MS 180 C-BE - $239.95 DSRP


STIHL MS 180 C-BE ChainsawSTIHL MS 180 C-BE Chainsaw
Distributor Suggested Retail Price
16 in. Bar

DSRP: $239.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

With the STIHL Easy2Start™ system and Quick Chain Adjuster, this high-tech chainsaw is unbelievably easy to use.

Similar to the MS 180 C-B, the STIHL MS 180 C-BE features the Easy2Start™ system, making this chainsaw virtually effortless to start. Perfect for cutting firewood or felling trees to 12 inches in diameter, it is a lightweight practical chainsaw with convenient features you can rely on.
Print Spec Sheets
MS 180 C-BE Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 31.8 cc (1.9 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.5 kW (2.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.2 kg (9.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 250 cc (8.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 145 cc (4.9 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PMM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Narrow Kerf
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 008 3913 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™ (E)
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL products easier. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open-back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • Two-Tone Sport Glasses Zoom
    Two-Tone Sport Glasses
    STIHL Two-Tone Sport Protective Glasses offer wrap-around protection in a sleek orange and white frame. They meet the ANSI Z87.1 standard and are available in two lens color options: Silver Mirror and Smoke. These protective glasses block out 99% of harmful UV rays and feature an adjustable rubber nosepiece that prevents slippage. The frame features straight-back temples and rubber temple tips. The lenses are made from optical-grade polycarbonate and are available in two lens color options.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 180 C-BE is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 398.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use good product Ill had this ms180 for about 3 years always started buy 3rd pull cuts though anything i need it to cut i heat my home with wood so i use this saw alot as long as you have a sharp chain bar oil and mixed fuel your set. it will do what ever you want it to do
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard to start New saw.Hard to start & does not idle well........
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features This product has great features such as tool less chain adjustment, easy start and plenty of power
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Very good saw for a homeowner and very easy to start
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rookie User Purchase I am a rookie saw user, my dealer Dunn Hardware helped me understand my needs and directd me to a couple of options. I chose this saw because of my intermittent use , that benefits from its multiple features. I am confident that my purchase of a higher featured Stihl prevented me from needing to purchase two inexpensive / inferior lesser brands to last me a lifetime. Stihl keeps their local dealers educated and equipped....buy local ....its good for everyone....unapologetic business plug: Stihl Dealer Dunn Hardware Trafalgar, Indiana Rocks.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Comparing to Poulan - Struggles with Power & Tool-less Chain Tightening So-So I'm comparing this to a Poulan Pro 16" at less than half the cost. This Stihl struggles to go full throttle. Took it back the day I bought it and "tech" says that's all you'll get from it at full throttle. It basically sounds like it is grunting/lightly sputtering and that's what the tech said is normal. Therefore, it lacks what I'd expect to be full power. Also, I took a chance and bought the model with the "tool-less" chain tightening. Poulan model I have is terrible, won't hold chain tight. The Stihl system is much better, but the chain loosens sooner than I'd expect and not due to the chain stretching. Not as solid as the (slower) old-school tightening system.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best little chainsaw I have yet to find. Bought the saw 8-23-2017 just before Hurricane Harvey knocked down 6 trees in my yard and numerous large limbs. So far it has made short work of 4 of the trees and about half the limbs. The only thing scary about this saw is that it has Bigger Brothers!
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuts like butter I bought this chainsaw for my home use. I selected this particular model because of the lightweight and for the quick, tool-less chain adjustment. I was able to trim my oak trees with branches diameters up to 12 inches.Super easy to start. Just make sure to set it on choke, give it a couple of pull and then set it to half choke and it'll start at the next pull or two. It doesn't come with a prime button so that doesn't pose a problem at all. I had researched on other brands and they seem to have so many toggles, buttons, etc...so this stihl only has a throttle lever and choke/run toggle.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs well, needs more power. This saw it's great for saplings and that's about it, for the cost, I think you should get something with more power behind it. It likes to bog down when you cut through anything bigger than 6-8inches in diameter.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is an excellent product I bought this chainsaw because it is easy enough for my wife to start.It cranks on the first pull ,and does'nt take as much pull as i'm used to.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed thoughts about this product and brand Within 10 to 11 months of having this saw of light home use the pull cord broke. The shop was willing to cover the parts under warranty but wanted to charge for the labor. I went in there with the intention of buying another saw 250 C BE. After they brought my saw up and explained the cost to cover the labor for the faulty cord I let them know I did not want to purchase the new saw just yet. I wanted to look into other stores and see if they charged for warranty repairs. The store then said they would wave the repair charges because they wanted to make me happy and stand behind the product they sold. I did buy the new saw, not because I didn't have to pay for the repair. I explained to the store employee that I had just recently been cycling out some older yard tools (combi) that I had for nearly 10 years problem free and trying to give Stihl a try. I wanted to feel more confident about all the yard tools I had recently purchased. BC 430 blower, FS 131 R trimmer, and the two saws. If it wasn't for the store clerk (family owned business) to restore my confidence in Stihl I wouldn't have made another Stihl purchase. Keeping my fingers crossed.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Used once and back for repairs I used the product once and was unable to shut it off. Stop switch seemed to be broken. Pretty disappointed thinking I'm buying the best and get a lemon.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD very temperamental to start, but once started works great, good power, and handles well, have cut over dozen trees since I bought it.
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent chainsaw This is an excellent chainsaw. Light and cuts wood like butter
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Haven't been able to use it yet I bought this 07/17/2017 it rainedthat weekend so I used it the following weekend it cut one 8 inch green stump after the saw warmed up it wouldn't maintain chain speed and would just stop turning . Took it to the place of purchase 3 weeks ago. 30 day money back is gone and fellow working there says he don't find anything wrong with it
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Powerful little saw, if you can get it started. Tired of pulling my arm off with other brands, so I stepped up to what I thought was "the best". Started right up, and ran awesome for about two weekends worth of trimming. Maybe 2 hrs total on it. Now wont start at all. I will never pay this much for a chainsaw again...unless Tesla decides to make one.
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Stihl Changsaw I already have a Stihl chainsaw it's l 40 years old I bought this one for a secondary backup and runs like a charm . So dose the 40 year old too it still start on the 3 pull and only had one tune up on it in the 40 I have it
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect saw for our needs When we bought our new house, we were surrounded by acreage and trees. The saw I already had was huge and hard to keep running, that's how our search began. Our Stihl MS 180 C-BE is light and easy to start...my wife is comfortable using it and doesn't need my help starting it. If you need a good cleanup saw for your property, I highly recommend this one.
Date published: 2017-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent recommendation for a 2nd Stihl Chain saw This is the second Stihl saw I purchased and while the first lasted over 30 years, this one exceeds the smaller chain saw in starting, cutting and with great power. A great recommendation by the local Stihl dealer.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smaller saw This saw does everything you need to do with it. Makes larger cuts with ease and starts easily.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best chain saw I have ever used! The saw starts easily and runs well. It is lightweight, well-balanced, and has plenty of power for trimming and also for cutting small trees.
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chainsaw Heaven The ideal chainsaw for every homeowner, from trimming to firewood. This is the saw you'll want to handle all of the maintenance tasks...and to make your family, friends and neighbors ORANGE with envy.Great price, great value, great saw!
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Motor failed prematurely I took my MS 180 C-BE into the dealer because it was getting very hard to start when warm and they informed me that the motor is shot. There is slop in the bearings and scoring/chips in the piston and cylinder. The saw has only been used to get firewood on camping trips and does not have many hours on it. I take excellent care of everything I own and this saw was no exception. Only quality premium gas and Stihl oil were ever used in it. It should have lasted much longer than it did. I have found several other reviews on this saw from others who have reported this same type of premature engine failure. Stihl would not stand behind their product and do anything about it when I contacted them. I will never buy another Stihl product again, ever.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from definately recommend, a great saw for the homeowner lightweight, powerful, and well balanced. It's a lot stronger than what i expected out of a compact saw.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Purchased a competitor's chain saw and had to send it back because I had trouble starting it due to a back back. I then visited my neighborhood Stihl dealer and he introduced me to the ME 180 CB-E model. Easy to start, easy to tighten the chain, and cuts great. Great product.
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy cutting, hard cold start, impressive power, small reservoirs. I like this saw a lot even though it takes several pulls to get it started when cold. Once it's been warmed up it restarts on the first or second pull everytime. My MS180 C-BE made quick work of dozens of 4-6 inch thick volunteers along my fence row. And then a storm blew down a 25 foot long 16 inch thick upper trunk from my elm tree. It took a bit of patience, and there was some wood burn, but this little baby cut that trunk into 5 pieces. I was impressed by its perseverance. The saw is lightweight and easy to use. I wish it held a little more fuel and chain oil but then it would need to be a bigger saw.
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worked for an hour and then stopped I bought the chainsaw and used it for the first time a week later. It ran really well and I was incredibly pleased for an hour. It then started sputtering and loosing power. It eventually stopped running and wouldn't restart. I figured maybe I ran it to hard and it was hot so I sat it aside for about an hour while I cleaned up the stuff that I cut. It still wouldn't start so I called the store that inbought it from and they told me to bring it back in and they weren't able to start it either. There was no one to work on it so I had to wait a week. The store first tried to tell me that it was bad gas and that wasn't true because the gas was fresh because I was told to use premium gas instead what I use for all other 2 stroke machines I have. When I pressed they called the technician that worked on it he said it was flooded and it ruined the spark plug. Never heard of a running chaninsaw somehow becoming flooded, hmmm!I am incredibly concerned that I bought an incredibly fragile and finicky top of the line chainsaw!!
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not real happy... I bought this new chainsaw, and whoever assembled it put the chain on Backwards! Not a good start... after I figured it out and fixed it (blade was partially damaged with my attempts to try and use it). Now it leaks like a sive! Would like someone from corporate to contact me to discuss and see what you can do about this! I bought it from True Value in Jupiter FL 33478
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It runs like a dream I love this chainsaw. It starts when I need it too, great size for yard work around my house and cabin.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw does everything I want This saw works very well and does everything I need it to do. i am especially grateful for the easy start system. Being a disabled vet it was difficult for me to start a normal saw and the easy start system fixes this problem thank you. Now if the saw would not start at full throttle this would be a perfect home owner saw.
Date published: 2017-06-12
  • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_398
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms180cbe, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl