MS 241 C-M - $519.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
16 in. Bar

DSRP: $519.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A compact, lightweight chainsaw with professional-grade power and STIHL M-Tronic™ technology.

The MS 241 C-M chainsaw delivers power without the bulk. It is agile, fuel efficient and easy to operate. In addition to its low-exhaust operation, this chainsaw also features STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology, which automatically monitors and adjusts for changes in your work conditions including elevation, temperature, fuel quality and dirty air filters. Whether professionally cutting ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 241 C-M Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 42.6 cc (2.6 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.3 kW (3.1 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.5 kg (9.9 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 370 cc (12.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 207 cc (7.0 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 63 PS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3616 (63 PS3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 0084813 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    STIHL M-Tronic™ 
    This product features M-Tronic™ (M) - a new generation of Intelligent Engine Management that eliminates the low and high speed carburetor adjustment screws, compensates for dirty air filter and changes in elevation and fuel quality for optimum engine power at all times.

    See it in action!

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System
    The STIHL Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System is a premium quality product, designed with NRR 25 hearing protection and adjustable ratchet-style six-point suspension.
  • Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot
    Before you head out of the door for your next chainsaw job, lace up the stylish STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot. This boot will help keep your feet protected from the elements with its inner GORE-TEX® fabric, delivering water-resistant technology and optimal breathability. Plus, its deep lacing hooks will help keep your feet securely fastened while you’re hard at work. Complete with a padded steel toe and a comfort sole made of rubber, this high-quality black suede work boot is designed with safety in mind. The hardworking STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot meets OSHA requirements for protective footwear in chainsaw use, as well as EN 17249 (Class 2) and EN 20345 S2 requirements for chainsaw protective boots. Swing by our store and try them on for yourself!
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Apron Chaps Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Apron Chaps
    Rugged, yet comfortable, apron-style chaps are treated with water and oil resistant nylon covering multiple layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex® sewn-in, cut-retardant material. Garments are easy to buckle on and can be adjusted to fit a variety of sizes. Cargo pocket on front. Waist size expands from 30" to 42". For Proper fit and protection, the chap length should extend below the calf of the wearer's leg. Larger waists can be accommodated with the waist extender strap (Part No. 0000 886 5901)

    STIHL Pro Mark items are "Wash and Wear." They do not require dry cleaning as other brands do.

     


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 241 C-M is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chainsaw I had two Poulan Chainsaws in the past and they just could not handle it; were getting bogged down, hard to start and quit on me several times. I decided to upgrade and got the STIHL MS 241 C, and I am glad I did. This saw is powerful, light and cuts through trees like they are butter. I needed to clear 15 medium size trees, cut them up and haul them away. This saw works like a dream and made the job a lot easier. There is plenty of power to easily handle the 18" bar and the saw never bogs down.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size and weight Just the saw I need for my liming and bucking needs.
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little workhouse saw I have 10 acres to maintain. I wanted something lighter for clearing good size fallen limbs/canopy cleanup. I also needed a more dependable starting saw. This is it.This saw also cuts like butter and doesn't feel under powered at all. Great
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy start Little srtange to get started but easier to start once I change how I was doing it . Cuts well Price seams high compared to other saws , will see if extra money is woth it in long haul . so far happy with it and did by pemixed fuel for extra warranty.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little saw! I needed a small, professional series saw for logging out trails and clearing fences. After having a baby the old 026 was feeling pretty heavy, but I can pack this around a fenceline and it has all the power I need. My coworker laughed at it at first--now it's the one he reaches for, and the 360 stays in the shop. This is the second year I've had it, and I love how it fires up every time. (And I'm not that strong anymore!)
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chainsaw Great chainsaw. The easiest chainsaw I have ever started!!!!! I have never had to pull the cord more than three times to start. I have used it to take out 10 trees so far and not a single problem. Had to have chains sharpened. I can't recommend this enough. I have owned six other saws (Not Stihl) and this one is by far the best.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top saw in its class After testing all of the professional saws in the 40cc range, I found this to be the overall best one currently available in North America. The M-Tronic carburetor adjusts perfectly when using the saw at sea level or high altitude, saving the time and trouble of having to manually adjust it at different altitudes. Additionally, this saw is light, maneuverable, and cuts great with plenty of power. The MS 241 would be the perfect saw for homeowners and occasional users for all the above reasons, and of course having a STIHL dealer vs. buying some inferior product at one of the big box stores--with no meaningful product support or service.Even though Stihl will never get me away from my 372XP, they've created a slam dunk winner of a saw with the MS 241 C-M. nice job STIHL!
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I hoped for! Researched this saw for a long time before purchasing in summer of 2016. It's a true workhorse in a light, very powerful platform. I wanted a smaller saw to accompany my 361, but I end up turning to it all the time. It is a pretty amazing little saw. Never fails to start, very dependable, and comfortable to use. I think its a hidden gem in the pro series line up.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love my ne ms 241 m tronic saw i had the ms170 this new ms241 with m Tronics blows the ms170 out all the way i thout i was really doing somthing but when i got this new saw i was on top in my book i love every minof it i can walk out it be 35 f out 3 pulls she is ready saying what can we cut
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Just took my new saw out today for first time .I was really pleased with this saw.The power to weight ratio is great.Saw starts easily. Cuts through red oak like a knife through hot butter. I am very happy that I can buy a quality product like this and keep my fellow Virginians working
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great light weight saw! Have been “home” cutting for years. Both for firewood for heat and keeping the property neat. Have a PM610 that I bought new. It still cuts great, but needed something lighter, that was reliable and powerful. The MS 241 met those requirements. The self-oiling chain and compression release are nice features. The electronic controlled carb is great with me living over 7000 ft above sea level. It is easy to start, cuts great and at 10 lbs is easy on my back. I look forward to enjoying the Stihl reputation with this saw.
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a cutting machine, ez to startfun to use My first saw, i want the 661 c-m next, never will regret pro over farm or home model, , like cutting wood in fall.ez to start light, tons of power,have used other brands nothing like a stihl.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The only stihl saw I ever liked My dad bought me this saw as in addition to my landscaping business. I use it all the time but it still does not compare to other competitor brands. The power is too low and stalls in Bigwood. I would recommend this product to any arborist as long as they aren't cutting too big of wood.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go to saw I heat my home and water with an outdoor wood boiler and also sell firewood during the heating season. I have had this saw for 3 years now and with only changing the spark plug, fuel filter, and air filter each year I have had no problems with it. I use my MS 440 for falling and trunking and this saw for everything else. I would recommend this saw to anyone.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My saw has no power This my second ms 241 c m. After 2 years like my first one it is spluttering and not cutting with speed and power. It cuts out easily.
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent do-it-all heavy use saw for the homeowner Been using a friends 241 for a couple weeks and liked it so much that I just ordered one a few days ago. My big Stihl MS 362 C-M is overkill for smaller jobs that I do. I heat with wood in the winter so cut 4-5 cords of firewood every year, mostly 6-10" logs. The 362 can rip through smaller stuff but is very tiring after an hour or two. I found that the 241 can do most of what I needed without resorting to the bigger saw. I found that I was using the 362 less and less and the 241 more often was the go-to saw. I have 5 acres of standing timber, mostly 6-10" fir and alder pole trees, the 241 gobbles that stuff up no problem. It is 2/3rds the weight, almost 5 lbs lighter than the 362 and with the 16" bar much more maneuverable in the thick brush. For most homeowners this will be be all the saw they will ever need, the perfect all around saw for a home owner that uses his saw on a fairly regular basis. If you use a saw more than a couple times a month and/or cut firewood on a regular basis then you probably should get a higher level saw. The Pro series can be run hard for extended times that would kill a home owner saw. Buy minimum a Ranch/Farm series or spend the extra on the Pro series. You'll be glad you did in a few years, money ahead in the long run.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS241 My Go-To Saw Owned other brands of 20" and 18" saws for general use. Falling poplar, pine, hickory, locust, oak and a few others. I thought they were great saws until it finally started to give me a few problems after about 5 years of occasional use. After doing some research I decided on the 241C-M. I use a 16-inch bar and 14-inch bar. My favorite is the 14 because it makes it so light and easy. Cuts through any type wood like butter. I also have a 391 for larger diameter trees, but the 241 is just a great saw for everything else. I would highly recommend this saw. Easy to start, very powerful...especially with the 14 inch bar. You will not be sorry if you buy this saw. Worth every penny. Light and reliable. My go to saw for 99% of my cutting.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Saw! This is my first saw and it's everything the reviews said it would be. Easy to use, lots of power, and reliable. Have around 30 hrs on the saw; no issues to speak of. Typically use it for 3-4 hrs at a time; it's weight isn't an issue.
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Impressive Saw I have been around chainsaws for over 25 years, currently own 8 saws from the 200T on up to a 460 Arctic and the 241 @ 42cc is a little beast and is becoming one of the first saws I grab when cutting.The 241 starts easily, idles and cuts like a dream, you can actually "hear" the M-tronic making adjustments when the saw needs it while cutting.The AV set up is a huge improvement over older Stihl saws, vibrations are minimal in my experience.Firewood, yard chores, arborists will all find the 241 complementing their work needs. With a 16 inch B/C the saw is able to tackle many tasks from limbing, smaller tree harvesting, orchard work, even up in a bucket truck.If a small, very powerful, agile, smooth, fuel efficient and quality built chainsaw are on your wish list, check out an MS241
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bad to the bone. Working as a Stihl tech gives me the ability to test just about every saw out there. Having a small firewood business on the side has me cutting dozens of cords every year. After the first time I tried this saw I bought one and won't pick another up unless it needs testing. Perfect balance and feel along with buttery smooth engine thanks to the M-Tronics management system make this saw the ultimate firewood saw.
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 241 C-M I just recently bought a brand new MS 241 to replace my .009L. The 241 is obviously much more of a saw but it as good as my 009 was, this 241 is much more powerful. the best part of it for me is the capability to use all of my old bars and chains. I was even able to add a bar to my collect when I bought the saw. This saw can use a 12 inch through 18 inch bar. I have a 14, 16, 18, and with the 14 on it the saw rips through logs extremely fast and is very controllable, and it also has no trouble cutting threw a 30 log with the 18" bar on it. the only con is price, price was a little high. If this this 241 can and will last as long and be as durable as my 009's where I will be happy with price.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! Excellent power to weight. Cuts better than some 50cc saws I have run. Great for limbing but doesn't back down from having the bar buried either. In short I love this saw.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can use it ALL day! This saw is light yet strong. I can use it all day as it’s light enough and it doesn’t quit either. It starts whether it’s cold, warm or hot and keeps on going. It is a bit pricey but worth it for the amount of work it can handle. I am very pleased with this purchase. Thank you Stihl!
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power to weight ratio nuff said Was looking for a light pro saw for limbing and cutting brush. Have a ms 362 and though I love it, it is better for bucking the main trunk. I wanted something nimble to dismantle the canopy on th ground. Was looking at the ms 201 rear handle. At a 150 dollars cheaper, a pound heavier, and a lot more horsepower the ms 241 won my choice. The mtronic is nice and starting is a breeze.
Date published: 2015-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is now my go to saw! I have been using chainsaws professionally since the late '60's when I was cutting burls and driftwood for a living. I have had the largest power heads to both free cut and run a Chainsaw mill. The saws that Stihl makes are really at the top of the heap. I now own only five saws--the MS660, the 360 pro, the 170, the HT 131 pole saw and the 241 CM.I was cleaning up a 10 acre parcel and wanted a new pro saw to cut and branch trees up to 12". I was using my 360 pro and 170 but wanted a saw that is both light and powerful. I ordered the 241 CM from my dealer before they were officially available(in fact I ordered 2, one for a friend of mine also). I have used the saw for over 6 months now and am really impressed. The 170 was my backup limbing and small tree saw--it is now my back of pick-up emergency saw. The 241 CM is the same weight as the 170, but twice as powerful--1.5 vs. 3.1 hp. I run it with Stihl's new16"light weight bar to shave off a few oz. and I have found that my speed and endurance have gone up significantly. I still use my 660 and 360 pro, but I find myself smiling when I chose the 241 CM for falling, limbing and bucking trees 12" or smaller. Two other thing of note: the saws anti-vibration technology is awesome--no more numb fingers and hands after a few hours cutting and the automatic fuel adjustment for change in elevation works great.Good job Stihl!!!
Date published: 2015-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality. I have used many saws for decades. Stihl is my favorite. All there products are quality made. I bought this ms241 from a excellent dealer. Beats what often happens on ebay for me. Anyway this pro saw is an upgrade over my homeowner saw. Both are good but pro quality is worth it if you are going to use it alot. Or you just appreciate more quality.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good saw!! On about my 10th tank, great little saw. Good for limbing and all the little stuff. I've been having tennis elbow type problems, so bought this little saw to help take the load off my elbow. It's very light, and pretty powerful for it's size. Only thing I'd change is put an aluminum handle and magnesium clutch cover on it. Only add very small amount of weight, if any. That would make it the absolutely PERFECT small saw. Hope Stihl is listening and open to making improvements.
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I think it is a rebadged 211 Under powered over priced DIY home owner sawOnly suitable for occasional use
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light pro saw power house Needed a new saw for work around our ranch. Cleaning up old trees, brush and cutting rock maple fire wood. Our saw just couldn't handle all day work anymore. Looked at a few different makes and spoke to a few guys I know that cut fire wood for their income. They recommended getting a Stihl pro model, said the few extra dollars would be well worth it and it would last me a long time. Spoke to the local dealer, looked at a few saws and he ordered me the MS 241. Sthil had a sale on them and the dealer though it would be a good saw for my needs.We worked it hard all weekend catching up on a number of projects. It's a light weight power house. Easy to start, light for all day use and cuts through large maples no problem. Not to bad on gas or oil. If you need a good all round saw and don't want or need a big heavy power saw. Give this entry pro model a look.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Happy Place of Power/Weight I have spent many hours with a chainsaw in my hands. Have use saws from most major brands, and I have 2 other Stihl models (015L and 041). This ms241c-m is Tops. I have to say that I still have a soft spot for the old 015L but I always leave the toolshed with the 241C-M in hand. I have a 50 acre farm and use a saw several times weekly. I have read a lot of the other reviews and most people refer to this saw as a "great limbing saw". I think most saw owners would find this as more than enough saw for almost any daily farm/ranch job that comes up. If you are a rainforest logger, get a bigger saw. Otherwise. . . Limbing, felling, bucking, This thing just performs. A pull to prime, and a pull to start. The M-tronic carb is seamless and hassle free. I was hesitant, but i love it more every time i run it. The decompression valve may seem to some like a cushy extra, but it sure makes starting easy when you are standing in thick brush and wanting to crank it up without setting the saw down. If the saw is even slightly warm, half a pull will bring it to life with the switch in the run position. I have the 16 inch bar on mine which seems to be just right. The beauty of this saw is that it has power in spades and is light enough to use for prolonged periods. Professionals will love the performance and have other saws in the stable for the occasional giant oak that requires a meat-head-monster-saw. Very few non-professionals will ever have use for more saw than this.Additionally I think that the vibration dampening is spot on. No sloppy springs, and no numb hands. Dampening without wobbling! Nuff said.The only change I would make is the caps on the Fuel Mix and Bar oil. The flip up tool free design is good, but I don't care for the retention strings. You don't loose the caps, but care has to be taken to keep from dragging sawdust down into the tanks. Personal preference.Maintenance, weight, and waisted time are low. Power, quality, performance, and features are present in spades.
Date published: 2015-04-08
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms241cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl