MS 251 C-BE - $369.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Bar

DSRP: $369.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A powerful, fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use and easy to adjust.

The STIHL MS 251 C-BE Chainsaw is as powerful and fuel-efficient as the MS 251, but is also easy to start and adjust. Ergonomically designed to bring you maximum comfort during use, this tool produces 50 percent less emissions (as compared to previous models) for a smaller impact on the environment. The MS 251 C-BE packs features like Easy2Start™ technology and easy-to-refill fuel and oil tanks, s...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 251 C-BE Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 45.6 cc (2.78 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.2 kW (2.95 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 5.3 kg (11.9 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 390 cc (13.2 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 198 cc (6.7 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN .325 RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 45 cm (16" to 18")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 68) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 18" 3005 008 4717 ROLLOMATIC® E guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™ (E)
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL products easier. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Master Control Lever™
    The Master Control Lever™ is an easy to use single lever, operating the choke, starting throttle lock and on-off switch. The operator must pull the throttle trigger before moving the Master Control Lever™ to the choke position.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Zip Chap Zoom
    Woodcutter Zip Chap
    Using rows of heavy-duty zippers, the Woodcutter Series Zip Chaps provide full wrap-around protection for a user’s lower leg area. In addition to enhanced protection, these chaps also provide enhanced convenience. Rows of zippers run along the entire inseam of the chaps, helping to ensure an effective fit that is easy to put on and/or remove. The outer material is crafted from heavy-duty Black 500 denier nylon fabric. Inside, the chap features six layers of Avertec® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material, designed to reduce the risk or severity of injury to body parts in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Camo Glasses Zoom
    Camo Glasses
    Style and protection come together with STIHL Camo Frame Glasses. These eye protection goggles are wrapped in camouflage print and provide 99% UV protection. Soft rubber temple tips and nosepiece help maintain fit and while reducing slippage.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 251 C-BE is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 274.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT SAW!!!!! Absolutely love it! Fires up after 2 pulls, runs, idles, and cuts better than expected. Could not be happier with this saw and already put it through pretty tough test
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything you've read about this product is true... This is a "must have" for every home owner.I love it!
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chain adjustment sucks. Saw has enough power and always started good. The chain adjustment bolt stripped out and they want the cost of new saw to fix it. This is the second saw to do this on me. I use only to cut fire wood and don't abuse it. I will not buy another stihl product. Not what they used to be
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A chainsaw made for women! It is lightweight, easy to start, & it has enough power to cut through some good sized logs.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good saw good saw but your survey is very hard is use. Ive been trying to complete this survey for 15 minutes and it still will not accept it.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong saw that takes care of business! I bought this saw to cut up a pine tree that fell after Hurricane Irma. Gassed it up, adjusted the chain using the quick adjust tool, and went to work. I absolutely love the Easy start system on this machine! It takes almost no effort to pull start it! Just make sure you use either non ethanol gas or premium with your fuel mixture. I've used it randomly for 2 weeks now and am very happy with my purchase. Looking forward to keeping this saw in use for years to come.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent chainsaw I have used many different brands and have worked on them as well. The Stihl product is solid. It starts easily, runs great. I would highly recommend this saw (18") for most general care that is needed.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect trail saw I work with trail crews in the mountains of North Carolina. We use chainsaws constantly for clearing downed trees and removing dangerous trees from trail sites. I've worked with a lot of different saws in the last 8 years or so but for the last 3 years I've been using the 251 CBE exclusively. I got it because it was the best compromise between power and weight since I have to carry the saw up and down mountains for sometimes over 10 miles. A lot of the guys on the crew mocked me a bit at first for getting the easy start model but they don't laugh much any more. This saw has worked perfectly in every season and always starts. I used it yesterday for 10 hours on the trail clearing downed trees left by Irma. By the end of the day I was once again thankful for that easy start along with the fast chain adjustment since I had to change chains twice.I have a feeling that a lot of people who are having problems with this (or any) saw need to pay a bit more attention to basic maintenance. For instance, we only use 93 octane gas with no ethanol. If it's available in your area you should start using it right away. This will solve a lot of basic carburetor problems. Also, learn as much as you can about sharpening your chain and flipping your bar. That'll keep the saw cutting straight with no problems.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard to start Once you get this saw started it works great. Very hard to start, floods easy. If it sits for several days the pull rope will not pull. Acts like cylinder is seized. Keep pulling and bang it around for a while and it will finally pull. Takes 40 or so pulls before it fires.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A homeowner"s dream chainsaw. This saw is a pleasure to operate and start. If I would let her, my 3 year old grandaughter could start this saw. No tools needed to either tighten the chain or replace it. Perfect saw for the novice, but operates like a pro.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from junk This saw is very hard to start if not sits more than a day between usage. It has less power than my old 023. And has been a big disappointment since I bought it.
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Design, Looks good on paper. Had surgery and decided to get an easy start saw. This is the only thing that has been flawless. Plug that holds handle to frame has come apart 4 times so far. Kill switch replaced twice, now I just choke it to kill it. Bar has finally locked up and stopped working. I maintain it regularly and sharpen all my blades before use and during. Cuts at an angle when pressure applied and won't stay on a straight line due to handle flex.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best!!!!! This Saw Is A Beast!!!!!!! Easy to start, plenty of power, anti vibration is awesome!!!! Easy to tighten the chain. Starts every time! This is the only saw to buy period. The real deal!
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dead after about 3 hours Cleaning up Hurricane Irma debris and it dies. Bad ignition coil and replacement part is half the cost of the saw when new. Once labor is added its 75% of the cost of a new one. I have had this saw a little over 3 years but used it very little until the storm hit. Its out of warranty so the dealer won't do anything even though it has had less than one gallon of fuel run through it.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect chain saw for all jobs in yard Have only had for 1 month but I used Stihl Saw for 15 years in fire department capacities and this is only company I will use when buying a chain saw- reliable, sturdy, well built and company that stands by its product and only picks best dealers to sell and service their products.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gem of a saw Love the ease of starting. Plenty of power for any normal tree felling or cutting firewood. Way better than my prior saw. Love it!
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw, a joy to start & very smooth/refined This is my first saw purchase in over 20 years. Had a 20 year old 025 w/ 16" bar and also a 24 year old 038Magnum with 32" and 25" bars. These old saws were unreal, the magnum running constant on at top speed as a mill saw. Until recently never had any issues out of them but as of late became very difficult to start. Having a problem rotator cuff and back issues I actually pulled muscles in both my arms getting the beast and even the smaller saw started, which the small one ended up never starting. I finally gave in and sold them. This new ms251cbe is unreal smooth and starting the saw is actually a joy. Gone are the days of a hard n fast pull, the quick snap my old saws required to turnover. It literally takes no effort. I dont know why all saws arent designed with this type of start system. Relatively light, much lighter than my 038Magnum but feels a slight bit heavier than my 025. This new 251 is very ergonomic, well thought out not requiring any tools to remove the sprocket cover or any tools to adjust chain tension. Love no longer needing a flat head to open and tighten the fuel & oil caps. The addition of the fuel bulb is great and goes to the easy start system. Only negative if I can pin one on it is the 4 position run selector seems to be a thinner flimsy plastic. Not sure why this one small part was skimped on. Hopefully that will hold up, its the only part of the saw I see as a potential fail point.The saw cuts VERY smooth, even idle it will not walk all over the ground or a hard flat surface. It cuts very smooth and clean, the new type of vibration dampening system this handle uses is night and day better than my old saws. Hope to see this saw last at least another 20 years, since this one will not see the extreme use my old ones did I expect it will.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a great saw I have had other saws, but this one blows the others away. Plenty of power and easy to start, I would recommend this saw to everyone.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Saw I have cut trees with over 22 inches diameter with this saw and it has tremendous power for its size. Very good on fuel, highly recommend this saw.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right size and light weight This saw is the right size and weight for taking trees down on my property
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good saw for home use. I am removing fifty foot trees from my yard one piece at a time. The MS 251 C is doing a great job so far. Just finished the first tree which was 18 inches across in places. The saw did great as long as you did not force-feed it.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice This starts easy. The chains are a little soft IMO. Other than that it's a decent saw
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the easy start I really needed a lighter saw than the Farm Boss that was easier to start. This one fits my needs exactly. Very happy with the saw.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Meets my needs for high end home owner saw. My needs range from tree limbing to trunk bucking. The MS251 with 18 inch bar cut through trunks up to 20" with no hesitation. It is new with new chain so it made the cutting easy I know. However it did not hesitate or lose power during the cut. The saw is light enough that topping was not fatiguing. When you're on the north side of 65, that is a major plus. All in all, the 251 has the power to do the job I need while being easy to handle
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Last saw I'll ever buy!!! Could not believe how easy this saw starts. Great size for home and small farm use. I have owned several other brands but none of the easy of operation and reliability of this saw.
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I've had this saw for a month now and it has been great. I use it in the mountains for clean up and felling pine, and it is just the right combination for me of power and weight. Glad I bought it!
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best chainsaw I've ever owned. I've had several chainsaws over the years. Back in 79 I naught a Mac 10. That was a good saw. After that several other saws but they all gave me trouble. This saw starts every time even after not using it for several months. That is what I wanted and Stihl came through.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy starting Easiest chain saw to start that i have ever owned. When warmed up, just follow normal start up procedures without priming and you are good to go. Make sure not to tighten chain too much or you will stall it. I have had good luck holding the saw at all angles when cutting without issue.
Date published: 2017-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 251 C-BE Great product, easy to maintain and work with. Has ample power for hardwoods
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Start, Nice Feel, So Far So Good! I've only used my new MS 251 C-BE a couple of times so far. Very impressed with the easy start, and the balance and feel of the saw. I decided for my use to go with the higher end of the home owner line, and I think I made the right choice as I'll be doing a bit more firewood cutting than I initially expected. I worried that this saw might be too heavy but have found it very comfortable to use. I'd definitely recommend this saw to others.
Date published: 2017-07-10
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_274
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms251cbe, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl