KM 131 R - $369.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
KM 131 R

DSRP: $369.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

Our most powerful KombiMotor, the KM 131 R has 33% more engine power than the KM 111 R.

Compatible with over a dozen interchangeable attachments, the KM 131 R KombiMotor offers professional landscapers versatility, power, and 30% longer run times than previous models. The KM 131 R also features 33% more engine power than the KM 111 R, letting you finish your jobs faster. The KM 131 R is also easy to operate, featuring a semi-automatic choke lever, one-touch stop switch, anti-vibratio...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
KM 131 R Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 36.3 cc (2.2 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.4 kW (1.9 bhp)
WEIGHT 4.4 kg (9.7 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 710 cc (24.0 oz.)
POWER SOURCE Gas
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Reduced-Emission Engine Technology - Caring for Nature
    The STIHL Inc. “Caring for Nature” seal identifies its powered products that are more environmentally conscious, producing zero or low exhaust emissions. STIHL Inc. defines “low exhaust emissions” as being cleaner than EPA and/or CARB exhaust emission standards.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    14 optional attachments available 
    Create a custom yard care system with up to 14 optional attachments – trim, edge, cultivate, prune, clean up and more!
  • Zoom
    Loop Handle
    The loop handle (R) is an adjustable rounded handle mounted on the shaft for support and control. The handle is designed to help control the machine in different positions, ideal for reaching tough spots. The handle is large enough to accommodate a gloved hand comfortably.
  • Zoom
    Quick-Release Coupling
    The quick-release coupling system makes it easy to switch between Kombi attachments. In addition, this feature allows KombiSystem equipment to be dismantled into two parts for easy transport and storage and then re-assembled quickly without tools.

    See it in action!
  • Zoom
    Split Shaft
    A split shaft and special toolless quick-release coupling lets you easily switch between attachments, making the KombiSystem highly versatile as well as easy to transport and store.
  • Zoom
    Electronic Ignition Module
    The electronic ignition provides reliable starting and because it is fully enclosed, it is protected from moisture and debris for longer service life.
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    A small fuel pump delivers fuel to the carburetor when pushed, reducing the number of starting strokes required following extended breaks in operation.

Important Information
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

For Your Safety
  • Two-Tone Work Glasses Zoom
    Two-Tone Work Glasses
    The lightweight STIHL Two-Tone Work Glasses feature a hollowed-out framework that is lightweight and comfortable to wear. Protect your eyes with ANSI standard Z87.1+ lenses, offering 99% UV protection – so you don’t have to slow down when the sun is beating down. Featuring flexible rubber temple tips and nose pads, the STIHL Two-Tone Work Glasses deliver a soft, comfortable fit for all those tough outdoor tasks that demand your full attention. Stop by our showroom to see them for yourself!
  • STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Landscaper Series™ Gloves
    Exclusive deerhide leather provides fantastic wear properties and excellent sense of touch and feel. Naturally soft leather provides all-day working comfort. Sizes available S, M, L, XL.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

KM 131 R is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great concept and product I purchased this Kombi-motor because I needed a weed eater,edged, hedge trimmers, and wanted a limb saw. I've only got the weed eater so far, and the brush blade. I've been very happy with them. I think it's great that I can just buy the attachments that I need instead of having 5 different motors hanging in the garage and spending thousands of dollars. Hopefully the tool sand quick attach holds up, and we'll be all set.
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't play around any more. I had the "P......" machine for several years. Had to work on it almost every time i needed it. Not any more. The KM 131 R has all the power necessary and more. With all the attachments I have, the machine will be used year round. The blower has enough power to remove gravel, snow and whatever is in its path. I decided after my friend let me use his machine, it was the one and only I was going to have. By using it all year, i dont have to worry about wintedizing any more. Starts fist pull every time. This is a good example of "you get what you pay for". You wont be disappointed.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, what i was looking for. Only issue is I've only used it twice and the second time i had difficulty in starting it. I went back and read the manual and still had some difficulty but once it started it worked great.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Rolls Royce of Stihl This thing is a Beast! I needed more powerful trimmer and attachable parts, and that's exactly what I got. Worth every penny.
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than enough power and not too heavy I bought this so I could use a bed redefiner and edger. I also bought the string trimmer attachment for when my 20 yr old trimmer dies. I might buy a couple more attachments later on. Right now with the bed redefiner and edger this thing rocks. Engine starts on first pull. It is not so heavy that only a young muscle man could lift it. My 5.4" wife and 77 yr old father have used this and both love. My shed is beginning to look like a Stihl showroom.
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love all of the attachments Having one power head and six attachments makes life easier and only one fuel tank to deal with.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best one I've ever bought This thing is a workhorse! Sounds like a mini bike, will take on anything! Only have weed eater attachment so far, plan on getting rest of attachments. Well worth the money. Starting setup isn't too good, hold throttle wide open & start pulling and hang on! It's a beast! Will consider Sthil products first.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stalling issues first, now hard to start Within 5 minutes of first use, unit would stall when letting off throttle. Took back to dealer for adjustment. Had to adjust idle when I got back home to keep attachments from turning. Now, extremely difficult to start, whether 1st start , or restart. Very disappointed in dealer service.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Horse!!! I have used an Orange colored competitor product all my life. That company seems to have moved to the consumer market. I have multiple properties I see after. I was in the market for a pole pruner and hedge trimmer. I saw the Kombi line from Stihl. I opted for the KM 131R Kombimotor and it does not disappoint. It has power to spare no matter what accessory you attach to it. I went back and bought the scythe and string trimmer head. I'm STIHL man now!!!
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality Very disappointed in the weight. Vibrates under load. Loudest hand held equipment I own. Definitely my last stihl!
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The King of Kombi's I recently purchased my Stihl KM131R to use the line trimmer head as well as curved shaft edger, blower, and hedge trimmer. This new kombi engine is an absolute beast and provides more than enough power to run any attachment you can put on it. It is definitely worth the money. I highly recommend the KM131R
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Powerful Product 10 Stars out of a possible 5!Recently purchased my first Stihl Product, the Komi KM 131R.First Job, clear out dead vegetation and reeds. Tried the weed eater, line was gone in the first pass. Attached the FS-KM Brushcutter, incredible power, literally destroyed everything in its path! This tool was so powerful it startled me, and I've been performing yard maintenance for 35 years, at times professionally.I can't give this tool a high enough recommendation. I had burned through other name brand tools prior to this, all failed. Stihl is now my forever go-to tool.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional quality tool I use the 131 commercially for the power broom and brush cutter attachments. The power is perfect. No issues with starting. Very handy multi purpose tool. Will be adding the pole saw soon as well the carbon fiber extension. Highly recommend going with the 131 for power if your looking!
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from KM 131 R Great Multi tool Purchased a year ago with hedge trimmer attachment. Works great for bushes, smaller tree branches, up to an inch, and to get rid of those XXXX multiflora roses we have all over in NE Pa/NY. I also just purchased the power sweeper to put stone back onto the driveway from plowing them into the lawn all winter. That works great also. It is a little bit heavy but it was not a problem for this old geezer (71). Two days to rake stones back onto driveway plus a sore back. One half hour to power sweep them back onto driveway. Changing tools is very easy, loosen a wing nut, remove old tool, insert new and retighten. Will be buying the chainsaw attachment soon. Great tools, shoulda had them when I was younger.it is al
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not meet expectations Hi . I have had this tool for a few years and from day 1 it had starting trouble . It went back to dealer for a carb replacement . Same issue . Runs great if you can get it started . Dealer now states I need another carb and engine gaskets replaced . This will cost almost as much as I paid for the unit . My other issue is the weight . I used it for trimming bushes and found after a short time the weight was a problem . I always used opti 2 lube to mix gas . it has a stabilizer in it and will run any ratio of mixes . This was not a cheap machine and each tool I bought was not cheap either . Now I have 3 tools sitting in my shop that are useless without power head . Jw
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power! Plenty of Attachments. All I have tried work well. This thing starts easy, runs a long time on the tank of gas. I bought this because I was lacking power with my other trimmer and when I first started using this I felt like Tim Allen from Home Improvment. I have the Blower, pro edger, and the trimmer. For the light weight blower this thing performs very well! Better than expected. The trimmer and edger are excellent. The edger especially. If you intend to use the blower a lot I would suggest getting the double shoulder harness. I have yet to get but will be useful for blowing the leafs around. I am so glad I was turned on by a coworker to stihl! Quality Can't be beat.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very powerful and sounds great I've only begun using this product for a couple weekends buts it's done all I've asked and then some. Pulls to start most times on first try and makes quick work of everything. I bought only the string trimmer and brush cutter attachments but borrowed a friends pole saw attachment. It is an absolute beast on limbs. Powers through like it's a full sized chainsaw. Very impressive and I hope to own that attachment as well some day.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Power! I bought this power head to run the bristle brush attachment which I purchased at the same time (I intend on purchasing the straight lawn edger, and the 135 degree hedge trimmer later). Thus far, the engine has incredible power and the brush attachment has allowed me to easily sweep away the front of my driveway where it meets the street. We get a lot of heavy sand and wet gravel deposited there throughout the winter from the salt/sand trucks. This swept it away without any strain on the engine and was as easy as walking! The brush attachment works unbelievably great and makes heavy jobs so much easier. I already own a Stihl pole saw, Farm Boss chainsaw, and the 131 R trimmer and have found all the products to be fantastic.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgraded from KM 56 RCE-differences from KM 131R I was hesitant at first with going for the 131R. I am glad I upgraded. First of all, it's a little longer than the 56 RCE and being a tall guy, it helped me from slumping over as much. The 131 has plenty of power, never once did I desire more. It was an amazing difference using the same attachments with a different power head. The engine seemed content unlike the 56 which sounded like it was running much harder. I love the torque of the 131 and the sound. I read reviews about the 4 mix engines and not being able to feather the throttle. It doesn't really apply to the 131 in my opinion. I could run partial throttle without any problems. Maybe the smaller 4 mix engines don't have the torque, but this one does. The 56 doesn't offer the adjustments to the strap and handle to the extent the 131 will let you. The strap and strap mount is nicer and will swivel around when edging, the 56 is just a clipped in strap. The 131 will hit the rev limiter pretty easy with the blower attachment, but I feel like it pushes the blower to max performance. It has definitely reduced my time edging and mowing over the 56, it just destroys more grass and quicker. I was amazed. Wow what an upgrade!
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks for the upgrades. I had a KM 130 for over 4 years and had to get a replacement a couple weeks ago. I have the Mini-Cultivator, Blower, Bed Redefiner, Curved Edger, Straight Edger, Brushcutter with several types of blades, String Trimmer with 25-2, 30-2, SuperCut, PolyCut and additional heads, Pole Pruner with steel and carbide chains, Shaft extensions, Adjustable Hedge Trimmer and other attachments. I like the new machine and how light it is. I miss the throttle lock and wish it had an adjustable throttle lock. It seems to start and run better than the 130 so far. I also really appreciate the extra 6 ounces the fuel tank holds.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I only have the angled pruning attachment , but I am looking forward to getting a couple more attachments The angled pruner makes it easier to reach the taller hedges that I needed a ladder to get to before, so it is much safer as well.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product is a beast I bought this product a few weeks ago and the blower attachment to clean up the leave ... This product has lots of power.
Date published: 2016-12-11
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_km131r, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl