MS 251 C-BE - $369.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Bar

DSRP: $369.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A powerful, fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use and easy to adjust.

The STIHL MS 251 C-BE Chainsaw is as powerful and fuel-efficient as the MS 251, but is also easy to start and adjust. Ergonomically designed to bring you maximum comfort during use, this tool produces 50 percent less emissions (as compared to previous models) for a smaller impact on the environment. The MS 251 C-BE packs features like Easy2Start™ technology and easy-to-refill fuel and oil tanks, s...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 251 C-BE Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 45.6 cc (2.78 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.2 kW (2.95 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 5.3 kg (11.9 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 390 cc (13.2 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 198 cc (6.7 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN .325 RM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 45 cm (16" to 18")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 68) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 18" 3005 008 4717 ROLLOMATIC® E guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™ (E)
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL products easier. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Master Control Lever™
    The Master Control Lever™ is an easy to use single lever, operating the choke, starting throttle lock and on-off switch. The operator must pull the throttle trigger before moving the Master Control Lever™ to the choke position.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Zip Chap Zoom
    Woodcutter Zip Chap
    Using rows of heavy-duty zippers, the Woodcutter Series Zip Chaps provide full wrap-around protection for a user’s lower leg area. In addition to enhanced protection, these chaps also provide enhanced convenience. Rows of zippers run along the entire inseam of the chaps, helping to ensure an effective fit that is easy to put on and/or remove. The outer material is crafted from heavy-duty Black 500 denier nylon fabric. Inside, the chap features six layers of Avertec® Pro by Engtex® cut retardant material, designed to reduce the risk or severity of injury to body parts in the event of contact with the rotating saw chain on a gasoline-powered chainsaw.
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Camo Glasses Zoom
    Camo Glasses
    Style and protection come together with STIHL Camo Frame Glasses. These eye protection goggles are wrapped in camouflage print and provide 99% UV protection. Soft rubber temple tips and nosepiece help maintain fit and while reducing slippage.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 251 C-BE is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 274.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, easy starting and with 18 bar perfect Had a medium tree (18 inch wide 20 foot tall) and with an 18 inch bar this Stihl ran almost non stop for 6 hiurs cutting everything with no issues. So to say I am happy is an understatement. Great product and great price.
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wrong tool for the job. This saw is great, it is dependable and does exactly what it expected. The problem was me."I needed a stronger saw", and overestimated it's ability, as advertised. Therefore, I use this saw as often as posable. Anything bigger, I go bigger.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from picking this saw is a no brainer. Easy to start and adjust. Great saw. Love it's convenience and ease of use. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great saw! I have had a chance to use this saw to cut down 9 trees this passed week.. It starts well runs great and is hard working. I used it on spruce, locus, pine, apple and maple with no issues. Some of the trees were larger then the blade length and I had no trouble cutting them. The easy start is a blessing for us older folks. The tool less adjusting feature is also a supper feature.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's that easy, starts easy, easy to handle. After shoulder surgery on both shoulders I needed something that would start easy and not weigh alot. This is the perfect saw to maintain my 7 acres.
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs a little push Starting - 5 stars Ease of use - 5 starsPower in the pinch - 3 stars Brand new - 2 days old - never started. First couple of pulls - starts like a champ.Start cutting dead pine - runs o.k.Bogs and stops very easily. It's pine. It's dead. It's rotting with bugs. Stihl bogs down. Chain tensions are easy to do. Flip top oil and gas caps are awesome. I just don't get why it bogs down so fast. Almost afraid to put it to hard wood. I am STIHL very pleased with the product in general. Keep up the good work
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific chain saw Best chain saw I ever owned ,,, this saw has easy start it usually starts first pull,, a great feature!I've owned 3 chain saws in my life ,,, this saw is by far the most balanced saw I ever used.. chain cut all day cutting down a large tree,,, still sharp as when I started.It's outstanding..
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chainsaw I've ever owned. Best chainsaw I've ever owned. It's takes all my self control, not to cut every tree down in the neighborhood! Last fall I ran this saw for 10 hours and it performed like a dream.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I learned that over the years although I have owned several chainsaws, I never owned a REAL chainsaw. Awesome!
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mr. Chain Saw Great saw ! Lots of power. Not too heavy. Chain is easy to adjust. Vibration dampener works.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding small saw Amazing performance from chain sharpness to power. Bought this for smaller jobs around the yard and found out it's great for some of the heavier projects I have too.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very powerful with low maintenance.E Easy to operate, has an easy start, runs smooth. I previously owned a 250 MS and had trouble starting the saw. I was elated to find out the 251 C-BE was a saw that was easy start. It starts on the first pull. While using I noticed that it was very easy on bar oil and gas.
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw and perfect for my use. I am a woodturner and harvest logs that will end up being a bowl, platter or something else. I needed a saw that cut cleanly and handle various types of wood with ease.I need to cut cross grain to get the log to the right size and then I need cut down through the pith (center of the log). Then trim the piece into the rough size to fit in my band saw. Before I cut each log I need to see which way the grain will run in the finished product. So it means lots of stop and go for the saw. Also lots of turning of the wood.This saw works great and the "easy start" is perfect for all the stopping and restarting. It is light weight enough to get the correct cutting directions on each log.I am sure real loggers will like this saw as well.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this saw. I really like this saw. It has enough power work do all the work I need it to. The easy start is worth the money
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used a couple of times now and worlds better than prior basic saw. What took the prior saw close to 2 hours, I was able to complete in about 20 minutes. So easy to start !
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Chainsaw I ever had I have a lot of junk chain saws laying around from a lot of different manufacturers. The Stihl is the easiest starting most efficient chainsaw I have ever used. I has plenty of power for most jobs and it won't vibrate you until you teeth fall out. I have had this saw for a little over a year now and have been very pleased with it.
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect mid-size saw Had my MS251C-BE saw for a few weeks now. Love the easy start feature. Jury still out on the easy chain tightening feature. Must say that I have only had to tighten the chain twice. Adequate power for my needs.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONLY 2 WEEK'S OLD I HAVE ONLY HAD THIS SAW FOR 2 WEEKS AND SO FAR IR RUNS VERY GOOD
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the occasional homeowner use The first tree was a fallen locust which can be tough because its a really hard wood. It cut through fine
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw This thing eats like butter, cranks really easily and is easy to use you can't go wrong really awesome saw.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for small jobs This chainsaw is great for small jobs (<1 hour). The engine is small but adequate for minor tasks. I have to sharpen the chain after each hour of use but it works fine. The easy start feature is superb and the no tool chain tensioner is great as well.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable and Tough, Starts Every time! This is the best chainsaw that I have ever owned. It is light, powerful and most of all, fun to use.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw is a dream This is a great saw. light weight, easy to start and uses less fuel. It is a little bit pricey, but glad I spent the extra money.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from some issues starting and chain tightening I admit it I am a total novice. I needed a light use chainsaw for minor tree cutting and firewood. Could not start the thing at first while following written instructions only to be told by Stihl to do something else...essentially the instructions were causing me to flood the thing. Now starts right away. Works like a charm. After many hours of use could not tighten the chain as the "easy to use feature" for chain tightening can't get to work. The plastic knob to unloosen won't unloosen and feels like it is about to snap off. If I could figure it out I think this will be a dependable saw.
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chainsaw I've ever owned I can't say enough good about the Stihl MS 251 C-BE. It is by far the best chainsaw I've ever owned. I'm a home owner with 5 acres of woods, and lots of downed trees from a recent storm. My old chainsaw just wouldn't cut it (pun intended), my new Stihl is everything I need, starts super easy, runs great, and cuts circles around my old saw. In just two days, I've put a big dent in those downed trees, and I've got a heck of a wood pile started for next winter. Great product!
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from average easy to operate initially, but after 2 weeks having a problem starting with pull string (taking it to the repair shop today)
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Design! I've had my MS-251C for a year and it's more than paid for itself. The week I bought it I cut up a large Poplar tree trunk that had been down in my wife's garden for a year. My former chainsaw was a different brand and it was a real pain to clean and maintain. It was immediately obvious that the people at Stihl put a lot of thought into making this saw easy for an owner to clean and service it! I love how well the saw cuts and even better, I love how easy it is to clean and replace the chain and bar! Great saw and I look forward to many years of using it! Now I know why my Dad swore by Stihl products.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice midline saw my son had a 60 ft. tree come down in a storm and i went over with my 35 yr. old grey saw to cut it up, witch did do a good job on the smaller diameter branches but couldn'tcut through the trunk without bogging down soi went and bought this saw, man what a saw it is, comfortable, powerfull, very easy to start, and i'll only use it once in a in a great while, but im looking for other trees on his property to take down.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Questionable Quality for Stihl Owned this saw for about 1-1/2 years. Cut the first tree well, downhill after that.Chain doesn't maintain tension well. Chain tensioner difficult to use and reassemble after re-installing the chain.Hard to start. Starter pull cord broke after light use.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! I live in the woods and have several acres to keep up. Saw is extremely easy to start, "just slowly pull the cord". Plenty of power and easy to handle. Have felled a few trees 14-20" and the 18" bar has been plenty.
Date published: 2017-03-25
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_274
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms251cbe, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl