MS 211 C-BE - $339.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Bar

DSRP: $339.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A value-priced chainsaw with advanced engine technology, our Easy2Start™ system and the STIHL Quick Chain Adjuster.

Occasional User

The MS 211 C-BE chainsaw has it all. With low-emission engine technology, and our Quick Chain Adjuster and Easy2Start™ System, you get lower fuel consumption, fast and easy chain adjustment, and easier starting. Designed around operator comfort, this STIHL chainsaw is perfect for cutting firewood or felling small trees.

Print Spec Sheets
MS 211 C-BE Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 35.2 cc (2.15 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.7 kW (2.3 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.6 kg (10.1 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 280 cc (9.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 180 cc (6.1 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 30 to 45 cm (12" to 18")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3636 (63 PM3 61) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 18" 3005 000 4817 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™ (E)
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL products easier. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Winter/Summer Shutter
    The Winter/Summer Shutter allows the carburetor to operate at optimum temperature year-round and helps to prevent carburetor icing when working below 50°F (10°C).
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Bumper Spikes
    Help prevent pull-in and provide better control, making cutting easier.
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • Patterned Frame Glasses Zoom
    Patterned Frame Glasses
    Experience professional-grade protection from the harsh sun with the Patterned Frame Glasses from STIHL. Offering 99% UV protection, the glasses meet ANSI standard Z87.1+ and feature comfort-cushioned nose pads and polycarbonate impact-resistant lenses. They’re also lightweight and slip-resistant. Stop by our showroom to check out the Patterned Frame Glasses, as well as all of our protective eyewear!
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 211 C-BE is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 124.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great ! Works great and easy to use , starts good and light weight. You do have to mix oil and gas as all 2 strokes require . Got mine free from a friend as someone put straight gas in it :)Put a new piston in it today and runs great!!
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wish I had never bought it I have had it less than one year. It is at the dealer's for the third time, twice in two weeks. I have gotten less than two hours of use out of the saw in one year. I only need it when we have storm damage. Always have to borrow the neighbor's electric chainsaw, because the Stihl MS 211-C does not work.After the second repair, I got +/- 1/2 hour of good use out of it. Then the throttle stopped working again.I pump 5 gallons of 93 gas into my truck's tank, before I get a gallon for the saw. This should assure that I am getting the best gas. I use Stihl's oil addiive and Stihl's chain oil.
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Started as a Newbie. Love my Stihl Seven years later, moving to the city & have to sell it. I'd buy another in a heart beat.
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lid to chain oil reservoir It never wants to go back on. Ready to throw many times to hot outside to stand and mess with it for 10-15 minutes when there's work to be done
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless Epic failure after one hour of light use, not working in all angles and then the gears got stuck
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from easy to start but chain tensioner is not dependable the saw is light and easy to start but the chain tensioner broke within the first hour of use
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very dependable saw I've used Stihl saws for over 40 years. When I needed a smaller lighter saw for general maintenance on our property I selected the MS 211 C- BE. The light weight, easy start and dependability where at the top of the list for my needs. Like my other Stihl saws, there is no disappointment here. Very happy that I stayed with a Stihl.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and very light Easy controls and light when cutting limbs off trees.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw, used it a ton I love this chainsaw. I purchased it 9 months ago and have run it hard. I thought by now I would have been testing the warranty but no problems. Anti kick is nice and vibration damping is something special.
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Bought this chainsaw awhile back and my father and I have used it extensively. We've cleared many areas and cut many, many trees down. Not one problem out of it what so ever. Always used STIHL fuel mix, and used 100% gas as well. Only thing I've ever done for it is get it another chain because we wore out the original.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT BUY THIS SAW PERIOD The MS 211 is a dog. I've tried several brand chains, several different cut chains and 93 octane gas. Nothing works, saw bogs down under load, hence wears chain faster. On 4 different occasions I started with fresh chain and after 20 to 30 minutes put it down and picked up my 20 year old other manufacture saw of same size and HP. It will literally cut circles around this Stihl. I am a homeowner that started with 95 trees on my lot. I have removed 31. Most work, except for the 4 occasions, was performed with the other manufacturer's saw. Stihl required 2 edits of this review before they would post it.
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is Beast! This saw is a great midrange use cuts it all thick or thinLight weight ,easy start .
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw. We have a couple Stihl pieces and they're awesome. Had a different brand of saw that I had nothing but trouble with. Got the MS211C for Christmas. Great piece. Runs like a top, easy to handle.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Update to my earlier 3 year review I just got my saw back from my local dealer. They did a wonderful job and replaced the bar oil reservoir and piston under warranty. Saw runs good now and I have turned it over to the wife for her use. I am a little disappointed that it needed major repairs after only three years but give kudos to Stihl and my dealer for standing by the extended warranty.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Buy the MS180 I cut my fair share of firewood (15-20 cords/year) I own and swear by Stihl products. I also run a 036 Pro and a MS180. If your looking for a small saw for topping out and trimming, go with the MS180. I can't put that little guy down! Lightweight, powerful and easy to sharpen. And cuts circles around the 211. I had nothing but carb issues since I purchased it last year. I'm frequently adjusting the carb to keep it performing. I grab the 180 every chance I get, that alone should signify how much I prefer operating the MS180.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 3 year review I've owned this saw for three years. The first year it performed well then it started to leak bar oil when it was not being used, then it would not run after it warmed up. It's in the shop for the third time but I am afraid I just wore it out. I take care of my tools and have performed a tune-up and clean the air filter regularity.We have heavily wooded property that we are still clearing, I have a MS311 and it now the go-to saw but would like a lighter saw for limbing and the wife to use.This is the last homeowner grade saw I will buy. The farm/ranch or professional series are much better if you plan on using it a lot.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to start Love how easy this is to start, it handles well and cuts great!!
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this saw love this saw, easy to start, easy to use, easy to maintain.service is outstanding
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chain All Stihl chainsaws come equipped with a anti kick back chain. However the overall quality of this chain has issues. The biggest is the chain requires frequent sharpening after two to three hours use. I like to keep the chain sharp to optimism cutting. However the frequent sharpening will cause a shorter life and more frequent replacement.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy on the arms Bought this saw to supplement the 036 I bought back in 1998, what a difference in weight. I have been burning orchard wood and needed something a little easier to swing around........ this saw fits the bill on features and starting ease. Ran about 5 tankful's of 100LL aviation fuel w. 2 cycle oil and runs like my other Stihl, good. (ps. if you dont want your fuel to go stale run aviation fuel in small carburated engine equipment).I hit some twigs or vines or something and the chain jammed so had to mess with that out in the field to get it going again. Pulled the chain cover completely off to remedy and found the bar adjustment wheel with the gear teeth fell off the bar? After some research i think there is supposed to be a screw holding it on so might have to get that now.....don't think it was ever put on but don't know for sure. All in all very happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Waiting to see.. I bought this saw to replace my old 16" Jonsreds that was made in 1982. What sold me on this Stihl model was the anti-vibration springs that support the body of the saw. I do not want long term nerve damage, and my hands had been feeling numb after an hour of using my 34 year old Jonsreds.I really like the vibration dampening, but my old saw, which is nearly the same size motor, was stronger. Maybe the piston rings haven't seated in the Stihl yet, or maybe I should have played with the air fuel mixture screws before writing this review... Also, having no grease lube port on the bar's tip suggests it wasn't meant to last long. Am I wrong?
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love the features. Hate the amount of problems I've had. I bought the saw on June 17th. I used it one afternoon with my son. I had a tree fall in my back yard August 7th. It ran for one tank of gas and would not start. Took it to the dealer, the carburetor was stuck. That was one week in the shop. I used it for a several weeks. Next, the ez start malfunctioned. Another week in the shop. The day after I got it out of the shop there was no compression. Scored cylinder (air leak in the crankcase). Three weeks in the shop. After I got it out of the shop it started to bog down under load and shutdown after 10 minutes. Took it into the shop where it is now (another week). I have only used stihl oils and cleaned the air filter. All work has been covered by warranty. I would rather be using it than driving it back and forth to the shop.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice saw for home or pro. use. The best saw I've ever used. For its size does a big time job.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I must have got the lemon Bought me a STIHL MS 211 C-BE chainsaw, never owned a STIHL before all my neighbors and friends swear by them so I needed a good dependable saw so I got me one. After 3 tanks of the high dollar fuel my saw stopped, it will run as long as you keep the choke on full but as soon as you take the choke off it dies. I took it back to where I purchased it and they tried to start it to no avail. Now the weather has started to cool down enough to get back into the woods my new chain saw is still in the shop, been there longer than I had it at home, and I am using the same old wore out saw that made me want the Stihl to begin with.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is worthless Dont buy this garbage. Have had 2 already the second was a replacment for the first. It is already back at the shop. Wont run have had about 6 hours in total between the two. Honestly the worst chainsaw I have ever used. Get a different model
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features easy to use Very easy to start More powerful than I expected cuts great
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Did some research before purchasing and the store helped with any questions. Great chainsaw overall and looks durable enough to last many years !
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not So Easy To Start I bought this chainsaw to replace my old Stihl 025. I needed a lighter saw, and the easy start feature with a much shorter and lighter pull was a major selling point. I found that the easy start feature was frustrating. Unlike the 025, which started on the second pull after the initial turn-over, this saw would not start reliably. Once I spent more than 15 minutes before I could get the engine to catch and run.The trick appears to be to pull the cord 2-3 times at the suggested start position, then move to half choke (one notch up), pull 2-3 times at that setting, and then to try pulling with the choke in the run position. The saw cuts well once it gets started, and I've used it to cut junipers that were 15-18 inches in diameter. The chain tension adjustment is much easier, and overall the saw cuts as well and is even easier to maintain than the 025. If only it were as easy to start!
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Wow! What a saw! I have used the hound out if this saw. Bought a lake lot that was basically a forest. Had it shredded, then had to clear all that was not shredable. Me and my new saw got well acquainted. The easy start is the cat's meow. Just pull to get to the compression, then a short pull and the saw never misses first crank...other than cold starts. Have to learn the new cold start method. But once that was learned, no issues. The other highlight is the no wrench adjustment...the bee's knees. Walking through the woods and not having to stop, pull a wrench, loosen screws, adjusting chain, etc. CRAZY! Just turn two knobs and keep cutting. Plenty of power too! Nothing bad to say. I was a bit sceptical of "new" things, until I experienced it. Awesome! Great job Stihl.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Saw This is my first Chain Saw. I am amazed. The biggest tree I cut down was about 10" diameter. It cut the tree like a hot knife through butter. Light-weight and easy to handle. Starting the saw is amazingly easy.
Date published: 2016-05-24
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_124
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms211cbe, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl