MS 181 C-BE - $279.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
16 in. Bar

DSRP: $279.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A chainsaw with reduced-emission engine technology, STIHL Easy2Start™ and Quick Chain Adjuster.

The MS 181 C-BE Chainsaw features Easy2Start™ and allows an easier start that requires less pulling force. The Quick Chain Adjuster makes adjusting and removing saw chains simple – no tools are needed. Reduced vibrations lessen user fatigue making this tool ideal for landscaping jobs around the home. Because of its reduced-emission engine technology, the MS 181 C-BE lowers fuel consumption and req...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 181 C-BE Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 31.8 cc (1.9 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.5 kW (2.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.6 kg (10.1 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 280 cc (9.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 180 cc (6.1 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PMM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 008 3919 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™ (E)
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL products easier. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Bumper Spikes
    Help prevent pull-in and provide better control, making cutting easier.
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Zip Chap Zoom
    Woodcutter Zip Chap
    Using rows of heavy-duty zippers, the Woodcutter Series Zip Chaps provide full wrap-around protection for a user’s lower leg area. In addition to enhanced protection, these chaps also provide enhanced convenience. Rows of zippers run along the entire inseam of the chaps, helping to ensure an effective fit that is easy to put on and/or remove. The outer material is crafted from heavy-duty Black 500 denier nylon fabric. Inside, the chap features six layers of Avertec® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material, designed to reduce the risk or severity of injury to body parts in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Hellfire Glasses Zoom
    Hellfire Glasses
    STIHL Hellfire protective glasses – our original design with a twist. Introducing a new multi-colored frame that adds style to everyday protection. An integrated rubber nosepiece and reduced-slippage temples are molded into the frame for maximum comfort.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 181 C-BE is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 72.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Saw won't start Saw is a few years old - won't start. Always hard to start in spring. Now won;t start at all. Has spark but no fuel. Shop says carb needs replaced. Literally used a few times a year for last three years - and carb needs replaced???!!!Very disappointed. My bigger sthil works fine for 15 years. Will not buy a small saw like this again from stihl.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts easy, plenty of power I really like the easy start and the tool less chain tensioner. Very easy to use and plenty of power for a home owner
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product is not worth buying Can not keep a chain sharp on this saw. I have bought four new chains, had the chains sharpened professionally and taken to the shop three times. The saw starts without a problem but is no good due to chain issue. I have had the oiler checked and even set up a test cut log, made four cuts with a new chain before the saw started throwing saw dust. My guess is the problem is due to the metal thickness on the chain, wanted to change the bar so that I could put on a better chain but just so happens you can not change the bar on this saw. My opinion is that this is the poorest designed saw Stihl has every built and not worth buying.
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolute rubbish! This is my second one. The first one was faulty. This one is also faulty despite good care. Temporary cheaper chainsaw I bought to hide me over is still going strong for less than half the price.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great home saw I love my MS 181 C-BE. It is easy to start, which is important as I am a 64 year old woman. I bought this saw to clear sprouts and dead fall around my rural property. I have never had a gas powered chainsaw, just a small electric, and this saw is very easy to use and powerful enough to do the job.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! Great little saw; light weight, easy start and easy to handle. Only wish it came with a hard case, had to purchase seperatly.
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Typical Stihl quality, power only issue This is a great saw at a fair price. The unit is easy to service, easy to fill, and easy to start. My only complaint would be that mine came with a 16" bar, and in hard wood, there is a bit of a power deficit. I'm sure it would work great with a 14" bar, and then it would be second to none.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around saw for occassinal home use Very easy to break in and put to use clearing tree limbs and removing dead.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like all of the other Stihl power tools I own, PERFECT! I own a Stihl backpack blower and trimmer with a harness. I have on them for about 12 years and have been completely satisfied with every aspect of the machine. When I needed to replace my small chainsaw, I didn't think of buying any other type than the Stihl. I could not be any more pleased with my purchase. I recommend your products every time I have the opportunity.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start and a dream to use. I have owned Stihl chain saws for over 20 year and have a problem with my upper back and could not pull start my older chain saws both Stihl and others. After searching online I came across the MS 180 C-BE 16. So I went to Robinson Hardware in Guilderland NY. The sales person was great and we went over the easy start saws that were available and I dry started this saw. It was an answer to my dream of having a chain saw I could start with out hurting my back. After purchase we went out and started my new saw. If you can pick up a cold drink 3 times it starts. The next day I headed into the woods and ran the saw for about 4 hours and it ran very well and after it warmed up it was a 1 pull wonder.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for heavy home use I've run a few of the bigger Stihl saws out on my friend's farm, but they are overkill for what I was needing at my home. The 181 is the perfect size for cutting up medium soft woods (>8") and smaller hardwoods (>5") around my home, and my parents home. Maintenance is a breeze with the tool-less design and the quick start works like a dream. Running this all day is no problem for me with the light weight and the shocks built in to the body.I'll most likely get a 14" bar if I ever need to cut anything bigger, but the 16" that is included is more than adequate for my current needs.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My main operational saw I keep two saws in the house, fully loaded with gas and ready to go in case I need one or both in an emergency. In the past, I have been forced to cut my way out of the house due to trees and limbs ending up on the house after a winter or spring storms. The main requirement is they must be easily cranked and run each and every time I attempt to crank them on the front porch or back deck. The reason I have two saws is because you always need a backup saw and they both sit on shop towels right inside the back door. Right now, I have my 181 CCBE and MS 250 as my operational saws. Both will handle just about anything that falls oh or around the house. My 181 CBE is a dream saw because of its ease of starting but my MS 250 will handle larger wood more easily. I have bigger saws but I try to balance size with need I cut down two trees with my 181 and 250 this week. I cut one 6 inch oak down with the 181 and limbed it and bucked it with the 181 - all on a half a tank of gas. The other oak was about 12 inches in diameter, so I cut it and bucked it with the 250 but limbed it with the 181 because it got hung up in another tree and the 181 is lighter than the 250 for overhead work. I was really surprised by the fact that both saws used only a half of a tank of gas, each. I have never had a lick of problems with either saw and I have about 10 tanks of gas on each saw. However, I broke both saws in correctly - extra oil in the first two tanks of gas ( one capful of Ultra in the tank) and neither of the saws cut anything until after they had , at least, two tanks of gas on them. The first two tanks of gas were mostly at idle with an occasional run-up to clear off the spark plug. It takes about an hour and an half to go through a tank of gas on either saw. I may give a saw a little light work when it is on its 2nd tank but it is limited to very light work on small wood, 2 inches or less. On the 3rd tank I see what the saw is made of and switch it to my standard 50:1 mix of premium non-ethanol,Stihl Ultra oil mix ,My Ms 181 CBE is not completely broke in, yet, but my Ms 250 is, even though both saws have almost identical number of tanks of gas on them, I listen for the piston to "round out" as a good indicator. When they round out the idle will RPM will rise several hundred RPM;s, but will drop after several minutes of idling. My 181 CBE is almost there but not quite. It should be there after a few more tanks of gas. I have read all of the horror stories on the Stihl website about folks that have had problems with their Stihl chainsaws. My bet is most of these problems are due to improper use or maintenance. I clean my saws, religiously after each use; feed them good gas, properly mixed with good two cycle oil and use good bar oil in them. I also sharpen their chains after every 4 tanks of gas.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Chainsaw does what is asked of it. Light weight, starts quickly and runs smoothly.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and Dependably Awesome This saw will not wear you out moving it about a work site. It has more power than you think. No vibration while cutting.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Open Heart Surgery After my open heart surgery I found it very difficult to start my old chain saws. So off to the Stihl dealer, I came home with this saw and could not be happier, I have used it for over two years for cutting trees to keep my property neat. If you require a saw with easy start capability, then this is a very dependable saw to use.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Female Senior Citizens Beware! I am a female senior citizen who has used chainsaws for years for purpose of heating my home and small farm activities. I am an extremely hard-working person and am very dependent on my equipment. Have been a long-time Stihl fan until my recent experience. Will never, ever purchase another Stihl product because of the quality of product. They are not the saws they used to be.The most troubling issue is how rudely I have been treated by the service people when trying to resolve my issues. I have been treated dismissively and right down rudely by service people, the worst experience of all by Ace Hardware in O'Fallon, Illinois. Stihl should have more respect for their female users and require customer service training for their vendors. I am truly hurt over this treatment.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts every time Cuts easily, a joy to operate and best of all it starts every time with little effort.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent saw I have owned this saw for about 6 months. I have used it around my yard to clean up fallen branches and maintain my trees. It's a lightweight saw that is deceptively powerful. The saw is very easy to maintain plus the quick chain adjuster and easy to start features puts it over the top. Best power tool I've purchased in years.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chainsaw Had my MS 181C for 3 yrs. and it always worked great. I cut down many trees and chopped up the trunks so I could haul them away to the burn pile. This morning I cut up a fallen hackberry and all went well until a 400 lb. tree truck fell on it as I was trying to load the tractor bucket. My great chainsaw has breathed its last. Now I'm in the market to buy another one.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Homeowner Tool I went to a Stihl authorized dealer and told them that I needed to remove 7 crab apple trees as well as a number of large (6' +) lilac bushes and maintain the remaining trees on my property (a mix of apple, maple, and ash). Their recommendation: The MS 181C. I was skeptical at first - believing that I needed something larger and/or more robust - maybe something from the Farm & Ranch line.I am pleased to say that their advice was right on! I have removed 6 of the trees so far and the MS 181C has performed exceptionally well. It has low vibration, it's lightweight, easy to use/fill/maintain, and has proven to be 100% reliable so far. It can be slow to start sometimes - but has not once quit on me despite long hours of operation. I highly recommend this model for homeowners who need to do a lot of sawing.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and dependable First time buying a chainsaw. No regrets here, you get what you pay for ! Lightweight easy to use and very reliable .Makes any job look easy , I love this chainsaw.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect operation and hassle-free After buying several different brands over the years, with the resulting frustrations of starting and/or keeping them running, I bought my first Stihl in January. Ten tanks of fuel so far this winter without a hitch. Starts cold, hot, and in-between. Light enough to use recently on father-in-law's garage to clear overgrown trees and worked great also in dense brush with 2-6 inch trunks. Tough enough to cut through countless large tree trunks for firewood. What a pleasure it is to not have to fight a saw or wonder if it will start or how long it will run. Great warranty plan too - I am set for 4 years!
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worth the money This is an affordable saw for a starting business. I needed a chainsaw for cutting down small trees for customers. Without having a large budget, I researched and found that this saw should meet my needs. So far it's working great. I'm definitely going to upgrade later, because of the power when a bind is put on it. However, it makes fast work of small to midsize trees. Very dependable! Would recommend.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool After the demonstration of how to start and use the saw, I expected some problems to pop up like all of the other saws that I have owned. I was very surprised at the ease of starting and using the chain saw. I have shown several others how easy and dependable the saw is. Well worth the money spent.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never failed We used this saw along with my other two Stihl saws to clear trees for my new house. All oaks from 6" diameter on up. It has never missed a lick and from the three saws I have I seem to always reach for this one....great saw!
Date published: 2015-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 181 C-BE Bought this chainsaw to use around the house, trimming magnolia trees and some other trees. I had problems starting the saw when I first got it because I didn't know how to take advantage of the Easy2Start system. I took it to the dealer I bought it from and they showed me how to start it correctly. Now that I know how to start it correctly, it is very, very simple to start. You really don't have to pull hard on the rope at all. I haven't had an issue with it. Cuts through trees like butter.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good saw I really like not having to have any tools to remove the chain and bar. Also being able to tighten or loosen the chain is so simple with this saw. It can be used all day and not tire you out. I have been using chain saws for over 40 years and I like this saw
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALWAYS READ the MANUAL !!! I got tired of messing with my 009L was a little worried after reading the negative reviews on this site. But after reading the manual it states "1-Do "NOT" high rev for the first 3 gas tank fillings...2nd The engine develops maximum power after "5-15" tank loads..More or less it breaks-in after.. let's say 15 gas tank fill-ups.I can only assume most of the negatives did "not" read the manual.A good friend of mine that is a construction defects expert said "always read the instructions, even if it is a product you use "all" the time, just in case the company has changed something.This Chainsaw Rocks !!! cuts like a hot knife through butter on light stuff (4") using medium throttle (remember break-in).I love the tool-less gas and oil caps.I also read to "relax" the chain after using the saw (chain contracts as it cools and could damage crankshaft) I never knew..!!! I would hesitate doing this with my old saw (hassle), but with the tool-less chain adjuster..I have "no" Problem slacking the chain with the custom tool-less adjuster.I always read the manuals (as should you) and I am sure, I will have "many" years of reliable service from this saw.
Date published: 2015-11-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dissatified with this product I have another 180 that is five years old and has done a great deal of work. Same for a 310 that we have. So when Bomgaars had this saw on sale I thought it was time to give the older saws some rest. Bad idea. This new saw starts harder and takes longer to warm up. After it is warm and shut off, it is very difficult to start. Three different experienced chain saw operators have read in manual and none of us can get this saw to start until is cool. I would not recommend this saw. This is after less than 2 hours of run time.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only worked for a few minutes After buying it started right up and cut gloriously for several minutes. I left for an hour and then tried to restart it. Nothing. Tried everything including removal and drying of plug/clearing of chamber. Never would start back up. This one is going back to the store.
Date published: 2015-09-08
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms181cbe, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl