MS 362 C-M - $729.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

The MS 362 C-MQ features the same great power, weight and fuel efficiency as the MS 362, but also features our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology. This innovative microprocessor-controlled engine management system optimizes engine performance and compensates for changes in operating conditions, such as temperature, elevation, fuel quality – including octane levels, and dirty ai...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 362 C-M Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 59.0 cc (3.6 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 3.5 kW (4.69 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT Flush-Cut: 5.6 kg (12.35 lbs.)
Wrap-Handle: 6.0 kg (13.2 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 600 cc (20.3 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 325 cc (11.0 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 63 cm (16" to 25")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3-72) OILOMATIC® Saw Chain and 20” 3003 008 8921 Ematic™ guide bar. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    STIHL M-Tronic™ 
    This product features M-Tronic™ (M) - a new generation of Intelligent Engine Management that eliminates the low and high speed carburetor adjustment screws, compensates for dirty air filter and changes in elevation and fuel quality for optimum engine power at all times.

    See it in action!

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Wrap Handle (R)
    Saw can be used in multiple positions for felling or limbing with hands in the proper positions.
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System
    The STIHL Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System is a premium quality product, designed with NRR 25 hearing protection and adjustable ratchet-style six-point suspension.
  • Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot
    Before you head out of the door for your next chainsaw job, lace up the stylish STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot. This boot will help keep your feet protected from the elements with its inner GORE-TEX® fabric, delivering water-resistant technology and optimal breathability. Plus, its deep lacing hooks will help keep your feet securely fastened while you’re hard at work. Complete with a padded steel toe and a comfort sole made of rubber, this high-quality black suede work boot is designed with safety in mind. The hardworking STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot meets OSHA requirements for protective footwear in chainsaw use, as well as EN 17249 (Class 2) and EN 20345 S2 requirements for chainsaw protective boots. Swing by our store and try them on for yourself!
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Apron Chaps Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Apron Chaps
    Rugged, yet comfortable, apron-style chaps are treated with water and oil resistant nylon covering multiple layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex® sewn-in, cut-retardant material. Garments are easy to buckle on and can be adjusted to fit a variety of sizes. Cargo pocket on front. Waist size expands from 30" to 42". For Proper fit and protection, the chap length should extend below the calf of the wearer's leg. Larger waists can be accommodated with the waist extender strap (Part No. 0000 886 5901)

    STIHL Pro Mark items are "Wash and Wear." They do not require dry cleaning as other brands do.

     


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 362 C-M is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 197.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw to clear land I had a MS250 which wasn't quite enough saw for the 11 acres in the mountains... bought the 362 and never looked back... lots of power and with the wrap around handle its easy to position
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointing, this should be a great saw I have been using chain saws all of my life.,decided to try a Stihl 362 to replace my old Husqvarna. After one day of use it is the hardest starting most frustrating saw I have ever owned. For a professional level saw it is a huge disappointment. The dealer is clueless. I just want a refund.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I would have purchased one years ago Great saw, I burn about 6 cords of wood in my stove every winter, helps me get the job done much easier and quicker, no problems at all.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the extra $$$ I've had a MS-290 for 15 years that has been a work and needed a bigger saw. The dealer talked me into a professional series and I don't regret it one minute. This saw is light and powerful easy to maneuver and gets the job done, I just took down a large black gum and bucked it with ease using the 362.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around saw for anyone I am not a pro logger but I own property and I cut firewood like a pyro. I love this MS362-CM saw and have had zero issues so far. I am on about my 7th tank of fuel and the saw gets more and more powerful as I use it and it breaks in.I recommend spending the extra money on the PRO SAW since that amounts to pennies when spread out over the lifetime that this tool will last you. It makes cutting wood so much more fun. Its like accord vs corvette. Its that simple.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 362 CM Very reliable, easy to start, VERY FAST cutting and response. Well balanced, and easy to use.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Saw quit Purchased saw new in July 2015. Very impressed with the power and ease of starting. In August of 2017 saw was running and started losing power and stopped and would not restart.Took to dealer where I had purchased and was told the pistons and cylinders were scored and it would be cost prohibitive to repair. The saw was exactly 30 days out of warranty and I had never run anything but ethanol free premium gas and stihl synthetic oil in the saw.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Never had a issue always preforms alsome . Ver dependable.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Picked one up, on sale, last fall after my 390 gave up the ghost. Started putting it to use this summer. After cutting 30 cord of firewood, felt as though it exceeding all expectations. I cut wood in 50-95 degree temps. Fuel efficiency was great. Performance was exceptional. I ran 16, 20, and 25 inch bars with full chisel and skip tooth chains. All I can say is, this saw really likes to make chips. Worked well on felling, limbing, and bucking. Has made cutting firewood even more enjoyable for me. Considering a new ms 261 to add for smaller trees but nothing wrong with the saw. Have used other competitors products . . . Just can NEVER go wrong with a Stihl.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 362 cuts wood like butter! My sons and I went out to take care of a widow-maker last Sunday. We always take the old 026 with us, but I had a surprise for them this time. The day before I purchased a new MS 362 C-M to add to the arsenal. The old saw is sharp and runs well, but the saw went through the maple 3 times as fast. WOW! Anyone using this saw will not be disappointed. We intended to cut for about 45 minutes and return to the farm for lunch. Mom was a little upset when we came back 3 hours later. (She was pleased to see the boys so happy!)
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight, Easy to start, Awesome to operate I've only ran one tank of gas though the saw so far but I'm loving it so far. Starts on the first or second pull everytime. 20" bar lets it rip through the wood easily with a nice sharp chain. The location of the decompression valve is in a nice spot easy to pop open with thumb before roping. I like the 3 position on/off switch, with the off position returning back to on once letting go. Fuel and oil tanks are nice sized for long run times. The newer designed bar side cover allows for an additional spike with the holes already drilled out. Price is a little steep but as long as the saw runs for many years, I'll be happy with it.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I wanted more power then my MS261, which is now my limbing saw, and the confidence with more power to tackle larger jobs. The MS362 does just that. Plenty of power, handles the 20" bar with ease, and starts reliably. I have found my "groove" with this saw, and now have what I believe to be a reliable arsenal of STIHL saws to tackle anything the woods here throw at me.Can't go wrong with this saw, you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from its a beast I have ran about 15 tanks so far. Keep the blade sharp and it will go to town.
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One hungry saw Replacing a 390 Stihl with my first pro series saw was a move I should have made a long time ago. Having both a 20" & 25" bar, I was amazed that this saw feels like it performs better with the longer bar! Light weight, with more durable components, how could you go wrong? Starts right up and makes me not want to shut it off, it's a beast.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works grear Had a 391 sold it bought this for a little better built saw with the mtronic. Never looked back didn't have buyers remorse go get it.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my first Stihl product Chainsaw cut really well when the chain was new. Had plenty of power. Restarting after use was sometimes difficult. Figured out how to get it started. You have to hold the throttle fully open while pulling. Do this a few times and it should start. Recommended, turn the chain automatic oiler to maximize oil flow. Better to have more oil than a dry chain. Good fuel efficientsy. When you fill gas fill the oil reservoir at the same time, minimizing down time. I am really impressed with this model and would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hot Starting Problem My MS362 C-M will not re-start after getting it hot until it has time to cool down. I suspect it is a heat soak problem after the saw is turned off and the temperature inside the case initially rises, signaling the electronics through its temperature sensors not to permit re-starting. After the saw has time to cool down it will re-start and run beautifully until I turn it off and the problem repeats. Frustrating. But when the saw is running, it cuts beautifully. My typical operating conditions are above 8500 feet of elevation, temperature in the high 80's to low 90's, with very low humidity.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw I have ever run This is a no nonsense saw. Do not buy this if you want to save a nickle and sacrafice performance. There are plenty of cheaper brands out there. They may even work decent "enough" for a time before breaking. I buy Stihl saws because they can run hard and dependable day in and day out with minimal upkeep. One such saw I have is nearly 15 years old. Oh, and it was a ranch saw which does not even come close to the performance of this pro saw even though they have the same displacement. For a serious operator it will perform beyond your expectations. It is truly the best saw I have ever run. Light weight and does everything my ms660 can.If you need a serious piece of equipment and are willing to spend a litle more money than at some big box store to get a way better saw then this may be the saw for you. Big enough to fell, light enough to buck. Does not seem to vibrate at all. I tried another brand priced 33% less and actually had my hands go numb; that saw also had more displacement than the 362 c yet it was still way slower. I sold it. Oh, and the 362 starts very easy. It is like pulling the cord on a weed wacker, very little effort.Stihl needs to add an expertise category, I am a licensed arborist not a landscaper.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw runs/cuts great Great mid power range chainsaw. Light for its size and plenty of power. Real fun to work with. Only downside is cost.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw has great power. I was going to buy the Stihl MS391 for it's power but the saw was to heavy and I decided to spent the extra money on the MS362 and I'am glad I did this saw has fantastic power and the weight is very light for the amount of power.I don't think there is a better Chain Saw out there that can even come close to this MS362,.buy it you will not be sorry.If you purchase a case of motomix Stihl 4 quarts minimum Stihl will double the warranty from 1 year parts and labor to 2 years parts and labor but you have to purchase that with the saw at the same time.
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent saw I've been using chainsaws since the 1960s and now at almost 70 years of age I needed adequate power with less weight. My 362C fits nicely. It"s efficient and fast cutting. Actually, it cuts faster than some of my heavier saws from years gone by. It starts easily and dependably, and is the safest saw I've ever had. With a 20 inch bar it's well balanced and will quickly process everything I need. I've had bad luck with off brand bar and chain oil, so I recommend using Stihl oil. If your saw will stay in the case for weeks or months at a time, use the pre mixed fuel; it's much more dependable.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth every penny Have only run 4 tanks of gas through it, but am very impressed with this saw. I had a farm boss 291 and was looking to upgrade to a little bigger saw. Cut 15-20 cords a year and this saw will make it much quicker.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw ever It made light work of huge trees. I have the 25 inch bar.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has great power Use it around the farm to clear fence rows, cuts great plenty of power.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw rips! I cut trees for a living and home heating too. This saw slices through 20" oak like a hot knife through butter
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trail Maintenance As I use this chainsaw for trail maintenance, I needed a saw that had good power, supported a decent bar length, and was not overwhelmingly heavy. The MS 362 C-M fits the bill. We have taken the saw into woods twice now and cut over 50 trees. The saw has been performing well and I am glad to have upgraded to Stihl.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk saw dont waste your money on this saw mine has been in an out of the shop since i bought it last year
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Saw! I struggled to justify spending the extra money and upgrade to the pro series saw. I've owned three other Stihl chainsaws, the 031, 290, and the 361. The power and performance of the 362c-m is far beyond any other saw I have ever used. I read many of the reviews and was concerned about some of the problems other people were having. The dealer assured me I was making the right choice by going with 362 c-m. I ran 3 tanks of gas through the saw with the synthetic oil mix the dealer recommended the next day. After the initial choking for the first start up, the saw started with one pull every time the rest of the day. Even and refueling the saw started with one pull ! I didn't use the compression release button most of the time because it pulled over so easy. The pro-grade chains (green) made a huge difference too. I cut off and on for 6 six hours, stopping to remove brush and never had to stop to sharpen or change the chain. Falling trees with this saw gives the operator a good sense of confidence knowing you have plenty of power and control. The owners manual said the saw reaches it's peak performance after 8 to 10 tanks of fuel has been used through the saw. I'm already impressed at three! All and all so far I give the 362c-m an A+. Time will tell but I am very pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw This saw has been great, it starts easy usually in 2 pulls even when cold. The power is amazing especially after 8 tanks of fuel. It's power to weight ratio is incredible I have a 25 inch bar it cuts like butter as long as it's sharp even in red oak and Ash.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from powerfull easy start lov it runs and operates good lite and powerfulmy wife bought me my first stihl ive had one eversince
Date published: 2017-03-10
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_197
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms362cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl