FS-KM Line Head Trimmer - $99.99 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
FS-KM Line Head Trimmer

DSRP: $99.99

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

This STIHL KombiSystem line head trimmer attachment is designed for trimming around obstacles.

Trimmer AttachmentUses the dependable AutoCut® head. Designed for mowing and trimming around obstacles.

NOTE: STIHL KombiMotors and STIHL KombiSystem attachments are sold separately.

Print Spec Sheets
FS-KM Line Head Trimmer Specifications
WEIGHT 1.2 kg (2.6 lbs.)*
*Without cutting tool, without deflector
Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves
    Exclusive deerhide leather provides fantastic wear properties and excellent sense of touch and feel. Naturally soft leather provides all-day working comfort. Sizes available S, M, L, XL.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

FS-KM Line Head Trimmer is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Line Issues I purchased this head trimmer attachment for my kombi system and am having the same line issues as everyone else. The line constantly breaks off inside the head. I see Stihl responding with the same "soak your line in water" response to everyone. What I dont understand is why Stihl isn't doing anything about the actual issue? I've never had to soak a competitor's line in water, ever. Maybe Stihl should think about sourcing their trimmer line from a different supplier, and replace those of us who purchased the faulty line with higher quality line. This attachment will be sitting in the shed if i have to constantly stop and re-line the trimmer.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent attachment paired with KM130 Prior to purchasing this Kombi System I had purchased a similar system from A competitor years ago and was left underwhelmed and firm believer in purchasing each tool for specific task. Nick, Harris Ace Hardware's (Hinesville, GA) Stihl mechanic/ sales, coupled with reviews online and price savings vs purchasing each tool separately after shop was burglarized and equipment stolen swayed me to try this line. I purchased each attachment from pole saw, brush cutter, blower, trimmer and straight edger and have been blown away by the power and versatility of the entire system. I have read all the reviews of the line breaking and have to attribute this to user error as I have not had one issue from this head even when flipping it to edge sidewalks, beds and curbs which will quickly run through the best string. If you have prior knowledge of the button and correctly spool the string then you should rarely encounter any line breaking within the head. The deflector was adequate for me in rocky soil and thick weeds. The power can be to much for some applications and have to feather it to about 3/4 or else a spool of string can be deceimated quickly. All of the other attachments are also top notch and the only complaint is the balance of the system but benefits far outweigh any negatives.
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Line cutting in the spool issues Ok, great product. However, you have to know how to properly put the line in this or you are doomed to failure. I was in fact doomed to failure because I didn't know the tricks. I watched the dealer guy spool the line in, He did it evenly and once he was done, he put the spool in, fastened the cover back on, then he pulled on both lines, then "click". Bamm good to go. That was literally the only thing I was missing and that made an absolute world of difference.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The head stinks Used the trimmer for the first time today about 20 min total run time. During that 20 minutes the line broke off inside the head 3 times. It's a major inconvenience to stop what your doing and rewind the string constantly. The deflector is a joke buy the large deflector and toss the little piece of junk in the trash before you leave the dealer.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied overall Trimmer head is just ok. I have not tried soaking the line though. Sometimes breaks off line completely. Not a quick fix. Question; Is the trimmer head the same on the FS 90R as my KM90R?
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Constant problems with trimmer line heads Without exaggeration I've spent more time messing with the trimmer head than I've spent using this attachment. The first 1/2 hour of use was good, the line fed as it should, then the problems started and never stopped.The problem is the trimmer line breaks off in the head and when it doesn't do that it ties itself up in the head. I've bought new line, and re-wound the spools, and had the same issues. I've bought a second head, and re-wound it. The problems started with heads and line out of the box from the manufacturer, so it's not operator error.The trimmer works adequately when it works...which has been about ten minutes tops until there is a line problem. I love the Kombi idea, the trimmer attachment attaches quickly, the power head is great, but the line heads are ridiculously fussy and should not require so much attention.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Suppose to be the best Doesn't seem to be running right. dealer says it's O.K. Sputters at full throttle.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Kombi tool, but..... This is another great Kombi attachment! However, the bump and feed trimmer head is no better than any other out there. I was hoping it would perform better than those I've owned in the past but not so. I spent more time fishing broken line out of the head and rewinding the line than I did trimming! I finally bought the Durocut head and installed it. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!! I would recommend doing the same when you puchase this attachment. It will save you a lot of frustration!
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good trimmer attachment, same issues with head as others. The trimmer itself is fine. I do have the same issues other have talked about with the auto dispensing head though. Sometimes I lose the line completely and have to pop the cap off and refeed it. A bit of a pain.But, I have worked with other trimmers and it has the same issues.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 20 Years Strong I guess after 20 years, I can say it's good product! Bought with KM 55 powerhead based on recommendation of Reynolds Farm Machinary in Fishers, Indiana. When I looked for a brush blade attachment last year, the salesman who sold me original unit helped me and still had record of my purc&ase! Don't even think about getting this kind of service from a big box store.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid build Well built tool. High torque with the km90. Too much so to trim gently along vinyl fence without tearing it up. Neighbor ran it over turning car around on my lawn. Bent it really bad. Straightened it in the fork of a tree. Been using it for a year since then with no problems.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problem with cutting line AutoCut feature is not that great, when I can keep line in it, it works OK but the problem is keeping line in the head or getting it to feed when it should. Have to take the head apart to get the line extended, not very time saving.
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trimmer, shield needs a little work. Have had this trimmer for two years now. The head unspun once in the beginning but hasn't since reattaching. The line is a piece-o-cake to reload, thanks to the little notches in the spool. Far easier than any two line trimmer I've ever used. Changing the unit on the Kombi motor is easy and a very strong joint. Our only complaint is that the spatter shield leaves little to be desired and provides little protection. I understand the need for safety glasses or shield and ear plugs when using power equipment, but you better put on a full coverage rainsuit in the spring when weeds are full of liquid.
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like a breath of fresh air I had brought my trimmer in for repairs. Here in Florida, August is a very busy time for the repair shop. After a couple of weeks, it was determined that the old one was not worth the repair. Enter this new trimmer.What a difference!! This machine trims grass like a hot knife through butter. My grass was very overgrown and thick.. My new Stihl made short work of a job I was partially dreading. It has plenty of power. Even throttling the motor back by more than half, I was able to cut through very thick St. Augustine grass (think very thick crabgrass) with no loss in power. The motor seems to have more than ample torque.The tap design meters out just enough line so one tap is all that is needed. The balance is good and there is virtually no vibration. Because I am able to throttle back the motor so much, this trimmer is much quieter than my previous trimmer. And, it probably used less gas.I have had this system for over 6 years. Both the edger and hedge trimmer are still working flawlessly. Here in Florida, we tend to the grass and yard all year around. So, this would be the equivalent to many more years in cooler climates.
Date published: 2014-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful product With the KM 130R, this has so much power that you almost can even use it lightly. There's no feathering it. But overall, a very reliable and good product.
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! I have this attachment on a KM90R. Together, these two tools are an absolute terror on all but the thickest weeds such as full grown bull thistles. The only times I could maybe use a little more power, is with very thick fine tall grass.The cutting head itself performs beautifully. It does not plug easily, the line bumps reliably, IMO the head is relatively simple to reload with line, and meets 100% of my expectations.I typically run .105 diameter line for better durability against the thick weeds.Also, something not mentioned, is that this head is easily converted to run saw blades with a modest hardware change. The KM90R handles a saw blade with plenty of power.BTW, There are some complaints of line breaking, but I suspect that is a line weakness issue and NOT an issue with the 25-2 Autocut head.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Somewhat disappointing in the design Bought this tool as part of the Kombi system and have been somewhat disappointed, mainly due to problems with the bump and go design. While the tiller tool works great, the trimmer isn't as great. Have found it tedious to load new line and more difficult to get the head off to pull the line back out after it has retracted, which occurs quite often. You need to carry a screwdriver with you because it is extremely difficult to release the cover on the line container without it. I spend more time pulling the line back out or reloading new line in than I spend trimming. It is also a rather heavy trimmer, which makes it more difficult to use when edging, but this is probably due more to the motor weight than the tool. The Stihl engine works great, starts easy, but the trimmer attachment is not of equal quality of design. (BTW, the instruction manual is of little value when it comes to how to load the line or the bump & go feature.)
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Beast for Occasional Homeowner Use I had a line issue too when using a mid-grade line from a box store. I went to the Stihl dealer, watched him wrap it with Stihl line, and my problems vanished.I also keep it pretty clean and it's not heavily used. But the problem I had constantly last season is now completely vanished. Looking forward to doing heavier work with brush saw at a friend's farm this weekend.
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from VERY BAD PRODUCT FROM A GOOD COMPANY The Autocut head is worthless. The line fuses to itself or cuts off to wear it can't thread thru the eyelets no matter how many times you bump it. You have to stop what you're doing, open up the head and thread the line thruogh the eyelets or pull the line apart because it fuses to itself. When you do this it probabbly will unwind and you'll have to rewind the spool again. A total piece of junk. DON'T BUY THIS! YOU'LL BE SORRY!!!Stihl is a great company. My Kombi motor starts virtually every time. Great power.Stihl is too good a company to put out junk like the Autocut.The good news is if you are buying for the first time or if you unfortunately already bought the Autocut there is a remedy. Buy the FIXCUT HEAD. It works great.You put two 8 inch pieces of line into the eyelets and you're good. When they wear down pull them out and put two new ones in. Easy as cake. As bad as the Autocut is, is as good as the FIXCUT is FIVE STARS!!!!!
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Machine I am awed by the power of this system. I've used the standard home store trimmers for years and would have to replace them every season or two. The only reason that I did not rate it excellent across the board is because I also had the line breakage issues noted by other reviewers. I don't think this is a design flaw, more that the stock line that comes loaded in the head is just brittle and breaks easily. I plan to use some higher quality line when it comes time to re-spool and expect this issue to go away.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Made well with good features I have arthritis in my back and the straight shaft puts a lot more strain on my back than my previous curved shaft trimmer that I owned. Other than that, this is a very well made piece of equipment. For me, that was the only draw back.
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works just fine for me I bought this attachment along with a KM130, and have had none of the feeding or line breakage problems that other people have mentioned. Probably the best string head I have used in terms of functionality and ease of refilling.
Date published: 2013-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works best with heavier line. There are so many things you can do with this string trimmer. Using just the string I trim grass around where the mower can't, edge small areas, cut back small tree limbs and bushes and tall weeds, and even blow off sidewalks in a pinch. With different blades you can cut down small trees, bramble and large hanging vines. With the "hover trimmer" attachment you can do all the above with one device and mulch too.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality!! I have read the other reviews and just laugh. The head is the same bump head used on all Stihl straight shaft trimmers (millions sold). All parts are easily to maintain and replace. As with any bump head, you must bump the head on a flat surface and engage the spring loaded knob while giving the trimmer some gas. The RPMs and centrifugal force advance the line. The line will break off if you; a) are using old line, or b) let the line get so close to the housing before advancing more line. I own many trimmers with these heads, never any problems. If the other reviewers are having problems, they need to consult their local dealer.
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product, but I think they have a abad batch of line out there I bought this line trimmer a couple of weeks ago with the KM110R head, and initially was having trouble with the line breaking off flush with the head, meaning I had to take apart the bump head and re-feed the line. This happened 4 times in 30 minutes of light-medium duty work! This was a major pain and would have made the unit almost unusable in the long run.Last week I took it back to the dealer. They said they hadn't heard of such an issue, but maybe the line is bad. They happily replaced the line with fresh Stihl .095 and I ran it again this weekend. No problems, no breakoffs, great product.With others reporting similar problems, I think they may have a bad batch of line in the latest units. Stihl should advise all their dealers to check the line in their inventory.All in all, I love the product. Only slight gripe would be I wish the head was a little easier to open. Those little press in tabs can be tricky sometimes.
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from String breaks I had the exact same problem after a 2 uses use as described below with the string breaking flush with the unit. I now have to take apart the system to fix the problem I should have read these reviews before the purchase. This seems like a design defect which I hope Stihl corrects retroactively.
Date published: 2013-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bump Head is Terrible Same problem as other comments. Avoid the head but the rest of the unit works well.
Date published: 2013-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Negotiate a Different Head Construction of this tool appears to be similar to other Kombi accessories. It engages well with the Kombi power system and spools up appropriately to trim. I purchased this accessory with a Kombi power head, a bed redefiner, and straight shaft edger. Of the three accessories purchased, the FS - KM 's line dispensing system has proven to be the most disappointing. After several attempts to use the FS - KM line trimmer I am writing this review to alert potential buyers to see if their Stihl dealer will supply a different design head. Multiple attempts were made to trim only to have one of the lines break flush with the trimmer's head. Each time the line broke, I could not get the line to feed and would have to remove the head's cover, pull the line back out the side that had broken, and re-cut the opposite side to match length, wasting line. Any contact with larger weeds or walks would cause one line to break flush with the dispensing head. My limit each time out was having to repeat this drill 4 times. After a week of frustration I removed the head and replaced it with one that allows the use of a 16.5" piece of straight trimmer line. With this aftermarket head in place, and replacement line, the trimmer works beautifully. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend the FS - KM due to the poorly designed "bump" head and fragile OEM line with which it is equipped. If equipped with a reliable head/line system, I would rate this accessory a good value. As it comes, if you have to buy an additional head to achieve reliable service, its value is suspect.
Date published: 2013-04-22
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_fslinetrm, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl