MS 180 - $199.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
16 in. Bar

DSRP: $199.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

This lightweight chainsaw features excellent air filtration, enhanced engine cooling and redesigned engine shroud.

The MS 180 chainsaw features improved air flow and shroud design, giving you more consistent performance in the field. Expect better engine cooling and air filtration while you make quick work of trimming branches, cutting small trees and clearing fallen limbs after a storm. If you’re looking for a reliable, light-duty chainsaw for occasional use, the MS 180 is a solid choice. See it for yourself ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 180 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 31.9 cc (1.9 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.5 kW (2.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.1 kg (9.0 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 250 cc (8.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 145 cc (4.9 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PMM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Narrow Kerf
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 008 3913 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Black Work Glasses Zoom
    Black Work Glasses

    The STIHL Black Work Glasses feature a scratch-resistant polycarbonate lens and flexible, ventilated, straight-back temples. They block out 99.9% of the sun’s harmful UV rays and offer a sleek style that looks great in any work environment. They’re also comfortable and feature rubber-tipped temples to help keep them in place while the head is in motion. Check out these and other stylish protective eyewear at our Dealership. Shown with Black Frame / Grey Lens. Available lens colors: Blue Mirror, Grey, Silver Mirror.


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 180 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 103.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for small jobs! Easy on wallet I rarely use a chainsaw, but when I do I need a good one to back me up. This one is a good one for a great value. I will upgrade to bigger one but its better than the 170 for a few extra bucks.Does use ALOT of bar oil and mix. Prepare to refill and refill and refill
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from complete gargage.nothing good to say. I bought this product to support made is the USA.Well,it was a huge mistake.Do not waste your money on this garbage product from stiel.I used this chainsaw twice,It has no power,It does not start.Complet Junk.I took it back to the dealer after the second time I used it because it would not start.The only thing this chainsaw is good for is to cut 1 inch limbs off a tree.Anything more than that,It's way too much for this cheap saw to go through.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw is very easy to start and use is light compared to other saws that I have used., A very good saw, This is a very well built saw. Easy to use, starts easily and no vibration,
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goods The saw is lite easy start runs good the dealer was nice gave me a free chain with saw free tank of gas and chain oil I love the saw. I used to buy poulan saws and have to buy a new one every year they only last after one winter
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the features I wanted. Gives me the saw for my 10 acres that lets me do my chores instead of fixing chainsaws
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easily Flooded at Startup I love the saw once I get it started, but it has a tendancy to flood if the correct starting sequence is not followed exactly. If that happens, you need to remove the spark plug and pull the cord to turn it over several times to remove any excess gas that has built up within the cylinder, then re-install the plug. Other than that, I am completely satisfied with this saw and I enjoy how it cuts through wood like butter!
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad design I had the 180 and in 2 hours it went thru 3 tanks of bar oil. I returned to store but they wanted to send to repair. On a saw i owned 3 hours.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strong and easy to operate, some odd controls The saw was well prepared to go right from the store. Within minutes of getting home I was cutting up limbs and taking down scrub trees. This is a small tree cutter and not a lumberjack tool. Use it for dead limbs and small trees and be happy forever.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love this saw bought this saw for home use and its exceeded my expectations. from cutting brush to small trees this thing gets it done .
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very dependable Still has to be the most reliable brand out there I have never once pulled a still start rope and it not started
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start So easy to start with the easy start system. Got upgraded to the carbide blade, should stay sharp for a long time, cut 7-8 (not too big) trees. Like butter.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for my needs of light weight trimming and cutting around our camp up north WE don't heat or cook with wood anymore but there is always a need to clear brush and dead fall around camp. The MS-180 suits my needs with ease of use, easy starting and dependability.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! Easy to start and fast cutting. Gas and chain oil have good fill ports that are easy to get to and love the keeper caps that can't fall away or get lost. Chain tension is really easy to adjust, not like old saws where bar and chain were loosened to such a point as to be always needing adjusted.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great small job saw Great unit for the money had to clear a large dead oak friom an adjoining property. No oroblem whatsoever. I will get a beefier chain but that's the chain not the saw
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok saw... not completely satisfied I decided to buy this saw over the ms170 due to more power, but i am disappointed in the engine's power. The chain is nice and sharp but the engine bogs easily even on 3" limbs. I recently bought a ms271 farm boss and I am very impressed by it. I wanted a small saw to pair with the 271 for small jobs and I am disappointed with the ms180. For the price i figured it would be as good of quality as the 271 farm boss but the ms180 is very cheaply made and underpowered. My old cheap competitor saw beats the ms180 by far power wise with the same weight and bar size. Disappointed in this, I should have bought the ms211 instead.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great when it starts When it starts, it works great. When it is warm it is difficult to impossible to start. I've taken it back to the dealer twice. The first person told me it was flooded and he did get it to start but it took awhile. The second time another person told me the procedure that I needed to do to get it started. This advice has not worked well. I've used chainsaws for over 50 years and this saw is by far the worst to start when is warm.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect tool for home maintenance This saw starts easily and reliably every time. Easy to refuel and oil. It replaced a 25 yr old saw and I regret not making that switch sooner.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Starts great, runs well, underpowered This saw is for small trees as in six inch diameter or less. It is under powered for anything bigger unless you have awhile to make the cuts. In my opinion a 10 inch chain would have been better for this saw. The saw does start easily and runs good. Overall I'm really not impressed with it. The saw I replaced was a another brand which out performs this one for half the price.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to be back with Stihl After another brand, I returned to Stihl and find it easy to use and light weight. The tension adjustment mechanism is much better than any other I've ever used. Access to the fuel and oil caps are easy and the "tie" preventing the cap from disappearing is greatly appreciated.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Chainsaw! Hands down the best chainsaw I have ever purchased. I only wished I purchased one years ago.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first STIHL Chainsaw Like I said my first STIHL chainsaw but not my first chainsaw. I ended up with a STIHL from the local farm store after 3 days of fighting with a competitors brand chainsaw from a Lowe's. I came home with my first STIHL product and I must say I am impressed with the MS 180, the local farm store set it up at the store and gave me a 2-year warranty if I bought a six pack of 2 cycle oil. As soon as I returned home I put it to work and was even more impressed with the performance and wow it cut way better than the competitors brand of the same size. Huge difference and allot less work and it started every time I needed it. Yes, I spent a few bucks more for the STIHL like 30 dollars more but let me tell you it is the best extra 30 you'll ever spend.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely well built Excellent product for the money. I would recommend Stihl to anyone.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to start, but a good saw I originally was looking for the 'easy start' version of the MS180, but I couldn't find it anywhere. I think I see why. The MS180 is a great chain saw, but it can be tricky to start. Having said that, it was a good buy and I'm glad I have it. I just wish it was a little easier to get going.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought it for light use... until wind storm hit, thats when this saw cut wood like a bigger model Bought this saw for lighter use. A week after purchase.. a wind storm came through and tore up the forest behind our property. Took the MS 180 out and cut wood for 3 days straight and it performed like a much bigger saw!!! Some of my friends had a "competitors" brand, the Stihl simply blew them away!!!
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Throttle linkage issues Throttle freezes up after it warms up. Linkage to carb faulty. It's been to the dealer now twice in 3 tanks of gas. First Stihl saw and last. Waiting for a reply from the dealer like I'm not squeezing the trigger right.My 600 blower rocks though, and pole saw.No reason Stihl should embarrass themselves selling junk, just discontinue the model already!
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This chainsaw is great for beginners Easy to run, maintainable, can do any job around the house I highly recommend this chainsaw for the normal homeowner
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features. Like any and all Stihl products, this unit is dependable and has enough power to handle a lot around a medium wooded lot. Price is right for homeowners series and comes with Stihl quality.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Chain Saw Ever This is the worst product I have ever spent money on. And I do mean EVER! It wouldn't start the first time I needed to use it. Had to take it back to the dealership to get it working. By then it was too late to work on my project.The next time I needed to use it, it only worked for three minutes before the blade seized up. Once again, I had to give up on my project. The dealership is not open on the weekend, which is the only time I have for these projects.I was able to get the chain saw started recently, but the blade doesn't turn. I thought it was too tight, but the mechanism for loosing and tightening the blade stopped working. I tried to reseat the blade without success. Now it hangs loose with no way to tighten it.I will need to take it back to the dealership again. I don't have confidence it will work the next time I need to use it though, since it hasn't worked the last three times. Wish I could have returned it before the warranty, but I didn't need to use it for a while after I bought it.Since I bought this chain saw I have only been able to cut about an inch into the trunk of a tree before it stopped working. I had another chain saw that worked fine for 15 years. I was always able to do routine maintenance, sharpening and changing blades, etc. I always heard Stihl products were great. I am extremely disappointed.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good overall saw for home use Saw runs well after a year, have done quite a bit of work with it. Runs well, light, easy handling & cuts nice. Two issues, one oil leaks out when sitting, second is after refilling hot saw it sometimes keeps stalling out when trying to cut. Just in case you think it is me stalling it out due to inexperience, I am a professional forester with 35 years experience.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it Its a good saw and worth the money. I would suggest this over any other mini saw.
Date published: 2017-03-17
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_103
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms180, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl