MS 362 C-M - $729.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

The MS 362 C-MQ features the same great power, weight and fuel efficiency as the MS 362, but also features our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology. This innovative microprocessor-controlled engine management system optimizes engine performance and compensates for changes in operating conditions, such as temperature, elevation, fuel quality – including octane levels, and dirty ai...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 362 C-M Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 59.0 cc (3.6 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 3.5 kW (4.69 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT Flush-Cut: 5.6 kg (12.35 lbs.)
Wrap-Handle: 6.0 kg (13.2 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 600 cc (20.3 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 325 cc (11.0 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 40 to 63 cm (16" to 25")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC®
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3-72) OILOMATIC® Saw Chain and 20” 3003 008 8921 Ematic™ guide bar. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    STIHL M-Tronic™ 
    This product features M-Tronic™ (M) - a new generation of Intelligent Engine Management that eliminates the low and high speed carburetor adjustment screws, compensates for dirty air filter and changes in elevation and fuel quality for optimum engine power at all times.

    See it in action!

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Wrap Handle (R)
    Saw can be used in multiple positions for felling or limbing with hands in the proper positions.
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case Zoom
    Woodsman Chainsaw Carrying Case
    Woodsman carrying case. Unique, removable bar scabbard has built-in tool holders to carry tools to the cutting site. Fits MS 170 to MS 460 M with 20" bar.

    Replacement latches and scabbard are available.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System
    The STIHL Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System is a premium quality product, designed with NRR 25 hearing protection and adjustable ratchet-style six-point suspension.
  • Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boots Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boots
    Before you head out of the door for your next chainsaw job, lace up the stylish STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boots. This boot will help keep your feet protected from the elements with its inner GORE-TEX® fabric, delivering water-resistant technology and optimal breathability. Plus, its deep lacing hooks will help keep your feet securely fastened while you’re hard at work. Complete with a padded steel toe and a comfort sole made of rubber, this high-quality black suede work boot is designed with safety in mind. The hardworking STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot meets OSHA requirements for protective footwear in chainsaw use, as well as EN 17249 (Class 2) and EN 20345 S2 requirements for chainsaw protective boots. Swing by our store and try them on for yourself!
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Pro Mark™ Apron Chaps - 9 Layer Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Apron Chaps - 9 Layer
    Rugged, yet comfortable, apron-style chaps are treated with water and oil resistant nylon covering multiple layers of Avertic® Pro by Engtex® sewn-in, cut-retardant material. Garments are easy to buckle on and can be adjusted to fit a variety of sizes. Cargo pocket on front. Waist size expands from 30" to 42". For Proper fit and protection, the chap length should extend below the calf of the wearer's leg. Larger waists can be accommodated with the waist extender strap (Part No. 0000 886 5901)

    STIHL Pro Mark items are "Wash and Wear." They do not require dry cleaning as other brands do.

     


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 362 C-M is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 226.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl 362 cm I first bought a 261 Stihl but I was not happy with the power, Stihl representative was outstanding to deal with and got me into a 362. I am extremely happy with my choice. Well worth the extra money. The saw is an absolute Beast with a 20 inch bar. The Stihl rep also gave me direction on the best chain for my use. Great information.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from GOOD SAW MOST OF THE TIME SAW IS VERY HARD TO START WHEN COLD. IF YOU RUN OUT OF GAS ITS A BEAR TO START.
Date published: 2018-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good all around midsized saw. This review comes from a retired logger/pulp wood yard manager. Good all around mid-sized saw. Fuel economy is excellent. Enough power to run well with 20 inch bar & yellow full chisel chain. Oiler is very stingy though, even when turned up all the way (As compared to less modern saws). If you really need to run a 25 inch bar & chain on a regular basis, Then a MS 460 series is a better choice, It has more lubrication and enough low end torque to really turn a longer bar and chain.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the chainsaw I ever wanted! This chainsaw ate up what other saws struggle with. The first day I bought this saw I cut up a debranched medium size tree in about 30 minutes. This chainsaw delivers!
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Retired 031 I bought this to replace my 031. It has been well worth it.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw This saw is perfect for felling medium sized trees and light enough to use all day.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! We needed a larger saw to handle the bigger trees. The dealer recommended the MS 362 C-M and I'm glad he did. We put a 25" chain on it and put it to work. It has given us no problems. It is very easy to start and runs like a beast until it runs out of gas. We have cut elm, oak, sycamore, pine and ash trees with it and it doesn't care. We do cut more oak than the other types and watching it sink into the trunk like the proverbial hot knife into butter puts a smile on our faces.I could have summed this review up in two words .... great saw!
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great homeowner saw, great with a more agressive chain I've liked all the stihl power equipment I've tried last few years, but didn't actually own any. This was the chance. I got a 362cm to supplement an older husky 353. Kept having little failures on the husky that cost too much time, muffler bolts, power loss, etc. While a new anything would be an update, the 362 really impressed me.I did have trouble picking between models and almost got a 261c-m instead. I'm glad I went with bigger saw. I needed more than 53cc husky without having to pull out the heavier 394xp husky. This stihl 362c-m is great for getting firewood to the ground.I think it did come with some sort of safety chain I'm not familiar with, so I did have to change the stock chain, but very easy to work with so far. I read a few reviews saying the m-tronic has problems, but that's been all positive and no problems with m-tronic. So far so good.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful M-Tronic Woodeater This is my fourth M-tronic saw and I couldn’t be more satisfied with the purchase. It has the extra power my 261CM is sometimes missing on bigger wood but much more manageable than my 661CM. The saw runs extremely strong and is gaining power as I run it more. Starts easily, just like my other M-tronics. Running it with a 20 inch bar and the balance feels just about right. If you are thinking the 261 50ccs might be a hair shy for the power you need, this is your saw. I love the 261 but this has the little extra that you need from time to time. As always, run non-ethanol fuel.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST saw in it's size category! I bought this saw as it is a better alternative to carrying around a heavy, bigger saw all day long. I outfitted it with a 20" Rollomatic ES Light bar. It is perfectly balanced when picking it up to use! The Light bar is worth the additional expense. They are durable as well. I only wish they had been available years ago. This combination saves your shoulders & arms when doing hours of firewood preps. It has plenty of power to do the tasks at hand. Stihl has made improvements to its microprocessor technology since their original introduction. This model's M-Tronic/Intellicarb features have been modified to handle the rigors of heat & vibration exposure. You might want to purchase this saw to use in tandem with a larger felling saw. That way you aren't packing around that weight all day long. I use mine after laying down the big stuff with an MS-661 R-CM.This is just a really great all-around chainsaw
Date published: 2018-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The saw works The saw works. Stihl does not want my personal opinion and I am not going to wast my time!
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It has been good It is the best saw I have ever used, but it should be as it is the most expensive saw I have ever used. It is not the best saw I have used if you consider the performance per dollar ratio. I was not able to change the bar and chain to the size and type I wanted because the bar is tied to the powerhead's serial number which seems silly. Also, why is a pro saw sold with normal Rollomatic E and safety chain? So if you're like me add the cost of a bar and chain to the total right off the bat. It is easy to start, but I'd prefer not having the decompression button. I would suggest you turn the oiler all the way up before you ever use the saw and even doing so you'll still need more oil. So its good but honestly after using it the only reason I would buy another Stihl is the fact that they are the only dealer support I have access to in my area. If it were less money I'd be much more impressed but when your expectations are set so high due to such a high price it is easy to get let down.
Date published: 2018-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 362 Chainsaw The 362 is a great ground saw & light enough to use up in the tree without sacrificing any power !! Awesome saw !
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw for firewood. Great all around saw. I run it with a 20” bar and has not disappointed me yet. Little more power over the carb model. Much easier to clean the air filter too.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Saw for normal use Do not ever let it fall!! It is a good saw for getting firewood with. I used it to fall a couple trees as well. It has power but not as much as I expected out of a Professional grade saw. Starts great but its still new. Being a Professional grade saw it has metal guards rather than plastic which is a huge + but the fact that the handle is plastic is honestly pathetic. I was going out to cut firewood when it was -10 degrees. Had the chainsaw idling to warm up and it vibrated off of my tail gate and landed in the snow. Being a plastic handle and being so cold the handle snapped into pieces. Ruined the entire day of getting firewood because there was no grab handle for your left hand. If it cant take a fall from under 3' that is just terribly sad, especially for a "Pro grade" saw. My old chainsaw has had multiple trees roll over and land on it, fallen off of the truck multiple times, tumbled down hills etc. Never have I broken an aluminum handle. This saw was less than a week old when this happened. Was the handle cracked before this or had a flaw in the material, I honestly do no know but should never of broken this easy. Good saw for the average user. I wish I could upgrade to an aluminum handle. They do not even offer that as an option.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Saw is great, lots of power easy start, well balanced, I have a bad shoulder, I needed a bigger Saw because of the size of oak trees I have to take down. I have and always will own a Stihl, but my Farm Boss was a little hard to start. Great Saw, just no comprehension release. This 362 is awesome, 25 inch blade and lots of power ! Bought it at the local Foley hardware store! Travis was a great person to work with..Thank You Tim
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of the best saws I have ever run, Great saw,it out cut some of my larger saws,fast,powerful and balanced well,I bought it in Washington State to cut Douglas fir,hemlock and cedar on my tree farm, brought it back to VA and sank into some hardwoods,went through white oak, hickory and maple with ease,I'll be adding a few more for my guys
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Amazing Saw for Sure!! I have put two tanks of gas through this thing and so far it is awesome. The power is well beyond its size and weight. It cuts so smooth and just mows through all types of wood. We cut Oak, Ash, Maple, and some locust and it didn't even start to bog down once. I am amazed at the fuel efficiency. We cut all most everything the amount of a full 14' trailer mounded on a single tank of gas. My understanding from the dealer is it's only going to get better as I use it more. I'm not sure how it could it is an awesome saw out of the box. Stihl this saw is just another great product out of your factory. Great Job!!!
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Stihl saw purchase. I bought this saw to clear my 4 acres in Western Oregon. I have an 028 super but needed something larger with more horse power for the big stuff. I am cutting oak, fir, cedar, and madrone. This saw has plenty of power and tork. It is comfortable to operate for extended periods. The easy start and compression release make this the easiest starting saw I have ever operated. Stihl has incorporated a number of safety features that give the operator some extra piece of mind while operating this saw. The M-tronic system is a great improvement over the carburetor system of the older saws. Welcome to the future of chain saws. This saw makes hard work a lot easier.
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Pro Saw Heat with wood and tired of replacing cheap saws every other year. Love my Husky Farm and Ranch saws but, got hold of a this saw as a demo from Stihl. This thing flat out cuts and screams. Ran a tank through it and took the Demo back and bought one two months ago. Hands down the best saw I have ever used/owned.
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nothing but quality just got this saw today, I and my inlaws try to always burn fire wood for heat, I cut at least 14 cords a year and had to try this saw out as soon as I got home, it really shows the quality of stihl products, if you are looking for a extremely high quality saw do not wait any longer, my dealer is opesalisbury in north carolina
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable I am 62, live in Michigan and cut firewood to heat our home. This saw is reliable and gets the job done every time. I especially like having this bar length. My son bought this same model, when I did, and is also satisfied.
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Performance I told the salesman I wanted a chainsaw that had enough power that it wouldn't bog down easily and this saw delivers! The 20" bar is great as this saw is big enough to cut down any tree on my property and small enough that I can cut off all the limbs to prep for the chipper without getting fatigued. The compression release makes cold starts easy and it runs great in hot and cold weather. There's no change in performance when turning the saw on it's side to cut the stump at ground level. I would recommend this saw to anyone looking for a great all around chainsaw
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Both Strong and Easy Handling I heat with wood and bought this saw because of it's weight/easy handling and very strong power. It has proven to be a great workhorse that easily fells and logs trees. Starts easily and runs well; I have taken to calling it The Beast. I have a 251CM for limbing/small work and the two saws make a great combination!
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenomenal Purchased this saw one year ago this week, and I have absolutely no complaints about the power and reliability of it. I purchased the RSLF chain in addition and in a race through a piece of Ash, cut faster than the 461 magnum. This saw will peel through hardwood, make sure to use the Stihl oil and ethanol free fuel, the bottom line is, if you need something that cuts fast and will go the distance, this is the best choice.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very reliable so far Very easy to start no carburetor adjustment is got good power I Purchased this saw in 2017 with the facelift definitely look better than the previous my advice use 20 inch bar on this saw
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but expected a bit more power Have owned and used chainsaws for over 30 years. Last saws were Farm Bosses. Now using them for felling or bucking smaller stuff. Only ran about 6 tanks through the 362 but getting the feel of it to maximize performance. I can't comment on how reliable it is yet - too soon to tell. Expected this to have a bit more power while using the yellow chain on a 25" bar. Can easily bog the chain down with larger trees. If I had the chance to try it before I bought it (hint dealers) - I would have went up several models to just power though with the least amount of time. Note - for me this saw is intended for large felling and cutting firewood only so the weight is not the biggest issue.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent all around chainsaw Well balanced with great power. I purchased 20" and 25" bar and it works great for small or large jobs. reliable and easy to use.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw First stihl chainsaw I am impressed with the power of this saw. Also like the ease of the chain adjustment and the guys at construction rental in North Platte Nebraska very help every time I stop buy the shop.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw to clear land I had a MS250 which wasn't quite enough saw for the 11 acres in the mountains... bought the 362 and never looked back... lots of power and with the wrap around handle its easy to position
Date published: 2017-10-22
  • y_2018, m_9, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_226
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms362cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl