MS 251 WOOD BOSS® - $329.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Bar

DSRP: $329.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use.

The STIHL MS 251 WOOD BOSS® Chainsaw is powerful, fuel-efficient and easy to use. Ergonomically designed to bring you maximum comfort during use, this tool produces 50 percent less emissions (as compared to previous models) for a smaller impact on the environment. The MS 251 WOOD BOSS® packs features like a Master Control Lever™ and easy-to-refill fuel and oil tanks, so you can worry less about st...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 251 WOOD BOSS® Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 45.6 cc (2.78 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.2 kW (3.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.9 kg (10.8 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 390 cc (13.2 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 198 cc (6.7 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN .325" RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 40 to 45 cm (16" to 18")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 68) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 18" 3005 008 4717 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Master Control Lever™
    The Master Control Lever™ is an easy to use single lever, operating the choke, starting throttle lock and on-off switch. The operator must pull the throttle trigger before moving the Master Control Lever™ to the choke position.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Chaps Zoom
    Woodcutter Chaps
    Apron Chaps from STIHL are made from rugged, 400-denier nylon and feature the same UL® classified protection as our other chaps. Just snap them over your pants and you’re ready to go. Sewn into the legs of the chaps are six layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex®, a cut-retardant material designed to clog the sprocket and stop the saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw in case of accidental contact with the rotating saw chain. The open-back design of these chaps makes them a great choice for hot working conditions.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • STIHL® HellRaiser™ Glasses Zoom
    STIHL® HellRaiser™ Glasses
    The newest member of the STIHL protective eyewear – the STIHL® HellRaiser™. It offers 99% UV protection and style with enough attitude to protect your inner rebel. Featuring an extreme lightweight design and flex-point temples for ultimate comfort and stability.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 251 WOOD BOSS® is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 297.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ms251 woodboss is a good saw, but I have noticed... I bought this saw (ms251 withought easy start or easy chain tensioner) over a month ago. Cut down a dying/dead 10" apple tree days after purchasing. The job was a breeze (aside from the heat in NC), and the chain performed great. I personally have not had issues with starting the chainsaw. I believe many people who are experiencing these issues (admitted by some) are Not following the appropriate steps. If cold, move choke lever to cold choke. Pull the starter rope until it starts to fire, making sure you don't exceed 3-4 pulls as to not flood the engine. Next, move lever to the "starting choke" position, and pull starter rope to finish the startup. If warm, or if you've started it already that day, begin starting the saw in the "starting choke" position. Simple as that. My only issue with the saw, after cutting down a handful of trees, is that the chain is not being oiled sufficiently. Oil is coming out (as I removed the bar/chain and started the saw briefly to observe this), but not enough comes out to properly lubricate the chain. I have been manually lubricating the chain before, and sometimes, during a job. This seems to be a recurring issue amongst owners of this saw. It's important to have the chain lubricated so that the chain, bar, and clutch down overheat, and so the chain doesn't dull out prematurely. While this is unfortunate, and somewhat annoying, I still enjoy the saw, and am impressed with its performance.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good choice i have cut up about 12 8 foot logs of various thickness and not disappointed at all.
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bang for your buck I received this beauty from my family on my 63rd Birthday, I can tell you - I am very pleased indeed! I have felled quite a few Ash trees that had emerald bore infestations on my property. These aren't sissy trees, they are good size and the Wood Boss held up to it's name.Easy to start - easy to operate as long as you are conscious of your surroundings and stay alert and safe.Good weight distribution and pretty quite too.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great balance of weight and power The MS 251 Wood Boss is a great homeowner/woodcutter saw with an ideal balance of weight, bar length and power for tasks around the home/ranch and for firewood cutting. Starts easily and runs great - easy to keep in tune. I ran Stihl chainsaws years ago professionally and I'm very pleased with this 'small' saw - it has the same quality design and construction as the big pro saws I used to use.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Stihl saw I've owned several Stihl chainsaws in the past and just replaced a decades-old 025 16" that just finally gave out. This new saw is more powerful,slightly longer (18") bar works as charmingly as my previous Stihls. I like some of the newer features like the quarter-turn caps for bar oil and fuel.Looking forward to many good years of service!
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tree saw excellent machine, easy to use ,and start up every time.
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleased overall A few times a year I cut wood at the house or help a friend with fallen branches. So far it has been great.Quality at 4 stars because when the shop assembled it, they did it incorrectly. This caused the chain bar stud to back out of the saw and was a frustrating saturday. The shop fixed it by removing the stud, cleaning hole, using locktite, and inserting stud.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for smaller jobs This is the first chainsaw I've owned or operated with any frequency, so understand this review is coming from a novice user. It was purchased to dispose if a large Bradford Pear Tree that fell on my property, which people who know about trees better than I do claim it's a weak and soft tree. The chainsaw worked perfectly for about half of the work but the chain became noticeably dull as cutting got much more difficult as I continued. By the end of the work I was struggling to cut limbs as small as 2-3" thick. Additionally, this model started immediately when first purchased, but also became more difficult as the work continued. I'm aware power tools require ongoing maintenance to stay at peak performance, but I assumed I could at least take care of one tree easily and take the chainsaw back to ACE for a tuneup afterwards simply to stay ahead of the game, not because it was absolutely necessary. In this case, there's no way I can begin another project without that tuneup first.
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality saw that is very dependable Bought the ms251 to cut down dead elm trees on my property. So far has performed flawlessly after cutting down over 30 trees, some almost 3 ft across. Keep the chain sharp and it goes through wood without issue. Starts right up and never stalls. Worth a few extra bucks over the saws you get at Home Depot or lowes.
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best chain saw I have ever owned Would recommend this chain saw to everyone! Starts every time & runs consistantly.
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3rd week after Log Cabin purchase. Beats the previous saws I have had. We had a wind storm down over 200 trees. I burned up a box store cheapie. The next weekend a bought a Stihl MS251 and never regretted it. It took a week to before I drive all the way up my driveway to our cabin. A year later I am still working on cleaning up the mess upland. The Stihl starts and runs on demand. Has never given me grief. Cuts twice as fast and is more predictable previous saws I have owned. I would buy another Stihl but realistically I don't see me ever needing another saw. Time will tell.
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Restarts poorly After the saws been running and then you shut it down, you go to restart it within 5 minutes it starts very poorly have to pull it 20 times. Had a 35 year old wood boss was a much better saw more power more reliability.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chain saw on the market. Best saw thus far. Very dependable and easy to handle.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice saw I have had the saw for about out year. It starts up every time with out a fuss. ( I put full choke on, pull 2-3 times ( it stutters), put half choke on, pull once, let it run for 10-15 seconds till the chain starts spinning, turn choke off and start cutting)Cuts great. I have been using it to clear my wooded lot that I plan on building on in the future. So far I have cleared a 20 x 220 path for my driveway. The saw has a little bit of weight, but not to bad. There is not much vibration as I'm cutting. The location of the gas and chain oil is very nice, easy to poor into with out making a mess.
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice perfect weight Awesome saw starts right up runs amazing. Ready to buy another
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Starts easily every time, good power, easy to handle
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw simply works as it should Fell a large tree. and limbed about 4 big oaks. All with one chain. After using cheap saws and getting maybe a day of decent use I was just sick of messing with them and being stuck in the middle of a project. Stihl is used by professionals for a reason. It is a great saw. Planning on replacing many of a lawn and garden tools with stihl products. Next up is a weed trimmer for sure. I tend to buy one every year because the cheap ones just give me fits.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice all around saw I was in the market for a new saw and had been using my father-in-laws Stihl Farm Boss. Naturally I gravitated towards the Farm Boss but after talking to the dealer, he convinced me to try the MS251 Wood Boss. For cutting medium trees and carrying a lot, this saw has plenty of power and very easy to handle while limbing. Great Saw!!!!
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'v had it for three days only used it for 6 hours I dont its ok so far. maybe with a little mor use I might be able to give a better review
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Chain tighening screw stripped after third use The chainsaw cuts like a dream, when everything is functioning properly. During the third use, the chain became loose and slipped off the bar. While putting it back on, with normal pressure, the tightening screw stripped on the inside. Seems as if the plastic parts malfunctioned. Everyone said buy a Stihl because it will last a lifetime. I hope this is the case once it's fixed. But, for now I'm questioning my purchase and it's ability to work through the test of time.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Saw starts easy, cuts great, and no problems. Really like the saw. Lighter than the Farm Boss I used from 1975 to 2016
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light weight! Nice running saw for the money, but it don't have much power so be prepared fortime for getting the job done because it will be slow.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Easy starting but oiler doesn't keep chain oiled properly I really want to love this saw but I can't. The engine starts and runs great as long as you follow the starting procedure. The single bolt holding the chain works fine but does allow bar to loosen and constantly needs adjusting.The big problem, and I see others have the issue as well, is the bar oiler doesn't put near enough oil on the bar. This can cause the bar and chain to heat up and become dull a lot quicker. You have to be very careful to not allow bar to heat up. I took the chainsaw in and they said it is working normally. I was told this was done on purpose to use less oil and be better for the environment. I have all Stihl products and love them all except this chainsaw. I probably should have bought a more professional saw. I would seriously doubt the pro series has this issue.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2 chains broke in one Day, never buy again! Worst Chainsaw I ever owned, never in 20 years did I have chains actually break, until I bought this Stihl.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Starts, runs and cuts great but the bar is constantly loosening. I love how easy it is to start! Only 2 or 3 pulls cold and 1 or 2 warm. This saw has plenty of power but the bar tends to loosen quickly.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw This thing cuts like a beast, but I have noticed the chain dries out faster than the oiler can lubricate it on larger jobs. I manually lube the chain when I have to make continuous cuts. Other than that, I love it.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent chainsaw, Not a premium product The hardest starting piece of equipment I've ever owned. Even after having run the saw for a while and cutting up a tree, it is hard to restart. I would have thought that once it warmed up it would be better than a cold start. I have equipment 4-6 years old that starts easier and faster than this chainsaw (MS 251 Wood Boss). Once it is started it runs well, and does it's job but nothing that my other much cheaper saws cannot do. Not sure it was worth the money to buy "quality". I've owned many chainsaws through the years but I probably won't come back to Stihl when I need another piece of equipment.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this saw. It is a good reliable saw. It has good safety features. Cuts good.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from STIHL WAY OR NO WAY Let's just say I'm the last person you'll probably ever catch writing a review on something but here I am and I have to say this saw and many other products I have from stihl are just absolutely top of the line. I grew up into landscaping through the family business and now have taken over and I've tried just about every power head known to man for weed eaters, edgers, etc and no one and I mean NO ONE has the power and compactness stihl puts in every one of there machines. I bought 2 of these saws New from my dealer at the beggining of the 2017 season for pruning and trimming smaller trees back on properties and it has proven it's worth. I also own an ms 391 and a ms 461 and they're. Both plenty of power. For bigger pines we cut down but don't let this saw fool you it has plenty of power. Along with the fs90r and 110 being my favorite power head from stihl I just can't go to anything different other than stihl!
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good power to weight ratio. This is my first Stihl chainsaw. I have owned several craftsman saws but they do not hold up to even moderate work.
Date published: 2017-06-01
  • y_2018, m_2, d_22, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_297
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms251, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl