MS 250 - $349.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Bar

DSRP: $349.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A chainsaw designed for firewood cutting – with a great power-to-weight ratio.

When you rely on firewood to keep your home warm and cozy, you need a good chainsaw to build a solid woodpile. With an exceptional power-to-weight ratio, the STIHL MS 250 is up to the task. It is easy to operate and combines great features to take care of clearing jobs as well as cut through small limbs and trees. For many years, the MS 250 has been a model of efficiency and reliability, check it ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 250 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 45.4 cc (2.77 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.2 kW (3.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.6 kg (10.1 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 470 cc (15.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 200 cc (6.8 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN .325" RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 45 cm (16" to 18")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 68) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 18" 3005 008 4717 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Winter/Summer Shutter
    The Winter/Summer Shutter allows the carburetor to operate at optimum temperature year-round and helps to prevent carburetor icing when working below 50°F (10°C).
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Deputy Glasses Zoom
    Deputy Glasses

    Tough protection that also looks the part. The STIHL Deputy Glasses meet ANSI standard Z87.1+ and feature both protection and style. The lenses are a scratch-resistant polycarbonate that block out 99.9% of the sun’s harmful UV rays. They are also comfortable to wear, featuring a soft rubber nosepiece and dual-mold rubber temples that helps to keep the glasses in place when the head is in motion. Stop by our Dealership to check out these and other great protective eyewear styles. Shown in Brown Frame / Brown Mirror Lens. Available lens colors (Black Frame): Blue Mirror, Smoke (Brown Frame): Brown Mirror


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 250 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 648.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommend the ms 250 I have had my ms 250 since it was first introduced and use on a regular basis. This saw is the most dependable one I have had, including my ms 310. I have had Dolmar and Husquvarna and none of them stand up to my ms 250.Anyone who writes a bad review on this product needs to get more experience and education with chainsaws. Just keep your filters clean, use non ethanol gas or treat your ethanol gas, clean it on a regular basis. I would recommend an aggressive cut chain.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Look elsewhere when saw shopping I bought this saw to replace a fifteen year old Jonsered 2050. This saw is very prone to flooding when starting as other reviewers have stated. It is also not very powerful for it's displacement, and the relatively expensive Stihl safety chains dull quickly when cutting hardwoods. I bought the case for it also; good thing in that the bar oil tends to leak out into the case when stored. This saw is on sale every fall as a value leader and not meant for serious use.
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chainsaw at an even better price (on sale) Chainsaw does what it is supposed to, cut trees and limbs. Easy starting, simply maintenance. Just love working with it.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good saw overall with some quirks The first thing I'll say is that when you buy this saw, you need to get a spare yellow chain. The chain that comes on it is the green safety chain, and doesn't cut nearly as aggressively as the yellow chain.I would also recommend the filing guide pack with the raker file too. There is nothing worse than trying to cut with a dull chain.I have this saw with the 18" bar, and that is definitely the longest I would recommend on it, as I can bog it down when cutting through hardwoods at full length.I am used to the starting routine, and have only flooded the engine once by accident. I just had to wait a bit and then I could start it up. I always use full choke till the engine turns, go to half choke get it running, and then trigger to full throttle. I do winterize by emptying fuel.The only problem I've had is that the ground spade has come loose, which doesn't let the saw turn off when using the switch. You have to remove the case (which is relatively simple and doesn't require tools), find the ground spade to turn off the saw, and then place the spade connector back to where it was supposed to go.I now have also bought a spare 18" bar, and I have also been slabbing some smaller logs for use in some woodworking projects.This saw has been a workhorse for me, and even with the small number of issues, I would still recommend it as a great homeowner saw.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wimpy Saw The dealer recommended this saw for my firewood needs. I have used Stihl saws owned by family members for years and never had a problem. Those saws ( 036 and ms311) were more saw than I thought I needed when buying my own. So I thought this ms250 would do the trick. I figured out the starting and have no problem starting the saw. Two reasons not to buy this saw. 1. It has no power. It bogs down when cutting through a 2" limb. It doesn't throttle up very high either. It takes forever to cut through logs with a sharp chain. 2. You gotta fill it up with gas way more frequently than other saws when cutting. It stalls when the gas tank is still 1/4 full and won't restart until you fill it up again. I'm going to trade this wimpy thing in on a ms290 or ms311.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw from r the money! I own a small lawn care company and I used a craftsman chainsaw for 6 years. It finally got to where the chain wouldn't stay on and was hard to start in the middle of a trimming job. Went to local Stihl dealer and purchased this saw. I have had it 7 months now and it doesn't miss a beat. Once you get the trick of cranking it which my dealer showed me I have never had a problem with it.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than I could ask for I purchased this saw to clear some dead trees from my lot. It performed this job with ease. The wife then decided we needed a small retaining wall and I needed to cut a couple dozen RR ties. It worked very well for this project. I cleaned the saw between uses and kept the chain sharpened. I am very pleased with how well this saw runs and how easy it is to start. I am confident I will have and use this saw for many years.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The saw is very hard to crank, and I have used it less than two hours in the last year. Today is the one-year anniversary for the MS 250 Stihl chainsaw, I have used it less than 2 hours due to its very difficult starting process. I have brought it back to the local Stihl where I purchased it in Zachary Louisiana, twice, and now they referred me to bring it to another dealer as they have no mechanic at their location. Luckily, I have a two year warranty so whatever repairs that are needed can be done at a nother Stihl dealer near me.It has been very frustrating trying to use this product, which probably is a very good product, but I have been unable to crank it successfully. I am hopeful that another dealer will be able to fix it, as based on the first year I would rate this as a very poor running piece of equipment.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great saw. Dont listen to the bad reviews. This saw is fantastic. Most of the bad reviews are from people who don't know how to start a small engine with a choke. I have not flooded this saw once yet and have owned it a little more than a year. Had no problem cutting so far as long as you don't dull your chain. This is all the saw most home owners need unless your going to use it for ALOT of firewood. For those who flood it because they don't know how to start it when cold put on full choke (all the way down), pull until the engine burps once but don't pull more than 3 times, then move choke one click up to partial choke and pull until it starts into high idle then pull throttle to move to normal idle (run/one click from top) and your ready to cut. If its already warm just move choke down one click into run position and it will start in one or two pulls. Only time you touch the throttle in the starting sequence is moving from high idle to low idle. Snatch these models up before they stop making them!
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a good saw The saw is difficult to start. I keep it very clean and store it properly, but it does not turn over easily
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from IRMA mistake I bought this chain saw for Irma cleanup. First day the saw worked like a champ. Cut excellent. Second day would not start. Took it to a dealer, they could not get it to start, they passed it around no one could start it. Day 2 still waiting for the call it is fixed. Have been using an electric pole saw to do most of my cutting. I paid good money for a reliable Stihl, very disappointed. Should have saved my money. That cheap pole saw has outshines Stihl!
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have owned the MS250-C for ten years. I have it tuned every two years. It starts very easily, cuts very easily and is easy to maintain. Best chainsaw I have ever owned.
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Update of previous review Last week gave this saw a 1 rating. Now I've learned the trick in the starting drill, and am reversing previous review. The saw has a very unusual starting drill, which really does not come through the literature or video or dealer's instructions. When COLD, put on full choke, pull a little until past top dead center compression and give a moderately quick pull. Now it will NOT start but will "pop." When you feel and hear the pop, pull the trigger in slightly, and saw will go to partial choke. Same type of pulling, and it now starts on 2nd or 3rd pull. When HOT, leave off choke, and will start on first pull.The saw works extremely well, and cuts with it's Stihl chain just about anything with ease. The air cleaner cover locking lever is plastic, and already broke. Please make this metal. Air cleaner used plastic tabs, should be a metal hold down. If it were not for these items, and the starting drill which i've finally mastered, I'd give it a 5. Also, do NOT pull trigger when starting, as it will cause flooding, as I've learned.
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tired of it not starting Bought saw last year. Was hard starting since day one. Drained fuel and ran dry. This season it still has the hard starting and cuts off after 10 minutes of cutting. Will not restart until the next day.
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You won't be disappointed. Worth every dollar. Finally needed to buy one. Found this with a $60 off seasonal. Only thing is no primer but I'm great with fresh fuel.
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not start easily Just bought a new 250. Worked very well the first day. Had several trees downed by Harvey. Second day, would not start. Took it back to dealer; he had to blow out cylinder. Said the Stihl's are very easily flooded. After a while he got it started.Took it home, and while warm worked great. Next day, would not start. Very hard to pull start. The starting drill is absurd. Have had many chainsaws, some good, some bad, all would start with a few pull. Also, when cold, the 250 has no compression release and will actually backfire, and lock up causing the saw to fly out of my hand. Have already several bruises. My Husky 36 inch starts much easier cold.Really hate this saw, and will try to get money back.
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Relaible Piece of Equipment I've had my M250 for a number of years, I may only use it a few times a year. Each time I need it, it starts within 3 to 4 pulls, no matter how long is has been sitting, I keep the plug changed out regularly and make a point to keep as fresh of gas in it as I can, adding Stabil when I know it's going to sit for awhile. Just last night, after not having used it in over a year, 4 pulls and it started right up! Never will use another brand saw again.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from works ok when it starts only problem is hard to start very temperamental.If doesn't start first time floods very easily.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great new addition I wanted a saw between a 170 and 290, used a friends and really like its power to weight ratio. Purchased one and ran mine for several hours on Pecan tree removal without issue.It does start a bit differently, the 'pop' isn't as noticeable as others saws. flip to half choke after the third pull and it will fire up. 10th Stihl saw, 12th Stihl tool.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ole Trusty I've owned one of these saws for my landscaping business for the past 5yrs and have been very happy with it. I don't do a ton of tree work but when I do, its usually pretty involved. I've felled trees in diameters upwards of 1'-'2' ft with ease, and have cut up even thicker limbs that have fallen on the ground with no problem. It never takes more than a few pulls to get it running. It has great power and isn't very heavy.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product would not start I wanted to buy an American made chainsaw so I did my research and selected Stihl and the MS250. This was my first Stihl purchase.I should have taken it as a bad omen when two were sitting on the store shelf with gas. The salesman told me the chainsaws were returned because they had starting problems but the technician had adjusted them. The salesman said they are as good as new, so I asked him to start one up for me. However, he couldn't start it.So, he got a brand new one, put it together, loaded it with the Stihl fuel and started it in 4 pulls. So, I took it to my country place with the intent to cut up a tree that fell during hurricane harvey.I followed the instructions as written and could not start it. Let it sit and retried numerous times throughout the day but could never start it. To say I was disappointed, is an understatement. I took the chainsaw back, got a refund and bought another brand instead. The other brand started up just as I would expect it to. Started the second day as well without isse.Would have liked to have been a Stihl customer as I wanted to support a USA made products.
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Saw (when it starts) Floods easily but good saw once you adjust to it's finicky starting procedure. At 9,300 ft. hard to start and initially would not re-start after running out of fuel. At higher elevations pull once ONLY on full choke (more than 2 pulls on choke & it's Miller Time), then move up to no choke position with throttle locked open. Then starts with 1 or 2 pulls. When warm forget the choke and start with throttle locked open. Dealer had setup saw at ~4,600 ft, way too rich for 9,300 ft, and "couldn't adjust for altitude" at his shop. I leaned out the H screw to max, sprayed Sea Foam aerosol into air intake with engine running and air filter off (to clean out prior oil residue from flooding in throat) and this saw now roars and runs well. After the clean out have been able to back off a little on the H screw.Bottom line: Good saw, runs and cuts well (4+ cords so far) AFTER it has been properly setup for elevation. I have not tried this saw at sea level, perhaps it wouldn't flood as easily on the flats. A neighbor traded his new Stihl in for a Husky as he had too many problems trying to get it to run, but he does not tweak with tuning, etc.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Temperamental Not dependable at 8500 feet. Has to have absolutely fresh gas. Often will start once and then flood out the rest of the day. Dealer says i'm flooding it. Of course i'm flooding it when it won't start!
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! I love this saw. It has excellent power for the size and price. Runs great and relatively light.Only one issue... it seems to be a little to easy to flood when starting. The operating instructions should give more detail on how to start it. Admittedly, I am a bit inexperienced with 2-stroke engines. I struggled starting it the first time.I recomend only one or two pulls with the choke on and then switching the choke to run position for more pulls. Should start right up...Once you figure out the staring issue it runs like a dream. I am very happy with this saw. Would definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't get it to start. I don't use it often, but when I need it only starts 1 of 10Then I have to go to the old reliable 30+ year old Homlite. Suggestions?
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT POWER TO WEIGHT THE POWER TO WEIGHT RATIO MAKES THIS A GREAT ALL AROUND SAW LIGHT FOR THE SMALLER JOBS BUT PLENTY OF POWER FOR SMALLER FELLING APLICATIONS
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for! I have had my saw for 4 years now. It's very dependable but at times it's a little tricky to start(a little). Keep the blade sharp at that saw will always impress. Been out cutting with friends that have other brands and by the end of the weekend they say there going to get a Stihl!
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fails to start I had this chain saw for 4 years .As a home owner I have an occasional need to use it. Every time I need to use this I could not start. The carburetor gets flooded after couple of attempts to start. It needs lot of force to start.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Clutch and Crankshaft Bad My saw is about 3 - 5 years old and used to cut firewood and branches. Not a lot of hours on saw. Last time I started metallic sound and would not stay running. Took to dealer and clutch bad and need to replace whole crankshaft. Not a lot of value there!
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for me. I lost two 40 ft pines in my yard. Bought this saw to cut them myself instead of hiring a tree company. This saw made the job enjoyable and now I have a great saw when I need it again. Starts easy and a breeze to operate.
Date published: 2017-07-29
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_648
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl