MS 180 C-BE - $239.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
16 in. Bar

DSRP: $239.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

With the STIHL Easy2Start™ system and Quick Chain Adjuster, this high-tech chainsaw is unbelievably easy to use.

Similar to the MS 180 C-B, the STIHL MS 180 C-BE features the Easy2Start™ system, making this chainsaw virtually effortless to start. Perfect for cutting firewood or felling trees to 12 inches in diameter, it is a lightweight practical chainsaw with convenient features you can rely on.
Print Spec Sheets
MS 180 C-BE Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 31.8 cc (1.9 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.5 kW (2.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.2 kg (9.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 250 cc (8.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 145 cc (4.9 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PMM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Narrow Kerf
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 008 3913 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™ (E)
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL products easier. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • Two-Tone Sport Glasses Zoom
    Two-Tone Sport Glasses
    STIHL Two-Tone Sport Protective Glasses offer wrap-around protection in a sleek orange and white frame. They meet the ANSI Z87.1 standard and are available in two lens color options: Silver Mirror and Smoke. These protective glasses block out 99% of harmful UV rays and feature an adjustable rubber nosepiece that prevents slippage. The frame features straight-back temples and rubber temple tips. The lenses are made from optical-grade polycarbonate and are available in two lens color options.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 180 C-BE is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 383.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Powerful little saw, if you can get it started. Tired of pulling my arm off with other brands, so I stepped up to what I thought was "the best". Started right up, and ran awesome for about two weekends worth of trimming. Maybe 2 hrs total on it. Now wont start at all. I will never pay this much for a chainsaw again...unless Tesla decides to make one.
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Stihl Changsaw I already have a Stihl chainsaw it's l 40 years old I bought this one for a secondary backup and runs like a charm . So dose the 40 year old too it still start on the 3 pull and only had one tune up on it in the 40 I have it
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect saw for our needs When we bought our new house, we were surrounded by acreage and trees. The saw I already had was huge and hard to keep running, that's how our search began. Our Stihl MS 180 C-BE is light and easy to start...my wife is comfortable using it and doesn't need my help starting it. If you need a good cleanup saw for your property, I highly recommend this one.
Date published: 2017-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent recommendation for a 2nd Stihl Chain saw This is the second Stihl saw I purchased and while the first lasted over 30 years, this one exceeds the smaller chain saw in starting, cutting and with great power. A great recommendation by the local Stihl dealer.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smaller saw This saw does everything you need to do with it. Makes larger cuts with ease and starts easily.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best chain saw I have ever used! The saw starts easily and runs well. It is lightweight, well-balanced, and has plenty of power for trimming and also for cutting small trees.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chainsaw Heaven The ideal chainsaw for every homeowner, from trimming to firewood. This is the saw you'll want to handle all of the maintenance tasks...and to make your family, friends and neighbors ORANGE with envy.Great price, great value, great saw!
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Motor failed prematurely I took my MS 180 C-BE into the dealer because it was getting very hard to start when warm and they informed me that the motor is shot. There is slop in the bearings and scoring/chips in the piston and cylinder. The saw has only been used to get firewood on camping trips and does not have many hours on it. I take excellent care of everything I own and this saw was no exception. Only quality premium gas and Stihl oil were ever used in it. It should have lasted much longer than it did. I have found several other reviews on this saw from others who have reported this same type of premature engine failure. Stihl would not stand behind their product and do anything about it when I contacted them. I will never buy another Stihl product again, ever.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from definately recommend, a great saw for the homeowner lightweight, powerful, and well balanced. It's a lot stronger than what i expected out of a compact saw.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Purchased a competitor's chain saw and had to send it back because I had trouble starting it due to a back back. I then visited my neighborhood Stihl dealer and he introduced me to the ME 180 CB-E model. Easy to start, easy to tighten the chain, and cuts great. Great product.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy cutting, hard cold start, impressive power, small reservoirs. I like this saw a lot even though it takes several pulls to get it started when cold. Once it's been warmed up it restarts on the first or second pull everytime. My MS180 C-BE made quick work of dozens of 4-6 inch thick volunteers along my fence row. And then a storm blew down a 25 foot long 16 inch thick upper trunk from my elm tree. It took a bit of patience, and there was some wood burn, but this little baby cut that trunk into 5 pieces. I was impressed by its perseverance. The saw is lightweight and easy to use. I wish it held a little more fuel and chain oil but then it would need to be a bigger saw.
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worked for an hour and then stopped I bought the chainsaw and used it for the first time a week later. It ran really well and I was incredibly pleased for an hour. It then started sputtering and loosing power. It eventually stopped running and wouldn't restart. I figured maybe I ran it to hard and it was hot so I sat it aside for about an hour while I cleaned up the stuff that I cut. It still wouldn't start so I called the store that inbought it from and they told me to bring it back in and they weren't able to start it either. There was no one to work on it so I had to wait a week. The store first tried to tell me that it was bad gas and that wasn't true because the gas was fresh because I was told to use premium gas instead what I use for all other 2 stroke machines I have. When I pressed they called the technician that worked on it he said it was flooded and it ruined the spark plug. Never heard of a running chaninsaw somehow becoming flooded, hmmm!I am incredibly concerned that I bought an incredibly fragile and finicky top of the line chainsaw!!
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not real happy... I bought this new chainsaw, and whoever assembled it put the chain on Backwards! Not a good start... after I figured it out and fixed it (blade was partially damaged with my attempts to try and use it). Now it leaks like a sive! Would like someone from corporate to contact me to discuss and see what you can do about this! I bought it from True Value in Jupiter FL 33478
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It runs like a dream I love this chainsaw. It starts when I need it too, great size for yard work around my house and cabin.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw does everything I want This saw works very well and does everything I need it to do. i am especially grateful for the easy start system. Being a disabled vet it was difficult for me to start a normal saw and the easy start system fixes this problem thank you. Now if the saw would not start at full throttle this would be a perfect home owner saw.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never starts I would not recommend this product. I bought this chainsaw to replace another Stihl chainsaw that was stolen. I should have known when the store clerk couldn't start it when I purchased it. I've never, not struggled to start this thing, it just never starts. When by chance I get it running it works amazing, but most times it's not worth the fight to get there. The Stiihl representative of course said it was me starting it wrong. Deeply disappointed...
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features The best little saw on the market.Easy to start and easy to adjustment on the chain no tools required
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from chain comes off Just bought this chainsaw. First time i used chainsaw i was cutting a tree branch about 8ft long 3 inch diameter. Got to the end and chain comes flying off. Went to put chain back on bar and can not get the chain to turn freely on bar. Going to take it to a dealer in town.
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy This is a really nice saw. Really really easy to start. Plenty of power out or such a small saw and thats running the 16in bar. Light and easy mobility. The easy start and quick chain adjustment is well worth the extra money for that feature.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to start The pull is very easy, good thing because you will pull it a lot before it starts. Chain came off a few times, probably my fault I was cutting small branches in tight spaces.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disposable Expect this chainsaw to work till just after the warranty expires. It started acting up within the first year but every time I took it to the shop for warranty work, it worked fine... till it warmed up. Now it won't start and the warranty is up. Turns out the problem only shows up when the engine gets warm and the poor tolerances start to cause a loss of compression. I even bought the 6 bottles of oil additive but didn't even need to use 2 before the thing died. I now have 4 extra bottles... When it worked I loved it... but I was mislead to believe that this was a quality chainsaw not a discount store model.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from iT STOPPED WORKING AFTER ONE AND A HALF HOURS I used the saw to cut some limbs. I would run it to cut some then stop it to move what I had cut. still on the first tank of gas after one and a half hours it would not stay running. it died over and again. I took it back to McCoys where I bought it and they charge me repair time to adjust it. I was a tad upset.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lasted 3 hours I used this chain saw twice. The chain brake had a way of getting stuck and would only release when it wanted to. Having watched a number of videos on correct operation and previous experience I had the opportunity to use this saw twice for only a number of hours and it seized up.I took it to the dealer, East Coast Supply, Wilson NC, and was told I operated the saw incorrectly and it was therefore not covered under any warranty. I believe that the safety brake was possibly engaging on its own even though the brake handle was in the correct operating position, but this is only a guess. Nonetheless, I wasted $250.00 for about 3 hours light duty work. I will purchase a different brand and simply order something online this time since there is no benefit of using a local dealer.
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Having a Shoulder prosthetic this saw is perfect for starting. I also like the way you can tighten the chain or remove the chain for sharpening.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVING MY NEW CHAIN SAW I am a female and although I use one of my husband's smaller chain saws, I love this one as it starts up on the first try and it isn't too heavy that it wears you out. I would definitely recommend this saw.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the tool less chain adjust and the easy start feature Well made product easy to start and adjust chain tension without tools
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy start wasn't so easy! I already have the STIHL blower with easy start and it's great. So, when I needed a chain saw I immediately purchased the MS 180 with easy start. I could not get it started so had to take it back for some remedial training. yes, the dealer started it right up and made sure I knew how. Took it home and the next day tried again. yes, it started but not quite so easy. For some reason the chain saw does not start on the first, second, third or even forth pull. I have to use 1/2 choke to get it started after first trying full choke all the time.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product is very reliable The weight of the unit and ease of starting makes this saw a pleasure to use.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall the perfect saw This saw is my....second best saw as far as lightweight, the other one is my Big MS 390. Which i love for the Big jobs. Overall you cant go wrong with a STIHL!!
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality, power, and reliability. Starts every time, just a sweet handling saw for clearing countless cedar trees on my property.
Date published: 2017-05-03
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_383
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms180cbe, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl