MS 461


16 in. Bar

18 in. Bar

20 in. Bar

25 in. Bar

28 in. Bar

32 in. Bar

A well-balanced, professional chainsaw that is fuel efficient and low maintenance.

With the same power and weight as the MS 460, it offers up to 20% less fuel consumption, meaning you can spend less time refueling and less money on fuel. This durable chainsaw also features high torque over a broad RPM range to deliver professional performance. The heavy-duty HD-2 filter element provides longer run times between air filter maintenance. Wrap handle (MS 461 R) and severe cold weath...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 461 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 76.5 cc (4.7 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 4.5 kW (6.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 6.6 kg (14.6 Ibs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 800 cc (27.1 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 325 cc (11.0 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 33 RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 80 cm (16" to 32")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E Super
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3 84) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 25" 3003 000 4030 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length depending upon which powerhead it is installed.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    STIHL ElastoStart™
    The ElastoStart™ starter handle is an exclusive feature of STIHL. It is a starting grip with a built-in shock absorber that helps reduce the effort when pulling on the starter cord. The ElastoStart™ starter grip noticeably reduces the sudden peak forces (compression) normally felt during cranking. The forces which occur at the grip after the first compression stroke are smoothed out.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot
    Before you head out of the door for your next chainsaw job, lace up the stylish STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot. This boot will help keep your feet protected from the elements with its inner GORE-TEX® fabric, delivering water-resistant technology and optimal breathability. Plus, its deep lacing hooks will help keep your feet securely fastened while you’re hard at work. Complete with a padded steel toe and a comfort sole made of rubber, this high-quality black suede work boot is designed with safety in mind. The hardworking STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot meets OSHA requirements for protective footwear in chainsaw use, as well as EN 17249 (Class 2) and EN 20345 S2 requirements for chainsaw protective boots. Swing by our store and try them on for yourself!
  • Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System
    The STIHL Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System is a premium quality product, designed with NRR 25 hearing protection and adjustable ratchet-style six-point suspension.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.
  • Pro Mark™ Wrap Chaps Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Wrap Chaps
    Same as our apron style chaps with additional lower leg full wrap-around cut-retardant protection. Waist size expands from 30" to 42". Available with 6 or 9 layers in 36" length.

    STIHL Pro Mark items are "Wash and Wear." They do not require dry cleaning as other brands do.

     

     


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 461 is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 118.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One bad mamma jamma This saw is something to behold with power. I got this with the 32 in bar on it. I had a 72 in and over 70 foot tall Silver Maple that sustained a lot of storm damage and was always losing very large branches every wind storm. The quotes I was getting to remove and cut it up (I wanted to keep it for firewood) would have bought me two of these saws. Long story short, this saw is perfect for those extra large trees and everyday firewood cutting. You'll look at a big job and think it's going to take you forever, but with this saw it is over before you know it. Another plus, once coworkers know you have it, it starts to pay for itself with favors for helping them cut up trees that are too large for their saws.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 460 magnum I bought a 460 magnum used, cut a hundred cord of wood never failed as far as I'm concerned best saw I ever had ,some body broke into my sheds stole all my stihl saws.i had three my wife bought me my first stihl 026 ive had one ever since until now I would recommend stihl to everybody, you want a good piece of equipment buy a stihl, but keep them hid
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable saw As a professional the ms 461 with a 25inch bar has done it's job day in and day out with very minor problems over the last 8 months I have used the saw it hasn't failed to impress on every job site cutting 48" hard wood trees with no problem. I am very happy with this product even with the high price of the saw it is worth the money
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The power to satisfy! I cut 12-16 cord a year to heat my home. I replaced a Stihl 361 with this saw, and I am impressed. The 361 was a great saw, had a lot of power for its size, but this 461 is the Paul Bunyan of the woods. It takes a very large log to even make this saw break a sweat or grunt, even with a 20" bar. This saw spits wood chips like a beaver on steroids chuggin' energy drinks. Easy to start, even without the decompression valve, which I never use. I thought is was a little thirsty on gas compared to the 361, but when I looked at how many more logs I can cut with a single tank of gas with the 461, I think it is just a s fuel efficient. Great all around saw.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL Pride This saw is full of power but then again it's STIHL the only saws/brand I will ever buy period! Very easy to maintain clean and identify components I bought it with a 28 and just been very happy and satisfied I purchased this saw. Saw has very bogged down I even cut though a 46 inch locust log and still didn't hesitate at all , love this saw so full of power.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice saw but a little heavy I bought this saw when I retired my ms 440. Saw is noticably heavier than my 440 but has better power. It cuts great with the 25" bar but cannot handle the 32" bar with a yellow chain. The chain just stops dead on the log so I switched to a skip chain and was able to finish the job but I'm still not impressed with the power on the big bar. I think this saw should max out at 28" bar length. All that aside I still love the saw but I need a bigger saw for extra large wood.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I got to use my new MS 461 for the first time this weekend; WOW; was I ever impressed. It went through a 30" oak tree in nothing flat. With the 36" bar I had everything I needed to fall and buck the tree with minimal effort.Love it.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from King of the Wilderness I bought this saw a year ago and almost wet myself when I first fired it up. It roars. It turns out this is far more saw then I need, but when I feel I need it, it steps up and gets it done. The only time this saw slowed down a little was when it was fully buried in a 40" fir with my 32" bar and chain attached. That was a big tree. Usually this is fitted with the 25" bar and I have yet to see it slow even a little, no matter what I ask of it. Fires up second pull and runs strong till the tank empties.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Follow-up after 6 months This saw is not merely a means by which to harvest wood, it is a way of life. What makes this saw so much better than every other chainsaw ever made? Well, for starters, the side of the saw says Stihl, which loosely translates from German to English as "Ninja warrior of the woods". Besides that, once started, it will eat more wood than a buck-toothed beaver on Flakka. Ever feel like there is a caged animal inside of you? Well, buy this Stihl and release the beast!!! When it is cutting you may hyperventilate because you have never had a saw run through wood as smoothly as this one before. So, if needed, bring a paper bag to the woods in case you need breathe into it to calm down. NOTE: This saw is for serious wood cutters and not for kids or basement-dwelling millennials. If you have got a beard and wear skinny jeans, but never mixed gas and oil, then you should think twice before buying this saw.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slabbing Red Oak 20" wide Bought this saw to use with my new Granberg sawmill. Was quite pleased from the start. The saw has the power needed to do a great job. Looking forward to slabbing more wood.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mans saw Need a Saw ? A beefy high power saw to get a big job done this is it ! I needed a big firewood saw as I have a woods with Beech ,Oak and Maple up 36" that needs to be cut out. This saw gets it done ! I have a 028,261 c 362 c and now this It isnt my main saw the 261 gets most of my work. Its no lightweight and draggin this brute thru the woods isnt something I looked forward to. After 2 weeks of solid cuttin this hands down has the best flat out cutting power of any saw i have ever ran Its unstoppable.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing saw, worth the cost. This is my 3rd stihl chainsaw.I have a 26 and 261, both good saws but often found I needed a larger saw for bigger trees. After a lot of indecision on the purchase of a 461 just based on trying to justify the $1100 cost, I'm very pleased with the saw. I purchased with standard 20" and added 28" bar and chain. First tree was 36" stump and the 28" bar worked great. I was amazed by how much torque this saw had over my 261, hands down a brute. I would highly recommend this saw.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I wait! I've had a 271 Farm Boss with a 18" bar since 2011. It runs great but my source for wood become larger in diameter which created extra work. Purchased 461 with a 25" bar yesterday afternoon, got it home and did in 1/2 hour what normally took 2. Why did I wait....Dependability, give me 5 years and I'll review once again.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable Will have another one!Have cut over 2000 trees and limped and chucked them
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Man, what a saw I own a ms290 farm boss Which is a really good saw, but I wanted more power. This saw delivers. It has a compression release that makes cranking the saw a lot easier. Used it on 20"+ oak logs and it went thru them like butter. I love this saw.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW Tornado hit my house in Feb of 16 I live in the woods to say the least I originally purchased a ms251 to begin clean up i was impressed worked it 2 days straight with zero problems a few months and some research later I wanted to get more work done a Lititle faster and I noticed the ms461 was just what I was hunting I bought it and headed straight to my backyard and wow what a saw I have a 25" bar and it will spit out wood chunks like no other previously we have used other top name saws but never could leave them sitting for a month and go back and crank them I have had both my stihls for 8 months with out a hiccup never will I buy another make of saw #stihlusa
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is well balanced, for all day work. This is my second MS 461 saw. Had a new one last year , still running. Wanted a new one, using old one for back up.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw. Dependable Great saw for felling and for firewood. A bit heavy.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of power I been using chainsaws a long time mostly firewood and storm related but also own and manage several hundred acres of timber. I have two stihls already the 028 WB and MS 290 but wanted something with a bit more power so recently purchased the MS 461 with a 25" bar and not disappointed one bit. It has power to spare on most cutting jobs plenty of torque to go along with it. Very happy with my new addition and knowing of my use of sthils since mid 1970"s how reliable they are as my older stihl saws run great even now.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My working Buddy When it comes to really big jobs and working all day long, this is my go-to machine. Efficient, low fuel consumption, longer run times and reduced emissions. Strong enough to cut smoothly, no bucking or binding make it safe for all day operation in the deep woods. .
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as good as the MS 460, but better The MS 460 is a great saw, but the MS 461 is even better. You can cut longer and it seems like more power. I always run 93 octane in 2 cycle engines. Ran 4.5 tanks of fuel through it. The saw over 8+ cord of firewood in less than 5 hours We generally cut and sell 50+ cord a year. Well worth buying it. If you are going to cut a lot buy professional grade, not farm and ranch or homeowners. My MS 460 was a 2009 model in decent shape, but it blew a seal and clutch. Compression was 170 psi. It got pinched. I can't find anything wrong with the MS 461. I guess some loggers are just set in there ways. Thank you Smith's Saws and Service
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute work horse I have been running this saw for over a year and it is bullet proof. I have have fell, bucked, limbed and even climbed with it, and it is relentless! With the 28" bar it eats wood alive, and it still excels with a 36" bar. I am sold on this saw, it is worth every penny. Very dependable
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thumbs up to the MS461 Great saw. Running a 28" bar with filed down rakes on an aggressive chain and this saw just EATS. I've put a solid season on this saw and its chewed up everything I've thrown at it. This saw is fun to run! However, I do not recommend it for beginners.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw "does work"! If you want "one saw", this is the saw. Smooth, light for its size, and runs all day through the hardest wood without blinking. It's also the last saw without the microchip in the pro models. Mine is configured with the 25 inch bar, which works for almost all applications and it is easy on the back for guys at my height (i.e., 6'3"), because I do not have to bend over. In short, buy the saw and you will be glad you did.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power I bought this saw to replace 3 older Stihls. I cut approximately 20 chords of wood for winter. This saw has never failed me once. Fuel consumption is fantastic, and oil capacity is great.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product does have great features such as the advanced carburetor and air filter, decompression valve and ease of chain adjustment. I purchased this saw yesterday. Based on the reliability of the MS460 Magnum I expect even better performance from the MS 461 R. I expect that my wife and I will be out of the forest much sooner with our 5 cords of fuel wood this year.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw So...after thinking long and hard between an MS 661 and the MS 461 I chose the 461... and i was not disappointed with my choice! This thing is an animal! With a 25 inch bar on it you can't go wrong. Came with a 20 inch bar on it but it kinda looked funny. It chews any type of wood i throw at it.... hard or soft, and its always hungry for more!
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Brand new sucks We bought this saw 2 yrs ago. Seller put new gas in it. Ran horrible. Took it back. Come to find out the seller had put oil in the already premixed gas. Fouled the plug. Took it back home. Bucked our wood up. Then the next time we tried to start it. Nope wouldn't run, Again. So we used the old reliable saw. So again this year we are on our way to get this hardly ever ran saw worked on again..... We always put in the recommended new gas in it. Maybe we got a lemon saw. Thank goodness for th O44... RW
Date published: 2016-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MORE MONEY MORENSAW NOT MUCH TO SAY THIS SAW HANDS DOWN IS NUMBER ONE.FOR PEOPLE WHO HAVE RUN SAWS A GREAT WHILE. NOT FOR A FRIST TIME USER.
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl, you can't beat em Started with the 090 25 years ago and the 044, now up to 460,461,660, 661. All these are great saws and if it's a Stihl professional grade saw you can't go wrong.
Date published: 2016-04-16
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_118
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms461, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl