FC 56 C-E - $249.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
FC 56 C-E

DSRP: $249.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

This lightweight edger is ideal for use around the home and features Easy2Start™ technology.

Perfect for use around the home, the lightweight FC 56 C-E STIHL edger combines features like a new semi-automatic choke and the Easy2Start™ system—reducing the number of steps needed to get started. Powered by a low-emission fuel efficient engine, this edger also features a new, simple starting procedure designed to prevent flooding. The adjustable depth wheel helps select the cutting depth...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
FC 56 C-E Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.8 kW (1.07 bhp)
WEIGHT 6.1 kg (13.5 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 340 cc (11.5 oz.)
BLADE SIZE 20.3 cm (8.0 in.)
ARBOR SIZE 25.4 mm (1.0 in.)
GEAR RATIO AND BLADE SPEED 1:1.24 8,300 rpm
POWER SOURCE Gas
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Skid Plate
    All STIHL edgers come equipped with a skid plate to protect the gearbox during use.
  • Zoom
    Adjustable Depth Wheel
    The feature allows the user to easily adjust the wheel to the desired cutting depth for creating precision cuts.
  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL products fast and easy. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    Stop Switch
    With the Stop Switch, the equipment’s ignition is always ready for starting. Products with this feature shut off easily by pressing and holding down the switch. When the switch is released, it returns to the start position automatically, reducing the number of steps needed to start the product.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Edgers
    View the features common to many STIHL edgers.

Important Information
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Straps and Harnesses
    They distribute the load from your hands to your shoulders. They also help reduce operator fatigue and make it easier to use trimmers, brushcutters and clearing saws for extended periods.
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

FC 56 C-E is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 86.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not sure why I waited so long! Should have bought this 10 years ago, probably paid more for cheap throw-away units that now are in the trash. Power is more than enough, usually only use half throttle for normal trimming.Trim head spools line perfectly.50:1 syn-oil mix leaves no visible smoke when using trimmer.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Edger This edger is fantastic. Easy to use and makes a big difference around flower beds/sidewalks in just a few minutes. I really like the height adjustability and light weight.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Start and Powerful I have never owned any lawn equipment that started so easy. Stihl has hit the mark with their easy pull start system. My edger is listed as a homeowner product but it could be used for any professional landscape work. It has plenty of power and balances very well when edging. Great product. I purchased a Stihl weedeater last year and like it so well I had to get the edger as well.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Save your money. Doesn't start. The engine is extremely difficult to start on most occasions, even when you buy the expensive, canned gas with no ethanol and otherwise maintain the unit. I have owned one of these units for six years now, and it is ridiculous how hard it is to start, even with the good gas in it. I have found that similar products from other manufacturers are more dependable and easier to start.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Edger, But....... This is a very nice edger. As a concrete finisher for over 40 years I'm very familiar with Stihl products. There are two things I don't like about this edger. One, it's hard to start, regardless of the choke setting. I pull and pull and pull and pull until it finally starts. Two, this edger is very uncomfortable to use. I've had many different edgers, from 2 cycle to 110 volt wired to 24 volt battery. None of these prior non-Stihl edgers caused me any discomfort. However, this particular edger causes major discomfort in my arm and shoulder.I can't recommend this edger considering the problems I've encountered.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL products are people who work Easily the most powerful cutter I have ever owned - and among the easiest to start I have ever seen. For folks who like to work efficiently STHIL offers a variety of scalable sized edgers making it simple to find one that fits your needs and your hands!I love my STHIL chain saws and this just adds to my appreciation (and collection) of time saving ranch tools.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, not great. Not worth the price I paid. The balance is pretty good, but I need to switch hands often. Cuts well, but the auto spool is a joke. It simplely doesn't work. I own it less than 2 weeks and only used it 3 times, already I'm out of line and the unit doesn't auto advance the line. I tried to fix it and the line came out of one hole and I cannot get it back in. Now I'm cutting with one, not two pieces of !one.For the price I paid for it, I was expecting much, much more
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the ease to replace the line This unit is awesome. No excessive pulls to start,
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product sucks I took it back on the day I bought it. They worked on the string and It still has the same problem. That is when you bump the head to feed the line after a couple of times it won't feed the line any more. Now you spend your time threading the line through your self.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Didn't know what I was missing This edger is fantastic. Easy to use and makes a big difference around flower beds/sidewalks in just a few minutes. I really like the height adjustability and light weight.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great commercial edger for light edging! I bought this to use commercially, since they did not have any other models. Overall, I am very happy! I thought it would not be powerful enough for commercial use, but I was wrong. For commercial users with very light edging needs, this is a great unit if it's all that the dealer has. I am not a fan of the handle, since it is not rubberized, but this can be avoided by buying the 91 or 70 (which I would have bought if my dealer had it). I would reccomend this edger for a commercial setting with very light duty maintained edges, if the other edgers are not available.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product this trimmer starts easy and reliable. It is fuel efficient, I can trim a 1.4 acre yard on 1 tank after the initial trimming. This trimmer cuts tough grass on chain link fence much better than my old trimmer. It is light enough that I can trim the yard with out tiring. It is by far the best trimmer I have ever owned.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is best the best trimmer I have ever used. I have used this trimmer for a couple of weeks since I have had it. It has been used all around my house and yard. It has performed to my satisfaction in all categories. I enjoy using it. I cannot think of anything negative to say about it.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does a good job...fast start Wanted a gas powered edger forever...string trimmers suck at long straight concrete edges. This product does the job with ease, and it starts fast and easy.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs circles around my old edger, great tool. I have been replacing all of my landscape toools to STIHL. The Edger is the last one. This is a great tool, as are all of my other STIHL tools. They are just the best.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable Stihl is known for their quality and reliability in yard equipment. That's why I made the drive to my local Stihl dealership, bypassing several big box stores and the brands they carry. The edger is a piece of quality machinery that I expect will last me a lifetime. I am a homeowner, not a lawn business, so I opted for this model. I am very pleased with it thus far. This goes beyond Stihl, but I don't understand why edgers seem to be priced so much more than string trimmers. The entry-level string trimmer by Stihl is at least $100 cheaper. Why is that? I know that you get what you pay for. The price of this model was still comparable to the competitor brands available at the big box stores (think Echo, etc.). That's really my only "complaint", if you will - like I said, it's more of a market thing, not directed at Stihl. I'd recommend this edger!
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Engine great....line release needs some work. The engine is outstanding. In fact is sounds like a Stihl! The only complaint I have is that the bump release on the line seems to be selective and by selective, I mean I had to stop and release line manually (3) times the first time I used it. The head of it is very wide and the end can be difficult to release unless you have giant hands. All in all it runs very well. The line release is the only complaint. Plenty of power, cranks every time. For the trustworthiness of the motor, I can release some line every now and again.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They said it was residential graded... This product is absolutely amazing and I use it for over 16 yards that i cut in my neighborhood and have used it for over a year and no problems at all. Also it pulls by the 2nd pull every time!
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from quick start I don't know if it is my age or what but am having trouble removing the head to rewind the line when it breaks, thumb pressure doesn't work for me so I have to use a screwdriver other than that I love my new weed eater. I got rid of my other one which worked great but was 19 years old. An interested buyer for it asked if it worked and having not used it since last fall it started on the first pull, it sold.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome product I got tired of buying other name brands every two years. And I talked with other people who have owned Stihl Products that has lasted for over 10 to 15 years. So I bought my first grass trimmer and it is the best investment I have owned. So easy to start and they have videos on all their products if you do not understand the manual on starting and taking care of all their products. And a great value I wished I would have bought and invested in their products years ago. And I also bought their synthetic oil gas mix in the small gray bottles that mixes with the one gallon of gasoline and got an additional two year warranty it is worth it on all Stihl Gas Products when you are making a great investment in an awesome product by Stihl.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than That other brand Better than that other brand has yet to bog down I know it says that it's not rated for new edgeing but it did a great job without any struggle. I sold my competter name brand edger after buying the stihl.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best edger we have ever purchased! This edger has transformed our yard in one season. It is so easy to start up and use. I actually look forward to edging the lawn now!
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pain in the Rear Line Trimmer I knew this was not going to be my favorite piece of yard equipment based on my past experience with line trimmers, but this one was the worst I ever owned. The automatic line feed never worked properly. I could only go about 10 to 15 feet on any project before I needed to take the cap off and re-string the unit. Taking the lid off the string compartment required the use of a screwdriver to pry it open. Very cumbersome! It was also more awkward and heavier than other brands (heavier dose not mean better!). Usually started after 3 to 4 tries which is better than average for a line trimmer, but did a poor job of cutting any grass. Seemed weaker than others. Had to go over and over any given area to trim the grass. I've had "cheaper" line trimmers do better jobs and were easier to use. Ended up in the dumpster by the end of the summer!
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product is in the repair shop This product has been in the repair shop a Greyco for over 2 weeks. Haven't heard a word from the shop
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for larger properties I got this to use on my one acre property to edge my long driveway. after a while it gets little heavy, but its not that bad.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Edger BUT (personal preference) This is by far one of the best edgers we have had. Main feature for me (female) was how easy it was to start once I learned what I was doing wrong and flooding the engine with gas. The rope is easy to pull and would start after 2-3 pulls. All my edging is along pathways and driveways. There is no (blade guard) that would ride alongside the concrete to keep the blade from hitting it.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to handle does a great job edging on driveway and curbs. lawn looks great after use
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Stihl product for my lawn - but one complaint This is by far the best edger I've owned; when the previous one died I realized it was time to buy an edger that would last (just like my Stihl chain saws, lawn trimmer and blower). So this edger has been all that I expected with one nuisance - the pull cord for the starter must not be strong/thick enough since it's broken really early in this edger's life. Compared to the other Stihl products I have; all of which I've used for years and the starter cords on them are all the original...not one has snapped after a LOT of use. But the cord on this edger failed after only 3 summers of periodic use (maybe a full pulls on the cord every 4-6 weeks during the summer months). Rough math - after less than 100 pulls it's now broken? Seems unusual. Otherwise completely satisfied with this edger.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outshines my old edger hands down ! Easy start - power to run as fast as I can stay behind it , my old one would stall if I did more than than just creep along - Very happy with my purchase !
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product performed flawlessly I have used this tool a couple of times now and it has performed beautifully.It is a straight shaft and it is longer and a little heavier than my old one, but it outperformed the old one 100 fold. I highly recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great edger. It is well worth the money. I would purchase another one when needed hands down.
Date published: 2016-09-04
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_86
  • loc_en_US, sid_fc56ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl