MS 211 - $299.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Bar

DSRP: $299.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A feature-packed chainsaw with advanced engine technology at a value price.

Occasional User Advanced engine technology and a value price are just some of the things the MS 211 STIHL chainsaw has to offer. Powered by a low-emission engine, this chainsaw features a preseparation air filtration system— extending the cleaning life of the air filter so you have less maintenance. With low vibrations, good cutting speed and plenty of power, this STIHL chainsaw is just the...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 211 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 35.2 cc (2.15 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.7 kW (2.3 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.3 kg (9.5 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 280 cc (9.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 180 cc (6.1 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 30 to 45 cm (12" to 18")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3636 (63 PM3 61) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 18" 3005 000 4817 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    STIHL ElastoStart™
    The ElastoStart™ starter handle is an exclusive feature of STIHL. It is a starting grip with a built-in shock absorber that helps reduce the effort when pulling on the starter cord. The ElastoStart™ starter grip noticeably reduces the sudden peak forces (compression) normally felt during cranking. The forces which occur at the grip after the first compression stroke are smoothed out.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    STIHL Quickstop®
    STIHL chainsaws are equipped with a chain stopping system designed to reduce the risk of injury in certain kickback situations. It is called a STIHL Quickstop® chain brake. The STIHL Quickstop® chain brake is designed to stop the rotation of the chain if activated by the operator’s hand or by inertia if the saw kicks back with sufficient force. In some working positions, the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake can be activated by inertia, stopping the chain within fractions of a second.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Ematic™ Lubrication System
    The Ematic™ guide bar, when used with STIHL OILOMATIC® saw chain, will provide proper lubrication and less oil consumption than conventional methods. The system works because two ramps, strategically placed in the guide bar rail, help contain the flow of oil and direct all lubrication to the sliding faces of the bar and chain links as well as the rivets and driver holes, which in turn can reduce bar oil consumption up to 50%.
  • Zoom
    Master Control Lever™
    The Master Control Lever™ is an easy to use single lever, operating the choke, starting throttle lock and on-off switch. The operator must pull the throttle trigger before moving the Master Control Lever™ to the choke position.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Zip Chap Zoom
    Woodcutter Zip Chap
    Using rows of heavy-duty zippers, the Woodcutter Series Zip Chaps provide full wrap-around protection for a user’s lower leg area. In addition to enhanced protection, these chaps also provide enhanced convenience. Rows of zippers run along the entire inseam of the chaps, helping to ensure an effective fit that is easy to put on and/or remove. The outer material is crafted from heavy-duty Black 500 denier nylon fabric. Inside, the chap features six layers of Avertec® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material, designed to reduce the risk or severity of injury to body parts in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • White Ice Glasses Zoom
    White Ice Glasses
    Protection and comfort is no sweat with the White Ice Protective Glasses from STIHL. They meet the ANSI Z87.1 standard and come in multiple lens color options – each one wrapped in an icy-cool white frame. They feature rubber temples that prevent slippage, a comfort-fit style that accommodates almost all face sizes and polycarbonate lenses that block out 99% of harmful UV rays. It’s hassle-free protection for the workplace or at home.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 211 is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Saw I purchased this saw just prior to Hurricane Irma and I'm glad I did! Trees were down everywhere after the storm in Florida. This saw is absolutely great. I pushed this saw to its limits. I probably cut larger trees than it was meant to be used for, but the saw preformed flawlessly! I cut up a large oak tree that had fallen across our road and the MS211 cut through the hard oak like butter!The saw was also pretty easy on the fuel--which surprised me.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MS 211 It leaks oil because oil pump hose is in bottom of tank and oil seeps around grommet and fills case. when you get done drain oil out of saw or pay 100 bucks for dealer to change it. I just did it myself but not everybody is a saw mechanic.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MS 211 Good saw but tough to start This saw runs great once you get it started. It will kick your butt while you mess with starting it.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't start I have never been able to start this chainsaw without first having to take it to the shop. It floods with only three pulls, but the shop does not know what to do, as three different people have told me three different methods to get it started. Extremely frustrating to say the least. The manual says "so easy a child can start it" but that is the furthest thing from the truth.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight with plenty of power for limbing I was specifically looking for a reliable, lightweight saw for limbing trees brought down by storms. The MS211 has enough power and it's light weight reduces fatigue, allowing more energy to be devoted to untangling the brush. I am very pleased with this Stihl product.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I really was looking for an 18 in electric, wanted something reliable and easy to use. I didn't want to spend a lot, but in the end decided I would give this a try. I must say I haaaatte primer bulbs.....ultimately that is why I didn't want gas but this only has a choke. starts great every time. Bonus:it is lighter than the electric I was looking at.
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to start and it cuts oak trees like butter. Love it..... Easy to add fuel and oil with the access ports.
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My oil tank hasnt leaked a drop After reading tons of reviews on this saw i was half scared to buy it because of everyone saying it leaks bar oil when sitting. Well mine has never ever leaked and i dont open the cap to vent pressure when im done either. This saw has cut thru black and honey locust with no problem. If you know how to use a saw right and not try to force it thru the tree itll cut anything. My local dealer didnt have the 18" bar on it as it says in the description because stihl just started putting the 18 on the 211 but i really dont think its have a problem spinnin an 18" chain mine has a 16" bar and i love it.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best homeowner's saw This is a great homeowner saw. It has great safety features. It is light weight and easy to handle, even in less than ideal conditions. Starts and runs like a dream. As you start to tackle jobs on the upper end of what a homeowner normally would tackle a slight lack of power is evident. But that is ok. Most of the jobs i perform this saw is more than enough for. I am very pleased with the Stilhl 211.
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Leaks bar oil I suspect this saw has a signature problem. It leaks . Worst Stijl I have had. Would not recommend.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Haven't used it yet but it leaks oil Brand new, haven't used it yet but it has leaked oil consistently since the day I brought it home.
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bar oil leak I purchased this chainsaw about 3 years ago and used it occasionally around the cottage. Took proper care of it at all times. Recently bar oil is leaking underneath the saw from the rubber line underneath. I've read recently that this is a very common problem and now the warranty is over. Given how lightly is was used and how well it was taken care of (cleaning, sharpening, etc) this is disappointing as these are premium saws at a premium price. Other than the above the saw performed well but a leak is a major problem.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! and GREAT customer service at Santa Fe Power Equipment Sales!!! Great saw and the customer service at Santa Fe Power equipment sales was outstanding!
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT VALUE THIS IS A EASY START SAW WITH GREAT ACCELERATION, ALSO I LIKE THE EASY FILL ON AND OFF CAPS FOR THE OIL ND GAS.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The MS 211 chainsaw is great for all around wood cutting. The MS 211 is the right size saw with all the power and features needed for the average homeowner. Great for cutting firewood and felling of good size trees.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Saw for small jobs Got this for yard work around the house. Easy start makes it easier to pull, not necessarily easier to start. I still find myself having to pull it allot on 1st start ups.It runs good after though. I did have one time when it started having trouble idling after running it for about an hour solid. Let it cool down and it started idling again. I have really just got a good break in on it now and we will see how it holds up. I do not run anything but the Stihl premixed fuel and use only the Stihl bar oil, so I hope to have it for along time.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is a beast. I bought a competitor's chainsaw with a 46cc engine and a 20" bar, what a joke. Had to tighten chain every 2 cuts on cut number 8 the chain came off and slapped my thigh. Took it back and got the MS211, I have cut 4 truck loads of wood in 2 days. 6" to 40" diameter logs so far and cutting about 6 more truck loads this weekend. Original blade getting a little dull, but it has been cutting like crazy. Buying a spare chain today, never hurts to have 2 chains.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS-211 nice light saw I have only bought Stihl for last 40 years This saw has ran well and starting has not been a issue. Bought last year and used it from April through November. I cut mainly smaller Pines now. I don't drop my own trees anymore as I leave that to the younger folks. It limbs well and has no issues cutting up to 20 inches if I cut from both sides. I put it away in November, had back surgery the last of December and just got the saw out yesterday for the first time this year. I gassed it up and pulled the start rope and it took off after the third pull.I was told by the man that I bought it from that if I open the chain oil lid and release the tank pressure before putting it away, I would not have leaky oil messes. I have had no trouble with oil leaks as of yet.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for two times, then not so good. Worked like a dream the first two times I used it. The third time it wouldn't start, regardless of what I tried. Would have given it a 5 initially, but rating has dropped drastically. Spent extra money for the easy-to-start model, apparently I got the "won't start after the second session" model.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for small to intermediate use... Use this saw to cut cedars to make cedar fence posts, ideal power , easy start, idols for as long as you want, never failed me . Have cut over 500 posts in the past month and still on the original chain which is as sharp as new still. Light weight, easy to manouver for branching. Would highly recommend this saw for this type of jobs.
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk Don't waste your time or $ with this saw. Had for 6 months. Used less than 6 times on small branches around the house. While using this week it all of the sudden stopped and would not restart. Took to store where I purchased it. It's under warranty but not sure what's wrong with it. Don't buy this model in my opinion it's nothing but headaches
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent small chain saw This chain saw completely meets my needs for general use. It handles the limbs and smaller trees that break due to winter weather. The only drawback I've found that occasionally it is a little finicky about starting after used one tank of gas and immediately want to start it again after refilling the fuel and oil.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw! great price! I purchased this saw brand new in October of 2012.Since my purchase I have had no issues with it. I did proper break in on it, then tuned it leaner. It always starts on 3rd pull. It is not a saw for cutting big trees. I use my 041AV for felling trees and use my 211 for cutting the limbs and cutting smaller oak and pecan for firewood. Super lightweight allows you to get into the thick brush and clear out messes. Wish it held a bit more fuel but, it's been a great addition to my arsenal. Love this saw. Must do proper break in procedure. Speak to your local stihl dealer for info.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ms-211 light and agile Bar wears well, except I have a small kink at bottom end of bar 4 o'clock from sprocket Noticed it in sunlight. Looks like factory flaw. After noticing it I inspected chain. I see wear that will shorten life of bar. I have had many saws and never seen this problem. I can not believe its from use, unless chain pulled a weak bar to the side.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Never used leaks big time Um so ya got it as a gift brand new for Christmas. Dealer put a bit of fluids in the saw I guess that's normal they test that it runs before they give It to you. the thing is brand new never used I went to move it from where I placed it after Christmas and yup a nice sticky sloppy mess of oil all over the place. i can't even rate it properly because i havnt used it. i'll give it a 3 just for the name on it.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Impressed I own a 180, 361, 025, Kombi system and now a 211. My cousin has a 210 so I bought this one. I have never had problems with my Stihl's. I cut wood by the dump truck loads. This saw has been a good running saw once you get it running.I had this same problem with my 261 so I sold that. Normally I can start my saws in 3-4 pulls even when -20 degrees out. This bugger takes 5-10 pulls to get it started in 40 degree weather. Had to use it last week with -6 degree weather and it would not start. Had to put it in the tractor with heat on it. My 361 started right up. It started after several hours in the heated cab.I only use regular gas and stihl mix in the gallon size.
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Woould not recommend Saw runs great for the first 10 minutes- then the fun begins....does not run properly, extremely hard to start. Been to 3 repair shops- they all say seems fine, but they do not run the saw in real conditions, so I am sure they think it runs right. Saw leaks terribly- was fine for first few months, now leaks bar/chain oil when sitting- makes a mess.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Troublemaker Got this chain saw about 2 weeks ago. Not big project, not heavy use, just cutting fresh cut tree on backyard to pieces. Was running 10 minutes or so and stopped. Start again and already only 1 minute to work.. no more. Went to the shop where got it in the middle of Temple TX. They took it, tried, same result. Kept for few days and gave back like there was nothing bad but with repair tag. Ok, started work again. Same story, 10-15 minutes to run and in the middle of work down and no start. Went to local shop again. There were words that premixed gas/oil should be only original Stihl and that we are no so good. Well, and was said that the chain itself on the saw was worn out/ Reallly?20 minutes of working on easy tree?! Very suspicious Besides was given chainsaw not in original box and this trick with "worn" chain. HATE THIS PIECE. Don't want to use and want to return...if possible ever in small shops.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good power to weight I like this saw so far. I have only used it twice at this point. I purchased to replace a smaller saw of other brand that I have had for 11 years. My main use is for landscape work on our two acres. Limbing trees and felling unnecessary trees and cutting up camp wood are the main uses. One of the complaints I have heard and read is that the saw is hard to start but from my personal experience I think it starts just fine IF you follow the instructions in the manual (also the salesperson I purchased it from gave me a demonstration that followed the manual very closely). I think this saw will last me for a number of years or until I feel unsafe using it (I'm 75 years old). All in all, I think this was a very good purchase.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Had to return it Bought the 211-Trimmer in Billings Montana. Needed an easy start saw due to neck injury. Used it twice on branches. Was not greatly impressed- it was 'ok'. Third time I needed to use it , it was difficult to start. Took it to maintainence at store who also had trouble but could not figure out why. I chose NOT to get replacement as it did not stand out as good quality to me.
Date published: 2016-10-25
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms211, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl