HS 45 - $299.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Blade

DSRP: $299.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

This hedge trimmer is lightweight and easy to use, ideal for trimming around the home.

Designed for homeowner use, the HS 45 is available with 18" dual-reciprocating, double-sided blades with integrated cutter guard. High-torque engine adds power without adding weight. Standard features include a heavy-duty gearbox and a large front handle for multi-position cutting.

Print Spec Sheets
HS 45 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.75 kW (1.01 bhp)
WEIGHT With 18" blade: 4.7 kg (10.4 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 230 cc (7.8 oz.)
BLADE LENGTH 18"
STROKES PER MINUTE 3,700
POWER SOURCE Gas
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    Double-Sided Blades
    The dual-ground blade system provides a clean cut and is ideal for cutting through stronger, thicker branches.
Standard Features

Important Information
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves
    Exclusive deerhide leather provides fantastic wear properties and excellent sense of touch and feel. Naturally soft leather provides all-day working comfort. Sizes available S, M, L, XL.
  • Pacifix Glasses Zoom
    Pacifix Glasses
    STIHL Pacifix Protective Glasses are designed with features that provide fuss-free protection. Straight back rubber-coated temples offer a pressure-free wear and soft nose pads elevate frame for precise fit. An elliptical lens encapsulates the eye, helping provide greater protection. Filters 99% of UV rays.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey
  • Brush Shield Protector Zoom
    Brush Shield Protector
    Developed for users of clearing saws, trimmers and brushcutters. Epoxy-coated steel full face screen. Comfortable, adjustable hearing protectors with a Noise Reduction Rating (NRR) of 25 dB(A).

    Note: Goggles or protective glasses meeting ANSI standard Z87.1 must be worn under face screen and shield for primary eye protection.


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

HS 45 is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 85.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not buy this I have several stihl tools this is junk Dull from the startHard to start or doesn't start If your lucky and it starts you have to play with the throttle to keep it running ,Been to the shop several times ,waste of time and moneyShould have---0 --stars
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Ease of Use - What More Could You Want? Like many of the folks writing reviews here, I too struggled with cheesy, underwhelming electric trimmers for years. After my last trimmer died, I went out in search of a quality alternative. I already owned a Stihl backpack blower and chainsaw, so I naturally gravitated toward the Stihl trimmer. I have not be disappointed in the least.It's well-built- reliable, very easy to start and man does it make trimming bushes a breeze. What took me so long to abandon cheap electric trimmers for the gas-powered alternative? There's simply no comparison. It takes a fraction of the time to trim hedges now. I couldn't be happier. I jokingly asked my wife if she knew of anything in the yard that needed trimming! It doesn't phase me at all anymore!If you're debating whether to invest - I say don't hesitate. A gas-powered Stihl is the ONLY way to go. I'm only sad that I didn't make the jump sooner, and save myself all the time and aggravation years ago!
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 24 hours after purchase back to store and to shop Bought it on a Wednesday from local Big R (sales person took it to the back room to start it as per protocol and returned 15 minutes later out of breath and stated that this was a cold blooded machine in that it would start but would not come to full speed until totally warmed up, then stated that it ran fine) took it home and on Thursday tried to use it only to have issues starting and keeping an idle. When I did start the machine as soon as I touched the trigger it would die. Had to feather the trigger to get to full speed and found that if I ran it at full blast it would work fine. The unfortunate part is that full speed does not work as you climb a ladder, so I would allow it to go to idle, climb the ladder only to have it die upon touching the trigger. Here is the kicker, this was on the gas that was put into the machine from the dealer. When I refilled the tank same issues and again for third tank. A two hour job in six hours, a machine that would not idle or run as expected. Took it back to Big R and told them of the issues and a different sales rep for stihl said they could try to adjust the machine and said I could bring it in. We walked out to the parking lot and I handed him the machine and he went to start it (I tried not to laugh) and after about five minutes of pulling he asked if I had any suggestions on starting. I said try full throttle with choke off and it kicked over at full speed, he reduced it to a idle and touched the trigger and it died. Would not start after that. I was told that they would look at machine and I told him to ask his co-workers and take time to make the machine right. Informed that if they could not make it work right they would have to send it off to another location but this would be a 5 week turn around. 300 dollars for three tanks of gas of use (less than 24 hours of ownership) and back to the shop, at this time 1star if it get fixed in a short time may increase rating because stuff happens. I felt that as soon as I paid for machine I was on my own, no exchange, no return, you bought it we will see if we can fix it. I would like to give Big R a chance but I am not feeling warm a fuzzy about my chances about a good outcome. I initially had gone to Big R for a higher priced unit hl56 but was told they did not have one and it was a clearance item. I guess I should be grateful that I did not pay more for possible same issue. I will wait and see if it can be fixed or what option are left to me. I opted for the two year warranty with purchase of oil which I felt was a good deal but with this machine maybe it is a requirement.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product makes for quick work. Great product like all STIHL products. Easy to start once you understand the process. Push side button in to lock trigger... push primer 3 times, put lever to full choke and pull cord. Once it pops take full choke off and pull cord again a couple times. Once it starts do not pull on trigger throttle. Leave it warm-up. for 10 seconds or so. Pump throttle and should be good to go. Be sure to drain gas out from one season to next.
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A win for Stihl! I've owned this hedge trimmer with 24" blades for ten years now. It has been exceptional. It gets fairly heavy use from me about 7 months of the year. I just this week had the blades sharpened for the first time. It still cut ok, but I had a couple areas in high use zones of the blades that looked a little too worn, and didn't quite cut like in the past. I've been very happy with its power, ease of starting and blade life!
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for around the house Lightweight, easy to start, and does the job around the house. I was looking at a bigger Stihl hedge trimmer but for the price tag I couldn't be happier. I'm sure I will get many years use out of this. You can't go wrong with this model for around the house. My wife uses it also.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HS 45 Year Round Use in Florida When we moved to Florida it quickly became apparent that I needed a serious hedge trimmer. I went to STIHL and picked up the HS45. The expense was not completely out of control for what is honestlt a pro grade tool with a "homeowner" label. I see many reviews with, hard to start or carb issues, but I have not experienced this with my machine. I keep the blade sharp and oiled between uses, and run it on STIHL HP Ultra mix and 100LL Aviation Fuel. It and all my yard machines seem to run better on this fuel and fuel mix. They seem to be a bit more eager and I don't seem to develope any issues as written in other reviews. Either way, I think this machine is worth the investment and if properly cared for should perform well and last long.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular time saving idea No cords, plenty of power and this thing saves me so much time that it will pay off likely after the 2nd time I've used it. I can tackle a 40' long hedgerow and shape it in about 20-30 mins. with the thing. Otherwise, I'd be fiddling around with a cord or swapping batteries out in an underpowered model and spending who knows how long trying to get the same time done. I'd be exhausted, frustrated no doubt and likely not be able to get nearly as much work done in the same day. I can speak highly enough about this rig for taking care of small to medium sized hedges and even some pretty thick stuff, but if you want larger than you need to buy larger. Cut what the machine was made for and I'd say this thing will last indefinitely, plus I bought the special oil for it to get the rebate and warranty and I only poor the stuff that was specially made for 2 stroke machines. No buying gas and mixing it anymore.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Impossible to start!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If your lucky enough to get it fired, just touching the trigger will solve that, it dies immediately. Dealer says " bad gas". Using motomix and no improvement. Able to get to run only two times since I've owned and both times I finished th job with hedge clippers. Lemon from day 1. One more trip to dealer then it's goodwill time. I have three other Stihl products without issues.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sorry! Beware! This trimmer has been constantly at the dealer getting serviced because it won't start. It can't even sit for 45 days without an issue. I do not recommend it since it takes several days at the dealer to wait for a repair.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer Bought this trimmer this week to trim Holley bushes and boxwoods around my house. It works like a dream compared to the previous 2 electric hedge trimmers I had before. Used to dread stringing extension cords around the house, not to mention cutting them in two when they got in the way. I own a Stihl line trimmer and chain saw and they have been so reliable that when it came to this purchase I didn't even shop around. I know I could have gotten another brand cheaper but stihl products have never let me down and I'm confident the HS 45 won't let me down either.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stihl HS 45 Own several Stihl products and normally satisfied. The HS 45 is constantly down with carb. problems. I get it fixed it, last a few runs, then the same issues. Hard to start, won't stay running. This Stihl product is nothing but a problem for me. I have searched the net and found numerous consumers complaining about the same issues with the HS 45, would not recommend this to others.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tool! I used to have an electric hedge trimmer, after cutting a couple of extension cords and needing more access, I decided to go with this Stihl. I love stihl and have several of their products. This is a great tool and makes the work fun!
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from won't start I own several STIHL products, and this one is just not one I would recommend to anyone. I've owned it 5 years now and been in the shop 7 times all because it won't start or once it starts it won't continue to run. I don't have time to continually take it into the shop on top of the money it's cost me to get it fixed all the time. If there was a trade in offer I'd be there in a second to get rid of it.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from typical Stihl Quality This is my forth Stihl product and it rates as high as all the others. After reading some of the reviews about being difficult to start, I was a little hesitant, but I have had zero problems. Going from an electric trimmer to gas was a game changer as the power and no cord to drag around made a dreaded chore one that is much easier.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Stihl product This is my fourth Stihl power tool purchase and it performs flawlessly. You can't go wrong with Stihl. Spend the money, you won't be sorry.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Would Buy It Again After reading several of the reviews on here I decided to put my two cents worth in on this particular product. Being a journeyman mechanic I fully understand the complaints leveled against this trimmer. Allow me to add what I have learned in the past couple of years. With out any doubt in my mind the biggest issue with the starting and carburetor problems comes from Ethanol blended fuels. Ethanol likes moisture and moisture likes ethanol. After all it is made from water to begin with. It will literally pull moisture out of the atmosphere and form little water puddles in the bottom of the fuel tank. I have seen a lot of the carburetor problems come directly from the use of these blended fuels. I had issues with all of my outdoor care products because of this. From my lawn mowers to my chain saws they all were having carb issues that resulted in hard to start and performance issues. After figuring out what the biggest issue was, I have since switched to non ethanol gas and my problems went away. I do agree that this particular trimmer is a little hard to start until I finally followed the instructions to the letter for initial start up. After the first cold start up though, I didn't have any more issues with starting. I realize in some states you can't buy non ethanol fuels. That is unfortunate. However there are premixed fuels available at the dealers for these tools that doesn't have ethanol in it. The problem with it is it is usually expensive. Personally I think it is worth it if you can avoid the cost of repairs . I like Still products. They can be a little bit heavy but if you want quality then it is usually going to be heavier than consumer grade products. You get what you pay for in other words. I would buy this trimmer again if I needed to. I would and have recommended it to friends and family.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stopped working Had various 2 cycle products. This trimmer has had the shortest life of all. Would not recommend it. Hard to start and finally it has stopped starting. Replaced carb, plug, filters but nothing seems to help.
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light but powerful I have owned this product 10+ years and it has been a steady performer. Use it very often on shrub, it cuts thin and thick with ease. Never any running or cranking problems. I have replaced the blades 3 times but over 10 years is not bad the use one gets out of the blades. Have owned cheaper models and the gear box always tears up, this one never a problem.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Always the same carburetor issues I´m from Brazil and bought this machine there almost 2 years ago and has been 10 times on the dealer. It´s getting carburetor blocked. It had 3 three carburetors in less than two years. I`m sick about it and spent much money to get it fixed so far. I´m not supposing selling cause my unity rarely works. I´ll buy an electric brazilian model instead even if I have to work with force cable. At least it will work.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good trimer bad at starting Bought at rural king this month followed the instuctrctions exact and very difficult to start. I bought Stihl because of their reputation but I have had much less expenceive gas trimer that start with no problem. There was a problem starting at the store and the salesman told me because it was the first time started. Not at all happy with this product. Wish I could get my money back.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good trimmer, hard to start As others have wrote, it doesn't start up so easy. When it does start, it has plenty of power. It is fairly light for a gas powered trimmer. I just wish it would start easier!
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Impressed I bought this hedge trimmer along with a leaf blower and a weed trimmer in the spring of this year. The blower and weed trimmer have operated flawlessly but this hedge trimmer has been hard to start since day 1. Im very disappointed in this trimmer. I was expecting a very reliable piece of equipment and I never know if its going to start or not.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer for demanding use I have quite much hedges to trim, around my house and also at my mother in law's place. Mostly high hedges, wide, old grumpy branches but also some young and delicate sections. With the previous corded trimmer the hedge trimming was a ardouos weekend project... slow not only because of the cord but also due to lack of power. Since I got the HS45 some years ago the work is finished within an hour per site! Sure, the machine is heavier than a typical corded trimmer but the efficiency is in another league. The long blade cuts like a laser sword, really powerful engine that makes the work quick and fun! I would not say "effortless" because it is still hard work - and you need to have a rather strong back and shoulders to control the machine - but it is also a matter of getting the technique right, work around its gravitational center as often as possible. My wife says I look like Edward Scissorhands when I'm in action... the hedges are trimmed at an incredible pace yet with super precision!I find the HS45 easy to start, there is a special sequence you follow and it has never failed om me (the procedure is actually presented on Youtube for this and similar machines). I use alkylate petrol premix for my small handheld machines, burns much cleaner and is better for the machine and the operator. The machine has required no maintenance so far more than cleaning/lubricating the blade, an occasional air filter cleaning just as precaution. Maybe there is more that should be done but it still feels like new so why bother.There is only one thing that could be better in my opinion: vibration levels. This is not a machine for professional work during extended periods, I would say one tank or an hour is max for a work session before the tingling buzzing sensation in the fingers become a real concern. It is a hedge trimmer for occasional hard use a couple of times per year.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great trimmers Powerful, light wight, easy start, i love useing them . Thanks sthil!!!!!! Am going to get the weed eater next.
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORKS GREAT Had to adjust carb when I first got it home but no problems since.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Starting Issues If you can get this product started, it is a good hedge trimmer that cuts well. Unfortunately, it is very difficult to start -- I have had to take it back to the dealer twice -- before ever being able to use it. It also floods very easily. I would never have purchased this if I had know it was this difficult to start. Stihl must have know this was an issue because they have since improved the starters on some of the new products.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This hedge trimmer is almost indestructible As novices to working with outdoor machinery, we bought this hedge trimmer 2 years ago and it serves as an all round workhorse, once started it can take an absolute battering with no fuss whatsoever. It goes above and beyond the call of duty on every occasion, it has never broken down, created unconvincing noises or needed any parts replaced during its life (we have serviced it once as part of company scheduled maintenance and is due to be serviced again soon) but I'm pretty sure I could throw this thing in a swamp, pull it out 2 weeks later and I wouldn't be surprised if it still worked. It cuts through material of diameter I really shouldn't put it through, it has tackled many hedge/garden clearance task. I have complete confidence in the machine.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If it doesn't start at the dealer easily, ask for another one. I have use the trimmer less than a dozen times since I purchased. Partly because the hedge no longer grows like it used to but mostly because the trimmer is so hard to start.Average start time seems to be around 15 minutes and because of the lousy pull handle on the rope you end up with a blisters on your fingers.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hedge Trimmer I purchased this hedge trimmer to ease my task of trimming all the bushes on my 3 acre yard. What would have taken me several hours was cut down (pun intended) to just over an hour. These trimmers are easy to start, have plenty of power, and are easy to handle. If you have used any of the other Stihl products, this one will be a breeze to operate and maintain.
Date published: 2016-08-09
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_84
  • loc_en_US, sid_hs45, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl