cuts wood easily and quickly. Had to sharpen chain already, because I cut down several trees. Still cuts great too.
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product It's light, easy to use and reliable I would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. I needed a chain saw that could get into small places. I am trimming down bushes that have overgrown the area. The MS 180 did the job.
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! It starts reliably, it is light, but powerful enough for casual use.
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The quick easy start works for about 5 times. Then breaks. Works great for about half hour. Then to the shop. Would not buy another. The easy start breaks all the time. Can use for about half hour then to the shop. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 180 - great saw! I graduated from a smaller, lesser chainsaw to a Stihl. Couldn't be happier with this saw.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a saw This was quite a shock that this ms180 would be such a great saw
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for the money This is a great chainsaw for the money. If you need a dependable chainsaw for projects around the yard, you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% satisfied I'm 109# female and this chainsaw is easy to start and handle!I had my first one stolen so replaced it with the same because it is such a great saw
Date published: 2017-07-12
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_103
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms180, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl