MS 250 - $349.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Bar

DSRP: $349.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A chainsaw designed for firewood cutting – with a great power-to-weight ratio.

When you rely on firewood to keep your home warm and cozy, you need a good chainsaw to build a solid woodpile. With an exceptional power-to-weight ratio, the STIHL MS 250 is up to the task. It is easy to operate and combines great features to take care of clearing jobs as well as cut through small limbs and trees. For many years, the MS 250 has been a model of efficiency and reliability, check it ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 250 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 45.4 cc (2.77 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.2 kW (3.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.6 kg (10.1 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 470 cc (15.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 200 cc (6.8 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN .325" RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 45 cm (16" to 18")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 68) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 18" 3005 008 4717 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Winter/Summer Shutter
    The Winter/Summer Shutter allows the carburetor to operate at optimum temperature year-round and helps to prevent carburetor icing when working below 50°F (10°C).
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Deputy Glasses Zoom
    Deputy Glasses

    Tough protection that also looks the part. The STIHL Deputy Glasses meet ANSI standard Z87.1+ and feature both protection and style. The lenses are a scratch-resistant polycarbonate that block out 99.9% of the sun’s harmful UV rays. They are also comfortable to wear, featuring a soft rubber nosepiece and dual-mold rubber temples that helps to keep the glasses in place when the head is in motion. Stop by our Dealership to check out these and other great protective eyewear styles. Shown in Brown Frame / Brown Mirror Lens. Available lens colors (Black Frame): Blue Mirror, Smoke (Brown Frame): Brown Mirror


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 250 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 648.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Saw for the Money** I purchased this saw, Like it but Hard to start, I own a Husky Saw Also starts easier then the MS250, I just purchased the MS170 saw LOVE IT! It's my go to saw!
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bulletproof Pretty much bulletproof. I bought Stihl because of a previous saw.I bought this one sooner than I expected because of the $50 off. And.... the dealer helped me with issues (another brand) when no one else would.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from first stihl,last stihl This is the first stihl I bought and the last. It takes 20-30 cranks or more before it will start, after it's started it does have good power but getting it to start is the problem. My 13 year old other brand chainsaw starts in 2-3 cranks, not as much power but easy to start.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth it Recently purchased because of sale. Saw kept stalling out, hard to restart. Switched back to a beat up xxxx to finish the job of cutting down ornamental cherry trees. Very disappointed always wanted a Stihl. Saw is not a week old now I will be stuck with it. The entry level box store cut down over 30 Ash trees from 6 inches to 17 inches in diameter. I was trying to use a stihl to cut down cherry trees using a stepladder (3 small trees 6-8 inch) Dealer tells me the 250 is just for trimming branches. Well get a different chain saw brand or a bow saw. While I am not a professional, I do need a saw that will stay running.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value Got this MS250 to replace an old 028AV from the late 70's. I am impressed with the power to weight ratio. Followed the starting instructions and have not had an issue starting. Hope this saw lasts as long as the last one and I believe it will as long as I do my part feeding it premium gas/oil mix, good bar/chain oil and keeping it clean and maintained.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product this saw just feels right in my hands. it starts from cold in only two pulls(no primer bulb)and once it gets going then just one pull. it has power to spare and could quite easily cut down very large trees. very easy to maneuver and easy to maintain. much better quality than the two previous that I owned. keep the bar chain oil topped off and the gas mixed correctly and it will slice through any tree that you put in front of it. all in all I'm very pleased with my purchase and I look forward to using it more often.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MS250 after a year I've had my MS250 for right at a year. The only issue I've had is it flooding to easy when I go to start it. Other than that works great!!!
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 250 2014 Got my MS 250 in April 2104. Not many hours on it. Cuts like crazy! best I ever used.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I bought the 250 to be my dedicated firewood saw, and as a compliment to my ms 180 and 660. I previously owned an echo 590 for firewood, but it was a bit on the heavy side. So I sold it and replaced it with the 250.... really really nice saw. Good power. Good weight. What else can I say!? For clearing the property and cutting firewood it’s everything I need and then some!!! Don’t think just buy one.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Chainsaw I ever owned I bought this saw to help a friend clean his 88 acres he recently purchased. I have owned other brands and for the price they were just ok, mostly lacking power and reliability. I decided I would go with what I have always known to be the best, since I had made a living for awhile selling firewood. I found this MS 250 on sale, but looked online to see if I could find a better price, not knowing they have to be run before they are sold. I bought the saw and the premixed fuel and I couldn’t be more happy. The saw has a 18” bar and is a power house. It runs through everything without much effort at all. I can’t say enough about power, and it runs like a dream. It’s no problem to start as long as you follow the directions, if not you will flood it, like I did because I was used to other saws. Once I manned up and read the directions, it’s been easy starting ever since. GREAT GREAT SAW, I wish I would of bought one earlier in life, would of saved me a lot of work. Buy a Stihl you won’t regret it.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Bought this a year ago after fighting half the summer with another name brand. The starting ease and cutting power compared to the other saw is remarkable. I'm totally impressed and would definately buy another STIHL saw.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is the best I have had this saw for almost a year and I love this saw its got plenty of power for it all. never let me down yet. it's the best saw that I have purchased. I also have the ms 171 it's a great saw too.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ms250 It the best chainsaw every ms250 I had it for 6 mouth and it done it job it cut about 22 Rick of wood I love it
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I am greatly disappointed. I recently purchased an MS250. The dealer fired it up supposedly. Three days of trying to start the thing with total failure. It occasionally will hit but that is all. I have been using chainsaws for a number of years and have never had this much of a problem starting one up. Thankfully I have a chain store brand which fires up reliably.. I think I may trade this Stihl for another of the chain store brand for considerably less cost.. My previous Stihl was excellent so I thought I would get a new one. My last Stihl was purchased over 30 years ago.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! Does what I need it to do. Using it for home use and for clearing limbs at my hunting property. It won't see daily use, but so far its performed very well. My local Stihl dealer did the initial start up and show me the ins and outs of the saw. Read the manual as well. My first time starting the saw, required me to pull the rope a few more times than I would've liked. I pulled 5 times in the cold choke position, then moved to warm choke for 5 pulls and finally started after I put it in normal run position.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't ask for better I've had this saw for almost 5 years. Never let me down. I have abused it but also serviced it regularly somewhat. Let warm up for 2 minutes when cold, clean wiith pick and blow gun after each use, and use a 1" paint brush to clean around gas and oil ports before opening. Only problem I've had is a clip coming loose in the wrap around handle. I would say I've ran probably 10 gal of fuel through it over the years, mostly when it was new and was cutting trails at my friends house. Cut about any type of wood green or rotted, burry it in dirt and so on. Original chain that is been sharpened so much teeth are breaking off. Original plug, cleaned once 2 years ago, original filter, original bar, original clutch(about half wore through on sprocket. Never flooded it (followed starting directions) and started easily every time. Maybe I got lucky but I love this saw and am extremely pleased with it.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependability, and plenty of power! I have owned a few saws, not one of them hold a candle to my MS 250. Couldn't be happier with my purchase. I highly recommend this machine.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great price caught it on sale I bought this for a community service project our company was doing. I love the power and ease of starting.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ripping through meat Doesn't bog through the tough parts really works well
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from smoking lil machine.. reasonable price, medium weo I'd recommend.. highly dependable, fast if you honey the chain between jobs..
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good saw at a good price good chainsaw but it floods easily making it hard to start sometimes.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from hard satart get a workout trying to start about 30 pulls to start
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality saw but Stihl Bars don't measure up Have had 3 of their bars fail because the sprocket tip either stops turning completely or gets bound up and overheats. Two 14 inch rollermatic and 1 18 inch rollermatic. Have switched to other brand bar,
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value at a great price I bought the easy start system, if you are bran new to chainsaws then your brain will be trained for the new starting.....if you have run allot of saws then the easy start is something you will have to get used to. As good as this product starts and runs the easy start is pretty awesome... again you just have to retrain your brain. If you have shoulder problems or not very strong and have trouble pulling cords, this is the saw for you. Its so simple to start
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gold Standard Value Workhorse The Stihl MS250 is an exceptional value (even more so when on sale). This saw has been in production since 2002 and was based around the classic 025 dating back to 1991. This saw is literally the AK-47 of chainsaws and is STILL in the lineup after 15+ years because it simply works! Parts are everywhere (doubtful you will need them). It's also supremely simple to operate. Disregard reviews saying it is hard to start. It's not by any means. For cold starts 1. Full choke (2-3 pulls MAX) then 1/2 choke and it usually fires in 1-2 pulls. Hot starts are single pulls 95% of the time. This saw makes plenty of power for its size and it's lightweight makes it usable for much longer than other saws. The air filter needs no tools to access and the chain is easily adjustable. Overall I couldn't be happier with my MS250.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to start and keep running. This saw has good power and cuts well AFTER you finally get it started. It also dies a lot when I turn it on it's side to cut standing trees. I have taken it back to big r a couple of times. They have a hard time getting it started also. But they say nothing is wrong with it. I ended up buying a different brand of saw, not quite as powerful but starts in two pulls.
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power to weight ratio I have owned the MS-250 since 2011, and I am very pleased with its performance. I have taken this saw and an older, larger H saw on several disaster relief responses with SCBDR, and multiple storm responses in my home town with VFD, and have used the MS-250 almost exclusively because of it's light weight versus the larger saw ( larger saw was only used when longer bar length was needed). Cutting up downed trees 8 to 9 hours a day for 5 to 6 days was much easier with the lighter MS-250. The saw has proven to be very reliable with just routine maintenance required. I have always used only the dealer recommended Stihl HP Ultra 2 cycle oil with 93 octane fuel and have never had a problem with the saw starting.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! I always wanted my very own Stihl chainsaw, but due to finances, always opted for something else, regrettably. Finally, I now own a MS-250 and am so pleased with it. This is a mean chainsaw. It excels in everything I ask it to do. Get yourself one today. You will NOT be disappointed.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is easy to start I am impressed with my new MS251C with the easy start feature and simplified chain tightening. I am over 65 and have shoulder issues, so the easy pull start is an especially great feature. The saw has plenty of power and does not stall when turned perpendicular to the tree I am felling. I have already cut two pickup loads of firewood at relatively high elevations in the mountains of Wyoming, so the saw it is well broken in and still running great.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful and lightweight I bought the MS250 to cut limbs and smaller wood from larger trunks. It works great. It is lightweight and easy to handle. It has plenty of power for the 16 inch bar I have on it. I liked the saw so much, I bought a second one that my wife uses. A very good saw for every day use.
Date published: 2017-09-28
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_648
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl