MS 180 C-BE - $239.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
16 in. Bar

DSRP: $239.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

With the STIHL Easy2Start™ system and Quick Chain Adjuster, this high-tech chainsaw is unbelievably easy to use.

Similar to the MS 180 C-B, the STIHL MS 180 C-BE features the Easy2Start™ system, making this chainsaw virtually effortless to start. Perfect for cutting firewood or felling trees to 12 inches in diameter, it is a lightweight practical chainsaw with convenient features you can rely on.
Print Spec Sheets
MS 180 C-BE Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 31.8 cc (1.9 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.5 kW (2.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.2 kg (9.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 250 cc (8.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 145 cc (4.9 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PMM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Narrow Kerf
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 008 3913 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™ (E)
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL products easier. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • Two-Tone Sport Glasses Zoom
    Two-Tone Sport Glasses
    STIHL Two-Tone Sport Protective Glasses offer wrap-around protection in a sleek orange and white frame. They meet the ANSI Z87.1 standard and are available in two lens color options: Silver Mirror and Smoke. These protective glasses block out 99% of harmful UV rays and feature an adjustable rubber nosepiece that prevents slippage. The frame features straight-back temples and rubber temple tips. The lenses are made from optical-grade polycarbonate and are available in two lens color options.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 180 C-BE is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 383.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like this saw. I've had limited past exposure to chainsaws. Have used this one to remove two dead trees. Like the balance, starts easily, not too heavy. Could use a little more power - but this could keep me from getting in trouble.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw for light duty I purchased the saw for light yard work and occasional firewood cutting. I've only used it once and it performed well. Started easily and ran fine. It might be a bit underpowered, but works well for my needs.Planning on using it more this spring when I cut a rather large tree. We'll see how that goes and update my review as necessary.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Has to be babied to run This saw has to be started exactly right or it will flood. After it is running OK, it frequently will shut down for no reason. Also the starting rope and the pulling system is fragile, leading to frequent breaking of the pull rope. Stihl should offer both the MS 170 and the MS 180 saw in a non-easy start but still no tools version. At least the MS 170, if not the MS 180 also, used to be available in this version, which was more reliable with fewer service problems. Why was this discontinued?
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never has run right since bought new! I bought this saw brand new and it never has ran like it should. Once engine gets hot it shuts off and will not run. I have taken it to the dealer several times to repair but it still has the same issues. It has great power when it runs but like I said once it heats up it shuts down. I have always used Stihl saws but I am now looking into changing brands!
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good saw. Got this saw about a month ago, and so far I'm impressed with the power, durability and easy start on this. Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Extremely Underpowered even for a small saw Stihl is a quality saw and this one is no exception, my problem is I found it to be under powered. Even cutting 6 inch logs is would slow down if you put pressure on the bar. For no more often than I use a saw I can live with it. The good points far outweigh the bad !!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Light Saw Excellent saw overall but wishing I had bought the MS 251 C-BE instead. Always buy a bit more power than you think you need!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw for household chores As a beginner chainsaw owner I couldn't ask for anything easier to use. All features on this saw were well thought of. The saw has held up through the first month of use with ease. However, if you plan to cut a tree that is larger than about 10 inches, you'll want something a bit more powerful. Overall, very happy with purchase.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big bite in a small package I really enjoyed my new saw this weekend. It began with its first start up. A slight tug on the cord and it started immediately. We fell a 35’ pine, cut all the branches then cut the tree in 12” sections, then repeated on another 40’ pine. The saw cut like butter, we were done in no time. My old saw I would need breaks due to fatigue.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bought 2 only 1 is still working I bought two of these saws in 2015. Both of them were purchased with an extended warranty. BOTH had to go in for repairs in the first year (and they were not used for more than 10 tanks of gas). Only used for small trees (I have a 391 for big work). Very soon after the warranty was spent, one of the saws completely stopped working and the repair shop said it is shot. I used the same gas (non-ethanol) and spend the extra money for stihl oil. There is no way these saws should have needed repairs and stopped working within 2 years.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome This saw was my first chainsaw it was really good for a first chainsaw. The only problem is that it doesn't have enough power to cut firewood. Still it is a good limber and still cuts firewood for my business. Love it never had any other issues with it though.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to crank, lightweight and just the right amount of power. I have a Stihl weed eater and blower and could not be happier. I will stick to Stihl products rather than waste my money on "cheaper" products that don't perform.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed the easy start--works great with pre-mixed/higher octane fuel Getting old and have health limits so I needed a lighter and smaller saw and one that would start easily. Didn't find the mid-grade ethanol gas in California to run well in this machine and starting was an issue. Once I switched to the pre-mixed fuel it starts right away, every time, even at 4000 feet altitude. Expensive to run the canned pre-mix but it sure pays for itself in ease of use. Power is not great, but I'm probably just reacting to moving to a smaller saw and should not be unfair as I have nothing to compare it with. Very happy with the purchase as I am with every Stihl product I have used. Easy to fill the oil and fuel. I was honestly a little leary of how well the "easy pull" would be, but it is truly a blessing to be able to keep cutting at my age.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little saw I bought it for cleaning up around the property. Have ten acre woodlot that needs some attention. Smooth running, easy starting, lighter than the bigger models, but I should have really bought a larger saw for the diameter trees that I have down. But that's my fault and not the chainsaw.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice features in a lightweight saw As far as lightweight models go this is a good saw.The plusses:Very well made.Easy start works reliablyWell balancedThe minuses:The fuel and oil fillers are a little smallThe blade tension adjustment knob is too small for gloved handsOverall:I'm a fan. I wish I could justify buying another Stihl saw. It's nice to know that there are products that are made great.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use good product Ill had this ms180 for about 3 years always started buy 3rd pull cuts though anything i need it to cut i heat my home with wood so i use this saw alot as long as you have a sharp chain bar oil and mixed fuel your set. it will do what ever you want it to do
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard to start New saw.Hard to start & does not idle well........
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features This product has great features such as tool less chain adjustment, easy start and plenty of power
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Very good saw for a homeowner and very easy to start
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rookie User Purchase I am a rookie saw user, my dealer Dunn Hardware helped me understand my needs and directd me to a couple of options. I chose this saw because of my intermittent use , that benefits from its multiple features. I am confident that my purchase of a higher featured Stihl prevented me from needing to purchase two inexpensive / inferior lesser brands to last me a lifetime. Stihl keeps their local dealers educated and equipped....buy local ....its good for everyone....unapologetic business plug: Stihl Dealer Dunn Hardware Trafalgar, Indiana Rocks.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Comparing to Poulan - Struggles with Power & Tool-less Chain Tightening So-So I'm comparing this to a Poulan Pro 16" at less than half the cost. This Stihl struggles to go full throttle. Took it back the day I bought it and "tech" says that's all you'll get from it at full throttle. It basically sounds like it is grunting/lightly sputtering and that's what the tech said is normal. Therefore, it lacks what I'd expect to be full power. Also, I took a chance and bought the model with the "tool-less" chain tightening. Poulan model I have is terrible, won't hold chain tight. The Stihl system is much better, but the chain loosens sooner than I'd expect and not due to the chain stretching. Not as solid as the (slower) old-school tightening system.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best little chainsaw I have yet to find. Bought the saw 8-23-2017 just before Hurricane Harvey knocked down 6 trees in my yard and numerous large limbs. So far it has made short work of 4 of the trees and about half the limbs. The only thing scary about this saw is that it has Bigger Brothers!
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuts like butter I bought this chainsaw for my home use. I selected this particular model because of the lightweight and for the quick, tool-less chain adjustment. I was able to trim my oak trees with branches diameters up to 12 inches.Super easy to start. Just make sure to set it on choke, give it a couple of pull and then set it to half choke and it'll start at the next pull or two. It doesn't come with a prime button so that doesn't pose a problem at all. I had researched on other brands and they seem to have so many toggles, buttons, etc...so this stihl only has a throttle lever and choke/run toggle.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs well, needs more power. This saw it's great for saplings and that's about it, for the cost, I think you should get something with more power behind it. It likes to bog down when you cut through anything bigger than 6-8inches in diameter.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is an excellent product I bought this chainsaw because it is easy enough for my wife to start.It cranks on the first pull ,and does'nt take as much pull as i'm used to.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed thoughts about this product and brand Within 10 to 11 months of having this saw of light home use the pull cord broke. The shop was willing to cover the parts under warranty but wanted to charge for the labor. I went in there with the intention of buying another saw 250 C BE. After they brought my saw up and explained the cost to cover the labor for the faulty cord I let them know I did not want to purchase the new saw just yet. I wanted to look into other stores and see if they charged for warranty repairs. The store then said they would wave the repair charges because they wanted to make me happy and stand behind the product they sold. I did buy the new saw, not because I didn't have to pay for the repair. I explained to the store employee that I had just recently been cycling out some older yard tools (combi) that I had for nearly 10 years problem free and trying to give Stihl a try. I wanted to feel more confident about all the yard tools I had recently purchased. BC 430 blower, FS 131 R trimmer, and the two saws. If it wasn't for the store clerk (family owned business) to restore my confidence in Stihl I wouldn't have made another Stihl purchase. Keeping my fingers crossed.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Used once and back for repairs I used the product once and was unable to shut it off. Stop switch seemed to be broken. Pretty disappointed thinking I'm buying the best and get a lemon.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD very temperamental to start, but once started works great, good power, and handles well, have cut over dozen trees since I bought it.
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent chainsaw This is an excellent chainsaw. Light and cuts wood like butter
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Haven't been able to use it yet I bought this 07/17/2017 it rainedthat weekend so I used it the following weekend it cut one 8 inch green stump after the saw warmed up it wouldn't maintain chain speed and would just stop turning . Took it to the place of purchase 3 weeks ago. 30 day money back is gone and fellow working there says he don't find anything wrong with it
Date published: 2017-08-08
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_383
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms180cbe, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl