FBD-KM Bed Redefiner - $249.99 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
FBD-KM Bed Redefiner

DSRP: $249.99

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

An efficient and professional KombiSystem attachment for defining mulch and flower beds quickly and easily

The STIHL FBD-KM Bed Redefiner is a durable and efficient KombiSystem attachment for maintaining existing mulch and flower beds. Features like a clog-minimizing deflector design, a cost-effective cutting geometry blade and an adjustable depth wheel help you get the job done up to seven times faster than you could manually. In addition, a solid drive shaft and a protective gearbox plate make this ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
FBD-KM Bed Redefiner Specifications
WEIGHT 3.5 kg (7.7 lbs.)
Weights and lengths shown are for attachments only.
Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

FBD-KM Bed Redefiner is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 17.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A nice attachment for defining a bed This is a useful tool. It does a pretty good job of cutting an edge on a bed and I am satisfied with the tool. If you are cutting through sod, it is not a one-pass tool. I do feel like I had a workout when I am done using it, I think this is due to the angle of the tool. I have to use it hunched over and my back gets tired. Yet, it beats the heck out of a shovel for speed and quality of look. I have the 130 Kombi motor and have no power problems. Be advised, wear your safety glasses because the dirt does fly.
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from great on beds with well define edge think green, if your beds are well defined you can use this attachment or save money, and time and do nothing
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Edger works well for prepping beds for mulching The redefiner works great for prepping existing landscape beds for mulching. I have found that holding the kombi at a 15-20 angle towards the inside of the planting bed makes a wider edge which makes for easier mulch installation.The redefiner is NOT for making new beds, wrong tool for that. The redefiner is made for re-edging existing beds.Walking backwards to run the edger does take a little time to get used to, but overall easy to learn.
Date published: 2014-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time and Back Saver!!!! I bought this, took the little shaft off (because they won't sell it as a gear box accessory) and put it on my FS 250. No problems at all!!! What used to take me several hours at each of my clients houses using shovels, edgers, and trimmers, now only takes me about 15 minutes. All we have here in Virginia Beach is tough grey clay, and the FS 250 just drives the bed redefiner right through it all both wet or rock hard dry. I put it on one of my older FS 85's and it did just fine, but just faster with the FS 250.I am not sure why it is so expensive. That was my only hesitation with buying it. I also would like to see Stihl sell it as just a gear box attachment to cut a little bit of cost off, especially when most of the people buying it are commercial/professional landscapers like myself and we already have a plethora of power heads to run this device....not kombi systems. Selling it as a "kombi system only" attachment is very misleading for those who don't know these little tricks.However I still gave this 5 stars because of how extremely well this tool works and how it saves a Lot of time!
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would benefit from a larger blade, must be used at the grass base to be usefull The edge definer will work better for you if you if you do not have St Augustine Grass, Here in Florida the St Augustine grass is thick . This causes a problem for the edge definer since it CAN NOT PENETRATE to the soil unless you hold the unit at a 45 degree angle to to ground since St Augustine can still be 4"-6" thick when cut low.The blade on this definer is just not large enough to penetrate through this type of grass and into the soil.I would stick to using the cultivator attachment if you have a thick grass
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Made Backwards This tool should have been made to rotate the opposite direction so you could walk forwards with it. There should also be different depth and width blades. Why wouldn't they have something with carbide teeth for surface roots and stumps?
Date published: 2013-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fastest bed edging with out any dirt in the lawn. Had the first flower bed edged in 20 minutes which would have taken an hour in the past by using sidewalk edger and cultivator kombi attachments. The only problem with that process, besides time, was the cultivator would throw dirt out onto the lawn. I purchased the KM110 motor to run this attachment and it used all the power this motor put out. I wouldn't recommend any smaller motor.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FBD-KM Redefiner - Power Hungry This accessory for the Kombi system appears reasonably well made. I've used it this season, initially purchasing it with the KM - 90 R power head. My experience showed that the KM 90-R was inadequate to power this tool. I returned the KM - 90R and exchanged it for the KM - 130R. Since doing so, I've experience no issues with the power unit bogging down, except....... my primary issue with this accessory. The blade and guard design do not work well together to keep the tool clear of buildup. The blade tends to push soil in contact with the guard where it sticks and begins to build up. This is worse if the soil has a higher moisture content, but does so with soil that isn't wet. Trying to use this tool this spring resulted in having to repeatedly stop to clear the build-up from the guard. If this was not done, the tool would eventually bog down the tool. It works, but doesn't do a very clean job, nor does it edge very deeply. For the price paid, Stihl should look at more closely meeting the competition.
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bed edger! I have had the bed redefiner for 1 month now. It was challenging at first to get use to the fact of going in reverse, but you will get the hang of it quickly. We use this unit on all of our properties now. Our customers love what it does and how much better it makes their beds look. I would recomend this to anyone in the landscaping industry or even to the homeowner who loves to do yard work and is proud of their final product.
Date published: 2013-03-11
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_fbdkm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl