KM 56 RC-E - $199.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
KM 56 RC-E

DSRP: $199.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

This low-emission KombiMotor features Easy2Start™ technology.

One engine with many tools to handle a variety of tasks is one way to describe the STIHL KombiSystem. Powered by a STIHL low emissions engine, this unit and its optional attachments are great for use around the home to perform a variety of tasks, from edging to trimming to sweeping and even blowing. The KM 56 RC-E features the STIHL Easy2Start™ system that eliminates the need for a strong, fast ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
KM 56 RC-E Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu in)
ENGINE POWER 0.8 kW (1.07 bhp)
WEIGHT 4.3 kg (9.5 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 340 cc (11.5 oz.)
POWER SOURCE Gas
Weights shown are for powerheads only.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    13 optional attachments available 
    Create a custom yard care system with up to 13 optional attachments – trim, edge, cultivate, prune, clean up and more!
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL products fast and easy. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    Quick-Release Coupling
    The quick-release coupling system makes it easy to switch between Kombi attachments. In addition, this feature allows KombiSystem equipment to be dismantled into two parts for easy transport and storage and then re-assembled quickly without tools.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Split Shaft
    A split shaft and special toolless quick-release coupling lets you easily switch between attachments, making the KombiSystem highly versatile as well as easy to transport and store.
  • Zoom
    Electronic Ignition Module
    The electronic ignition provides reliable starting and because it is fully enclosed, it is protected from moisture and debris for longer service life.
  • Zoom
    Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle help makes it easier to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    A small fuel pump delivers fuel to the carburetor when pushed, reducing the number of starting strokes required following extended breaks in operation.

Important Information
Note: STIHL engine products with the Caring for Nature logo are cleaner than EPA Standards for exhaust emissions.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • GSX Glasses Zoom
    GSX Glasses
    STIHL GSX Protective Glasses feature adjustable temples allowing a customized fit and a soft nose pad that offers comfort that lasts all day. Polycarbonate glasses with impact-resistant lens provide 99% UV protection.
  • Tune Up Zoom
    Tune Up
    Hearing protectors with AM/FM tuner and MP3 capable. 

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

KM 56 RC-E is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 101.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from All attachemnts keep sticking. I purchase this product and it has been back to the dealership for repair 3 times in less than 6 months. The attachments is very hard to separate from the base.
Date published: 2017-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love easy2start This is the best powerhead I have owned it starts easy and has plenty of power to handle tiller attachment in heavy clay areas.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the quick start. Love the quick start, and power to get the job done, without giving me any issues.
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool for Around the House I purchased the Kombi system with the string trimmer. I have been looking at replacing my battery operated string trimmer with a gas powered one because I hated the loss of power I would experience in the middle of trimming my lawn. I knew STIHL was a market leader and so I wanted to incorporate this brand in my next purchase. I settled on the Kombi so I can expand the use in the future. I plan on purchasing the hedge trimmer along with the bed definer or edger in the future.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adaptable with great power It's great to have only one engine with multiple attachments and not have to compromise on power and dependability.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great residential multi-tasking tool with a strong motor. Worth every penny, well worth every dollar. Strong motor with more power than any other residential product on the market. A great investment, purchased the head and trimmer first and the curved edger second. Invest in the quick change trimmer head over the standard. The curved edger has plenty of power and it easy to use. Use premium non-ethenal gas and Stihl 2 cycle oil and your motor will run great. Change the air and fuel filter yearly too. The power and dependability of Stihl makes their products worth every penny, well dollar. GS in Germantown, TN.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasure to Use Just what I expected from Stihl - top notch quality. Blown away how professional & helpful the whole purchase experience was. The KM 56 RC-E is so much easier to use with the curved edger attachment then my old walk behind edger I have been using for the last 30 years. Plenty of power for my needs. It even makes a cleaner edge than my walk behind. Starts right up every time. Can't wait for the next accessory which should be the blower.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Right Tool What a difference having a quality tool makes. Nearly 20 years ago, as a fire fighter instructor in the Australian Defence Force, I would train future emergency responders on the use of chainsaws. Stihl were the brand we used at the school. So I have known for a long time that Stihl products are high quality and designed to be reliable and easy to use. That being said, for a long time I have been trying to get away with using weed eaters from cheaper brands. Finally after going through 4 of them in the last 3 years, I came to my senses and bought the Kombi with the FS KM Line attachment that has an AutoCut 25-2 head.I should have done this years ago. It is ridiculously easy to start, runs smooth and powered through the work in my yard with ease. I live in a rural area and have a drainage ditch that runs about 80 yards along the front of our property. The sides of the ditch are too steep to mow. This has always been a real chore, however I was impressed with how well the Kombi ripped through it, and I got the job completed quicker than I have ever done in the past.I said to my wife that if she ever wants to get me something for Xmas, birthdays etc that she can just get an attachment for the Kombi.Glad I have it.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for a homeowner This was a great purchase. Not a cheap big box piece of equipment. Cranks up very easily and runs strong. I have a half acre with a fence and sidewalk/driveway and it does everything that I ask. Plenty of power to do homeowner jobs. I purchased the weed eater and curved edger attachments.I would like to see more information on the warranty when purchased - that is a big factor for me on a purchase like this.
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best grass trimer I have owned This is the best trimer I have ever owned got it at a very good price with 50% off atachment.I have always wanted to own a STIHL this machine is very easy to use starts great every time easy to handle and helps the job at hand to complete faster. Line is very easy to extend and lasts longer than other machines that I have owned.Hope this review helps you .
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes work easy I recently moved to a house that was overgrown with weeds. The lawn hasn't been edged in years either. The weed trimmer attachment took all the tough stuff out and didn't bog down once. The edger cut through the dirt like a hot knife through butter. It was a piece of cake switching the attachments out and even easier to start. That completed my switch to Stihl equipment. Great products at a great price!
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I wait? So happy I bit the bullet and purchased it! I got the Weed Wacker and Edger heads. Was amazed at how quickly they take care of the trimming and edging. I see the blower and pole saw attachments in the near future. I strongly recommend purchasing.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only used three times so far When it was demonstrated for me, it seemed to run a little rough. Was told that after using it a short time, it would smooth out. Starts very easily. I've only used it three times so far, but it is still running a little rough. At full throttle, feels like there is an engine miss. I expected it to run smoother. Maybe after I use it more, it will break in.
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use switch out attachments Really love using the KombiMotor and attachments. It is well balanced and so easy to add and change out the attachments.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very versatile yard tool This is my second multitool and like it alot.cafsafvsdfvsd
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spent much more on Troy Bilt So far, this system has actually cost less than my Troy Bilt conbi system. With the amount of personal labor and factory repair costs I had to put out for the Troy Bilt and its accessories, I'm money ahead after the first year. Not only that, but the Stihl combi system has so much more power, I get done with the yard work faster and have more time to spend with the family.I wish I had done this years ago.Thanks
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What I expected from STIHL. Quality, Dependability, Durability. I have had STIHL products for years. From Chain Saws to Trimmers. I moved and sold my yard tools. All of them. I moved south and figured I would move in a community that supplied all the work done. I did not move into that type of community. So I had to purchase new equipment . STIHL was my first thought. I had STIHL products for many many years and never had any issues with them. I purchased a Kombi system. Very easy to use and you can hang the attachments up in a small area. I purchased the Trimmer, Blower , and Edger. I love this system. I have had it for 3 1/2 years now.
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I thought I run KM 130R all day long. Just wanted an light one for the fast jobs. And a backup power head. Wow not bad. Powerful and light. Good tool for the money home use.
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I highly recommend. See my comments and suggestions. I bought the previous version many years ago.It was great. A friend of mine borrowed it and tried to adjuist the fuel mixture to make it run faster and burned my engine up. My advice, don't do that. Not Stihl's fault, his. Leave that at factory spec or let the Stihl service guy check it. Don't be a shade tree mechanic like my buddy. The newer version is easier to start that the previous. I love that. It has plenty of power to do my edger (get the stihl edging system with the nylon blades) They last a long time and you dont have to fool with the trimmer feed liners. I also have the tiller and the sidewalk edger. What is nice is that I only pay for one motor. I also recommend buying the Stihl premixed fuel. It has no ethanol so it will not clog up the carburator during the winter when you are not using it. Yes it is more, but I have no problems with starting up, especially since I am using the same motor for each attachment. Fuel does not sit in it long like other devices. It is a great product and I highly recommend it. I got mine from an Ace Hardware store which has a Stihl certified mechanic should I have any problems.. I hope this is helpful information.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Safety Glasses REQUIRED I really like everything about this trimmer, except for the guard around the trimmer head. It is way to small, I can't tell you how many times I've been struck in the face by flying debris.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Spool line ran out within 1/2 tank of gas I've used many weed trimmers before, and this one ran out of line before I used 1/2 tank of gas. Worst weed trimmer I've ever owned.
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have owned it for about 3 months and have just replaced the trimmer string. I have owned it for about 3 months and have just replaced the trimmer string. Starts easily just as the manual states.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Machine!! I bought a 'cheaper' weedwhacker a while back, lasted two whole seasons. The first year, it was ok - the next year, starting problems galore.I've had my Stihl Kombi for a year now - and it still starts better than the 'cheaper' one did the first time. Excellent product to say the least.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product for personal use. I have had mine kombi for about coming to 6yrs now and I absolutely love it. Mine took a beating because my wife ran over it but that was 5yrs ago and still going strong.. I just have the edger,blower and weed eater. Really easy to use and really powerful. I highly recommend it. Definately for a homeowner. can't say about commercial. Was trying to see if they have a heavy duty one but not sure if they don't make it anymore. But you definately won't be dissapointed...
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment in outdoor power equipment Last fall I purchased the Homeowner Kombi system to replace a home improvement store system. The Stihl system has done nothing but exceed my expectations. I initially purchased the motor, Brush Cutter, string trimmer head and Pole Pruner to maintain my ~ 1 acre yard. To start with, the motor has plenty of power to handle all my jobs. I was able to quickly trim branches on my trees, dispatch with some tough brush and the string trimmer makes easy work of trimming my yard. This spring, I added to my attachments with the Blower attachment. The blower is amazingly powerful. I even purchased the gutter kit to blow out my gutters.As the old saying goes, you really do get what you pay for. However, buying separate items at the home improvement store would have cost me just as much.To top it all off, these products are made in the USA.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile I have had the kombi system for two years and use it almost on a daily basis. It is very dependable and easy to maintain.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It does a better job than I anticipated. Starts easy, trims, and blows. Easy starts, easy to put new line on, attachments change simple, performs well.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product has great performance First of service at C&L on Austin Hwy, San Antonio Tx was outstanding, answered all questions, provided the registration for the product on the spot. Walked me over to service area. They tested machine and explained startup steps. Machine works beautifully, easy start, great performance. I feel confident these folks will take care of My service needs on this machine.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best weedeater System!! It WAS IT WORTH THE MONEY!! Hands down the best lawn equipment ever invested. Powerful and easy to use. I would recommend a strap because it does get tire with time. Other then that well worth it.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Easily breaks down Engine broke down after less than 10 uses over a month or two of ownership. I've used stihl all my life. Worst product I have ever purchased from them.
Date published: 2016-04-13
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_101
  • loc_en_US, sid_km56rce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl