MS 251 WOOD BOSS® - $329.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Bar

DSRP: $329.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use.

The STIHL MS 251 WOOD BOSS® Chainsaw is powerful, fuel-efficient and easy to use. Ergonomically designed to bring you maximum comfort during use, this tool produces 50 percent less emissions (as compared to previous models) for a smaller impact on the environment. The MS 251 WOOD BOSS® packs features like a Master Control Lever™ and easy-to-refill fuel and oil tanks, so you can worry less about st...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 251 WOOD BOSS® Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 45.6 cc (2.78 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.2 kW (3.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.9 kg (10.8 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 390 cc (13.2 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 198 cc (6.7 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN .325" RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 40 to 45 cm (16" to 18")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 68) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 18" 3005 008 4717 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Master Control Lever™
    The Master Control Lever™ is an easy to use single lever, operating the choke, starting throttle lock and on-off switch. The operator must pull the throttle trigger before moving the Master Control Lever™ to the choke position.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Chaps - 6 Layer Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps - 6 Layer
    Woodcutter Chaps - 6 Layer from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open-back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • STIHL® HellRaiser™ Glasses Zoom
    STIHL® HellRaiser™ Glasses
    The newest member of the STIHL protective eyewear – the STIHL® HellRaiser™. It offers 99% UV protection and style with enough attitude to protect your inner rebel. Featuring an extreme lightweight design and flex-point temples for ultimate comfort and stability.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 251 WOOD BOSS® is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 297.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't start on Choke Even during the product demo by the salesman the saw would not start with the choke on. I asked the guy how he was starting it and he showed me how to use my foot to both hold down the saw and keep the trigger for the fuel compressed so as to start the saw with the throttle open. Neither he nor I could get it to start just using the choke or without giving it throttle.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sadly disappointed I live on a wooded property and burn wood during the winter for heat. While doing some clean up of down debris and trees my old chain saw died. Did my homework reading reviews to purchase the best reliable saw at the best price for my need. Thought what I needed was a MS170. Great price for a lightweight chainsaw. Got it home died repeatedly. Took product back to store at local Rural King. Exchanged and up graded to the MS251 Wood Boss. Disappointed to say the least. Extremely difficult to start from cold start. Chain wore quickly. Went by manual numbers to get new chain. Found store doesnt stock what manual numbers call for. In reviewing numbers on bar and chain actually on my saw. Those dont match what's on store display, manual, or store shelf stock. I'm not a professional but, have over the years used various chainsaws and other out door products to maintain my property and assisted others with theirs. So, for all the hype I'm truly disappointed and likely wont be a returning customer.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love it I got this saw to cut up 4 large oak trees in my yard and take camping. It has some small issues in the beginning and Senders fixed it right away plenty of power chain stays sharp. My only complaint is the gas tank is small and has about 30-40 minutes of fuel. Im cutting 30" rounds has the power just takes a little bit.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gifts Have to buy another for my son because husband won't share
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid chain saw for light to medium use. Bought this saw to take down trees around my wooded home and trim others. Has enough power to use the 18 inch blade well. Won’t be the most powerful thing you’ve used but it stars up quick and strong (2 years of use) and should be able to get the job done. Biggest complaint is related to the fact that this is a “home saw”, meaning it’s in the home series rather than the professional series. Stihl sells the saw with a low kick back chain great for trimming trees. The second you get into a 10-18 inch log the bar heats up bad!!! Can’t adjust the Oiler according to the dealer I purchased from. (Southern states) and I bought a second chain thinking I had dulled the first and took it slow. Same thing, this chain is a joke. Who needs an 18 inch chain saw that can’t cut 10 inch logs? It’s never a power issue though so I’m shopping for a more aggressive blade to see if it solves the problem. I feel like Stihl is marketing to the homeowner who wants to brag that he owns a Stihl saw then cuts up the twigs in his yard. I hope this is not the case, I prefer a company who sells products made for professionals even at their entry level tools. I’m summary, great small medium use saw, good power and weight. Easy start. Terriblely “Safe”/slow chain and non-adjustable Oiler.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuts like butter Bought this saw to replace my ms170 was scared at first with all the negative about hard starting have no issues at all a lot of power and cuts like butter
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Plenty of power even when the chain is dull. I was concerned about it being finicky to start but no worries. Never been an issue. Very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I cut wood for personal use and sale a little...This saw is reliable and as long as it is maintained it works great
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product is misleading I purchased this saw thinking it would be a saw with an 18 inch cutting length. The bar has 18" stamped on it, part number 3005 810 4717. The bar has a diagram that shows 18 inches from the face of the cutter head to the end of the bar. But measuring the distance with a tape measure it is only 16 inches. I would really like the saw if it has an 18 inch bar.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lost Compression - Blew up two pistons after owning it two years Lost compression on this saw. Found that the piston had a dime size hole through it after I tore it apart. I was using the proper oil fuel mixture with Stihl's brand of two cycle oil. Replaced the piston. Had the saw running again and later that day the piston lost compression again.I give up on this piece of garbage. Now I need a new saw and I am debating giving Stihl another try. My father has always purchased Stihl products but his MS 251 ended up blowing up as well. I feel like their quality has really gone down and I am not feeling like I want to get bit again by Stihl with another purchase. Even someone at the distributor stated he was surprised this saw lasted this long due to its poor reputation.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard to start I bought this at rural king after irma hit our house pretty bad,right from the get go it was hard to start,it would die out while you were cutting the trees,I took it back to exchange it but rural king just serviced it and said it was just clogged up,but never work good afterwards,400 dollars was a lot of money for a chainsaw that doesn't work
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a perfect balance from the 311 for heavy work, and the 180 for trim up work. Overall, great saw for size and needed uses. Perfect saw for mid level work.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever!!! This is the first Stihl chainsaw I ever purchased and am now asking myself "WHY?" It is down right there best one ever. Cuts like butter, stays sharp, starts with ease every time. I personally will never buy any other brand. Highly recommend Stihl products to everyone.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for a new home owner! I bought my STIHL about 2 months ago when I moved into my new house. There were small to medium sized pines everywhere. The saw worked great taking them down! I'm sure it could do more, but I didn't need it to... not yet. I purchased my STIHL based on reputation and quality. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product has performed well The saw has performed beautifully. Hurricane Irma provided a substantial Chestnut tree that the saw made quick work of. I also used it over 10 days of clearing 40' tall bamboo and it performed very well. I am very pleased with the power, ease of operation and reliability.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crank, Cut, repeat. Wanted a saw that would crank easily, and cut. After doing research and price comparisons, the wood boss fit the bill.Very happy with purchase and the support I received when buying the saw.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it This thing starts like a champ, cuts like butter, and has ample power to keep going. I am running a yellow chain which this girl loves to use. I can’t say I have a complaint or con. And Deer Park Lawnmower where I bought it was amazing.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Perfect for home use. Good for firewood as well as tree maintenence
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cuts well. I enjoy the saw when it's running. Our ACE store adjusted the carb for our elevation before letting me take it home, but it still doesn't quite start reliably. I can always get it on eventually, but sometimes it takes more cranks than you'd think a new saw would take. This could be just me doing something wrong with maintenance or something. It cuts like a dream though, it's pretty lightweight, and adjusting the chain tension is a lot easier than it was on previous models.I bought STIHL because of the longevity claims though. So the real test will be whether or not I have to replace it in a couple of years.
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from good power bad design 30 years exp. used saw for less than 3 hours chain tensioner froze would not loosen or tighten clutch is already wore out repair guy says.called stihl waiting on outcome.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Let the Chips Fly I upgraded from an MS 170 which I used for 4 years and cut over 30 cords of wood and probably 100+ old growth dead standing red oaks with... It is still going strong and is a joy to use. It was light and easy to manuever for limbing.The MS 251 excels are raw power and vibration control. It also starts really well. It is much heavier to use for hours on end, but if you limb with a small saw and then fire up this for the main trunk and branches, the job goes a lot faster with less fuss. It can handle anything you will find on the east coast with the 20" bar. The bar is actually a bit much and I can't wait to re-fit it with a 16" to try for limbing and small trees. It ate up these huge hemlocks and ripped right through really tough hard beech that my MS170 struggles with unless ultra sharp.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice surprise This is my 3rd chain saw purchase and my first Stihl. The reliability of this saw is great. Starts after a pull and runs like a champ. I used this to clean up trees downed by a hurricane and where other chainsaws might have balked or broke this one cut without hesitation.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Starts Every Time Cuts great, easy to handle, runs smooth. Very useful around our farm!
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for small property I own a small amount of acreage and for clearing of small to medium size trees this saw is more than capable for the job. This saw is easy to handle and won't vibrate your hands numb like some other saws.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Plenty of power Runs great. The only issue im having is not enough bar oil comes out during use. But other than that is chews through anything you throw at it....
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw This is my first chainsaw. It has a lot of power at an affordable price. It cuts through logs with no problem and isn't too heavy. If you are unsure of the size saw you need for homeowner tasks and occasional bigger jobs, this is the way to go! Oh and very easy to start if you read the instructions on how to do it.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Quality Stihl Product I work for a licensed Stihl dealer in Ottawa lake Michigan. I see the high quality and great value of many Stihl products on a daily basis. Previously I worked for a landscape company experiencing many tools in the field and now in the shop. Picked up this saw for work around home and small side jobs. have put 4-5 tanks of fuel through the saw. Running Moto-Mix, Wood cutter bar oil, 18" bar with a full chisel chain this saw is a running sun of a gun. been very impressed with the weight to power ratio of the saw thus far. Keep a sharp full chisel chain on the saw and it will cut through most small timber in the Ohio/Michigan area with ease. only complaint is the saw has a single bar nut so keep a scwrench handy and check that the bar nut is tight regularly. Haven't had any issues thus far just an precaution I deemed necessary since purchase.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed Very disappointed...The starter pull cord broke twice during the first week.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best chainsaw I have ever owned. Great product! Well built. Plenty of power for a home owner. Used to clear some trees and cut firewood.Love the easy access to adjust tension on the chain.Cover, chain, and bar are easy to remove and replace. Makes clean up a snap.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Back up saw to my Husky Bought this saw as a back up for my 25 year old Husky. Got it just before hurricane Irma hit. Has been going since. Hard to find replacement chains this week with all the power outages and downed trees. Been helping the elderly neighbors, using both saws. Hope it holds up like my Husky has and I'll be happy.
Date published: 2017-09-15
  • y_2018, m_2, d_22, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_297
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms251, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl