MS 461 R


16 in. Bar

18 in. Bar

20 in. Bar

25 in. Bar

28 in. Bar

32 in. Bar

Fuel efficient and low maintenance, now with a wrap-around handle (R).

The STIHL MS 461 R is a great all-around professional forestry and tree care chainsaw. With the same power and weight as the MS 460, it offers up to 20% less fuel consumption, meaning you can spend less time refueling and less money on fuel. This durable chainsaw also features a wrap-around handle for use in multiple positions for felling or limbing with hands in the proper positions. The heavy-du...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 461 R Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 76.5 cc (4.7 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 4.5 kW (6.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 7.1 kg (15.72 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 800 cc (27.1 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 325 cc (11.0 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 33 RS3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS* (Recommended ranges) 40 to 80 cm (16" to 32")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® E Super
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3624 (33 RS3 84) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 25" 3003 000 4030 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which power head it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Wrap Handle (R)
    Saw can be used in multiple positions for felling or limbing with hands in the proper positions.
  • Zoom
    Adjustable Automatic Oiler
    The Adjustable Automatic Oiler allows the user to adjust the lubricant of the guide bar and saw chain for different bar lengths and cutting conditions.
  • Zoom
    STIHL ElastoStart™
    The ElastoStart™ starter handle is an exclusive feature of STIHL. It is a starting grip with a built-in shock absorber that helps reduce the effort when pulling on the starter cord. The ElastoStart™ starter grip noticeably reduces the sudden peak forces (compression) normally felt during cranking. The forces which occur at the grip after the first compression stroke are smoothed out.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Decompression Valve
    The decompression valve, also referred to as 'deco' or 'deco valve', vents compression in the cylinder for easier starting. The decompression valve temporarily reduces the compression in the combustion chamber during cranking and helps reduce the effort needed to pull the starter rope. It is opened manually and closes automatically as soon as the engine fires.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Bar and Chain Oil Zoom
    Bar and Chain Oil
    STIHL Bar and Chain oil is formulated to adhere to the bar and chain, and to reduce wear. Special agents in the oil formulation help keep sap and pitch from clinging to the bar and chain.

    Available in quart and gallon bottles, 5 gallon pails and 55 gallon drums, in both summer and winter weights.

  • Complete Filing Kits Zoom
    Complete Filing Kits
    Kits available for the following chain types: STIHL PICCO Mini; 1/4" pitch chain; .325" pitch chain; 3/8" pitch chain; .404" pitch chain.
    Includes file guide, depth gauge, round file, flat file and two file handles in tool pouch.
    Chain Pitch File Diameter File Guide
    Part Number
    Sharpening Kit
    Part Number
    in. mm in. mm Part Number
    3/8 PMN 9.32 5/32 4.0 0811 411 8073

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1026

    1/4
    3/8 PM
    6.35
    9.32
    5/32 4.0 0811 411 8091

    5605 750 4327

    5605 007 1027

    0.325 8.25 3/16 4.8 0811 412 8088

    5605 750 4328

    5605 007 1028

    3/8 9.32 13/64 5.2 0814 243 3384 5605 750 4329

    5605 007 1029

    0.404 10.26 7/32 5.5 0811 412 8108 5605 750 4330

    5605 007 1030

For Your Safety
  • Pro Mark™ Wrap Chaps Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Wrap Chaps
    Same as our apron style chaps with additional lower leg full wrap-around cut-retardant protection. Waist size expands from 30" to 42". Available with 6 or 9 layers in 36" length.

    STIHL Pro Mark items are "Wash and Wear." They do not require dry cleaning as other brands do.

     

     

  • Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System
    The STIHL Pro Mark™ Forestry Helmet System is a premium quality product, designed with NRR 25 hearing protection and adjustable ratchet-style six-point suspension.
  • Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot Zoom
    Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot
    Before you head out of the door for your next chainsaw job, lace up the stylish STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot. This boot will help keep your feet protected from the elements with its inner GORE-TEX® fabric, delivering water-resistant technology and optimal breathability. Plus, its deep lacing hooks will help keep your feet securely fastened while you’re hard at work. Complete with a padded steel toe and a comfort sole made of rubber, this high-quality black suede work boot is designed with safety in mind. The hardworking STIHL Pro Mark™ Chainsaw Boot meets OSHA requirements for protective footwear in chainsaw use, as well as EN 17249 (Class 2) and EN 20345 S2 requirements for chainsaw protective boots. Swing by our store and try them on for yourself!
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 461 R is rated 5.0 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw! Best yet. A lot of power. Very easy to handle. Will definitely buy another one!
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 084AV and 066Mag have a new brother Been using a 066 Magnum and a 084AV for a long time and last month I bought a MS461R and this saw is doing a great job cutting big timber. The two other saws have been great powerful saws and the 461 R is right up there with both of them with power but lighter and more fuel efficient than both . Myself and my brother run a WoodMizer Mill and cut tons of fire wood and this saw fits in great for what we do !
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only "professional" saw on the market. Logger here. I do it all. Falling, limbing, bucking, stumping, driving the equpiment. Lately we've been in smaller tracks without a cutting machine, so we've been dropping the trees by hand and skidding them out. The other side of the business I work for does mulching, clearing, dozing, things like that. When I work that side I'm required to drop the trees by hand because we don't have a cutting machine on site. So, I bought a MS 461 because I knew I would need a saw that I could put through the paces. Grew up on Huskies, but I always knew I wanted a Stihl professional saw. I was not disappointed. I could sing this saw's praises all day, or sum it up for you. In this business, you get what you pay for. If you reach a little farther and buy the best saw on the market, you're going to be running the best saw on the market. People are going to notice it too. Trust me when I say, this saw is worth every single penny. I'm running my with the 25" bar. I haven't run into anything I couldn't get through yet, though some of those bigger oaks take a little bit of creativity to drop. Still, this is Arkansas, not the northwest. Finally, I will say that I do grab my old Stihl 025 when I'm just limbing trees on the set or topping trees the Skidder has dragged up. The 461 is a big saw and it saves me some effort to pull out the little guy when I just need little stuff cut. I'm not saying this is a Con, just that you are buying a big saw. Keep a little one handy to save some energy. Stihl all the way!
Date published: 2016-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Primary Saw Running strong with 32 inch guide; makes 42 inch black oak child's play.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! Absolutely love this saw. I got it with a 28" bar. Runs very good with it. I recently burned up a husqvarna and didn't like the options I had to get it fixed (Almost the price I paid for it new). I decided, with hours of YouTube video, and meeting my with local saw shops (gotta trust your mechanic), that the 461R was the saw for me. It's lighter, more powerful than my old saw. I will most likely be getting a 25" and a 32" bar in the future. I foresee a long life together with the saw.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice brute Saw. All the stihl saws I own now. This saw puts them all to shame. Love this saw with a 20" bar.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw since the MS 044 Recently our entire wildland firefighting organization switched over to MS 461s. This is a rock solid saw that faces long hard shifts and constantly performs day in day out. I own one myself for woodcutting and couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw. I cant say enough good things about this saw , hopefully stihl continues with this model as it is the last of a solid dead nuts reliable breed of saws , if your lookin for a good saw to pull a 28 - 32" bar this is the one
Date published: 2015-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tons of power Best full size saw I've ever bought. Has a crazy amount of power. I have a 36" bar with skip chain & the saw cuts through hard wood like nothin! It's not too heavy, love the wrap handle, cleaning & servicing is easy, pretty fuel efficient too.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the easy start feature and easy chain adjust I am really pleased with it's performance so far. Has good power doesn't bog down when cutting large trees .Runs in any weather cold or hot .
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl #1 Best saw on the market. Have taken down a dozen trees, this saw goes through like a hot knife through butter.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is a great saw hard to put it down. Pull the trigger and hold on this saw is powerful and fast. Cut over a 100 rick of wood this year with mine and still cutting. Only thing I would change is maybe a air filter wrap with purchase. Be sure to clean the air filter after every use.
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Chainsaw! Great power to weight ratio. This is my most favorite Chainsaw to run by far. I'm so pleased with the power of this saw. It has low end torque that keeps it chugging in big wood. I run a 25" and a 36" bar and am amazed at how well it can pull a 36" chain through hardwood. This is a very well made chainsaw with strength without the weight. I have had no issues to date and predict it will be very reliable like my other Stihl chainsaws. The MS 461R is truly a woodsman's best friend.Oh yeah I almost forgot... This saw has good looks also. Great job Stihl!!!!
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The MS 461R Extremely Powerful,well designed STIHL POWERHOUSE! I've had my MS461R Stihl for a little over six months. I purchased mine with a 32" bar and Full Skip chain. It's hard to explain how amazing this saw is unless you try one out. I cut large Red Oak the day I brought it home and it ate through the tree like a Nuclear Beaver! The 461 is well balanced,easy to maintain, and relatively easy on fuel. The more you use the saw, the better it gets! I highly recommend the 461R to anyone needing a mid-sized Professional saw with amazing cutting power. OUTSTANDING Engineering from STIHL!
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome but ... I love the saw and everything, I use it a lot and haven't had too many problems with it . I just wish it was cheaper in price cuz it drains your average blue collar worker and that's who use them the most. But all in all it's a good saw
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Beast of the East Cutting on the East Coast doesn't require the bars and power seen on the other side of the United States. Sure, one could throw a 660 or 880 at anything to cut faster (not a bad idea actually), but for my purposes the 461 has yet to disappoint.Those purposes are thinning my newly-purchased-unkept 40 acres of woodland and making firewood. At this point I'm roughly 3 acres thinned with trees felled up to 34" near the stump, so nothing super thick. But speed is the name of my game because my full time job is not to work my own land.I have a 25" bar on my MS 461 R and have been using this saw from felling to noodling. I was led to the 461 after cutting with the 261 C-Q for a while. I wanted something that could take a longer bar and cut faster. I heavily considered the 441 C-M but decided on the 461 for three reasons: 1) more power 2) I'm young and can handle more vibrations (more on that in a minute) plus 3) that youth can also handle a few extra start-up pulls.Physics may be at work moreso in my next statement, but I find working with the 461 to be less exhausting than using the 261. The 461 is absolutely heavier, but I'm guessing the combination of it's weight and size cause it to vibrate less than the smaller 261. After cutting with these saws back to back I am a big believer that vibrations will wear one out faster than weight. I can put an estimated 30 minutes to 1 hour of more sawing work in when using the 461. It has made me wonder if I would have been even more effective with the 441, but that thought doesn't last long.So, I can't speak to how the 461 works for professionals nor how it compares to a number of other saws, but I can say it will enhance your firewood efforts in a very noticeable way if you've been using a 50cc saw or smaller. If you're an East Coast homeowner, like me, who cuts many cords of wood a year, I would highly recommend the 461. And if you like to position your saw in varying cutting positions, the R's wraparound handle rocks!
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very powerful and reliable saw. I am very happy with the STIHL MS 461 mainly for the reliability but also for the power to weight ratio, I use it for many applications including milling with my Granberg MKIII Alaskan mill and my Granberg MKII mini mill and for cutting firewood both with a 32" bar and a special chain that I made for milling (not used for crosscutting only milling I use a full skip tooth chain for crosscutting), I also have a 25" bar for it that I use for felling smaller trees and for cutting the corner notches on my log cabin. Overall I would recommend this saw for anyone that wants a lot of power and not very much weight. It is very easy to start and I would also recommend to use high octane ethanol free fuel.
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I use this saw for firewood. I cut about 15cords a year. Any thing from 10" pine to 40+" fir this saw has no issues. I run a 25" ES bar and full comp 3/8" chisel chain. Starts easily. I usual cut 1 full cord to a tank of fuel. Piles the chips up like mad. I use them to sod my chicken coope. One day I would like to lay my hands on a MS880.Great job stihl.
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Workhorse Only had it for about a month now but I love it. I have a 20" bar and this saw runs it without a problem. Makes cutting enjoyable. The only down fall that I've noticed was that it is a little heavy but not that much more than my 044 at work.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Saw and Big Smile I needed a bigger saw along side my farm boss 290 and this was the saw. So far i'm 15 tanks of fuel into breaking it in and it just keeps making more and more power. I cut alot of osage orange or "hedge" what we call it here in KS and havn't got into anything that the 461 would not chew through. I have the 25" bar on my 461 and a 16 bar on my 290. I mainly use the 461 for felling and bucking and use my 290 for limbing and bucking on smaller diameter logs. The 461 is not cheap but it worth every penny. If you got the money and need a big saw for big jobs, the 461 should be considered. Starts easy, thanks to the decompression valve and does very well with fuel economy. The only downside of this saw if any would be the weight of the saw, kinda heavy but this saw is not really for the unexperienced chain saw user. I recommended running 91 octane or higher in this saw and try to stay away from the filling stations that have ethanol blended fuels if at all possible. Clean it and service it after each day of use and it will last for years and years. Thanks Sthil for manufacturing yet another great saw!
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast becoming my favorite saw I own a 460 a 660 and now a 461r and have to say this is a great saw so far, I added the dual port front half of the muffler( I have the dual port mufflers on both my other saws) Stihl says they dont plan on making a dual port and I wondered if it would fit from the 460 well the front piece does not sure on the rear yet. The saw runs great with the front so I may leave it alone. I'm very impressed with the torquiness out of the box, most pro saws wont make full power till around 10 to 15 tanks. This saw seems to run as good a my 460 out of the box,I imagine stihl has done some port work but don't know for sure. The only thing that could make it better is if the R version came with the d/p muffler.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw Bought this saw for our volunteer fire department and it's a great saw. It's easy to start and to use, and the power is exceptional. We use a 25" bar and the "R" version with wrap-around handle is USFS wildland certified. Thanks Stihl!
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good saw I've had a dozen or so 460's and 660's. Im a professional timber faller so I use these tools every day. I've always loved the 460 and was bumbed to hear that you cant buy them any more. I just bought my first 461 and so far it seems to be a very good saw its very similar to the older saws. It seems to come stock with just a little bit more power. Im very happy with the saw so far.
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!!!! I purchased a MS310 seven years ago. I was new to the art of chainsaw and fire wood so I purchased something I could handle as a novice. It is perfect to learn with and was adequate as a 6 cord per year saw but as my age (ie stamina) ,, skill and confidence increased i began to want more power. I asked several friends who are professional loggers and some old timers in the area who have spent decades getting forewood, what they would recommended. They all said Stihl. I agreed as my previous saw had been reliable and a dream to use. My logger friends said the MS400 saws were a perfect balance of power and weight. I have been saving up money for three years to purchase a MS 461 R. I finally got it! This saw is exceeding my expectations. It has power for days. I could not be happier with how well it performs. It cut a 30" long 30" diameter pine log (with the grain mind you) into 8- 2" planks in 3 minutes. Incredible! It cut through a similar block (accross the grain" in 22 seconds. It is light enough to handle with ease amd heavy enough to resist kickback and push itself through the wood. With Sthil quality and reliability, and the MS 461 R's power and design I will be joyfully getting firewood for years to come.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable and fuel efficient. Several weeks ago I replaced my oldest 460R with a new 461R. After more than 60 tanks of fuel, this saw has been very reliable and noticeably more fuel efficient. I get a little more cutting time out of each tank of fuel and save a little money at the same time. Thanks for continuing to build quality machines.
Date published: 2012-11-10
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms461r, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl