FCS-KM Straight Lawn Edger - $179.99 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
FCS-KM Straight Lawn Edger

DSRP: $179.99

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

This STIHL KombiSystem straight lawn edger attachment cleans up edges with more power and an open guard design.

Straight shaft edger delivers more power to the cut. Depth control wheel, as well as open guard design.

NOTE: STIHL KombiMotors and STIHL KombiSystem attachments are sold separately.

Print Spec Sheets
FCS-KM Straight Lawn Edger Specifications
WEIGHT 2.6 kg (5.7 lbs.)*
*With cutting tool and deflector
Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.


Are You Ready for a STIHL?

FCS-KM Straight Lawn Edger is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This edger is a great asset to my attachment collection. I bought the KM 90R, and the old style curved shaft edger 7 years ago. This particular edger encloses the top half ooooof the blade. It works fine, but wet grass and mud tend to accumulate and can cause the blade to stall, which can lead to clutch damage. I live in Florida so that happens a lot in the spring & summer. I was going to get the new curved shaft with the open edger guard, but read so many postreviews about this one I decided to give it a try. Stihl claims the straight shaft puts more power to the blade, and they're right. I was thinking I should have gotten one of the larger engines, but this edger has no problem going thru overgrown grass with the 90 engine. It's great and the open guard lets grass fall away. I'm very pleased and you will be too. If you can spare the extra $100, I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Weak Link in The Kombi System I've owned the pro Kombi system for a few years and finally added the straight edger. The blade that comes with it is really thin and barely makes an edge between the lawn & sidewalk/driveway, it was also ground down and rounded off after one use. That might be why the saleslman was selling me on the fact that this unit accepts a thicker blade during his sales pitch on why I should buy the straight edger versus the curved one. The edger requires a lot of back and forth movement and does not leave a manicured edge. My cheap electric Black & Decker provided a much cleaner edge than this unit. Because it has a hood to stop debris shooting out, it catches a lot of mud and grass which must be scraped off after every use. This attachment really falls flat compared to the rest of the system.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revitalized my KM 55 R I have an older Kombi KM 55 R from around 2011. When I bought it I also bought the curved edger attachment (The older silver model). I live in FL and have a pretty established yard of St. Augustine with at least a 3 inch pile. I wrestled with the curved edger for years while it bogged down and bounced all over the place. This year I had had it. I contemplated just buying a whole new stand-alone edger but figured I'd give this a shot first. Let me say that I actually *enjoyed* edging for the first time in years. It tore through all the problem areas that would normally kill the engine of my KM 55 R. It is a little expensive but it's worlds apart from the silver versions IMO. Be sure the model you get is the one with orange blade guard.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Edger Bought this and I have been using it daily at my clients properties. Every edge is clean and straight. I would recommend this edger albeit a tad expensive.
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken shaft less than 1 year Drive shaft broke the 4th time of use. My local dealer said it was due to abuse and told me there was no warranty. I am very disappointed with my local dealer because he can't read and understand the Stihl warranty. I hope another Stihl dealer isn't as bad as this one.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Overall attachment I was hesitant to purchase because of the price. I only need it 2-3 times a year so its hardly justifiable for me. The unit is really light and fairly easy to use. Overall happy with the purchase just hate having to stare at it on my wall.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Piece of Equipment I run this attachment on the KM 130R. I use it daily on lawns that have maintained edges and those that have never seen an edger. It can handle what ever you throw at, so long as your power unit is large enough to provide ample amount of torque to the head.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Attachment I had a consumer version of this from another manufacturer. I would only edge once each year because it took so long and was always a fight. It's April and I've used this twice already. I can edge my driveway in about ten minutes with the KM 90 and the FCS-KM. The setup is powerful and never hesitates to do its job.
Date published: 2015-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the difference over the curved-shaft unit I originally purchased a KM110 and the curved-shaft edger, but on the first use the cable/connection point of the edger unit stripped apart. I know enough to make sure the unit is connected properly, so I took it back to the dealer. They gave me a second unit, which did the same thing. I took it back, and the dealer diplomatically said I wasn't connecting it properly. I told him to show me what I was doing wrong, and he stripped the third unit right there in the showroom. I suggested that maybe there was a bad batch of cable/connectors, and asked the manager if he would knock a few bucks off of this unit so we would both be happy. He agreed. I've used this unit with zero problems for three seasons on a one-acre property with a long driveway. With it, I am as fast as the professional landscapers that some of my neighbors use. It is much, much better than the old Ryobi combo system edger I used on a smaller property. Even with the problem with the curved shaft edger, I would purchase Stihl products without hesitation.
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE the KombiSystem I love my yard and the KombiSystem ROCKS. I do 4 neighbors lawns and my own every week during the growing season and the system has NEVER given me problems! I recommend this product over ALL others!
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from cable appears to be broken I have only used it two years on our lawn, probably 10 minutes 10 times a summer. It now appears the cable is broken and I am unable to find parts except at the Stihl dealer.
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FCS-KM Straight Lawn Edger So much power, lightweight, easy to connect with Kombi system. Power packed in small package.
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Broke on second day I bought the KombiSystem to replace my Echo equivalent that finally died after 15 years. The edger attachment worked great the first day, but when I used it the next time, the shaft, connector, or gear broke and would not rotate and made a whining sound. Although disappointed, I'm still recommending this product based on Stihl's quality on all my other equipment.....it must be an anomaly.
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Blades wear out too fast. This is a great edger with the 130 power head. I have somebody make me quarter inch thick blades with spring steel that work really well. The stock blades wear out way too quick. I have to replace the stock blades twice to do one of the properties. It needs to have a real wheel on the gear head instead of that flimsy plastic one.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very impressed with this tool!!! I bought a foreclosure last year and put off doing the edging because all i had was an electic edger, I have around a 1/2 mile of edging to do, i was dredding doing it. I bought a KM130 powerhead with the straightshaft edger and expected to spend most if not all of my day off doing edges. i am happy to say that it only took me about an hour to get the edges crisp and looking good. It took me longer to clean up than it did to do the work. I cant wait to fire up my 130 and put it to work again. I will be buying more attachments so i can use it more often.... Thank you Stihl for making an awesome product.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from straightline fast edger I had years of growth over the edge of my sidewalks...this straight shaft edger made this job so simple..fast...and easy as well! This is a must have if you have side walks and grass on one side of them...you won't regret this and purchase the km-130r head...its so powerful and won't bog down!
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works As Advertised Once you've attached this to your Kombi power head, and adjusted it to suspend from the Stihl Double shoulder harness, you have a fast and accurate edging system. I edged approximately 400 feet of walk, curb and drive. With a moderate amount of overgrowth, I welcomed the KM 130R 's power and made a first pass in 15 minutes. A second pass to better separate the overgrowth from the curbs and walks, and it was clean-up time. In all, this tool works as advertised. I appreciate the dual wheel design allowing accurate placement and support. It appears that several 0.125" blades will be required for a season as the first blade shows about 3/4" wear to its length. I've purchased the 0.250" replacement blade to gage it's worth. Any of the KM power heads should be adequate to power this tool, giving the 90 and 110 a little more time to work.
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very powerful and dependable This is a great attatchment. It is very powerful and cuts extremely well. The only problem I have with it is it's kind of on the heavy side. It doesn't matter as much seeing how you are always walking with it. You do have to hold it at an awkward angle as well. I am 6'1 and I have to hold the motor pretty close to my head to get a really good deep edge cut. Other than that it works extremely great.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Durable and Great Price Got this attachment plus the trimmer head when I purchased the Kombi System. I was used to using an Echo edger with a curved shaft. After my Echo gave me a lot of trouble and eventually died, I purchased this system. I can interchangeably pop one tool on and then the other on. This tool is sturdy and never bogs down. I would HIGHLY recommend it to others!!
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awkward A straight shaft edger was purchased two seasons ago to be used with the KM55 we already have. The tool is typical of Stihl products in that it is well made and durable. It works well running easily through thick grass as well as it does thin.It pains me therefore to have to give low marks to this tool. The problem with it is that it is very awkward to use. I'm just shy of six feet tall, but the angle of the shaft with respect to the ground forces me to hold the unit higher than is comfortable. More, the power head itself is top heavy. These two things combine to create a tool that is hard on the hands and forearms and fatigue sets in rapidly. One finds oneself naturally seeking a way to alleviate this problem and that usually comes with hot power head resting against your elbow and arm which is uncomfortable. The silver lining is that the work goes quickly.We have a lot of walkway, more than the average home I think, but I'm just a homeowner and only use this attachment a few times during the Spring, Summer and Fall. If I were a professional edging walkways at businesses this would be a burden. If I were to do it again, I would not purchase this tool but would look for one dedicated to edging with the power unit on the ground end and wheels to carry it.
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Straight edger for Kombi Fantastic......... Easy to use and great quality. I would never have another.
Date published: 2012-10-23
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_fcsstrai, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl