MS 250 - $349.95 DSRP


MS 250 ChainsawMS 250 ChainsawMS 250 Chainsaw
Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Bar

DSRP: $349.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A chainsaw designed for firewood cutting – with a great power-to-weight ratio.

When you rely on firewood to keep your home warm and cozy, you need a good chainsaw to build a solid woodpile. With an exceptional power-to-weight ratio, the STIHL MS 250 is up to the task. It is easy to operate and combines great features to take care of clearing jobs as well as cut through small limbs and trees. For many years, the MS 250 has been a model of efficiency and reliability, check it ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 250 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 45.4 cc (2.77 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.2 kW (3.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.6 kg (10.1 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 470 cc (15.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 200 cc (6.8 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN .325" RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 40 to 45 cm (16" to 18")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 68) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 18" 3005 008 4717 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Winter/Summer Shutter
    The Winter/Summer Shutter allows the carburetor to operate at optimum temperature year-round and helps to prevent carburetor icing when working below 50°F (10°C).
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open-back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Deputy Glasses Zoom
    Deputy Glasses

    Tough protection that also looks the part. The STIHL Deputy Glasses meet ANSI standard Z87.1+ and feature both protection and style. The lenses are a scratch-resistant polycarbonate that block out 99% of the sun’s harmful UV rays. They are also comfortable to wear, featuring a soft rubber nosepiece and dual-mold rubber temples that helps to keep the glasses in place when the head is in motion. Stop by our Dealership to check out these and other great protective eyewear styles. Shown in Brown Frame / Brown Mirror Lens. Available lens colors (Black Frame): Blue Mirror, Smoke (Brown Frame): Brown Mirror


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 250 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 680.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True Stihl power! Great power, lightweight, easy to start, and cuts like butter! My local Stihl dealer recommended this saw to me and I'm so glad I took their advice. The MS 250 starts easy if you follow the starting instructions. I've heard of people having problems starting it but I haven't had any problems and I've cleared off almost an acre of heavily wooded land with this saw with ease. Exactly what I was looking for in a strong chainsaw. Perfect for cutting down large trees for firewood too! Highly recommend this saw to everyone.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great first saw! This is my first real chainsaw. Have flight with cheaper brands before and vowed to never again. This saw has done everything I've asked it to. And I'm pretty hard on it, cleaning up brush around the homestead.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good weekend saw Good saw for the weekend wood cutter. Has descent power, easy to start, runs great and is easy to maintain.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good firewood and more saw We bought this saw on sale and it has not disappointed us yet. Good power, good price and started very easy every time. I wish I has bought one sooner!
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I was wanting Very good product. Starting is easy and reliable. Power is just fine for my application also.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! I bought the MS250 a couple months ago, and since have used it a number of times. Always starts within the first 5 pulls. Great power, lightweight, and easy to work on. Just don't forget to check your chain tension after first couple uses!!
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to start Easy to flood making it almost impossible to start. After 30 minutes trying to start it, was about to take it back to store when it started. Very unlike Stihl.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought about 6 months ago I have been cutting on 40 acres that has been logged. I bought this saw with an 18" bar and it is a good size bar for the engine. I'm cutting logs up to about 24" and have had no problems at all! It starts like a typical Stihl saw, just like all the other models I have used for the past 30 years. So far I've cut about 20 pick-up loads of wood with no problems.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chainsaw Perfect Size I love my MS250 Farmboss. It's the perfect size and weight. Enough power to handle a 14" diameter oak tree. Light weight and well balanced
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor chail oiler Had return saw twice forlow chain oiling the only way to use it is with winter bar oil and oil adjustments next saw will be a jonsered,
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw is excellent only a week old to me purchased new but oil cap is leaking gonna return for them to resolve this issue but very nice chainsaw Oil cap leaking this is my only issue but I’m sure they will fix this issue very pleased it’s cut everything I’ve laid it into hasn’t stalled or caused me any grief in anyway besides a new cap that’s an easy fix Stihl can’t be beat
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihlcuttin I bought the 250 to clear property, and cut firewood. It’s easy to start, It cuts quick and at 10lbs I can work with it all day. if you have property or ranch and need a reliable saw that has plenty of power and won't break your back, this saw is definitly one to consider. My only small gripe is I wish it had felling lines on it.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than my expectations Had my saw for a year now. Just needed a medium duty saw and the 250 did far more than that. I had several huge ash trees felled by professionals and then I did the clean up and cut the logs. More than adequate power to cut through 20" plus diameter logs. Taking my time and letting the saw work I only had to touch sharpen a few times. I knew Stihl had a good reputation and I'm glad I trusted that information.You can't go wrong.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw, powerful and lightweight, starts easily even in cold weather and fast cutting even on oak. I own 4 pro saws in the 60 to 70 cc class that are great powerful reliable saws but they all weight 13 to 15 pounds. It gets very tiring running that large a saw when the majority of the cutting could be done with a smaller lighter saw. I recently bought the Stihl MS 250 to fill that role in my cutting demands. I am very happy with this new saw. It is easy to start even in cold weather, two pulls at full choke one at half choke and its running. Restarts with no choking at all. Love this saw, cuts very fast even in oak, powerful and lightweight. Would highly recommend this saw for anyone needing a dependable pro grade saw.
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has real power for the power to weight ratio. I worked FEMA cleanup for the IRMA hurricane, worked dusk till dawn and pushed the limits on our equipment. Had 1 Ryobi, 2 Stihl MS170's, 1 MS270 and a blown up Poulan Pro.Bottom line we got our work done. Gained a lot of respect for the 170's, they held up like any pro saw, Installed an Oregon Powermate on both 170's. Used 16" with .050 bar with VG series chains that lasted much longer. Then I bought the MS250 and installed an 20" Bar and 81 tooth chain with a .325 Powermate 7tooth sprocket. Blew the doors off the MS270 and didn't have the X-tra weight. The MS250 has got some real power without the weight and was easy to start and easy on your muscles and a pleasure to use. Everyone would fight for the 250. I strongly recommend the 250, It's really a pro Hot Rod saw.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect saw for home owners This saw is simple,easy to use,has a great oiler & high quality oil & gas caps. The pull starter can be a little difficult to use but once you get used to it there's no problem.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and maintain. I own this saw, a 170 and a 311. They all start quickly and run amazingly well. If you keep the saw clean, run non ethanol fuel(at least 91 oct) and don’t use the saw as a gas can (run saw out of fuel every time) it will start every time without fail. A little knowledge of small 2 stroke engines goes a long way!
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IRAMA This Stihl MS250 worked hours cutting up downed trees after Hurricane IRMA. I have many brands but this chainsaw worked hard and did not let me down.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stihl 18" 250 This is the worse chainsaw I have ever owned. Nine months old, will not start for anything. Requires going to shop every time I want to run it. Works Ok once started.If it sits for a few weeks, it wont start!!! Recommend for trash heap.Would love to get part of my $$$ returned!!The number of start pulls required (which still won't start it) is destroying my right shoulder. I follow start directions in manual to no avail.No more Stihl chainsaws for me!!!
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw Reliable chainsaw priced right. I purchased the 18” and it’s great for cutting firewood. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from does not hold up in cold weather Bought one to use as a winter fire wood saw at the trapline camp. First cold temps of -35 and the front plastic handle cracked and then the bar cover.
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One month in I bought the MS 250 right before Thanksgiving. My wife asked me what I wanted for Christmas and I said a good Chainsaw. (Two walnuts to cut). She said go get one. So I shopped on line a bit, went to 3 different stores and compared prices, and said I've got to check Stihl. I expected the price to be higher, but they were running a special, and I brought it home. Then I started reading about starting problems. So after a couple of days of thinking I'm going to just use the old Homelite until Christmas, my curious side got the best of me. The tech at the store told me what do do, and I followed the instructions he gave me. Two cranks on full choke, 1 pull on half choke, and started. I've used it a couple of times since, and I couldn't be more satisfied if it had come with a bag of candy. I don't know what could possibly be a problem with starting, knock on wood.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great saw! starts every time cuts awesome. I cut through logs like there butter. I did have poulan and what trash. now having a reliable saw I'm out at least once a week cutting and I am excited to step up to a pro model even though it is probably not needed for what I'm using it for but I want one anyway.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw LightweightLots of power for the sizeEasy to start when you know the sequence. 1-2 pulls with full chock, then 1 pull at half chock. She has started really easy every since I read the sequence in a STIHL forum.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MS 250 won't start. I have an old old o17 & love it .Wanted a bigger one & bought a new MS 250. It pulls over unbelievably hard & I can't get it started. Watched at least a dozen you tube videos on starting problems with the MS 250. Stihl should recall this model its useless & I'm using my old saw for cutting jobs that I bought the MS 250 for. I would recommend Stihl products but not the MS 250.chain saw , its useless!
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great power and unstoppable, restarts beautifully Bought this saw to cut oak firewood, which we have had plenty of given the storms we have all seen building in force. Once I got used to the starting protocol of this saw I have had no instances of flooding that required compressed air to dry the internals. On my wish list might be fuel and oil level indicators but that's a nit. Saw is balanced well and not too heavy for the size trees it can slice through. Glad I picked a Stihl.this time around.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Bought the saw for use at our house - nothing very large and the saw is perfect. Take it hunting and the saw works flawlessly for my needs.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bought two of them Had one for a year and it went though a flood still working well. But bought one the next fall incase it gave out in the winter and after the warranty was gone the oiler quit working on the newer one. Would be a 5 star if not for that haven't looked that hard to find out how to change it but from a little bit of looking looks like it might be a pain in the rear.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for the money Just bought my third ms250. I am a carver and run these saws harder than probably 90% of any one whoever buys one and they will take a lot of abuse. As long as you blow it off with compressed air and blow off the air cleaner on a regular basis you will have minimal problems. Use only 91 octane gas and drain it if you aren’t going to use it within the week. If you don’t you will have carb issues(that’s no fault of Stihl it is just the gas breaks down rapidly and laquers up in the small passages in carb) if you feed it good gas and keep it blown off you will get years of reliable use. They start easy ( if you follow the instructions if not you can pull on them all day long) altitude can cause you grief but easily adjusted. I live at 4500 ft and if I go higher than 6500 I need to adjust carb. I own 2 ms170’s, 3 ms250’s, 026, 028av, 038av, 2 044’s , ms660 magnum and an 009. The ms250 is my go to daily saw.... highly recommend
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stihl ms250 This chainsaw is a very good chainsaw to get if you cut small amounts of fire wood or use it for yard work. I have upgraded to the 261 C-M pro series cause I cut fire wood and sell it so I use my chainsaw on a daily basis. The ms250 is a very good saw and I have had very few problems with it. As long as you keep it tuned and clean it and do required maintenance to it, the saw will last you a long time.
Date published: 2017-11-13
  • y_2018, m_2, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_680
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl