Pro Splitting Axe - $99.99 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
Pro Splitting Axe

DSRP: $99.99

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A professional-grade hickory splitting axe for heavy-duty chopping work.

The STIHL Pro Splitting Axe features a premium American hickory wood handle for reduced vibration and a long steel sleeve to help protect the handle in the event of an overstrike. Its unique 5-piece head attachment system is up to 2.5 times stronger than a traditional axe head connection. The head is forged from premium C60 steel and shaped to feature an extra-large striking face for improved spli...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
Pro Splitting Axe Specifications
OVERALL LENGTH 31.5"
WEIGHT OF CUTTING HEAD 5.5 lbs.
HANDLE MATERIAL Hickory
Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • Performance Forestry Boot Zoom
    Performance Forestry Boot

    Combine cut-resistant protection with comfort when you buy our STIHL performance forestry boot. Whether tackling tree removal or a tough landscaping job, this forestry boot will meet the demands of most any task. You’ll benefit from additional features like its well-padded steel toe cap, puncture resistant throughsole, and waterproof exterior. The insole and arch support systems were anatomically formed to provide maximum comfort, and the low-weight sole offers wear-resistant, nonslip traction. Stop by our STIHL showroom to check out what could be your next go-to work shoe.

For Your Safety
  • Gridiron Glasses Zoom
    Gridiron Glasses
    STIHL Gridiron Protective Glasses – experience heavy-duty protection combined with flexible, lightweight comfort. A hard-coated lens resists scratching and rubber nose pads protect from slippage when sweating. Filter 99% of harmful UV rays.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

Pro Splitting Axe is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was skeptical at first.... I was skeptical at first. I do most of spitting with a hydraulic spliter and also use a maul when I am just spitting a small quantity. With that said, the Stihl Pro Splitting Axe is the best investment I've made when it comes to splitting firewood. I was even able to split a few pieces of Osage Orange which are very difficult to manually split. They were not much of a challenge for this tool. I'm sold and very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What does someone with 25 axes use to split wood? Until to you hold one and use it, you will never be able to know what a real splitting axe feels like. This axe can split more wood faster than anything on the market. I split red oak, live oak and hickory.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl Splitting Axe I have split firewood by hand for the last 30 years. I burn an average of 18 cord a year. I have used splitting mauls manufactured by various companies. The last tool that I bought was a lighter maul. After watching a few you tube videos pertaining to axes and mauls I decided to purchase the Stihl Pro Splitting Axe.The craftsmanship on the axe I picked up is of high quality. The shape and size of the head plows through the maple and ash rounds that I had set aside for a nice day. As with any splitting tool(manual), some took more hits to crack. The weight is a little less than most of the mauls that I gave used so I could generate more speed with each swing. This seemed to transfer my energy better than the heavier iron. I only had two bounce offs in the half cord that I split today. I credit the edge and the axe like bit for better penetration into the wood for that.The poll is shape as to be able to pound a wedge. The bit is 4.75 inches and sharp but not razor sharp from the shop. The edge held it's shape and degree of sharpness for this short work out. The hickory handle has decent grain orientation to the head but is painted an varnished. I prefer an oiled handle. An added feature is an over strike guard made of 20 or 22 gauge steel and four inches in length just below the eye. I think this should add a good amount of life to the handle.After splitting just 1/2 cord today I am impressed with the ease of which I did it using the Pro Splitting Axe by Stihl.Only time will tell how reliable it will be. If I experience any problems I will probably edit this review to reflect those other wise I an done.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from KaPOW! I had to re-learn how to split wood with this axe. Im so used to dropping a heavy swing and this monster just plows through Pinion and Ash like they aren't even there. even splitting unseasoned rounds is a breeze. best axe I have ever used.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Axe with Excellent Craftsmanship I recently purchased this axe. The first thing I noticed was the quality. I used it to split 24" to 36" red oak logs without issue. The axe exceeded my expectation as it split the wood with no problem virtually blowing the wood apart. The design allows for the axe to power its way through the wood. The quality of the steel and the excellent edge allow for this axe to out perform any other axe I have ever used. This axe consistently powers its way through anything that I have thrown at it. The quality of the axe is beyond comparison. Everything from the hickory handle, the overstrike protection and the craftsmanship of the blade put this axe in its own class. Another incedible product from Stihl.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This ax is awesome!! This is the best tool to chop firewood. The handle feels great in your hands and the steel collar is a great feature.
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This axe best i ran across I bought this after useing axe's from big box stores they where not funnest tools to use. I found this axe to be more effective and i got way less muscle aches after use than other axes. I had taken this axe to a knife dealer to put the sharpest edge he could.( sharp enough just light touch would make you bleed).after cutting 2 cords of wood still holds great edge (i cut black cherry tree and white oak) . The metal colar realy helps it on over strikes. It spit through every thing i thrown at it logs over 36 inchs.
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Envy of the Campground I am a volunteer host at a State Park in Vermont. As such I cannot use my chainsaws, or my 4 wheeler. I came upon a fairly good sized pile of bucked logs, and not being able to use my spliter either had a challenge on my hands. The challenge was offically eliminated last night when I took the first swing with this axe. It is by far the best axe that this former Boy Scout has ever swung. Maybe I won't miss my chainsaws all that much afterall.
Date published: 2015-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ultimate splitting tool I have finally found the ultimate ax for splitting hardwood. In over than 50 years splitting firewood this is IT. Heavy enough to split large cuts, but well balanced to conserve effort. The head penetrates well without sticking, therefore, reducing number of strikes needed to complete split. No vibration noticed, just a joy to use.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Virtually indestructible, literally a wood grenade. Makes maple explode, powers through oak and walnut with minimal effort.
Date published: 2015-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very functional. burning firewood for years never a machine log splitter hand splitting since I can remember. have bought brand new splitting axe and broke within less than two chords never once hit the neck of the shaft on a log split handle all the way up not very happy. but took the stehl axe out in the first couplei hits I was completely blown away impressive control accuracy power
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fine Piece of Axe I bought this and a Splitting Maul. This axe outperforms the Maul by Far. Although its not made to take a blow like the Maul would be. It is not necessary. This axe has a substantial weight and edge to plough through the toughest of wood. We have an outdoor burner that takes a log bigger than 1 man could lift. This axe was able to split the majority of the oversized stuff (24+" dia x 30" length) usually in less than 10 blows. Sure its a workout, but why pay to go to a gym when theres wood to be split.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This axe is amazing! After breaking the third handle on my hardware store splitting maul, I stopped by my local Stihl Dealer and buought the "Pro Splitting Axe" to complement my PA50 splitting axe. This thing is amazing! Goes in like an axe and the weight of a maul to carry it through the nastiest of wood. Beautifully crafted and indistructable. The last axe you will ever buy!
Date published: 2014-03-12
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_prosplitaxe, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl