MS 441 C-M MAGNUM® - $989.95 DSRP



Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

Powerful professional chainsaw with STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management system.

Featuring STIHL M-Tronic™ – an engine management control system that intelligently manages the operating performance of the engine – the MS 441 C-M MAGNUM® chainsaw is ideal for professional jobs. The innovative system eliminates the low- and high-speed carburetor adjustment screws and compensates for dirty air filters, changes in elevation and fuel quality through an electronic monitoring of the...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 441 C-M MAGNUM® Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 70.7 cc (4.3 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 4.2 kW (5.6 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 6.6 kg (14.6 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 725 cc (24.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 360 cc (12.2 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 80 cm (16" to 32")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E Super
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3 84) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 25" 3003 000 4030 Ematic™ guide bar combination. *The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL M-Tronic™ 
    This product features M-Tronic™ (M) - a new generation of Intelligent Engine Management that eliminates the low and high speed carburetor adjustment screws, compensates for dirty air filter and changes in elevation and fuel quality for optimum engine power at all times.

    See it in action!

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Pre-Separation Air Filtration System
    This time-saving technology boosts the efficiency of the engine’s filter system, doubling the time between air filter cleanings. Air drawn into the engine is first separated via centrifugal force, ejecting the heavier dirt particles before being routed to the air filter. This pre-separation means less dirt to be captured by the air filter, resulting in less frequent cleaning and maintenance.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
WARNING! The occurrence called “kickback” can cause serious or fatal injury. Always read the instruction manual carefully before using your saw. STIHL uses a green and yellow color-coding system to help you select a powerhead, bar and chain combination that complies with the kickback requirements of ANSI Standard B175.1 (gasoline-powered saws) and §30 of UL 1662/ ANSI Standard B175.1 (electric chainsaws). Ask your STIHL dealer about safe operating procedures and the advantages of the STIHL Quickstop® chain brake, STIHL Quickstop® Plus (Q) additional chain braking feature, STIHL reduced kickback bars and STIHL low-kickback saw chains.

STIHL recommends the use of green reduced kickback bars and green low kickback chains on all STIHL chainsaws.
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System
    The STIHL Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System is a premium quality product, designed with NRR 25 hearing protection and adjustable ratchet-style six-point suspension.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Denim Protective Pants Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Denim Protective Pants
    As comfortable as blue jeans, only better. Has pads with multiple layers of sewn-in Avertic™ Pro by Engtex® cut-retardant material. Sturdy and comfortable poly/cotton blend with elasticized waist and belt loops. Two back pockets, two side pockets plus a deep front cargo pocket.

    Meets protection for chainsaw operators OSHA Reg. 1910. 266 and classified by UL using ASTM Test method F 1414 in accordance with ASTM standard F 1897 for leg protection.

     

     

  • Performance Forestry Boot Zoom
    Performance Forestry Boot

    Combine cut-resistant protection with comfort when you buy our STIHL performance forestry boot. Whether tackling tree removal or a tough landscaping job, this forestry boot will meet the demands of most any task. You’ll benefit from additional features like its well-padded steel toe cap, puncture resistant throughsole, and waterproof exterior. The insole and arch support systems were anatomically formed to provide maximum comfort, and the low-weight sole offers wear-resistant, nonslip traction. Stop by our STIHL showroom to check out what could be your next go-to work shoe.

  • Performance Cut-Retardant Mitts Zoom
    Performance Cut-Retardant Mitts
    Made with water-resistant nylon backs and goatskin palms for comfort and a better grip without sacrificing dexterity. Avertic™ Pro by Engtex® cut-retardant material sewn into back of left glove. High-visibility orange color, separate index finger, and hook and loop wrist straps make these three-fingered chainsaw protective gloves an excellent choice for the professional logger. Sizes available: S (8), M (9), L (10), XL (11).

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 441 C-M MAGNUM® is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 61.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Animal There is a reason it's nickname is the animal. This saw will not disappoint. I own my own contracting business and we take down a lot of trees. When you get to the big stuff you reach for the animal. Enough said!!!
Date published: 2016-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this saw Easy to start thanks to the M-Tronic management , even in cold weather. I admit I had reservations about changing from a classic adjustable card. But I can't say enough good things about the time it has saved. Great power to weight, it is now my go to saw for intermediate to large jobs.
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great piece of equipment I've had many different types of chainsaws this the best one by a long shot. I run 32 inch bar in big timber, and run a 16 inch bar in small wood. This saw is well balanced the only saw you'll ever need.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy!Happy!Happy! Purchased this saw from local dealer. Put it to work cutting up 30" elm trees. Tough wood but this saw ripped right through it with no issues what so ever. I had the Rapid Super chain on and changed it out for the last and biggest tree. Cut up all three trees in less than 2 hours. So happy I decided on this saw.
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best in class for power to weight I run a small sawmill and the only brand I rely on is stihl. I bought this saw to replace my 440. The 441 uses less fuel and oil and is more dependable. I have not had to do much maintenance other than the chain and filters. This saw gets used and abused daily and starts on the forth pull every time in every condition of weather. I cant say enough positive things this about it try it out for your self and see.
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from this saw is very disappointing Bought this saw 1 year ago, I have used it a total of 3 times and its been in the shop the rest of the time. 3 new carbs did not fix it, no ethenol fuel with synthetic oil did not fix it and now they are trying to determine if a new head and piston will fix it or just give me a new saw? I really dont want a new 441, I just want one that will start and stay running! As an excavator that clears lots not having the saw has been a huge disappointment.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weight to power ratio is fantastic. Quality is top shelf. Zero regrets. I live in New England and burn a lot of firewood and am constantly taking out trees on my property. I have an MS 250, but needed something bigger. I shopped around a lot, looking at other brands. Nothing compared to the quality of the Sthil. I chose the MS 441CM because I needed something that could run a 28 inch bar for the big hardwoods. The weight to power ratio won me over the next size down. I have cut about 5 chords with this saw so far and love this saw. I run a 25" bar for my regular use which works great. I was a little skeptical of the auto start fuel setting, but it works great. If you have bigger jobs to do, go with the MS 441 for no regrets whatsoever. You will find yourself admiring it when not in use.
Date published: 2015-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from powerful wood cutter. I cut firewood year around to burn & also sell. I use a 441 & for trimming a 211 to save my back. I owned two 441s & one 441c with m tronic. I like my 441 with mixture & idle screws. My first 441 had a throttle cable fray off it was used so much. The older it got the better it sounded & ran! I ran a 28" bar but that was to heavy & nose heavy for me. I like the 20" bar. It races right through anything! Just be alert & careful ,respect the power. The sound of it idling is really cool. Wear ear plugs. Chaps ect.
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from M-Tronic nothing but problems Chainsaw at dealer again. Rough idle and stalling a constant. Very disappointed with this $1000 saw. I have work to do and no chainsaw. My dealer has been excellent so far.
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Maybe It was nice but not for it money I thought I was get Something better than what I hot sorry my 362 is better any day of the week
Date published: 2015-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw with many uses Purchased with 28in bar for use with Alaskan mill to custom mill hardwood slabs. Very reliable, starts on the first pull everytime. Great ergonomics for hours of use, but don't under estimate the weight, or forget to respect the power. The weight can be a little tiring after a few hours, but is a positive for bucking large logs. Very efficient at felling, limbing, and bucking large hardwoods up to 4 feet in diameter. The tool-less fuel and bar oil plugs are great, and have never vibrated open. Great saw.
Date published: 2015-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good products-good dealer support Not only does Stihl make good equipment their dealers are well trained and very knowable. I was debating between the MS 441 and the next saw up after talking with the dealer he convinced me that the bigger saw was not necessary and he was right, which I think is great because he certainly could have sold me the bigger saw for more money.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw The full wrap around handle with the reduced vibration coils minimize the hand and arm fatigue.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sithl Chainsaw, pound for pound, along with the 460. I'm a wildland firefighter and this is one of the most favored saws (along with the 460) I see in the field. Light, very powerful and with a sharp chain, just eats up the lumber. Great for mitigating on the job or around home. It's important to keep all nuts, screws, bolts, checked tightened properly during periodic maintenance. Watch the "kick-back" with this saw in particular, but that is a given for all saws, in general. I recommend this specific saw, with the 24" bar, for almost all applications, even light use around the yard. Obviously, keeping the chain sharp is optimal for not only speed, but increasing the life span of the saw. I can use this saw for 8 hours, pretty much continuously, with periodic fueling and sharpening breaks, and even though I'm tired at the end of the day, I still have enough energy to mow the lawn, eat and take a shower before I crawl into bedroom.
Date published: 2015-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Yet... I have owned Stihl saws for many years moving up in size and power. This 441 Mag is the best one yet. Starts easy with the compression release, unreal power and it runs clean. The air filter stays clean and shavings don't get gummed up around the automatic oiler. It's easy to handle and is one wood cutting machine. It's my all time favorite Chainsaw, that says it all.
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Handle, has a good power band and user friendly I do alot of firewood cutting for my house and selling some on the side. This saw holds up to all the needs of felling and bucking limbs. The new M-Tronic ignition and electronic carb is a great feature. The gas economy is pretty good for a professional grade saw. I have not had any issues with starting, as it starts with one pull when warm. When it's cold it starts on the 2nd or 3rd pull which is nice not having to pull and pull like the old off brand saws. Great saw, Stihl is the only saw I will use whether in the woods or at home.Thank you, stihlJustin
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for all day felling in the Rocky Mountains I bought this saw to use professionally felling trees and occasionally for firewood. I work in fuels mitigation and free thinning in Colorado. Mostly pine and Douglass-fir less than 2.5 feet in diameter. This saw fits the bill perfectly. With a 24 inch bar it is well balanced and plenty powerful. The overall length is good for limbing, and a full wrap makes felling a breeze. It is a substantial upgrade from the 3 series I had been running before. I debated getting a newer 36- but I am glad I went for the heavier/more expensive 44. Worth every penny. I was hesitant to get the new electronic carb set up due to the nature of the work, but it been just fine. Starts up on the first couple of pulls every time even after moving 1500 feet in altitude between uses. For regular use in relatively small diameter timber this is a great saw, and I anticipate getting many years of use out of it. Another quality Stihl product!
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a beast!!! I bought an 181 for small stuff.. And did research on the 441 mag... It's a lethal beast cutting into trees.. Go with the 25" bar.. It will save your back... The 6hp engine is amazing.. It's loud but you can feel and see the power... I've cut for 5.5 hours straight with it before with zero issues... You will get more HP once it's broken in after a few tanks of fuel... Buy extra chains so you can keep the momentum of your cutting going.
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alaskan chain saw mill bars and chains I need to order a 40-50 bar and chain sain ripping blade for m mill can the ms441 handle this?? What is the biggest bar I can get??
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Saw Purchased this saw 4 months, mainly to cut firewood have cut 3 loads of firewood, also replaced the 20 inch bar with a 25 inch bar, didn't slow this saw down at all. Great Product.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well balanced I bought this saw to cut timber and it is amazing starts quick crazy power and easy on gas love it
Date published: 2014-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power Stick I love this saw ! Anything that I throw at it, it eats it right up. This is enough power than you need to take down or cut up anything. I saw a lot of big stuff for my company . Huge coast redwoods, hard black walnut , tons of oak and fir, nothing can stop this beast. This saw is all you need trust me, you just have to know how to saw right along with it . It always starts right up for me and never have any problems. Just make sure you clean it after every use and don't let it sit . This saw is without a doubt worth the money.
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! Lots of power very reliable Great saw all around. Has not even been fully broken in yet and shows great power cuts very fast. Doesn't burn alot of gas either. Definelty go with the 25" bar it evens out the weight nice for cutting big logs.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cut fast an has plenty of power this is a great saw the only issue I have is the first stat of the day takes about 5 to 8 pulls before it starts but after that it starts fine
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Just bought the 441cm magnum chainsaw, and took it out today to cut firewood.am in the process of breaking the saw in, and have used 2 1/2 tankfulls of gas so far, but seem to have little problem, when I shut the saw off either to fill it up, or give it a cool down, I have a hard time restarting it, acts like it's vapor locked. could use some advice.When I get the saw started it runs great, all kinds of power so far.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and plent of power. I wanted to put this saw to hard use for a couple of seasons before a review. I love this saw, I also have a 460. It is nice and light for all day work and has plenty of power with a 32" bar. My loggin buddy that runs a 460 built( ported, bore kit, decked) 36" bar wanted to switch saws for the day because he wanted to buy one since he was tired of packing his when only cutting/bucking 3-5ft firs. He was very impressed at the peppiness and loved the light weight and the little vibration. The only problem I had was with the 32" stihl bar and regular bar oil not the eco veggie oil junk. The bar oil ports are tiny and plug up with dusty wood, but I took my dremmel with thin cutting disc and kerf them through and haven't had any issues since.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw Been using this saw for about 7 months and never misses a beat. Going through about 3 tanks a week for the last 3 months and over the winter in 20-40 degree weather at 8000 feet and performs great. Dealing mostly with 18"-24" pine trees and rips right through them.I've been thinking of going up to the 32" bar for reach. With the trees we are dealing with, there will still be plenty of power with this saw.
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from words can't explain this saw Power power and more power. This saw never stops or slow down if u use it right
Date published: 2014-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does not disappoint! I worked for seven years as a sawyer on a forest service fire crew back when we ran the Stihl 44 model saw. I haven't had much need for a saw since then until now, so when I read about all the changes to the 44 model I was a bit hesitant to buy a new one. I didn't need to be! This baby is a BEAST! Not only does it perform as good as the old model, but it is an improvement! The power at reduced RPM is amazing! It starts up right away and needs no break in. Cold weather doesn't seem to bother it at all. Best yet, when cutting old "punky" logs it doesn't get gummed up. I'm surprised how clean it stays after a day of work. I've been falling and bucking large northwest trees (maples, alders, cedars, doug fir) using a 36" bar for two weeks straight and have nothing but praise for the saw. Stihl still makes the best saw for those that don't want to mess around with anything short of perfection! Just be warned that it is a heavy saw, so you better be strong in the upper body or willing to work on getting there.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chain saw and have recommended it to other people I broke the chainsaw in when it was 11 degrees outside and it performed flawlessly, I am sold on that m-tronic technology, no more having to take time and adjust the carburetor when cutting. The anti vibration handle is also a great feature, after cutting all day my arms didn't feel like jello. If you heat your home with wood like I do and you don't want to be wore out at the end of the day after cutting wood, I would highly recommend this chainsaw. The saw also cuts through the wood very quickly with little effort.
Date published: 2014-03-22
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms441cm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl