MS 211 - $299.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Bar

DSRP: $299.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A feature-packed chainsaw with advanced engine technology at a value price.

Occasional User Advanced engine technology and a value price are just some of the things the MS 211 STIHL chainsaw has to offer. Powered by a low-emission engine, this chainsaw features a preseparation air filtration system— extending the cleaning life of the air filter so you have less maintenance. With low vibrations, good cutting speed and plenty of power, this STIHL chainsaw is just the...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 211 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 35.2 cc (2.15 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.7 kW (2.3 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.3 kg (9.5 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 280 cc (9.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 180 cc (6.1 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 30 to 45 cm (12" to 18")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3636 (63 PM3 61) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 18" 3005 000 4817 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    STIHL ElastoStart™
    The ElastoStart™ starter handle is an exclusive feature of STIHL. It is a starting grip with a built-in shock absorber that helps reduce the effort when pulling on the starter cord. The ElastoStart™ starter grip noticeably reduces the sudden peak forces (compression) normally felt during cranking. The forces which occur at the grip after the first compression stroke are smoothed out.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    STIHL Quickstop®
    STIHL chainsaws are equipped with a chain stopping system designed to reduce the risk of injury in certain kickback situations. It is called a STIHL Quickstop® chain brake. The STIHL Quickstop® chain brake is designed to stop the rotation of the chain if activated by the operator’s hand or by inertia if the saw kicks back with sufficient force. In some working positions, the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake can be activated by inertia, stopping the chain within fractions of a second.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Ematic™ Lubrication System
    The Ematic™ guide bar, when used with STIHL OILOMATIC® saw chain, will provide proper lubrication and less oil consumption than conventional methods. The system works because two ramps, strategically placed in the guide bar rail, help contain the flow of oil and direct all lubrication to the sliding faces of the bar and chain links as well as the rivets and driver holes, which in turn can reduce bar oil consumption up to 50%.
  • Zoom
    Master Control Lever™
    The Master Control Lever™ is an easy to use single lever, operating the choke, starting throttle lock and on-off switch. The operator must pull the throttle trigger before moving the Master Control Lever™ to the choke position.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Zip Chap Zoom
    Woodcutter Zip Chap
    Using rows of heavy-duty zippers, the Woodcutter Series Zip Chaps provide full wrap-around protection for a user’s lower leg area. In addition to enhanced protection, these chaps also provide enhanced convenience. Rows of zippers run along the entire inseam of the chaps, helping to ensure an effective fit that is easy to put on and/or remove. The outer material is crafted from heavy-duty Black 500 denier nylon fabric. Inside, the chap features six layers of Avertec® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material, designed to reduce the risk or severity of injury to body parts in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • White Ice Glasses Zoom
    White Ice Glasses
    Protection and comfort is no sweat with the White Ice Protective Glasses from STIHL. They meet the ANSI Z87.1 standard and come in multiple lens color options – each one wrapped in an icy-cool white frame. They feature rubber temples that prevent slippage, a comfort-fit style that accommodates almost all face sizes and polycarbonate lenses that block out 99% of harmful UV rays. It’s hassle-free protection for the workplace or at home.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 211 is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little saw, but.... She's a leaker. Not at first. But after a couple of years. And I mean it LEAKS. Like, a whole tank of bar oil as it sits. And really only as it sits. I can empty the tank each time I'm done using it, but that's pretty inconvenient. Other than that, it runs, cuts, and starts great. I just don't like cleaning up a sticky oil mess every time I pick it up. Would I buy it again? Maybe.
Date published: 2016-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good chain saw ! Bought this chain saw because of a hurricane that came thru Florida. The price was really good no pop ki at Rural King. They had it in stock, showed me how to start it and away I went. Got it home and started it up, it has the easy start system and it started pretty easy. Put it up against several good size branchs and it cut thru them like a hot knife going thru warm butter ! I retired from grounds maintenance for a county in Florida, and we only bought Stihl equipment because of their quality and effectiveness.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw!! Bought a smaller saw than I wanted. Very surprised by the power of this saw. Starts easy, runs great and cuts like a champ! I love it!!
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ms211 Nice smalll saw.Purchased it w/ 18" bar.It managed the longer chain well.Nice balanced packageCut 2 trees last weekend. Used 1.5 tanks of fuel. For 35cc engine it did a great job
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor bar lubrication system The bar oil reservoir has to be drained when the saw is not in use. Per a local saw repair shop, the MS 211 is known for this design flaw.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent nedium saw I read over all of the reviews for the MS-211 before I bought it and for the life of me could not understand why the CBE version of the 211 got rave reviews and the regular 211 was beat to death by the reviewers. I have 10+ tanks of gas on my 211 and it is an excellent saw. It cranks every time, it stays lit and it will re-lite if I should cut it off. Plus it cuts like a champ and it chain stays sharp. Sure, I played around with its idle and low jet a bit but never not very much from its factory settings. I did this to smooth down its idle so it would not walk off my workbench. As it has broken in, the idle has improved, so I have adjusted it back to where it was. I use only SZtihl "lUltra" two cycle oil in premium non-ethanol gas and Stihl "Platinum" bar oil and they preform, flawlessly in all of my saws, whether they are Stihl or not. The 211 is an excellent saw, even for older folks, like me. That extra pound of the CBE version was not worth the extra weight.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great products This is a great chainsaw, but it is a little hard to start. But this is the fourth STIHL chainsaw I have owned, all great products!! I also own a leaf blower and a weed eater all great products as well!!!
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent light duty saw The MS211 is a great saw for it's intended purpose. As long as you realize that this isn't a saw for felling and bucking, you'll be happy.I've had mime for two years now and it hasn't failed me. I use it for clearing trails and light duty trimming. When I'm out and about on my property, it's always with me.If you need a bigger saw, get a bigger saw. Don't buy a 211 and expect it to perform like an MS261. Keep the chain sharp, use good fuel (mixed properly) and don't let the saw sit for extended periods with fuel containing Ethanol and you won't have any issues.These saws get a bad reputation because a lot of people who buy them, don't maintain them properly and don't keep the chain sharp.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 1 year review I bought this saw for trimming felled trees and a backup for my 038 mag, this saw gave me problems from day one, and has been in the shop 3x's already. I've been a Stihl owner for over 20 years, and never had these type of problems with there saws before. After having the carb replaced not even owning this saw for a month it ran a bit bitter but still hard to start, but this is Not a high altitude saw (anything over 7000 ft). Finally I got tired of the still dealer up here and took matters in my own hands. The biggest problem is not being able to tune the saw properly, the carb limiters are a horrible ideal and causes most of the problems with this saw. When you depend on your saws to run especially when your deep in the woods, I found that this saws are not as good as there older ones are. Now on I'll buy older Stihl's and rebuild them, at least they run like a Stihl should...
Date published: 2016-08-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lemon Bought the MS 211 as my first chainsaw. Have had it for less than 30 days. Have cut down 2.5 trees and limbed up 2 pine trees. In the middle of cutting the 2nd tree into pieces the chainsaw stopped working. Filled it with the pre-made Stihl fuel. Never once dropped it or mishandled it. While it was working, it was easy to use. I found that I had to adjust it frequently to keep the chain from spinning. Took it to the store where I bought it and found out that the pistons are "scored". Meanwhile I am left with no chainsaw and plenty of work that needs to get done. I am hoping this was just a LEMON and not typical.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light saw that can cut limbs to 2-3 foot ash trees no problem It's a great saw for the price easy to use light cuts like it has some good power. Would recommend to a friend
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wast of my money Fought trying to make this saw run from day 1. After a year I through it in the garbage
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for homeowner Was going to get a bigger saw for the size of trees I need to cut down but went for the smaller size as I'm not so young any more. I am not disappointed at all with this smaller saw as it cuts great! Been mostly cutting 6-12" trees. Will do larger ones, just not as fast as the bigger saws. It has a smaller chain so you have to keep it sharp which is not hard to do with a Stihl guide and file. The tool free chain adjuster works well and am pleased with the easy start after getting used to it. With the light weight you can do a lot of cutting without getting worn out. Have had this saw for a year so it is hard to rate, am giving it a 5 since I've had no issues yet.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Steer clear Saw leaked oil from day one. More importantly the handle is a very poor design. After a drop to the ground from less than two feet, the handle broke in two on the underside of the saw. The saw is now completely unusable and the entire handle has to be replaced which requires a near total disassembly and reassembly of the saw. It's cheaper for me to buy a new saw that get the repairs. Needless to say, my new saw will NOT be a STIHL.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not buy This is the worst saw I've owned it leaked bar oil from day 1 then it started 2 not want to run well after 2 years of cussing it I smashed it it's junk do not buy it
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 211 is a fine homeowner saw, recommended. My larger older Stihl 290 got the ethanol blues half way through limbing a 64' spruce tree i had felled. Took it to the dealer and it needs a new carburetor which has to be ordered. Meanwhile, I wanted to finish limbing, bucking and trucking the tree to the dump. Being 70 , a smaller saw seemed appropriate so got the 211 on the dealer's recommendation. It cut through the spruce's trunk like butter and is easy to use for limbing since it is relatively light. Mine starts 3rd pull every time when cold and usually 1st pull when warm. An impressive small saw.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pass on this one Wouldn't waist your money. Leaks chain bar oil while just sitting and will very difficult to start. Buyer Beware..
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No power Never will I buy another stihl. I have owned 6 saws from this company that's it.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw but leaks chain oil Great saw all around BUT leaks all the oil out of the reservoir when sitting. Had it back to dealer 3x and he couldn't fix it - claims it is normal. Would not by any product from Wes Stauffer in Ephrata again as he had a real attitude about it
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome little saw anyone who uses it wants to buy it I have had my 211 for 4 years now and use it for everything, because as nice as it is to have a big saw I just hate lugging it around all day. My 211 did have the oil leak but it was fixed under warranty never leaked a drop since. As for the hard starts mine starts every time no matter what but my dealer told me these steps to get it to start every time.1-full throttle/full choke pull till it hits2- once it hits move it to half throttle/ usually within the next two pullsWith that method I have never pulled more than 5 or 6 times to start my saw hope that helps
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cant beat the price. Some people may not know how to store saws with caps on properly etc, this saw has not leaked ounces in storage, it runs great, cranks first few pulls (factory rich for break in) I mean come on. Actually has decent power on the stock power head with a 18" bar
Date published: 2015-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Leaks Like a Sieve We bought the MS211 as a second chainsaw based on the dealer's recommendation. After three uses, couldn't get it started. But the worst part is the thing LEAKS ALL THE OIL OUT OF IT AS IT SETS IN STORAGE! I don't mean a few drops from the chain. The whole oil reservoir leaks out onto the floor in a couple of weeks. Others have complained about this problem, so beware.
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible saw and not dependable I got this chainsaw brand new and it isn't wort the plastic box it came in. Will not start unless pulled 20 times. Barely runs when working. Stalls on logs bigger then 8 inches. My first Stihl product and my last. Bought a $120 chainsaw and it is much better and reliable.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best saw for the size Purchased this saw at the age of 11 years old for my first saw until i was big enough for a larger saw. I'm 16 now and i can say that this saw has been absolutely AWESOME, its cut everything I have put in front of it and never once given up on me. I cut about 4 cords of wood a year to heat my house and sense i was 11 this thing has cut all 4 cords for 5 years and probably keep it going for another 5
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MS 211 long time owner Good light little saw,Made cheap and if you leave oil in saw it will leak all out in case. Other than being little cold blooded it does the little jobs.
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only problem in 4 yrs is leaking bar when not running-dealer fixed I have owned my 211 Stihl saw for 4 years - it always starts without any trouble even when the engine is hot. It replaced a 025 which would start fine when the saw was cold but was hard to start when the saw was hot-I learned a new language trying to start the saw when the engine was hot. Both saws had 16" bars on them. 4 months ago I purchased an additional stihl saw 391 (what a beast) it really throws the wood chips. I use the 391 for timber larger than 10,12 inches in diameter. I always reach for 211 for the smaller stuff because it is lighter & being that I'm over 70 I don't last as long as I use to. It's too early to rate the 391 but so far very good saw. It uses the choke - 3 pulls then - 1/2 choke - 1 pull start system so far it has always started & it is equiped with a decompreesion valve. My old 025 saw was hard to start when the engine was hot. I took it to the dealer I purchased it from -got back 2 weeks later in pieces - not not worth fixing. I then realized that Stihl does make throw saws just like you buy at big box stores the only trouble I have had with the 211 is the bar oil leaks like sieve when saw was not running-took to the dealer problem solved.
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good saw for limbing and small firewood I bought an MS211 for a friend of mine and felled some birch trees to break it in for him. I liked it so much I bought one myself. Far better than the 210 that it replaces, it is lighter with more power. Some complain about the bar oil leaking, but I have not had that problem. It is an easy fix. Some people have also had a hard time starting them, but I have not had that problem (with either one). I think its an issue of tuning them right. It starts just fine cold and hot. I have used it to cut down smaller trees, limb, prune, and cut up firewood, and I have had no problems with it. It is light and nimble, and has a lot of power for a saw its size. For faster cutting, put a PS3 full chisel Picco chain in it.
Date published: 2013-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to handle with plenty of power Had this saw for about a year now. Usually just use it for trimming and branches but recently cut a fairly large tree with it. I was worried about using it for a whole tree but it did just fine and ran perfectly all day. Always starts with just a few pulls and after warming up for a few seconds runs great. Good for around the house use but also has the power for bigger jobs.
Date published: 2013-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all-round saw for any homeowner Purchased this saw & used it several times. Saw has plenty of power, easy to start, cuts great...blade has stayed sharp. I highly recommend this saw.
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not to heavy yet has sufficient power. Reliable. I was looking for a light weight saw, but wanted the one with the most power in it's class and this seems to fit the bill.At 9.5 lbs, it's easy on my back and still provides all the power I need for cutting firewood.It takes a few pulls on the cord to get it started and once it fires up, I have to let it idle for at least a minute to warm up. If I try to rev it even just a little, before it warms up it will stall every time. I haven't tried to make any adjustments because it hasn't caused me any real problems. Once warm it runs great.I use a compact lightweight saw buck so my chain never hits the ground. Also after every use, I remove the sprocket and chain bar cover and clean the chain bar, sprocket and chainway area and especially the chain lube ports on the saw and bar. It takes very little time and I believe it extends the life of the saw. I haven't experienced any chain oil leaks but hopefully the 2 year warranty will cover that if one developes.
Date published: 2013-01-30
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms211, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl