MS 362 C-M - $729.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

The MS 362 C-MQ features the same great power, weight and fuel efficiency as the MS 362, but also features our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology. This innovative microprocessor-controlled engine management system optimizes engine performance and compensates for changes in operating conditions, such as temperature, elevation, fuel quality – including octane levels, and dirty ai...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 362 C-M Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 59.0 cc (3.6 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 3.5 kW (4.69 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT Flush-Cut: 5.6 kg (12.35 lbs.)
Wrap-Handle: 6.0 kg (13.2 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 600 cc (20.3 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 325 cc (11.0 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 63 cm (16" to 25")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3-72) OILOMATIC® Saw Chain and 20” 3003 008 8921 Ematic™ guide bar. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    STIHL M-Tronic™ 
    This product features M-Tronic™ (M) - a new generation of Intelligent Engine Management that eliminates the low and high speed carburetor adjustment screws, compensates for dirty air filter and changes in elevation and fuel quality for optimum engine power at all times.

    See it in action!

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Wrap Handle (R)
    Saw can be used in multiple positions for felling or limbing with hands in the proper positions.
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System
    The STIHL Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System is a premium quality product, designed with NRR 25 hearing protection and adjustable ratchet-style six-point suspension.
  • Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot
    Before you head out of the door for your next chainsaw job, lace up the stylish STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot. This boot will help keep your feet protected from the elements with its inner GORE-TEX® fabric, delivering water-resistant technology and optimal breathability. Plus, its deep lacing hooks will help keep your feet securely fastened while you’re hard at work. Complete with a padded steel toe and a comfort sole made of rubber, this high-quality black suede work boot is designed with safety in mind. The hardworking STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot meets OSHA requirements for protective footwear in chainsaw use, as well as EN 17249 (Class 2) and EN 20345 S2 requirements for chainsaw protective boots. Swing by our store and try them on for yourself!
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Apron Chaps Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Apron Chaps
    Rugged, yet comfortable, apron-style chaps are treated with water and oil resistant nylon covering multiple layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex® sewn-in, cut-retardant material. Garments are easy to buckle on and can be adjusted to fit a variety of sizes. Cargo pocket on front. Waist size expands from 30" to 42". For Proper fit and protection, the chap length should extend below the calf of the wearer's leg. Larger waists can be accommodated with the waist extender strap (Part No. 0000 886 5901)

    STIHL Pro Mark items are "Wash and Wear." They do not require dry cleaning as other brands do.

     


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 362 C-M is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 197.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Proffesional saw at a fair price, that lets the saw do the work. Great saw, bought with 25 inch bar, first job 40 inch across ash tree, cut great, good power, did the job complete . Went back and bought the 36 inch bar and chain for future bigger trees.. Proud to own it.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 1st Stihl Product only ran for 5 minutes before I had issues. We bought a 362 for work and were happy with it. I have been running Poulans for years up at my Cabin. Decided to spend the cash and buy a good saw for myself so I went with the 362 because we just got one at work. I got it home and only cut about 10 logs before it started spitting and sputtering and wouldn't idle anymore. If I let it sit and cool down and re-start it would idle. Re-tried it again with the same issues so I had to drive back 60 miles to where I bought it and they replicated the same problems I was having. Now its in the shop for who knows how long since they are backed up with repairs. So much for buying an expensive reliable saw.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw This has been an excellent saw. I've owned it for about a year, plenty of power to run a 25" bar. Easy to start, lightweight. Only negative is the top of the engine housing is plastic. A small piece of wood got dropped on it in the trailer and cracked it.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product his perfect They are powerful and always sthil there to start with no problems
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh yes! New can't wait! Just cut one tree. Testing and playing with new saw. Easy starting powerful not even broke in. Feels just like my MS250 just lot more horsepower. So it's not really a review. I can just tell it's going to be a great saw. This weekend I'm going to find out.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good power to weight I had the MS 460 which was just to much saw for what i do these days..this saw is the perfect size. Starts EXTREMELY easy and the wrap handle i really like, got use to it on my 460 so this 362 feels the same.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Go-To Day in and day out, this saw performs. With the stock powerhead, I can run 16" or 25" like a breeze. If you know how to tune a carb, there is no problem, even with the M factor, (computer). This is a great cutting saw! I run a full crew with a HT 101, 201 TC, 362 C, and a 661 Mag. Since I bought the new saws, (still have the old ones as back up,) I've never needed anything else. My go-to is the 362. This thing is a champ!
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from smooth running starts easy Good power to weight easy starting good balance, cut about 4 cords oak with itand took down some bigger pines so far its flawless
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from makes cutting trees easy I recommend this saw to any one this saw is light and has a lot of power. i have a MS 290 and my MS 362 CM weigh just as much i love it and i would never by any other saw. in the world.
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw to graduate up too! I moved up to this saw from my 290. I didn't think it could get any better than that old 290 but I was soon proven wrong. For the small additional weight the engine vibration isolation and gain in power is everything I hoped it would be. A great move that now leaves my 290 collecting dust most weekends.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great performance and productivity I had a lot of downed trees that I estimated would take a couple of Saturdays to cut up. With my new 362 I was able to do all of it and more, in half of a Saturday! I could not believe the power and speed with which it cut. And it seemed like I was not adding gas nearly as often as I had been with my old 361.I did have a few times when the wood chips would stick in the sprocket and the chain would be locked; I found that by pulling on a log with the chain I could dislodge the shavings, but it was inconvenient and seems like it should not have done that.Otherwise, I have been praising the performance of the 362 to many of my friends!
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Firewood cutters dream! Outstanding power to weight ratio, easy to start, hope it lasts years...
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect medium ground saw This saw is one great saw for such a reasonable price! Has impressive power for its size and once again this saw has never bogged down on me but then again never had a STIHL saw bogged on me. I keep a 20 on it and awesome lasting power cuts all day long and begs for more to eat up ..
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw in my fleet! I bought this saw brand new. Dealer started it up right in front of me and explained everything about the Mtronic. After a few tanks of gas the saw really seemed to come to life. More than enough power to cut everything I need. I've owned a MS180, MS290, 039 MS441 and now the MS362. I have loved them all but the 362 is my favorite saw.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy with This Saw I have owned Stihl products for most of my adult life. I have had my 025 for going on 30 years and other than ware items I have never had serious problems with it. In fact, I likely overworked the little thing most of the time. In 2016 I decided it was time for a bigger saw for felling and serious bucking. I went to the local fair and talked to the Stihl dealer to help make up my mind between the Farm and Ranch class and the Pro models. The dealer sold me on the Pro saw and I bought it a couple weeks later. I am so pleased with the performance of this saw. I cut a lot of very hard wood (oak, hickory and maple) with no issues. Great buy!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw is a light weight work horse. this is a Great saw for cutting down Locust trees I This is the king of fuel efficiency and easy use the saw is a little pricey but in the long run you'll get your money worth with the M-tronic system. They could have done away with the decompression value. If you can't start it with out the value you should let someone else do the work for you. But all an all this is the saw to get , it will last a life time.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If all else fails, read the directions. I recently left liberal Oregon and moved to Montana. When I was a young man, I worked in the woods of Idaho and ran Stihl Saws. The 056 was the top dog in the woods at that time. I personally ran the 038 Super and Magnum, so when I went to our local Stihl saw shop looking for another professional saw for firewood cutting on our property I was looking for a similar saw as to what I was accustom to operating. This is where I found the MS 362 (Non M-Tronic). It blew me away when I first picked it up because, it was so light as compared to the 038's. Then I got it home and started felling and bucking trees on our property using a 25" Rollomatic ES bar and 3/8th. full skip (yellow) chain. This saw is a beast and gets stronger with every tank full. It starts in cold and in warm climates with one pull. I cannot say anything bad about this saw all I can say is, run non-ethanol fuel, sit down, read, study and fully understand the instruction manual of not only your saw, but of any power equipment you purchase and if you are still having difficulties, contact your Stihl "Professional" dealer for assistance. No, I do not work for nor am I endorsed by Stihl. I have only used their products for many years with great success.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mine is a lemon. I love saws from this company and I'm sure that this model is excellent as well, however, my particular saw is proving to be very unreliable as it is always impossible to start after its been running for 20 minutes.
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A tree dropping beast. Had the saw for 2 years not a single issue. The decompression valve makes starting the saw a breeze. At first I was rather skeptical about the M-tronic auto adjusting carb but it has definitely came through and I see absolutely no loss of power.I thoroughly enjoy the saw and recommend it too anyone who can handle the power of this beast.
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bad Butt Saw! Runs strong!! Starts easy! This is my first Stihl and it is very powerful saw.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My .02 This is a wood cutting son of a gun! You better be ready to stack lots of fire wood!. I've own 4 Stihl chainsaws in my 57 yrs, however the 362 out cuts them all. I replaced my last saw a Stihl 028AV w/18" bar with the new Stihl 362 CM 20" bar Please be careful not to flood the saw trying to start it! If, so just waiting 10-15 mins then restart the saw. I'm also using professional chains vs homeowners chains BIG DIFFERENT!!
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful - Dependable - Lightweight - Always Starts First Pull Dependable, powerful, great balance and maneuverability and always starts on the first pull no matter altitude or temperature. Performance is great at high altitude and in cold (20s and below). Well built and solid. Excellent, dependable machine.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy Bought my 362 from ace and it was great for 1-1/2 years and gave out. Had it re built and lasted an hour with explanation. I been given an option of another rebuilt 362 or pay for another after waiting on a warranty that in mind im told was of out of warranty but the saw was well with in warranty when it gave up. I didn't respond in time now I'm facing 8 months without direct use of the saw and only option is another rebuilt 362 ( not to excited about) or pay the difference for a different saw that is also a rebuilt saw ugg...
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy starting good handling dependable saw. New saw with only 2 gallons of fuel through it. We have fell, limbed and chunked dead dry pine from 15" to 30". I like the 25" bar for reach and balance, if the bar is buried the motor will pull the weight of the saw with a sharp chain (Green). We have had one issue where the compression release was used while engine was warm, would not start until release was closed. I never use release and have started and used saw from around 0* to 25* with winter shutter open. Exhaust heat seems to heat chain oil res nicely with adjustment screw opened some. We have not had issue with caps and have used with insulated cotton wool blend gloves not mittens (Yet).
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall a good saw I have owned my saw for two winters and cut approximately 120 cords a year as a small firewood sales company on the side. I like the reduced vibration than my old 360 and 034 but hate the new fuel and oil caps. Have a lot of problems especially with the oil cap on cold days. Being in Alaska I deal with a lot of cold days. Although I like the saw overall I will not buy another having to deal with the new caps. This one will be staying in the truck most of the time and I will continue to use the old saws.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start Great performance out of this 362 cm like it so much bought another saw that is just as awesome purchased the 180 for limbing out.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent power and balance Bought this saw to replace an aging 55cc saw from another manufacturer, and wow, what a difference. Ease of starting was the first bonus of the new saw, it is easy to start cold and easy to restart when warm/hot. The power is amazing and the saw is well balanced.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very well constructed saw Very easy starting, idle is excellent and never stalls between cuts, awesome power. Glides through 20 inch trees like a hot knife through butter.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! I have owned many saws over the years, primarily for cutting my own firewood, some I have liked and others were just ok. This is the first saw that I have had that I am excited to get it out of the case as I know it is up the to task. It starts easy and cuts easy without working me.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice saw, not too heavy with a 20" bar, excellent power I purchased this saw to replace a Stihl 034 AV that I brought back home to use. Wt. wise it is about right, not too heavy, with plenty of power for handling beech and maple in the UP. I had a 25" bar on the saw, which I replaced with a 20";this length handles better in my hands and is ideal for limbing and bucking. I have only had the saw for a short time, so cannot comment on long term reliability, although, if anything like my other Stihl saws, I expect it to continue to perform well. The only problem I have had thus far was my own doing in that I flooded the engine by leaving the starting lever on choke too long. This was easy to remedy--simply remove the cover, take out the plug and dry off, turn engine over several times with the starting switch in the OFF position, replace plug and problem solved. Since that episode I have had no issues with starting. I would recommend using a high octane gas and premium oil.
Date published: 2016-11-07
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_197
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms362cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl